All Notepad++ Reviews

1-25 of 1,920 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

William

Information Technology and Services, 2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed June 2023

They're constantly updating!

User Profile

Fazal Rahman

Verified reviewer

Program Development, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Coding was never been easy

Its very easy IDE to use for my eyes even if i am using it at night or daylight. Its easy with update functionalities for back-end and front-end users. It includes the most classes pre-defined which will be limited in other same products or need to be imported. Sometimes i don’t have internet connections so i would not be stuck for any class or library.

PROS

I like the backup and recover first to save my progress, the IDE is a home platform where you work i like the environment however i want i can change it the theme colors, fonts, size. And specially the classes to import while coding i may not have internet connection but notepad++ helps us to overcome this segment in most cases. in back-end or front-end development.

CONS

Uhm overall i liked the platform compare to other platforms i used before its not limited and is a complete comprehensive IDE and including most libraries and classes for developer, ease of their/our work. So far i don’t see any particular segment to not like or like least about notepad++.

Reason for choosing Notepad++

It helps me work all in oneBack-end Front-endClasses importPre-defined libraries. Supporting most used machine languages….

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

I wanted an IDE to work in all aspects of my development, back-end front-end, coding and design. Some IDE would not allow us to work in machine languages or design html, css, javascript… or lack of classes in some IDEs made me to switch for a better one and affordable one like notepad++.

Adam

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Very good, helpful product. Great replacement for notepad

I love it and use it all the time. Makes work a little easier everyday.

PROS

Very easy to use upgrade over Notepad. Love the tab feature and document saving. Very easy to sort/search for configuration files. Layout is great.

CONS

Have not come across anything I don't like about Notepad++. It's been a great tool

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

More feature rich.

User Profile

Przemek

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Notepad++ a must have for IT specialist.

It gives me a free scripting program to work with all types of codes. I can quickly view and evaluate the script, make necessary corrections, and then save it in the same format it was opened with.

PROS

Notepad++ is suitable for all scripting languages and can be used to write and edit all types of code, like scripts and configuration files. It is easy and free to use, which makes it a valuable asset for programmers and IT specialists in general.

CONS

Sometimes I miss the terminal feature like in Powershell or Visual Studio, where I could check the code without implementing it in the environment. Such a testing feature is almost a must-have, and because Notepad++ doesn't have it I sometimes chose other scripting solutions.

Reason for choosing Notepad++

Simple, functional, easy to install configure and deploy.. and cheap.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

VS Code is a complex tool which is not always good for complexed but repeating tasks.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2021

A fairly niche text editor

Notepad++ was a great tool that I heavily relied on when I was starting to configure and run scripts. Nowadays, I find myself using this program less often, as it offers fewer features than other IDEs.

PROS

Notepad++ can be easily dropped in as a replacement for Windows Notepad. It works and looks identically to Notepad, only that it supports more files and has more features. For those that are less tech savy, I think Notepad++ is an easy replacement for Notepad, even if you don't need to use all its features.

CONS

For developers, it's hard to justify using Notepad++ for much. Other developer-focused IDEs offer vastly enhanced feature sets and quality of life improvements for editing code/config files, while also performing the same functions as Notepad++. The UI of Notepad++ also seems dated.

User Profile

Ralph

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

A Notepad You'll Actually Want to Use

My overall experience with Notepad++ has been very po

PROS

I love the look and feel of Notepad++ the most. When you switch over from the native Microsoft Notepad it is a world of difference.

CONS

It feels like it requests an update pretty frequently but that is a small nitpick.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Notepad++ is free and far more useful than the alternative.

User Profile

Roger

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Notepad++ can handle every language then some

I mean I use it literally every single day. I most of the time just leave it open and is one of the few programs that turn on when my computer turns on. It has so many plug ins I still haven't tried them all but the ones I have tried we so good I just left those on too and I love finding stuff on here that just makes coding just so much more enjoyable and the program is as powerful as you want it to be

PROS

Were do I begin, well first is how light it is. I have been using Notepad++ since I was 18 and I am 30 as of 9/5/2021 and to this day I cant find another source text editor that is as quick and robust I can just keep tabs of examples and the syntax highlighting is beautiful and you can use there XML layout to make your own syntax highlighting. Also the plug ins they offer are unreal. You can build your copy up with all the bells and whistles or keep it light, I do recommend getting a FTP client on so you can put in individual files were they need to be real quick. Honestly this will be one of the tools you will use most often.

CONS

If I had to pick I would say there are some bugs in some of the plug ins and maybe a slight touch up on the GUI.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

I needed something that could allow me to quickly write HTML, CSS and java script files and not slow down the laptop I had at the time.

