All GitLab Reviews

1-25 of 1,088 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Justin

Information Technology and Services, 201 - 500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2021

Made DevOps possible for my company

User Profile

Onur

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Gitlab Review

I really like using Gitlab CI. We are building and deploying our applications using Gitlab CI mostly every day. It's very stable and fast. So that m overall experience is very good with Gitlab CI.

PROS

The working style of most of the CI/CD tools are similar in the background. The ones that has better UI and fast responses are making a difference in the market. Gitlab CI, by far has the best UI. The button clicks, flows and placement of the features are very well-designed.

CONS

I cannot say least but I would be happier if Gitlab adds more UI features in CI/CD level.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We just compared the UI/UX experience of all alternative producsts and Gitlab and decided to move forward with it. In technical terms, also Gitlab CI is very satisfying.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We were not satisfied with the CI/CD tool that we were using because of stability problems.

User Profile

Andy

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

The first step to using Git on your computer is from this tool

I think it's good that you can use it in basically the same way as GitHub, and that you can manage it by making use of your existing knowledge. Also, I think it's nice that GitLab has unique features that are easier to use, such as a feature that changes the display of the file icon for each file extension.

PROS

Using Git as a configuration management tool is already common sense (essential), but I think this software is the most used for remote (distributed) development. There are many cases where you install Git on each person's terminal and operate the commands, but if it is team development and you can't use an "external (public Internet) repository", it is better to set up and operate a Git repository with GitLab I think it will be the safest and standard way to use Git.

CONS

I guess there is no choice but to get used to it, but I would like to see more visual changes and expressions (messages) when conflicts occur that are easier to understand for beginners. After all, I'd like to see them develop an interface that makes it easier to understand the concept of Git configuration in the first place.

Reason for choosing GitLab

I think it is the first candidate for managing the configuration of development assets in internal development (because the use of Git itself is a global standard). There was a feature that changed the display of the file icon for each file extension, and it had the advantage that it was possible to reduce the file selection error. Also, unlike GitHub, it has not been acquired by Microsoft, so I think it is an advantage that it can be used with confidence in terms of security.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

With the end of MS-VSS support and the trend of the times, it was necessary to use Git for configuration management, and I was looking for a Git configuration management tool that could be used by groups (and remotely) instead of individuals, so we decided to implement GitLab.

Justin

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Beware of GitLab billing issues

Not long ago, I ordered some GitLab licenses since more people wanted to use it. I asked to go from 57 to 75 licenses. Instead, GitLab put the order in wrong and added 75 licenses, bringing us to 132 total. About this time, I was pulled to a critically-important project that was way behind schedule and told not to work on anything else. When I got enough breathing room to switch back, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] acted like she couldn't care less. The most I ever got was "I'll be sure to look into it" or "I'm still looking into it". The process dragged on for weeks. I had to nag her over and over again for updates until she finally told me that GitLab's billing department had decided... not to give me a refund because it had been too long. How convenient, especially after dragging out the process for so long. I complained about this, asked for a new account manager, and got what I requested. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] took my concerns to the GitLab crew again... and got told once again that not only would we not receive a refund, GitLab wasn't going to offer us any sort of compensation or credit whatsoever. We're a software company as well, and we would never treat loyal customers this way - especially not our power users. I've built my DevOps career around GitLab and encouraged others to do the same. That GitLab could be so tone-deaf over a problem that was clearly their fault speaks volumes to how the company has changed.

PROS

GitLab does well as an all-in-one software development platform.

CONS

If GitLab makes a billing problem, it may refuse to rectify the problem as they did with us.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Phabricator was overly complicated.

Babu

Automotive, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Close to the BEST

PROS

Its quite to easy to view stashed branch and some filter options in the repository. They can improve a bit to stay for the best in the market

CONS

At times , using the github & bitbucket in my project. This lags some feature which am seeing in the other repo cloud

Michele

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

A great source code management platform

GitLab has all the features my team needs for source code control and manegement. Very easy and intuitive to set up different group of users, projects, repositories with different levels of access. The GUI is also very neat and simple.

PROS

GitLab allows you to quickly set up an on-premise platform for source code control. Good integrations with CI/CD and very clean GUI.

CONS

Learning how to effectively use a versioning tool can be quite difficult for non-technical users.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We needed an on-premises source-code management platform for security reasons.

NOMPILO

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

GitLab Review

I enjoyed working with GitLab, although there were a few instances where I encountered challenges understanding certain aspects. With all of its features, it really makes teamwork easy, and I appreciate the security measures it provides. The use of merge requests ensures thorough code review before pushing changes to the main branch.

PROS

GitLab's collaboration features, such as merge requests and issue boards foster efficient teamwork. GitLab places a strong emphasis on security and provides tools like role-based access control, Workflows and issue boards can be customized using the platform. The CI/CD pipelines at GitLab are strong. The ease of setting up and managing pipelines directly within the repository simplifies the development process.

CONS

Navigating the platform and understanding all its capabilities might require a learning curve for individuals new to the tool.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

I initially used GitHub for my personal projects. However, the company where I completed my learnership utilized GitLab.

BISWAMITRA

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

GitLab: Next gen Collaboration Tool

Overall it is a 8.7 out of 10 experience, considering the average to be 5. It is better than some of the platforms in many terms, but till lagging some level of scalebility.

PROS

It offers an all-in-one platform that includes version control, issue tracking, continuous integration, and more. It excels at managing Git repositories, allowing for easy branching, merging, and version control. It has robust access control features, allowing administrators to manage user roles, permissions, and project visibility.

CONS

It is resource-intensive, especially for larger projects or organizations. It is hard to initially learn the tools and technologies. The UI/UX is less tempting.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

The ease of GitLab in terms of collaboration and deployment made it very easy, and that is now my more liking collaboration software.

Simon

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Gitlab provides a central easy to use system

A safe pair of hands with great functionality.

PROS

Ease of use, clear and easy to use interface and tight integration with source code and continuous integration tools.

CONS

Remove continuous integration functionality when not needed appears to be difficult - but this may well be a user error.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Better functionality and industry familiarity

Hugues

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

A great alternative to the giant.

PROS

Having our own git instance is a very good thing. We're know where our data is. (Self managed). Also, Gitlab have multiple integrations, and it is very great.

CONS

Most of our problems have been solved through the official documentation. But, we have some problems with performance that we're under it.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We make the switch because we want our data with us.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

All in One SDLC

improved the quality of software delivery and develop DevOps in our company are resulled for adopting Gitlab

PROS

One of the best tools for improving SDLC and controlling IT project with fantastic CD

CONS

there is no mobile client or Windows client

Reason for choosing GitLab

covering the cycle end-to-end, and the integration ability with any DevOps tools

Luca

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

PROS

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more. I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

CONS

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We decided to go the easy way. Gitlab was less painful to setup and had less restrictions (e.g. on the number of users)

Reasons for switching to GitLab

You can create organisations for free and have several private repositories (also for free). Additionally the idea that we could setup the CI/CD pipelines was a plus looking forward.

Edward

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Git Awesome

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

PROS

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

CONS

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.

Morgan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

A great hosted Git SCM solution

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

PROS

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

CONS

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

GitHub doesn't allow as much custom personalisation features, such as adding custom CI/CD runners, and is available as an on-premises solution basically only for its enterprise plan, whereas GitLab has always been a distributed product which one can self-host and manage. Gitea/Gogs is severely limited in many areas and lacks a coherent design and vision. Bitbucket is lacking in so many industry-standard features that it is not even worth talking about.

Pius

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Gitlab

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

PROS

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

CONS

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

Jörg

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

A powerful foundation for any software development need, which is trivially self hosted

Despite my gripes with debugging and monitoring, GitLab is a mind blowing software offer with an unbelievable feature set for a platform that is effectively free for many setups, not forcing a subscription or pro features by crippling its basic product but by providing additional value for paying customers instead of extorting users for critical features.

PROS

The pipeline system is by far GitLabs most important feature, though the extensive offering of supporting services such as project wikis, hooks and integrations make it a flexible control center for all needs of software development.

CONS

Debugging pipelines seems to be less than an after though, with minimal support and no indication of being in anyone's focus. Monitoring seems like a lackluster proof of concept released to the public, with many issues being ignored for years and all around extremely poor support unless the only thing you want to do is monitor the default setup for the default metrics in the default view.

Reason for choosing GitLab

Inability to host on premise

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Stagnating movement, fragmented development, lack of project oversight/direction, and the wish to unify the different moving parts.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

A must have tool for version controlling and software development process

GitLab is my everyday tool which I use for my course project management. I am really happy with its simple and easy-to-use open source support.

PROS

Gitlab has features to set up project wiki, deployment, CI/CD pipeline and managing the project with role management with adequate space for personal projects.

CONS

The documentations are bit confusing and third party plug in integration is bit difficult and confusing.

Reason for choosing GitLab

Gitlab is easier to use compared to GitHub and BitBucket.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Open source and easier to use.

User Profile

Londou Jacques

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

GitLab one of the best code versoinnig tools

GitLab has a large and active community of contributors who help maintain and improve the platform

PROS

GitLabprovides a complete end-to-end solution for software development, from source code management and version control to deployment and monitoring. This can be very convenient for teams who want to consolidate their development workflow in a single platform.

CONS

One potential limitation is the complexity of the platform. While GitLab's comprehensive feature set can be a strength, it can also make the platform more challenging to use and configure, especially for smaller teams or organizations.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

GitHub has a simpler and more intuitive user interface compared to GitLab.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Awesome Git Service

PROS

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way. Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

CONS

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

Reason for choosing GitLab