All GitHub Reviews

1-25 of 5,973 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Andrew

Education Management, 51 - 200 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2021

GitHub Review: Great software service for a version control system

User Profile

Rishav

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

GitHub For All

PROS

open source community, easy deployment, easy to access, you can store all your code in the form of the repository, developers events now and then.

CONS

missing some features, pull request taking long time.

Hussain

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Excellent source control but archaic billing

PROS

It is very easy to collaborate and work on code changes, publish releases, and run automation scripts. The UI is fast and they are improving it constantly making it quick and efficient to navigate to the repository and even the file you want.

CONS

My biggest gripe about GitHub is the billing. You have to buy a fixed number of seats and you can only increment it in 10s. So, even if you need just one extra user, you still have to pay for 10. It also takes a long time (2-3 days, more in some cases) to get the licenses added. I can't even process why this is the case. I would much rather have preferred usage billing.

Bibhuti

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Github review (8 years of usage)

PROS

- free private repo is cool - Github actions is awesome - Github pages saves a lot of money for web apps demo & open source projects. I myself have hosted all of my open sources web apps on Github pages. These are my favorites. Rest I can go on and on.

CONS

- Search feature is lacking. If there was better search functionality (eg. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] - powered by algolia), it would be a lot helpful. Searching one report among thousands is a pan right now. - Dependabot is pain - Sometimes Github pages doesn't update properly - Don't get relevant projects on "Explore repositories" section

Reason for choosing GitHub

GitHub has a lot of cool features for free.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Github was better, in terms of free features and the UI.

User Profile

Tommy

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

GitHub is one of the tools you just need

Works great, high quality and never loose any work. Check in often in busy collaborative environments, otherwise use the merge tools, no biggie.

PROS

It works. Fast and on Mac OS, Windows and Linux. Integrated nicely into both Visual Studio Code (PC, Mac) and Visual Studio (PC). Code compare. Merge. No problems.

CONS

It starts to eat disk space and 50Gbyte gone the other day. Some more integrated cleaning would be great.

Reason for choosing GitHub

Actually, we're using both and GitHub is kind of the basis for both.

Charles Boampong

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Perfect Hosting and Collaboration Tool for Developers with external Version Control features

The interface is extremely user-friendly, making it easy to navigate and contribute during collaboration, and most importantly, it's very standard and can handle very large projects and communities.

PROS

Honestly, GitHub has been one of my greatest motivations as a software engineer for a number of reasons such as its remote repository feature which allows multiple developers to easily collaborate and work on the same project to achieve great results.

CONS

Though GitHub offers free repositories of public project, some of the advanced features are paid.

Reason for choosing GitHub

After trying both of them for a couple of weeks, I fell in love with GitHub.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Simplifying Source Code Management

The experience is overly positive, as I am a developer I use it daily for work. I was also able to showcase my works and was able to get more projects. I could also collaborate with my team members more easily.

PROS

You can setup a repository for your code and collaborate with other developers throughout the world. With Github I can showcase my work so that I can attract recruiters. It is a social media for developers. I can also look for open-source code to learn and contribute to.

CONS

There is a learning curve to setup a repository and collaborate. People may also find it difficult to navigate through the app with so many features. Integrating with external tools to enable automation also takes a lot of effort.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Easily manage your projects with GitHub

I started using GitHub in 2020, a friend of mine recommended it to me. By that moment my coding knowledge was limited, but I managed to quickly learn how GitHub worked, I was able to create multiple projects and manage them very easily. GitHub is a really good option, I like its user friendly infrastructure and its amazing features.

PROS

Integration of AI if necessary, you are able to create your own websites and even add your own domain, you can have different versions of your project, you can integrate GitHub with Git, VS Code, IntelliJ IDEA and more.

CONS

The only think that I "don't like" is that you cannot publish private websites on GitHub, this is only possible on the paid version (GitHub pro). But if you don't have any issues publishing your project to the public, then this will not affect you.

User Profile

Sai Meghana

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Collaborative Coding Made Simple by GitHub

PROS

GitHub is its robust version control system, facilitating seamless collaboration among developers. Additionally, users value its extensive community support, integrated issue tracking, and versatile workflow management features, making it a go-to platform for software development projects of all scales.

CONS

Have complexity of its user interface for beginners, occasional performance issues during peak usage times, and the need for more streamlined project management tools within the platform. Additionally, there have been concerns raised about GitHub's pricing structure for organizations with larger teams or specific feature requirements.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

A lifesaver for dummy devs!

PROS

GitHub saved my business model. At the beginning of my journey in e-commerce I didn't have much experience in software development and I didn't have the money to pay for a professioanl dev to help me out. Github did it for me. It comes at a fair price and offers a community that can help you with improving your software, and more than everything, debugging it. It has monthly plans that cost a bit more than a Happy Meal and offer everything you need and more.

CONS

No cons for this software, it saved my business when I was struggling.

