All EXEMPTAX Reviews

1-12 of 12 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Good value for exemption certificate platform

So far so good, the team really likes the automation features and not having to manually manage tax exemptions

PROS

API was well documented, and had a straightforward integration. We were able to get up and running in just a couple of days, including final testing. Tech team was very supportive and provided speedy answers to configuration questions.

CONS

My company wanted to add some additional automation logic that required manual customization. I wish these extra customization options were better documented.

Reason for choosing EXEMPTAX

Product pricing and integration costs were significantly cheaper

Vendor Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you! We've passed this message to our product team, and will look to improve our customization documentation.

Replied October 2022

Bruce

Machinery, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Exemptax Review

Excellent customer service. The team at Exemptax worked hard to come up with solutions for our specific needs and stayed in regular contact throughout the entire process.

PROS

Very easy and user-friendly interface. Once things were setup, we were off and running in no time.

CONS

took a little time to setup the template for our email campaigns. Would be ideal if we could edit the document directly ourselves.

Reason for choosing EXEMPTAX

We were looking specifically for a sales tax exemption tool without any fluff. Exemptax was exactly what we were looking for.

Vendor Response

Bruce, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you. We value your feedback, and are always open to making continuous improvements.

Replied April 2021

Jack

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Excellent exemption management tool

We are pretty happy with the platform as it does exactly what we need it to do. Their customer service is fast and actually reads and responds to tickets. Overall ExempTax has greatly improved our old process as we are now receiving valid certificates much faster from our customers.

PROS

Platform is easy to use and the team was pretty quick to get up and running. There aren't any unneeded or unwanted functions cluttering up the tool, which is appreciated. Handling exemption certificates should not be rocket science and ExempTax keeps it straight to the point to get the job done. Ultimately however their pricing was the deciding factor to go with ExempTax and not Avalara.

CONS

We have several team members now working on exemption certificates. One ask I have heard from the team is that it would be really helpful to be able to just send documents directly into their system to eliminate some manual uploading efforts. After raising this feedback with them, they informed us that this is in the pipeline for release in the future.

Vendor Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you! We've passed this message to our product team, and will reach out to you when the feature request is released.

Replied June 2024

Dan

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Fantastic Software & Company

Their team is amazingly responsive and adaptive. They helped me create a new feature which hadn't existed before, upon my request.

PROS

Very easy to use, intuitive, streamlined, powerful.

CONS

There was nothing about it that I didn't like.

Reason for choosing EXEMPTAX

More intuitive and streamlined software. Much lower price too.

Vendor Response

Dan, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you. If there is anything you need from us, feel free to reach out.

Replied October 2022

Jacqueline

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

User-friendly! Easy to use without any unnecessary gimmicks

Their tool is straightforward and easy to use without any unnecessarily complicated options be to be aware of. We are logging in to ExempTax about every 2 weeks to check on our exposure, which provides a quick summary right in our dashboard. Even for sporadic use there is no need for any uptraining or having to have an account manager involved as their tool is intuitive enough to handle tasks self-sufficiently. When in need of support, our overall experience working with their customer service team has been very smooth. They are responsive and usually answer tickets with an actionable solution on the same day. For the price we pay, it's really value for money.

PROS

Very easy to handle and intuitive even for casual use. Most important for us though is that ExempTax finally allowed us to get rid of our physical paper certificates and filing cabinets and provided our team members with a much-needed digital repository to access customer data on the fly. When it comes to receiving new certificates, our team is using their built-in campaign builder function and validation process, which frees up a significant amount of time and research for us.

CONS

It would be great to get some sort of automated notification or email summary of sorts to avoid having to log into their tool just to check on our exposure status and action items we might have but there is no such option available at the moment. Also, since we are sending rather large volumes of emails through their campaign builder tool using mature customer master data, we never really know which of those emails made it through to our customers.

Reason for choosing EXEMPTAX

Ease of use and pricing were the main reasons why we signed up with them.

Vendor Response

Jacqueline, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you. We value your feedback, and would like to let you know that we're targeting deploying new email summary features in Q1 2022 and will reach out when it's available on your account.

Replied November 2021

John

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Great product - Great team - Easy implementation

We have fully automated the collection of exemption certificates for our new account setup process, integrating it with our sales team and (almost) eliminating back office compliance efforts. The Exemptax team was very helpful as we went through the extreme effort of getting thousands of customers to provide their certificates. I do not believe any other company could have done better.

PROS

We are a distribution business serving customers that almost exclusively resell the product. Exemptax integrates extremely well with our Shopify platform and made certificate compliance as easy as it is possible to be. The user interface is intuitive and easy to use, contains great functionality, and the dashboard clearly shows where we need to focus compliance efforts. From implementation to daily use, the team is very responsive and even made some fantastic enhancements to the functionality of the system to match our business processes.

CONS

In the beginning, some items that we thought should have been customizable were not. We met with the team and turned almost every request into an enhancement that made the product even better in our opinion.

Reason for choosing EXEMPTAX

Ease of use, pricing, and promises from the implementation team that were ultimately fulfilled!

Vendor Response

John, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Replied August 2021

Austin

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Exemptax Review

Exemptax has been an excellent tool for managing exemption certificates. The software makes it simple to understand what customers and certificates have been approved, rejected, expired or are missing.

PROS

The ease of use with this product stands out. The ability to send out customized mass campaigns to collect exemption certificates for specific customers or jurisdictions could not be easier. The campaign features are extremely user friendly.

CONS

N/A, any issue we have ran into with Exemptax they have worked with us to find a solution as soon as possible.

Vendor Response

Austin, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you!

Replied October 2022

Ted

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Great solution for managing tax exemptions

EXEMPTAX is THE solution we’ve been searching for to manage our tax exemption certificates! The team has been excellent to work with, and they were willing to build a custom integration for our BigCommerce store to automate as much of the certificate collection process as possible! My questions and suggestions are always considered, and I can always count on a prompt, courteous response. Kudos to the team at EXEMPTAX for building such a great product! We should’ve signed up months ago!

PROS

It automates certificate collection and integration was super easy!

CONS

There are a few design choices that were made that slow down the manual certificate upload process but the developers are working to implement our requested changes.

Reasons for switching to EXEMPTAX

Our in-house solution was becoming cumbersome to manage and was taking up too much of our time. We needed something that could more tightly integrate with our online shopping cart.

Vendor Response

Ted, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you. We value your feedback, and are always open to making continuous improvements.

Replied February 2021

Alison

Packaging and Containers, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Easy to use & affordable

PROS

ExempTax is very intuitive and easy to use. The affordability is unbeatable and the setup was a breeze!

CONS

The software only allows one email address per customer. It would be helpful to be able to send the email to multiple email addresses - it may help get a customer response a little sooner.

Vendor Response

Alison, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you. As for multiple email addresses per customer record, we've reached out to our product team for potential development, and will be in touch.

Replied June 2021

Kathy

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Easy to use software

PROS

Exemptax is very user-friendly. The connection with Shopify was smooth. It keeps us compliant and all of the documents are stored in one place that is easy to access.

CONS

It would be nice to be able to add more than one email.

Vendor Response

Kathy, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you. We've passed your feature request to our product team, and will provide you an update in the coming releases.

Replied October 2022

Luke

Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Super easy to use for resale certificates

PROS

I'm small business owner that sells both wholesale B2B and B2C apparel goods and I was looking for something that can help me with resale certificates as I know they're going to bite me in the a-s one day. I looked around on Capterra and other sites for other providers, but when I tried to get a quote from one of them I was routed to multiple sales people and received these ridiculous "enterprise" offers. I don't have the time and money for that, and all I wanted was something that will protect me in an audit without hours of training. This is exactly that. I got a 20min a demo and I got the account setup that day.

CONS

I don't use QuickBooks Online, so I had to use the bulk import function. It wasn't bad, but it would have been much easier if they had a direct integration plugin to Shopify.

Reason for choosing EXEMPTAX

Straightforward pricing, no contracts and really easy to use. One of the other providers wanted a minimum one year commitment, at 4X the price. Get the f-out of here.

Vendor Response

Luke, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you. As for integration into Shopify, this is something that's high our on priority list. Once the feature is ready for testing, we can go ahead and reach back out to you.

Replied April 2020

Tor

Consumer Electronics, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Selling products for resell.. you need this!

PROS

I started a small business recently selling USB-C hubs and other computer peripherals, and was looking for an affordable and simplified software for handling exemptions on my bulk sales to retail vendors. Did some research and a lot of the big programs out there were either too complicated, too expensive, or too generic. This software is easy to use with a straightforward user interface and handles the issue I was looking to solve as the main feature (tax exemptions on wholesale orders) not as some bandaid in subcategory as with other tax softwares. It is also a relief to deal with a product that has a USA headquarters.

CONS

I wish it had a few more integrations, but for now Quickbooks is more than doable!

Vendor Response

Tor, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using EXEMPTAX. We're happy to hear it has been positive and we look forward to continuing to serve you. As for additional integrations, this is something we're currently working on. If you have any specific requests, please reach out to us at support@exemptax.com.

Replied March 2020

Showing 1 - 12 of 12 Reviews