All CleanMyMac X Reviews

1-25 of 255 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Daniel

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2 - 10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2022

The Best Whole-System Cleaner on the Market for Mac

User Profile

Martin

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Best MacOS maintenance and monitoring utility

Perfect. Clean your computer, monitor resources of your computer and protect your files from malware.

PROS

The most impactful feature for me is maintenance. You can save tons of space using this app. It allows you to run tasks which are normally scheduled in operating system. The perfect feature is disk view, where you can easily navigate and find old and unused files to remove them. Monitoring is allowed through OS bar widget. You can view the current RAM, CPU, HDD usage, free up RAM when the performance is bad or show battery of your devices in the same Wi-Fi.

CONS

In current versions the RAM calculation is probably wrong. My computer became unresponsive having about 2GB of free ram, which was in previous version about some megabytes.

Tim

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Save Time and Money

This program saves me time and money and reminds me with out being intrusive to run a cleaning/scanning cycle.

PROS

I like that it not only keeps your Mac clean it also looks for viruses and spam ware. No need to purchase two different programs, this one does both.

CONS

I wish they was an option for unlimited licenses for multiple machines at a lower price.

Reason for choosing CleanMyMac X

Good value for the services the program offers.

Reasons for switching to CleanMyMac X

Cost savings, and Clean my mac does not slow down my computer like Norton did.

User Profile

Egor

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Used to be good...

When it worked the Flash DNS cache is very useful feature.

PROS

Easy to use. Suppose to run all hidden disk utilities maintenance - Repair Disk Permissions, Maintenance, free up RAM. etc. Use it whenever you need to or it will prompt you to use it if you didn't run it for awhileBut it's not working anymore! And the tech support cam't make it work...

CONS

Used to be a life time purchase. Now it's a yearly subscription.Stopped working after a few updates ago. Non stop popups to enter your administrator passwords. Never can finish the cleaning. Seems to be useless now...

Nguyen

Retail, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

The best tool for cleaning and protecting your Macbook.

I love this software as it helps my Macbook to run stably and smoothly.

PROS

It cleans my Macbook very well so that my Macbook runs smoothly and stably.

CONS

Processing time of cleaning, maintenance.

Allan

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Maintain and avoid pain

PROS

I welcome the peace of mind I get from this software - it is watching for uninvited viruses, cleaning out useless files and ensuring my MacBook Air is running at peak performance.

CONS

I have not yet found the software wanting. Perhaps a disk map showing file allocation after clean-up would be appreciated.

Reasons for switching to CleanMyMac X

CleanMyMac is more comprehensive and was recommended to me.

Phillip

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

The best I've used!

Cleaning up my drive, making my MAC run as the day I bought it and protecting my MAC

PROS

It has saved my MAC, from battery life to running the wrong files or websites. Truly amazing

CONS

So far it has preformed to all my exception

Reason for choosing CleanMyMac X

The Reviews online said it all, no question it was a better product

User Profile

Lawrent

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

a very efficient and affordable way to keep my Mac running smoothly

It allowed me to keep my computer 'under control' when it comes to space management, duplicate files, malware, and overall system performance.

PROS

CleanMyMac X does a great job cleaning up and speeding up ram and cache, finding duplicate files, and keeping your storage free of clutter (among other things). The app is intuitive, user-friendly, and self-explanatory (nothing to worry about as far as understanding what each button is for). I used not to like CleanMyMac, but the company gained my trust back after with the latest version. The developers have done a lot to improve CleanMyMac (it has so many features now), so much so that I now use the app every day, and my Mac runs faster and smoother. Since I don't have huge storage capabilities on my Mac, I like controlling my resources. For the price, CleanMyMac is a safe and efficient option. Also, compared to other solutions, CleanMyMac doesn't slow down my computer, which is a huge advantage. Featuring malware removal also makes the app valuable.

CONS

I haven't found anything I am not happy with.

Reasons for switching to CleanMyMac X

none would offer the features and performances of CleanMyMac X (although CCLEANER does a great job)

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Simply and Amazing tool

Beautiful

PROS

Quite a handful of reasons why I like the application being a solution I use daily, having to be able to clear a whole lot of unnecessary data storage points taking up spaces that should be used for other things, security scanner, and the one-click update of apps are so smooth. I once had an app that wasn’t showing up as needing an update from the app store but CleanMyMac X picked it up that there's a newer version if I would like to upgrade which was indeed cool in my opinion.

CONS

Nothing to like less about the solution it's a sleek one.

User Profile

Jodi

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

A great way to manage your Mac

I've kept my Mac clean, optimized, and well maintained using CleanMyMac X. This is an app I never want to be without.

PROS

In addition to virus and threats, this product also helps you optimize and maintain your entire system—from clean uninstalls of programs you no longer use, to automatically updating apps, managing browser extensions, and so much more.

CONS

Honestly I don't think there is anything not to like.

User Profile

Christian

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

CleanMyMac X - Best Mac CMMS

It has saved me from having to spend much money going to fix issues arising from over filled storage space. the tips too for saving space has been very useful

PROS

The notification aspect of it, especially when it has to do with critical storage or memory space. This has saved me a lot of headache.

CONS

I would want the deep scan to be even deeper. especially reaching system files, and sorting what is useful and what is not.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Dealing with that elusive storage

Does most of what I am not able to do and keeps my Mac running more efficiently

PROS

it has been a long while bother dealing with low storage space on my Mac. Most of the storage space has been taken by the system file/data and there is no easy way at least for me to clear it. I got CleanMyMacX through the Setapp account by MacPaw which is a lot of bargain and it has helped a lot in gaining back the storage space. I run Adobe applications and most tend to take create a huge cache which CMMX was able to delete. Besides cleaning the Mac, it doubles as a very effective malware removal tool. I would certainly recommend it.

CONS

I am not very comfortable with apps that require a lot of access to files systems such as full disk access as I think they can be a source of compromise to data privacy and who knows what else.

Reasons for switching to CleanMyMac X

provides more services and works perfectly.

Dave

Security and Investigations, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

A must have piece of software for any Mac user.

Generally, I would not be without CleanMyMac. Although, to make it even better it would be good to have an anti-virus element, especially as there is a malware remover. The overall look of CleanMyMac is really good and gives you confidence that under the hood things are done well.

PROS

The main features are so valuable. Firstly the way CleanMyMac claims more space is my primary use, but cleaning the memory and daily routines are as impressive, and it is all in one application. The Malware removal is an added bonus.

CONS

The inspection of large files is a little disappointing and could be better. Yes, it shows you the larger files on your system, but I am guessing most users would have a good idea what and where they are and would deal with them accordingly. It could be better by giving more details about the file, and where there are duplicates even more details about the files would be so much more helpful.

Reason for choosing CleanMyMac X

The range of utilities and maintenance elements, was the attraction, and of course the feature to free up space.

Reasons for switching to CleanMyMac X

Moving from a PC to a Mac gave me the opportunity to look at different software and different utilities.

Nancy

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Worth every penny!

PROS

I've used CleanMyMac for years on both of my computers as well as others in our household. It has steadily improved over the years and is without a doubt the best program of its kind out there for Mac products. The ease of use is greatly appreciated though I'd be remiss if I didn't mention how aesthetically pleasing it is! Updates and improvements are automatic and always important. Great product!

CONS

In truth, I don't have any complaints. I used to use two other cleaners along with CleanMyMac to cover all functions but that is no longer necessary.

Reasons for switching to CleanMyMac X

CleanMyMac is infinitely more thorough, user friendly and designed with a Mac aesthetic which may not matter to everyone but it makes me feel that this was designed exclusively for my MacBook Air and iMac.

Neil

Construction, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Clean My Mac

It just gives me confidence that my computers are working optimally and are also kept free from malware.

PROS

I use the software to regularly clean my iMac and MacBook pro. Since I first started using CleanMy Mac, at iteration 3, I have kept both machines at optimum performance. Version X now has many extra useful features including the RAM cleaning, the software updater and uninstalling is now so simple. I like most its ease of use and clear operator interface - no special skills needed to do some complicated tasks.

CONS

I cannot use it on my iPads or iPhones although I am assured it is coming. Gemini II can also be a bit intrusive.

Alan

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Mac Home Use

CleanMy Mac gives peace of mind on the protection aspect and the freeing up of RAM.

PROS

As my iMac has aged over the years, the usage of RAM required has jumped for reasons unknown, with regular prompts that its 16GB is running out of space. CleanMyMacX and previous versions are a simple and effective way of removing junk and freeing up RAM without having to instal upgrades.

CONS

I have no quibbles with the software and no improvements to suggest.

Reason for choosing CleanMyMac X

A seamless upgrade from the previous versions. Reputation is hard won, but once achieved it is a sparkling marketing tool.

Elizabeth

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Peace of Mind

PROS

I appreciate the peace of mind this software gives me as protection from malware or viruses. However, the hands down best feature of CleanMy Mac X is how polished this software keeps my operating system. I am consistently surprised how much junk is being emptied after running this software. It keeps my files tidy, my system smooth, and my operating speeds optimal. Beyond that, I find myself enjoying Uninstaller and feeling good about removing ALL files associated with an application. It allows me to be more bold with trying new apps to know if they are not for me, I am clearing them entirely once I decide to delete them.

CONS

The first time I opened the Large & Old Files, I was overwhelmed by how many were store on my computer. Plowing through what to keep and what to get rid of was not as intuitive as every other piece of this software.

Reasons for switching to CleanMyMac X

I read a tech review and knew this was the software for me and my Mac.

Liz

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

CleanMyMac X Review for 2021

CleanMyMac X runs seamlessly on my laptop. I click to have it check everything all at once. I highly recommend it.

PROS

I started using this app a few years ago and in the past year upgraded to the X version. Lots of improvements in the app. It's very easy to use. You can select what you want the app to clean, or you have the app clean the complete hard drive. It tells you what you don't need, checks for inaccuracies, makes suggestions, which you can opt in or out of, and generally just clean up all the junk files on your computer. Hands down - the best app I have on my Mac that I rely on to keep my Mac up to date.

CONS

In my opinion, there is no 'con' for this software. There's nothing not to like - it's all good.

Leslie

Sports, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Dependable, Simple & Thorough

I use very heavy, Apple based resources sapping professional software which would normally tie up even the most expensive computer after an hour or so into a project. CleanMyMac X helps me unload and refresh system resources.

PROS

It frees up CPU & temporary memory. Easily determines & removes system junk.

CONS

I wish I could SEE how it cleans and re-arranges data on the drive.

Reasons for switching to CleanMyMac X

Not very effective.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Wouldn't be without it.

PROS

I like everything! The ease of use, standard features and the ability to use the advanced settings for those superusers. I have been using CleanMyMac for over 8 years now and wouldn't be without it.