User Profile

Chiara

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Github is github

PROS

Github is simply the best platform there is for developers and software engineers

CONS

Some things are a bit harder to understand the mechanics of but overall you can easily learn

User Profile

Adarsh

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2024

Best Code repository platform

I like this project since the first day as I can easily manage my code base repositories with the GitHub. I hope GitHub comes up with new features to make the product better.

PROS

I like its various features like different branches and easy code deployment. User-friendly interface for smooth project code base management.

CONS

Pricing for private repositories is higher.

Sven

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

The #1 code hosting solution

We have been using it for code hosting for both private and public projects for several years, issue tracking etc not so much (mainly because the tracker is quite basic). As GitHub is using git underlying it can be accessed via any git compatible client out in the wild - so there are tons of ways to choose from suiting every developers needs. Github provides many hooks for third party tools, so pushes can trigger all sorts of things like CI builds or posts in your company Slack. Automation and integration is dead simple and super flexible. The company itself is really developer friendly, and you can sense that they are using GitHub themselves. Hosting of open source projects is free and their support and documentation are very helpful. Availability is high - one of the most important reasons when choosing a code hosting service.

PROS

- high availability - built-in code review, wiki, issue tracker, artifact hosting (private beta) - great third-party tool integration - automate everything - uses git - developer friendly company - free for open source projects - mature

CONS

- issue tracker could be more sophisticated - new features could be developed more rapidly (although this has improved recently) - native apps are not up-to-par with competitors, but luckily there are many free alternatives - was bought by Microsoft, I personally would have liked to see them stay independent

Reason for choosing GitHub

We've briefly tried out bitbucket and gitlab, but quickly returned to github for it's maturity and high availability. And it seems nowadays every developer is on github so collaboration on open source projects is very easy.

Adrian

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

GitHub is essential if you are a developer

Anything I write or code goes into GitHub, if it's a file I put it on Google Drive, if not it goes on GitHub, simple as that. It means I always have a backup, an up to date version, can roll back and share code very easily. Also, we collaborate daily as an organisation on GitHub and it is essential for us to function :)

PROS

It's very easy to use and fast. Previously I was using another version control software which became very slow. GitHub is super fast and much easier to use. I love the project management feature and KanBan cards and also the fact that it integrates with lots of other tools.

CONS

I think finding personal info could be made easier, e.g. all your comments, comments in a certain timeframe, interactions and conversations. I am a programmer and don't mind manually adding in the flags for searching, but feel a much more intuitive interface could be created to make life easier.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

I was previously using Mercurial on BitBucket and the process became so slow and painful I got annoyed and looked for another solution. Since switching Atlassian cam out and said they were dropping Mercurial as it had low usage on their system, however I think they let the experience get so bad for Mercurial users that they must have lost a lot of them to GitHub permanently, there's no reason to switch back :)

Jason

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

As a designer who codes...

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

PROS

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

CONS

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

My first Git tool was BitBucket, I was so new to code then. I don’t remember it well enough to comment on the tool. I switched because I was hired at a new company that used GitHub rather than BitBucket.

Jose

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

The easier source control app

The projects that we manage on my organization are confidential, so we have payed for the Github Businness plan and we control who is entering to the repositories and what are they doing. Also, we allow the access with specific IP's so that's is a really cool feature.

PROS

First, it has a desktop application, so it's easier to pull, push and track changes. It's free for private repositories and organizations (even if yours it's not an open source one). You have A LOT of integrations, like Slack, Jira, Jenkins, etc. Also, you can create your own integration if you need it.

CONS

I think the only thing is missing on Github is group repositories in folders. You can do something like that (using the teams feature) but at the end the repositories are not grouped.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Bitbucket is too expensive. In the other hand, if you are going to pay for any GitLab plan I think is better buy it on GitHub becase it has more features.

HansOlivier

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

The code versionning standard

I have used GitHub personally and never had any problems. I also used it professionally and every time something came up, I knew with high confidence that my coworker or myself messed up and that it was not the software's fault. All of my code versioning with GitHub was used on teams with less than ten members.

PROS

The entire code versioning tool is so easy to use and does every branch operation with visual clarity. It implements git quite easily, especially with a RSA key.

CONS

There is no real issue with GitHub. It does exactly what it is supposed to be doing. I could say that I had a few difficulties learning the concept of versioning when first using it.

Reason for choosing GitHub

GitHub was simply a more elegant and free solution for my needs. BitBucket was a more appropriate ressource for a bigger business, as it included in Atlassian. However, it is marginaly more expensive. GitLab also has the same cost issues. As for Jenkins, I simply felt that it was slower to reach roi.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

GitHub was simply a more elegant and free solution for my needs. BitBucket was a more appropriate ressource for a bigger business, as it included in Atlassian. However, it is marginaly more expensive. GitLab also has the same cost issues. As for Jenkins, I simply felt that it was slower to reach roi.

User Profile

Avash

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Essential Tool for Every Developer

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more than 2 years and it is one of the most polished tools I have ever used. After we spend some time learning about it, Github can be very intuitive. It's small features like directly copying code from files just by dragging it to its interface, or that it renders CSV, STL explains how polished it is.

PROS

Github is the most famous git services available online - I personally don't know any developers who don't use Github. This in turn makes Github essential to any developers as many people share codes and stuff through Github. I don't know exactly why but developers nowadays seem to prefer to just put their work in Github. Thus GitHub hosts almost all kind of open source projects which I love to fork and play around with. I personally think it is very productive. It has a good and intuitive User Interface which makes viewing information and reading code easier. I also feel Github is stable than other alternatives available.

CONS

I don't think there is much to dislike about Github but I think it isn't very easy to use for a beginner. I spent a long time learning about Git commands and stuff. Other than this, I can't think of any cons.

Reason for choosing GitHub

I am not sure but I think Github is faster than Gitlab. Github is more popular among developers which made us use Github too.

User Profile

Sébastien

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

A Secure, Reputable and Scalable Solution for All Your Developer's Needs

Because GitHub is a reputable service used by millions of developers, it serves as a great tool to show off your skills to potential employers. I personally got the privilege of getting access to more work opportunities as my experience using the service was taken into account when working remotely with a team. Being uselessly paranoid about potentially losing my files and projects, I feel reassured knowing that my code is being hosted on GitHub while being seamlessly synchronized on a third-party storage service, allowing for a painless retrieval of anything of importance in the worst case scenario. It also serves as a useful backup in case the code base gets messed up locally: it suffices to delete everything and start from scratch by pulling all the data from GitHub. The reverse is also true: if for some reasons a project has diverged too much from local changes being made, it is very simple to rewrite the history of a project by reusing only local references and discarding anything on the other side. Since Git isn't particularly easy to approach for beginners, having all those safeguards and the ability to undo most actions brings peace of mind to the user.

PROS

Since GitHub relies on Git underneath, one can be assured that it uses a strong, open source system behind the scenes. It integrates so well with the command-line that it's the main way I interact with GitHub on a daily basis. All essential actions you may need to perform are also available in the graphical interface on GitHub, making for a convenient experience when on the move as all necessary tools can be accessed either way. It offers security features such as the ability to link SSH and GPG keys, allowing users to verify their commits and secure their identity. The two-factor authentication system is also impressively well thought-out, having various recovery options including security keys, SMS number, recovery tokens, recovery codes and even fallback SMS number. If you often write the same content in form of comments, there is even a feature to have "saved replies", speeding up the interaction process for recurring matters. GitHub is also extremely accessible, offering unlimited private repositories for personal use. Even open source organizations can benefit tremendously without having to spend a dime as it includes by default everything one can need. GitHub is also perfect for students, giving you access to pro features and discounts through their "Student Developer Pack". GitHub Pages is another fantastic aspect of the platform, allowing you to host a website without any hassle, with really quick build time while also ranking very high on search engines.

CONS

Even though all members in a specific organization on GitHub may prove they are all verified students, there is still the need for the educational institution to set up a few steps on their own to approve changes being made, which slows down considerably the initial setup. The search options, although they are powerful, aren't very intuitive and many useful functions are well hidden in the documentation pages. As a regular user, there is no option to freely start collaborating in private repositories before scaling up, which is a feature that's often available on other similar platforms. On that note, the price tag for GitHub is relatively high for the added benefits compared to other solutions. There is a restriction on file size, which cannot exceed 100 Mb. In most instances, this is not an inconvenient, but it will not be an appropriate platform to handle sharing large files when rendering 3D models for example.

SI

Research, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Convenience just a pull away: GitHub, a game-changing tool for developers

Overall, learning Git and GitHub made life as a developer convenient. We transitioned from manually merging our code to using GitHub. Although it required some practice, it was well worth the time. We realized that we were missing out and how our older projects would have been a breeze if we learned about GitHub sooner.

PROS

Knowing git and GitHub boosted the productivity of my team members and I. We were able to cutback on the times we were doing manual version control work rather than actual software development. It has been very useful to the point that it has been integrated into our project work pipeline. It has been very reliable and our team has never encountered problems in uploading and retrieving the code of others. We are able to document any changes to our code and fix conflicting code which made working in a team much more convenient. Our team of 3 uses the free version which allows us to collaborate with each other, set up a public or private repository, document our bugs, and manage our workflow which already is a lot for a free service. Paid options allow for collaboration of bigger teams, analytics, and other advanced features. Aside from that, a GUI version of the application allows you to visually see the changes in the project and simplifies the workflow. Tutorials and documentations on how to use GitHub, for both the GUI and command line versions are available. Most source code editors now even have GitHub integrated and allows you to do the commands without leaving the editor.

CONS

As great as GitHub is, it really takes some time in getting used to, especially for beginners. It has a steep learning curve and you are most likely going to have to use a search engine for the tasks you want to do. GitHub also has an application with a GUI which is relatively beginner friendly, but even then, the Git workflow is really something that requires practice. I personally use the Command Line Interface and the difficult part is knowing the commands to use in which I solved by printing out a cheat sheet.

User Profile