User Profile

Filipp

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

A good basic workhorse

I’ve used npp for ad hoc dev work before migrating to cloud and doing quick basic testing of code

PROS

Lots of language syntax highlighting, great themes, cheap, and little memory consumption during execution.

CONS

No theme marketplace and module references across scripts are rare, function type declarations also aren’t visible in the IDE

Reason for choosing Notepad++

I use all three in tandem depending on the use case

Metin

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Good Editor

Handy enough to do regular editing, not so useful for deep dives.

PROS

Notepad++ is a free source code editor, so it helps to do rather easy task with it and it's free !

CONS

Nothing particularly I don't like because it's an open source program. A bit simple but it's free !

Rodrigo

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Small, fast and convenient

We normally use visual studio, but it is too heavy for small tasks. The VS code is also too big and confusing for that, as it always tries to deal with project folders. In Notepad++ we can open files individually and edit a script or fix a programming error in a larger project from another tool, check the charset of a file or even write manuals in markdown. It is a Swiss Army knife for most of the auxiliary functions in our routine.

PROS

It is a super notepad, very fast to open, very efficient for handling large files, great for editing scripts or parts of larger programs. I also find it amazing how easy it is with the wizard to define your own programming or markup language. This extends the app to domain languages. It also has localization for several languages.

CONS

I even went looking for something I don't like about it, but I couldn't find it. Perhaps the only thing missing is that it has a Linux version.

Reason for choosing Notepad++

First because when testing it against others, the interface is friendly, some would call it old-fashioned, but it's really cool, easy to adapt and no frills. Other editors we've tested were either expensive, or big, or confusing, or difficult, or trying to emulate the experience of a full IDE, but when you use notepad++ I don't think that's what you have in mind.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

In this case we needed something that would give us the same speed and ease that we had with VB6. The tasks of correcting a script, cleaning up a CSV data file, or changing an xml became slow and cumbersome in VS and VS Code. So we found notepad++ and found a small, lightweight, very powerful and really useful tool.

Jeff

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

NotePad++ Checks All The Boxes

We've been using NotePad++ for 15 years now, and it's become our staple for everyday coding.

PROS

We use NotePad++ every single day coding our internal CMS systems. Everything we use is custom built in-house, and NotePad++ is our editor of choice. The language strings are clearly defined (the colors are super nice), and the customizable ability of literally everything (including viewpoint) is easy to implement and toggle. We even have added additional SpellCheck settings which have helped (the default is British). Their backup methods is amazing, too - literally able to keep a core backup of every file for iterations upon saving.

CONS

Practically nothing. Very rarely the software crashes when you load a new file, but thankfully that's super rare - and it's only upon upload (so no changes have been made yet).

Reason for choosing Notepad++

Simplicity of use and language colors were much better.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Dreamweaver was too complex and also keep having issues connecting properly to FTP.

Zeno

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Notepad++ usefull

I keep all my codes and notes easily

PROS

Ease of use, if you close the application and reopen it, all your notes will be saved. You can easily transfer them to other pc, even without saving the tabs.

CONS

Some addons have to be installed manually and don't always work.

Reason for choosing Notepad++

Ease of use to use, save, restore, transfer files. View

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Simplicity, view codes in every language, change theme color

User Profile

Gokul

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Notepad++ V7.7.1

I am using this Notepad++ as an developer for past 6 years right from 2013. As an developer and support person in my project I used to have lot of SQL insert commands, BCP IN/OUT and other FTP commands to be typed and generated it as an macro for millions of rows. So this software is used to avoid lot of halles in first place. As well since I am an developer this is used to create formatting loop for SQL procedure, functions and views. As well by erroneously if the notepad closed also the next day when we opends it saves the data in the local and we can get started from the place where we left.

PROS

1. Notepad is very good and easy when we are a developer particularly for .HTML, CSS Designs 2. It is an Good IDE when we are using for SQL. It will clearly shows conditional formatting, loops and other contents as required for avoiding compilation errors. 3. The IDE is free in the market and selling for a least dollar amount by Scooter INC., 4. Automatic spell checker and avoiding grammatical things when typing the words. This feature is called "Autocomplete" which suits to HTML and SQL also. 5. Macros also available which is used for any BCP or Insert commands when writing for SQL server coding (T-SQL). 6. Supports N number of languages right from HTML till Java, ASP and VB also. SO formatting is very easy and done at one place rather than having their IDE's when developer develops multiple tings at one place.

CONS

1. Notepad++ is sometimes slower in nature and getting closed automatically without any error messages though it was light weight in nature. 2. For a developer/programmer this is very good however for tech managers and directors this is not a good tool to dealt with since we have lot of paid one in the market with features in the market for any presentations to be performed. Overall disadvantage or CONS is less so nothing to be presented much apart from this.

Reason for choosing Notepad++

Good for Developer which acts as an IDE for several languages in a single place to use. Example a developer may develop an HTML, JQuery, VB and SQL as an backed. So all formatting can be done at a single place without any hassles.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

We used Ultraedit in our healthcare company however very least function are available and not good for all development. As well if the UE is closed we cant continue or see the past data which will starts from beginning.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Not a simple Text Editor

This is my preferred tool for daily activities. I use it to compare 2 text files (something really useful), also to take notes (as the primary objective of this tool), to read code (it has support to several coding languages), to read JSON files (by far, my preferred functionality).

PROS

There's a large number of really useful features in this application that can serve many different use purposes. The three major strengths I see in this tool are: - The powerful onboard features (check how many options are there on the default menu bar. The search function is really flexible, with the mark functionality onboard that help us to identify words or even lines to be fully replaced or deleted). Another really nice one is the shift+alt+click functionality to make dynamic selection of texts. Also, special mention to the auto-save feature of multiple files (usually, I keep on more than 30 opened files at same time). - The facility to install and start using it (it is straight forward as any text editor should be) and, the stability combined with low use of system resources (as earlier mentioned, even with +30 opened files simultaneously, performance never drops). - The large variety of available plugins that make it this tool capable to assume many different roles such as a text editor, a JSON file analyzer, a XML analyzer, a code editor, a two-text files comparison tool...

CONS

For some features, we have so many options that it may be confusing for new users. For instance, I keep on forgetting how to mark and delete some lines because despite the mark functionality appears on the search bar, the remove functionality is hidden under search-bookmark option.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

The number of extra features in Notepad++

John

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Best Text and Source Code Editor on Windows

This is a great program, and well written. It's actually further elevated, in my opinion, by the fact that it is donation based software. It's really great, but even if you don't donate you still get to use the full features he's put into it. This to me underscores the confidence the author of the program has in the program he's written, and let's the quality of it be a testament unto itself.

PROS

Supports colorized syntax features for multiple languages, including Python, Pearl, R, C++, HTML, Java, etc. This really makes it easy to find your way through various code. Moreover, it's not just for source code. It supports a very versatile find/replace (including RegEx support) feature that makes sorting through various text sequences very easy. Even working with nucleotide or amino acid sequences is easy, and easily facilitates putting together FASTA files for use in other software to do alignments.

CONS

This is really great software that does a lot for programming purposes. It would be nice to see it compliment though more of the bioinformatics side by adding the color scheming for nucleotide/amino acid characters. As an example "A, T, G, C" would be a standard color, but ambiguous bases could be different sets of colors As an example, it would be nice to see "R" which is the ambiguous base code for purines (G, A), or "Y" for pyrimidines (T, C) which could be other individual colors themselves. This way, in a string of text: ATGGGCGGATGTATTACCAYG, all the regular bases would be color blue, but the "Y" could be orange and would stand out from the rest of the text. I find that color schemes that color amino acids by polarity/acidity to sometimes be a bit of eye-clutter on screen, but others might find this feature very useful as well.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

All the rich features and flexibility enables daily use with ease, and no awkward steps to transition from the standard notepad program. It also supports greater file sizes than the standard notepad.

User Profile

Géovanny

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Notepad++ an essential text editor

PROS

I find Notepad++ very convenient for several reasons:It is free, so I can use it without spending money.It is versatile and supports many programming languages, so I can use it for different projects.It's lightweight and runs fast, even on my old computer.The user interface is customizable, so I can adjust it to my preferences.It offers handy features such as text search and replace, syntax highlighting, etc.It supports plugins, which means I can add additional features if needed.There is also a portable version that I can use from a USB stick, which is very handy when I am working on different computers.For all these reasons, Notepad++ is my favorite text editor and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable and convenient text editor.

CONS

I find Notepad++ to be a very useful text editor, but it also has some drawbacks. Here are the ones I've noticed:It can crash from time to time, especially if I'm working on large files.It lacks some advanced features, like built-in debugging for more advanced programming languages.The user interface can seem a bit dated and less intuitive than some other text editors.Even though the user interface is customizable, it can take some time to configure it to my preferences.However, the advantages of Notepad++ are numerous and the disadvantages minor. All in all, I find it an excellent tool for editing text and code, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a simple and reliable text editor.

Gordon

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

A popular open-source text and source code editor for Windows Operating System

Overal, Notepad++ is a great tool for text editing. If you are windows user and are looking for a fast and lightweight text editor to work with, then Notepad++ is what you are looking for.

PROS

Notepad++ supports almost all the popular programming languages including SQL. It is generally lightweight and light. You can install it and get it working in minutes and it doesn't consume a lot of your computer resources. It provides the functionality of Syntax highlighting something that make it enjoyable to code as it helps in trouble shooting and catching errors. One of my favorite aspects of Notepad ++ is its ability to split the interface into multiple views to help you do side by side editing. I also love the search and replace feature. This feature is a big deal because not all text editors come with it. It helps me quickly find a specific piece of code and replace it with another. These speeds up my work. Another helpful feature of Notepad++ is the auto-complete suggestions which are such a time saver and help you reduce errors.

CONS

1. Notepad++ is only available in windows operating system. 2. Another con is that Notepad++ is a stand alone application and therefore it doesn't offer realtime collaboration options possibility. I mostly use it for my own personal projects which do not require me to collaborate with someone.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

“A wonderful text editor which achieves enormous tasks”

As a university student, I use the Notepad++ software to edit my codes as it supports a wide variety of programming languages. I am so excited about the awesome features that it has held and I like its user interface which is entirely customizable. In my opinion, it is an amazing text editor that I ever used!

PROS

I have been using this software for about four years and I use this Notepad++ software daily to edit my scripts immediately and to edit some parts of my codes that I have done. I noticed that it supports a lot of programming languages which makes me easy to edit my codes which are from different programming languages such as C++, C, Python, and HTML. One of the features I love most in this Notepad++ software is its autosaving facility while I’m working. It is very essential as when there is a power failure for a long period or unwittingly closes this app. Hence because of this feature, I could continue my work where I have stopped without getting stress. Notepad++ consists of multiple tabs and it is easy and free to use which saves my time a lot. It has a syntax highlighting facility which helps me a lot to identify especially the errors and strings of my code. It saves my internal storage as it does not use much amount of storage. Notepad++ software has many different plugins and supports for macros too. I love the exceptional features accommodate in this Notepad++ software and I recommend this software to use u all.

CONS

Notepad++ software is unable to open files which are usually larger than 50MB and I noticed that it is lagging when these files are opening in this software. I hope in the future this software could use for Linux and Mac users too, as it is now only accessible for MS Windows users. I think it is better to have a modern style which senses like it is a late version. Other than these I didn’t notice many cons of this software.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Amazing Multitool

I have been using Notepad ++ (or N++) for as long as I can think. It basically started in school and i quickly adopted it for my home use too and never stopped using it ever since. You can (probably) open all files and formats that text editors should be able to handle and some more. It is recently being overshadowed by VS code, but i still use both of them side by side, since N++ is still faster for quick edits and i know all the key combos i possibly need. I definitely reccomend to install this on your machine at work and home, since it makes things so much easier compared to the default notepad.

PROS

It can open almost any fileformat to the point where it feels like the VLC of editors. A lot of Programming languages are supported for highlighting out of the box and you can add even more via plugins. Opening files is really quick! Files you have edited are kept even after a shutdown and if the file is removed, unless you save it there are no "saving oopsies " happening.

CONS

Windows only Finding plugins that fit your needs and are still developed for the current version can be really tedious. Sometimes you need to stick with certain N++ versions for compatibility. No autocomplete or Intellisense by default. Finding autocomplete plugins and getting them to work can be tricky and your chances of success are based on how far your language is spread

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

I switched from the windows integrated notepad because of the lack of features and am still loyal to N++ to this day

User Profile

Gopal

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

The best text editor out there...

Overall I'm really happy with Notepad++ it helps me get mess sorted out quickly, helps add notes quickly and I can keep it running it in background as it doesn't consume much of cpu power. Syntax highlighting support for many languages has helped me more than few times to identify issues in code or XML without having to run the code.

PROS

Considering the fact that it is just a text editor - I love almost everything about Notepad++. It's fully customize-able, light and almost bug free and on top of that it's fully open sourced & free. Also the availability of so many plugins makes it super awesome. It helps me take notes quickly which are preserved even when I don't save it and can also be sync'd with cloud.

CONS

There's almost nothing to dislike about the features provided with Notepad++, but I wish they add start taking competition seriously and start adding features such as version controlling.

Reason for choosing Notepad++

For it's light weightiness.

User Profile

Mohammad

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: