All GitLab Reviews

1-25 of 1,087 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Justin

Information Technology and Services, 201 - 500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2021

Made DevOps possible for my company

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

PROS

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

CONS

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

Reason for choosing GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

User Profile

Lilantha

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

GitLab Review

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

PROS

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

CONS

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Reason for choosing GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.

Justin

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Beware of GitLab billing issues

Not long ago, I ordered some GitLab licenses since more people wanted to use it. I asked to go from 57 to 75 licenses. Instead, GitLab put the order in wrong and added 75 licenses, bringing us to 132 total. About this time, I was pulled to a critically-important project that was way behind schedule and told not to work on anything else. When I got enough breathing room to switch back, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] acted like she couldn't care less. The most I ever got was "I'll be sure to look into it" or "I'm still looking into it". The process dragged on for weeks. I had to nag her over and over again for updates until she finally told me that GitLab's billing department had decided... not to give me a refund because it had been too long. How convenient, especially after dragging out the process for so long. I complained about this, asked for a new account manager, and got what I requested. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] took my concerns to the GitLab crew again... and got told once again that not only would we not receive a refund, GitLab wasn't going to offer us any sort of compensation or credit whatsoever. We're a software company as well, and we would never treat loyal customers this way - especially not our power users. I've built my DevOps career around GitLab and encouraged others to do the same. That GitLab could be so tone-deaf over a problem that was clearly their fault speaks volumes to how the company has changed.

PROS

GitLab does well as an all-in-one software development platform.

CONS

If GitLab makes a billing problem, it may refuse to rectify the problem as they did with us.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Phabricator was overly complicated.

Michele

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

A great source code management platform

GitLab has all the features my team needs for source code control and manegement. Very easy and intuitive to set up different group of users, projects, repositories with different levels of access. The GUI is also very neat and simple.

PROS

GitLab allows you to quickly set up an on-premise platform for source code control. Good integrations with CI/CD and very clean GUI.

CONS

Learning how to effectively use a versioning tool can be quite difficult for non-technical users.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We needed an on-premises source-code management platform for security reasons.

User Profile

Brad

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

GitLab is a must for development teams

PROS

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

CONS

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

To connect to the code in addition to workflows.

Simon

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Gitlab provides a central easy to use system

A safe pair of hands with great functionality.

PROS

Ease of use, clear and easy to use interface and tight integration with source code and continuous integration tools.

CONS

Remove continuous integration functionality when not needed appears to be difficult - but this may well be a user error.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Better functionality and industry familiarity

BISWAMITRA

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

GitLab: Next gen Collaboration Tool

Overall it is a 8.7 out of 10 experience, considering the average to be 5. It is better than some of the platforms in many terms, but till lagging some level of scalebility.

PROS

It offers an all-in-one platform that includes version control, issue tracking, continuous integration, and more. It excels at managing Git repositories, allowing for easy branching, merging, and version control. It has robust access control features, allowing administrators to manage user roles, permissions, and project visibility.

CONS

It is resource-intensive, especially for larger projects or organizations. It is hard to initially learn the tools and technologies. The UI/UX is less tempting.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

The ease of GitLab in terms of collaboration and deployment made it very easy, and that is now my more liking collaboration software.

Hugues

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

A great alternative to the giant.

PROS

Having our own git instance is a very good thing. We're know where our data is. (Self managed). Also, Gitlab have multiple integrations, and it is very great.

CONS

Most of our problems have been solved through the official documentation. But, we have some problems with performance that we're under it.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We make the switch because we want our data with us.

Colin

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

A great solution for controlling your own source code.

Overall, it's exactly what my old company needed, given that I was given zero budget and no attention.

PROS

GitHub charges for company use, and my old company wouldn't have paid for SCM no matter how important it was to our department. Thankfully, GitLab installed just fine on a VM we spun up internally, and that was all we needed. Our Git repositories, client websites, and configuration files had a home. I can use the Git CLI, and there's a convenient web interface and hooks for everyone else (including me when I didn't want to use the CLI).

CONS

Setting this up internally is a hassle. You need a VM and a valid SSL certificate, which is a fairly low bar for entry, but more than most products. Also, it does update fairly often, which I suppose is better than it not updating at all.

Reason for choosing GitLab

My boss wouldn't pay for a GitHub business plan.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

All in One SDLC

improved the quality of software delivery and develop DevOps in our company are resulled for adopting Gitlab

PROS

One of the best tools for improving SDLC and controlling IT project with fantastic CD

CONS

there is no mobile client or Windows client

Reason for choosing GitLab

covering the cycle end-to-end, and the integration ability with any DevOps tools

Luca

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

PROS

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more. I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

CONS

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We decided to go the easy way. Gitlab was less painful to setup and had less restrictions (e.g. on the number of users)

Reasons for switching to GitLab

You can create organisations for free and have several private repositories (also for free). Additionally the idea that we could setup the CI/CD pipelines was a plus looking forward.

Edward

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Git Awesome

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

PROS

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

CONS

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.

Morgan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

A great hosted Git SCM solution

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

PROS

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

CONS

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

GitHub doesn't allow as much custom personalisation features, such as adding custom CI/CD runners, and is available as an on-premises solution basically only for its enterprise plan, whereas GitLab has always been a distributed product which one can self-host and manage. Gitea/Gogs is severely limited in many areas and lacks a coherent design and vision. Bitbucket is lacking in so many industry-standard features that it is not even worth talking about.

Pius

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Gitlab

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

PROS

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

CONS

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

The All-in-One orchestration tool for CICD

Overall, I am very pleased with the GitLab experience since it provides a single stop window for developers and admins

PROS

GitLab provides all-in-one capability for developers to do Source Code Management, CI/CD automation, Security and coding standards checks. Earlier we used to have separate tools for each of the above functions, but moving to Gitlab we now have a single stop-shop for all our Application Development and Automation needs. I see many other companies are trying to follow the gitlab methodology but gitlab is way ahead of the competetion.

CONS

Project and Portfolio management can still have improvements to provide Roadmap and Grantt views in future versions

Reason for choosing GitLab

GitHub has just started GitHub actions and will take at least a year to provide similar capabilities

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Moving to a single stop window instead of disparate tools

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Awesome Git Service

PROS

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way. Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

CONS

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We first hosted all our repos on Bitbucket, but GitLab allowed us to add more users to our repositories for free. It also offered more integrations such as Sentry which was a big selling point for us. GitHub didn't offer free private repos at the time which was the main reason we went for GitLab instead.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Great Open Source Software!

The overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself

PROS

I use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within groups, repos, role based access control for members. Members can also be grouped with names - helpful to create a group for a team and add members to the group and give access to the team/group. It has forking, SSH/HTTPS git repo access, Notification/Watch repo features. It also has lots of integrations. We use slack a lot and we have integrations with slack which GitLab provides, and we have configured it to get notified for different things, starting from commit pushes to pipeline failures. We also use the GitLab pages for hosting the Wiki site for repos. It's pretty neat! The GitLab CI/CD has the concept of runners which run the CI/CD tasks/jobs. Runners have tags, and you can easily use the appropriate tag in the config to run the task in the appropriate runner. We use different runners for different things like, pushing to a Docker registry (requires special permissions), accessing a prod DB/application, running normal tasks (scripts) etc. All in all, it's quite good

CONS

Although GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping jobs in a stage. Also, the CI/CD UI is not very good. It has glitches, there's no auto refresh in all the UIs to show the status of a job - if it's successful or if it failed. The job UI also isn't very great, like, if the job names or stage names are big, it becomes tough to read. Also, when the job log is very big, it reloads the page when the job finishes and truncates the output of the job and makes it available for download instead. This can be good or bad, based on the use case. For us, it was mostly not a soothing experience.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Great platform to host your project!

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry. However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

PROS

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab. The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

CONS

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies. Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments. Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Reason for choosing GitLab

Better CI/CD

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Better CI/CD

Prince

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

GitLab - The Forefront of Source Control which Helps You Move Forward

Overall, GitLab has been a really solid addition to our workspace. It allows us to collaborate much easier and gives us the opportunity to add tests and validations in our pipelines so that whenever code is deployed, it can be checked for quality assurance and take the appropriate actions based on the results. The amount of features GitLab is packed with, it may be a while before I am able to learn it all but also be able to make use of it all. I will say this however is that whenever I do learn something new, it is often a welcomed change and either myself or my team is ecstatic and excited to not only implement the newly discovered feature, but also to reap the benefits of the sweet update or enhancement! Great job GitLab, cheers!

PROS

GitLab does its best to help you with what you may need in order to promote quality code deployments with tools and resources to become a more collaborative team. With source control and hosting repositories as its primary objective, GitLab extends to its users an extensive suite of tools and controls to ensure only quality code is committed and only by those that is desired. With features like code reviews, pipeline validations, and allowing for integration of automated tests, its hard to imagine low quality or bug infested code to get through to your production or master code branches.

CONS

Honestly, its not easy to pick out cons of such a great tool in your arsenal. Given that so much goes so well once you've integrated everything properly, the only things that come to mind are more of a annoyance rather than an issue and coincidentally, they're all based on the UI or aspects that don't interfere with the workflow or the work itself. One of which is that GitLab does not offer a dark mode of its UI. Given we are developers and spend most of our time looking at computer screen, It would be lovely to be able to darken the UI so that its not so straining to our eyes. Secondly, we have split up our GitLab in to various teams where each of the teams have access to their own folders/repository. Unfortunately, whenever someone from ANY of these sub-repos is given access, opens a new merge request, or is making comments on a merge request, everyone gets an email about it. It can be very frustrating and I'm not really sure if this setting can be changed from a User level but I would really love it if they can.

Nicolò

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: