All SalonIQ Reviews

1-25 of 100 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Alicia

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Best software for hair salons

Two way texting has reduced no shows and late cancellations, GAS has given us a great marketing tools without spending lots on advertising. Advantage being able to monitor its results and the money it is bringing in. Overall its amazing.

PROS

So easy to use (and I am a real technophobe) , amazing training at the beginning and continues as and when you need it. Online support is brilliant with manuals all being at a touch of a button. The telephone support is second too none, everyone is so friendly and helpful and they never make you feel like your asking a silly question. I am not a hairdresser personally and knew nothing and Representative held my hand and set everything up, the great thing is she is a hairdresser and they have a hairdressing business so they know what we need and to implement in. Seriously I couldn't of done it without her. Two way texting is amazing, the GAS has brought us amazing customers through our door without splashing out on loads of advertising but getting clients to recommend and they and their friends get an amazing offer. They have just started a weekly email to owner/managers regarding weekly targets which is totally fab as it saves time looking at different reports, its all produced on one email each week. Staff can access their own diary and see what clients they have and you can restrict on what can see and can't see and do. What more could you want, everything you need in one package at a very reasonable price.

CONS

I will be glad when there is just one main system as we have to swap to the hub, but thats mainly because Im not very good at getting to grips of this other system.

Reason for choosing SalonIQ

Cara did our online demo and besides the software it was her that sold it to us. She made it so easy to use, had so much patience and told us as we knew nothing what we should be looking for and how to set targets, access etc. None of the others compared especially when it came to value for money and what the system could do for us.

Garren

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Overall the experience has been great, from onboarding through to day-to-day use.

PROS

We use SaloniQ across three salons, two hair and one beauty, it just works! Scheduling, client online booking, stock control all work a treat. What really stands out is the customer service, the help module is amazing and the response time to a query is very short. The piece of mind with a cloud-based solution is great, in the past, we have had to recover from hard-drive failures and loss of data, this isn't the case here! There are some downsides to working in the cloud, which I'll detail below. Also, the ongoing support with webinars and support documentation is invaluable, I don't believe I have seen this kind or support elsewhere. Overall the system is intuitive, easy to use (especially for the less tech-savvy employees) and quite foolproof. The ongoing development is also fantastic.

CONS

As I mentioned above working in the cloud is great but you never really feel like you own your data, this isn't a SaloniQ problem, more in the way of working. Manipulation of data can be very cumbersome, for example when wanting to edit bulk data, the item by item approach is very time consuming and frustrating. Silly things like when booking out (holidays/sickness etc.) it defaults back to the current month for the end date, why not after the initial start date!! My issues are minor niggly problems which I am sure will be worked out over time, there are not any major disadvantages/problems with SaloniQ

Vendor Response

Hi Garren, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased your enjoying the system.

Replied April 2018

Neil

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2019

I Advise Caution to Business Owners

Atrocious. Could not have been worse. 3 weeks without a functioning system. Totally regret doing it.

PROS

I think it may work if it ever gets installed properly Installation team is a nightmare and not in the least bit interested in helping you get it sorted

CONS

Just can't get it installed IT help can't do it No help whatsoever from Salon iq

Vendor Response

Hi Neil,to clarify our trainer left your business on the Go-live day with a fully running and operational main system. We ensured you had fully trained staff all happily booking and taking transactions. Online bookings as we explained many times is set up after the core system is built, then you need to work with us to help set it up, you didn't. It was delegated out to a website company in a different country we have had no relationship with. They failed to grasp our clear instructions and didn't realise to clear cache. This was their acceptance of responsibility and the reason for your delay on the online bookings part of our software set up. Rajeev from your Website company ' the main reason has been I guess, we were not sure the out come of the code that we were going to implement.' and 'due to the caching issues it wasn't showing and once I requested the server support to clear the cache which then fix cache issue.'

Replied December 2019

Jezz

Consumer Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Restoring Faith in Salon IT Systems

We had a real problem with our previous supplier. Broken promises, failure to deliver, contractual issues and above all their management team's failure to understand our industry. Salon IQ in comparison has been a breathe of fresh air, great people to deal with and i look forward to many years of working together.

PROS

The team at Salon IQ just get it! Fundamentally we liked the people, they are honest, genuine people who know the hair and beauty industry and have a superb product which works. They don't hide behind small print and lengthy contracts like many of the systems out there. The system works, it's easy to use and provides accurate information. It's cloud based so can be accessed remotely from anywhere, plus there are no additional licence fees for remote access. The install process is smooth, transitioning nearly all data across to Salon IQ from previous system. The support and install team are excellent, with a wealth of knowledge and they go the extra mile to ensure things are done perfectly. They don't sell hardware so you won't get stung by paying thousands for a PC which doesn't then do the job, as we experienced with previous suppliers. And if the PC crashes, you can access Salon IQ on any other system. We love the stock control app, making it easy to complete stock takes and we're loving the loyalty app. They appear to be working hard on future advances so all this sets us up well.

CONS

Like all systems, there will always be the odd tweak or report which we'd like as bespoke, but we respect I-Salon's honest approach in trying to avoid inconsistent reports and when they think it won't work, they politely let us know, we appreciate that.

Jody

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Allows me to work on my salon not in it and provide big company high level guest experience

PROS

We are currently transitioning to the hub and all stylist are using tablets this is further improving our guest experience. The frequency of updates and improvements is excellent meaning the software is actually responsive to business needs. The management side is great and allows me to both motivate my team and keep a strict control on finances stock and clients. GAS is genius and has been the single most effective tool in building my business. Congratulations on GDPR its great and with the tablets now it shows clients just how professional we are. I have worked with computerised salon management systems for 22 years and this is by far the best.

CONS

Support is poor I just want to talk to someone and get the problem sorted it is no good waiting for a response on chat which is often sometime. I would also like education on the more complicated features as feel I could make better use of the system. Staff clocking in clocking out and a timesheet that linked to xero would be amazing, in fact full integration to xero would be amazing.

Vendor Response

Hi Jody, Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you feel support do not respond quick enough via the chat. This is closely monitored however to speak to the support team directly please call 01892280123. One of the team will be in contact to schedule more training for you.

Replied April 2018

Federico

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

SaloniQ is brilliant

SaloniQ is a brilliant and very powerful hair and beauty software system, easy to learn to operate and very comprehensive to assist your business

PROS

SaloniQ is the first cloud based salon software i used, coming from iSalon computer based for 18 years. I think is so much better with a cloud based software, accessible from multiple devices and if your computer fails you can used another. We have two computer at reception in our salon plus one in the office and another on salon floor. Plus iPads and iPhones access. Brilliant. The software is very powerful and full of features, more than I use.

CONS

If your internet is down, there's no access to the system. You need a very fast internet connection to operate the system well, over 10 Mbps is minimum. So if you don't have a good internet the system is very slow.

Vendor Response

Hi Federico, thank you for your review. In terms of speed, much like Amazons shopping website our service to you can only be hampered by a slow machine or slow broadband (or both). UK average here is 38Mbs so if thats what you are paying for and only getting 10Mbs this is a question for your provider. However we do have many sites all happily using our service at that level of speed. I will request a salon broadband expert to deliver a free diagnostic report for you.It maybe that you are getting a higher speed, but spotify streaming, other apps, and other users are draining your broadband. Lets get a full report to you to get a better picture. Once again thanks for your review.

Replied August 2018

Zeynep

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

CLEVER SOFTWARE

PROS

We have started using SaloniQ three years ago and never looked back. It has so many functions that I am still learning to use. It has so many benefits but just to name a few, this system allows you to book appointments in a few seconds, move and change the times, days if needed, with just a click. You can find a client in many different ways, merge them if by mistake their names appears twice. If you have a problem the chat is there to help you and they come back very quickly. Cashing up at the end of the is very easy and if you have made a mistake there are many ways to rectify this. It seems like they have thought about everything to enable users to navigate easily and quickly.

CONS

I wish all the chats were saved in the archive. They are but only for a certain period of time.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. Very much appreciated.

Replied January 2019

User Profile

Ian-Paul

Verified reviewer

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Great features with ongoing development

Able to monitor performance in numerous different ways. Great having chat support easily available.

PROS

The adaptability for individual needs. The opportunity to contribute to its development. The work in conjunction with 365 Hair to develop a platform that allows for positive salon management.

CONS

Often buggy with functions that don't work. Error messages pop up. As cloud-base, if internet goes down there is no plan B unless you have mobile coverage.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review Ian-Paul. Working with partners within our industry Is very important to us. Owning and running salons ourselves has always helped us to develop and provide the information salon owners need to see. Working with technology comes the challenges with bugs. We feel our support and development team have a good system in place to correct any that arise in a sufficient time frame.

Replied January 2019

amanda

Cosmetics, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

salon software

reduced our 'no shows' as the text reminder appointment service is sent. the systems text service allows us to get info to our guests immediately, and therefore an instant response from guests, so good for daily offers etc.

PROS

easy to set up and use. can personalise it to your needs. help is easily accessable , and a few ways to get help; on line, by phone, the hub. the text service is brilliant

CONS

we dont have a brilliant internet where we are and the system relies on it so it freezes and goes down daily for us. so good internet is a must for this system.

Vendor Response

Thanks Amanda, A few of our customers have invested in either 4g tablets to keep going if your wifi drops or a 4G dongle you pop in the usb port of your computer. Thanks again for the review

Replied January 2019

Jennifer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Life saver!

Fantastic, from introduction, to training, to Facebook group, support chat, everything. Amazing company.

PROS

This intuitive software is an absolute must for salons in todays society and has been a godsend during lockdown and Covid-19. I honestly don't know how we would have coped without it! Life is so simple using it and it has made our business function so much more professionally. I have even been able to start online bookings, so amazing which frees us up to work. And support is also fantastic, the team are like a family and nothing is too much trouble, in fact if something is missing that you think would benefit the system they create it! And all for a third of there competitors. Love SALONIQ

CONS

There are 2 versions not all features are on both systems, its not a big deal because its easy to switch between the two but it would be good if just one version exists.

Reason for choosing SalonIQ

Price, functionality, friendliness of company

Jade

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Absolutely brilliant salon software

PROS

It's incredibly easy to use and if there is something that we need help with the support team are great.

CONS

There's no App! An app would make it so much more effective to use . In today's busy life an app is needed for everything!!

Vendor Response

Hi Jade, Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear your enjoying the system. We have the HUB for day to day use of the system aswell as an online booking app. One of the team will be in contact to go over these with you.

Replied April 2018

Liz

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Salon is review

Lots of teething issues, I feel as a product it’s a bit over priced for what it is.

PROS

A good system with potential, booking clients in is simple and quick

CONS

Customer service needs improving, a more mobile friendly app as the hub is awful.

Vendor Response

Hi Liz Let us know what is lacking in support your review doesn't say ?, if we don't know we can't improve your experience. We pride ourselves on the best support in the industry. UK based, telephone and live chat support is all included, you don't get this with a lot of other products. Less drama as its cloud and you can simply switch on the tablet. £57 per month is seen as more than reasonable considering we have competitors charging twice this for half the features. We will be in touch to make sure you are as happy as you can be and enjoy SaloniQ growing your business in the years to come.

Replied January 2019

Victoria

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Super star service from salon IQ

Overall Salon IQ is extremely professional and will always help with my queries. They are very willing and open to my ideas as the customer and if the can build something for you they will.

PROS

The support is the best, we have a Qtr review to make sure we are getting the best out of the system.

CONS

I like it all, there is nothing I don’t like.

Garry

Individual & Family Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Salon IQ Reviewe

Its great for the reports i need.

PROS

Thats its on Cloud and I can get on it anywhere.

CONS

The Goods in and Salon use bottons are to close together. We have chlicked the wrong botton a few times. Stock movement could be better.

Vendor Response

thanks Gary , we will look into the stock area :)

Replied January 2019

Terra

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Obviously made by salon owners - for salon owners

PROS

This is the most well thought out salon software I have ever used. You can honestly tell it was developed by salon owners. It is beyond customizable. Anything I could think of that I wanted - it was already there. There were even solutions to problems I didn't know were problems! At the end of the day, this is by far the best software I could have asked for.

CONS

It was a little hard to get going at first. There we so many features and options and settings but their support team was there to hold my hand through all of it, help me get set up, and then showed me their resource bank where I could learn anything I wanted to.

Vendor Response

Hi Terra, Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We like you to be able to run the system to fit with your salon business. There are many great features available, however working on each one in bite size pieces we can see you are now well on your way. We are looking forward to working with you more in the future.

Replied January 2019

Ross

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2016

Best on the market

As an early adopter transferring from ISalon we were a little nervous, but David Levine assured us it would be trouble free and it was! It's updated regularly and SalonIQ listen to their clients and adopt good ideas.

PROS

Ease of use

CONS

Nothing

Greta

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY