All Specops Password Auditor Reviews

1-19 of 19 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Excellent Password Auditor Software

It is has been fantastic from our initial and on-going conversations with the Account Manager and with their Technical department. They respond quickly and make themselves readily available for consultations and on-call meetings.

PROS

I love the fact that Password Auditor can compare up to date hashes with those already stored on a customers Active Directory. A number of reports including an executive summary can be easily created. The product has a plethora of features including: - Checks for known weak passwords - Identifies password vulnerabilities such as compromised passwords and those users too - Checks which users haven’t changed their passwords since a certain date - Identifies where passwords are not required - Identifies expired passwords - Identifies existing password policies - Displays password policy usage - Clearly highlights password policy compliance - Will only read information from Active Directory - Does not store Active Directory Data nor does it allow changes to company’s AD

CONS

There really was nothing to dislike. Everything in terms of our communication with them has been positive.

Reason for choosing Specops Password Auditor

Specops ticked all the boxes and met all our criteria. The Password Auditor was free and there was no compulsion to purchase further products. The service was exemplary and continues to be.

Raza

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Great product and easy to setup

The specops Has been great and their service is good and the password are one of the biggest day to day things which all admin dread having to reset specially after long weekend or after users gets back from vacation and forgets all the time ,

PROS

How easy it was to setup and how well it works , I have been using this for over two years and it makes my job so much easier and the time i get back not having to bother resetting password every day

CONS

I have to say I have had any issues so far and I’m pretty luck not have had any major issues

Reason for choosing Specops Password Auditor

How easy and simple and the price was no brainer

Paul

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Easily see if we are in compliance.

Specops Password Auditor provides a quick an easy method to get a view of how your organization is complying with company password policy. The drill downs allow me to view the information that is most important.

PROS

The scan is very quick and easy to read the results. Provides me a quick way to see how we are doing at complying with our password policy.

CONS

Would like to view the consoles remotely via web browser.

Reason for choosing Specops Password Auditor

The product provided the options we were looking and the implementation process was fairly simple. The cost for the Specops product was reasonably for the benefits provided.

Shiva

Pharmaceuticals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

easy to use freeware tool

It was easy to install, configure and use the product and the vendor provided good documentation - very positive experience.

PROS

This is probably one of the best freeware tools available to review password policies,, compare and benchmark with others as well be able to audit the administration of password policy. It also helps generate reports that show weak passwords that are vulnerable as well as expired passwords and enhance password security.

CONS

The tool fulfills its functionality and hence there is really nothing that I really would like to call out as missing or poorly done. The one suggestion that I have though is to include underlying details to the summary information on the dashboard.

Reason for choosing Specops Password Auditor

It was a freeware tool that was serving the purpose of administering password policy whilee providing good reporting capability.

Robin

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Simple and straight forward

Would recommend to any org trying to block users from using inappropriate passwords.

PROS

Documentation was good. Updates are dynamic, so no need to babysit the app. Really like that you can create custom black lists to prevent users from using words that AD or Google allow.

CONS

Nothing, it works as expected. We had to get some clarity on policies to meet our needs, but that was a simple email with support.

Ryan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Even if you dont go with the amazing SpecOps Password Policy this audit tool is a must!

Amazing lightweight tool which can be installed and used within minutes, provides key security information on what your users are doing with there password decisions and also there inactivity. Creates actionable spreadsheets and pdf's so you can target the users who are using breached password or sharing passwords with others.

PROS

Ease of use, can be loaded up instantly and provides real time up to date reports of whats going on within your enviroment regarding user passwords and user activity.

CONS

For a free tool that provides a vast amount of information there are very little 'cons' I would only ask for improvements in the reporting area so the data could be filtered more but again these are more feature requests than cons.

Kamal

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Password auditor

PROS

The password hash comparison is one of the most useful features in the product, this is especially helpful for ensuring that privileged users are being as secure as they can be.

CONS

Manually downloading the breached protection can be tedious and would be great if it was included as part of a software update.

nick

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Great integration of product

THis enabled us to keep an eye and have a dashboard to be more proactive and get good insights into our business.

PROS

The software was very easue to bring into architecture and use. We could not have asked for a more seemless transition.

CONS

No issues of note. We are very happy with product.

Reason for choosing Specops Password Auditor

It met our scability needs with minimal delays and intrusion.

Alex

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Specops Auditor Review

Good software from start to finish.

PROS

Simple to use and navigate, for updating new password lists and separating different password categories.

CONS

There wasn't anything to say that's negative.

Neil

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

A must for any network admin

Helping to keep our network secure and manage users expectations and implications of password management.

PROS

Easy to use and fast with detailed reports.

CONS

Nothing comes to mind, the software is good as is.

Reason for choosing Specops Password Auditor

Ease of use.

Robin

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

SPEC OPS filled a much needed gap

While the users are frustrated with the new policies, the IT and Security teams are very satisfied. We are now able to force users to comply with restrictions that the built in policies in AD are extremely lacking.

PROS

Being able to customize the dictionary is a huge need for our firm. We have many company specific terms and acronyms that we are able to block users from using. The auditor confirms our policies are being enforced.

CONS

So far, nothing. We've had no gray area when it comes to enforcement once we installed this product.

Reason for choosing Specops Password Auditor

N/A

Travis

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

Excellent product that helped align our policies with NIST standards

It has been a great resource in our multi-layered cyber security strategy. Sales and implementation were a breeze.

PROS

Ease of setup, it takes no time to get deployed and configured.

CONS

It would be nice if the blacklist check was included with the base product.

Reason for choosing Specops Password Auditor

Ease of installation.

Marc

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

A handy little tool!

Fantastic. The team at Specops are always really helpful if support is required.

PROS

SpecOps Password Auditor is a great little tool for discovering weaknesses with users' passwords. It's great for a quick snapshot of your overall password and account health in AD.

CONS

There's not a lot to dislike. The product is pretty simple.

Mark

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Excellent Solution

PROS

The solution provides everything we needed to support our password enforcement policy

CONS

Really nothing to say about the solution.

Martin

Legal Services, 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Great prep for password policy changes

PROS

Has super useful features, like showing which users have the same password and which users have known compromised passwords. We are looking to remove forced password changes in our organization and this gives great insight into some of the adjustments that need to be made before that can be implemented.

CONS

Some of the better features are hidden behind a paywall but that is as expected for any product.

MURAT

Retail, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Easy implementation and usage

PROS

Custom words adding. It is easy and usefull.

CONS

Local invoice and process is important for us.

Jesse

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Powerful and easy to use

PROS

The wealth of information given from the tool was a great feature, especially the comparison of current policy to industry best practices.

CONS

I did not encounter any features or usability that was a negative for me.

Paul

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Checking the market

compare to other supplier offerings this is easy to use and the detailed report at the end is on the nose when it comes to highlighting all the necessary need to know information.

PROS

The detailed report is a fantastic output. It incorporates all the necessary detail that I can provide this to our board of directors at our quarterly meetings for a snapshot on out attack surface

CONS

I'm finding it difficult to say anything negative about this!!!

Neil

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: