All Tower Reviews

1-20 of 20 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Sijawusz

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Kind of iTunes for Git (but better)

Smooth, macOS-like (design language-wise).

PROS

I like the clean, intuitive UI, great UX and ease of cherry-picking and doing interactive rebases. All of that makes it a pretty powerful tool in a sleek package.

CONS

Not much really. Poor performance with large git repositories, occasional bugs (UI and git-related).

Reason for choosing Tower

It's more of a complementary tool to what I've been using via CLI.

Golo

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Simply the best Git client out there

The Tower website states that it's not Tower or the Git CLI, but Tower and the Git CLI. And this is something I can actually agree with: I typically do use the Git CLI for everyday tasks, such as adding, committing, pushing, … but when it comes to things that you don't do that often manually, I switch to Tower, which gives me the feeling of still having all the details under control, but of not running the risk of causing any damage. So, Tower helps me to feel more safe and more confident in what I do, even if it's about the hard things in Git.

PROS

The challenge for any Git client is to combine ease-of-use with not abstracting away the underlying concept too much. Tower does a perfect job here: It does not hide what's happening under the hood, and this way feels familiar if you know Git pretty well, but at the same time manages to make it simple and fun to use. What I especially like is the way Tower handles branches, including branching off, merging, switching branches, cleaning up branches, and so on, … This is IMHO one of the most well-done features in Tower, and it helps you to get done what you want to achieve, without getting in your way. In contrast: It assists where reasonable, but as said still clearly communicates what it's doing under the hood. So, to cut it short: Its UI is the perfect combination of simple yet powerful.

CONS

Phew, hard to tell. Actually I'd say "nothing", but if I have to come up with something I'd probably say it's that Tower does not run on Linux (only on macOS and Windows), which is the reason why we can't use it on anyone's machine in our company (some of us are using Linux).

Reason for choosing Tower

Compared to GitHub Desktop, Tower has much more features: While GitHub Desktop is also pretty well-suited for beginners, it lacks too much support for professional users. So, for complex things you need to turn to the Git CLI again, which is just what I wanted to avoid. SourceTree and GitKraken both have the less polished UI when compared to Tower: Although SourceTree perfectly aligns with the macOS design, it's UI is too simple for my needs. It maybe is able to handle more complex cases as well, but too much is hidden somewhere. That's great for everyday usage with the simple cases, but as said before, this is not what I need a graphical assistant for. GitKraken on the other hand is the contrast: Its UI offers way more, but I find Tower's more clear and organized.

Reasons for switching to Tower

As said in the overall experience, I switched from the Git CLI, although I still use it, so it's not an actual "switch", it's rather an extension of my previously used tooling. This extension was reasonable because Tower helps me to feel safe in what I do, even with more complex things where you sometimes get a little bit lost on the command-line.

Jakub

Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

The logical and clean git client

Generally it is great (fine) and I will continue to use it on mac. In other environments we sting to commandline. But everytime it is possible I go back to Tower since it makes things easier, more clear and e.g. diffs are more clear to me here in the app then in online.

PROS

Compared to integrated source code solutions Tower brings a nice interface which is disconnected from your IDE. So even for people who are not proficient with git commands the app makes using versioning a breeze. Creating a repo? There is an interface for that. Merging branches - there is UI for that. Staging? The is UI for that. All commands are available in some sort of interface so it makes versioning easier even for newcommers.

CONS

At some point the app messed up with encoding of files and broke our deployment scripts in GitHub. Plus there is no clear workflow, so user can actually press buttons and hope for the best. Guidelines would be great.

Reason for choosing Tower

It seemed more robust and mature than other products.

Reasons for switching to Tower

To gain better understanding because I am a more visual person. And to be able to use some sort of UI rather then commandline.

Sathish Paul

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

An awesome Git client

Tower is one of those phenomenally useful tools that is done with great taste, simply works, and gets out of your way when you are heads down into your work. I wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone dealing with Git.

PROS

I am a Software engineer working in the Bay Area. I stumbled upon Tower, the wonderful Git client for macOS about 5 years ago. Ever since that day, I use Tower everyday for my work. I was drawn to Tower because of its ease of use, particularly drag and drop, for creating and merging branches. Dealing with Git conflicts, ability to quickly undo using CMD-Z and support for external diff tools are all awesome additional features. I particularly love how easy it is to quickly rebase your changes based on a remote branch. But there are two big features in Tower that has saved me countless hours of work. The ability to quickly "stash" changes and apply them at will to different branches, and the ability to use "Reflog" to recover changes that were accidentally discarded. Tower (and Git under the hood) works really hard to not lose your changes, but even if you somehow override all of the warnings, it is possible to get the changes back. In addition to these, the ability to search by author, commit hash, file, date and ability to easily push, pull and rebase (basic expectations from any Git client) are all very well done.

CONS

There are not many things that I wish Tower did better. But there is one. I wish the text box that allows you to type the commit description is scrollable. It is painful to use the arrow keys to navigate particularly long commit messages. I often end up writing my commit messages in an external editor and simply paste it in the textbox right before I commit.

Frank

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Indispensable tool for our daily business

Tower has become one of the software tools we use on a day-to-day basis. It enables us to commit with confidence and solve merge conflicts with ease. Even our new developers can instantly work with Tower, even if they have never used Git before. It really makes a big difference in productivity.

PROS

The ease-of-use, the super intuitive interface, the time it saves us in our daily software development routine. The value it adds to our workflow. Git Tower became an indispensable item in our daily software toolset. Ever since we started using Git Tower everyone knows how to use Git efficiently and securely. It dramatically reduced frustration in our team trying to solve merge conflicts in the command line. These days are luckily over since Tower.

CONS

Nothing really, I couldn't think of anything right now. We use it daily and love it.

Reason for choosing Tower

Git Tower is - in our opinion - superior to other (free) tools on the market and definitely over the command line. Yes, you have to pay for it. But it is worth it big time. The interface is superior, the functionality is outstanding and with the subscription model we can be rest assured that the company will be there for us in the long term. This and the great support and resources on their website made us choose Tower and we have definitely made the right choice.

Norman

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Best native Git client

PROS

I enjoy how Tower gives you access to all of Git’s features through a user-friendly interface. The workflows are intuitive, e.g. you can perform many actions by drag and drop (from creating branches all the way to cherry-picking a commit). It also works with any repo, no matter if you host it on your own server or use one of the popular Git hosting services. I myself use it in combination with AzureDevops. Once connected, cloning a repo is just a single click. What also sets Tower apart is their great documentation and learning material. A detailed documentation is accompanied by tutorials, webinars and responsive support. Something other dev tools are often lacking. As Tower saves me countless hours a week, it’s a no-brainer to pay $69 per year for not only the tool, but a steady stream of updates and great support.

CONS

The Windows version is still missing a few features that are already implemented on macOS.

Reasons for switching to Tower

I prefer Tower’s layout and performance and the fact that it’s a native application compared to Gitkraken which is built with Electron.

Mint

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Powerful and easy to use.

PROS

I've been keeping up with Tower for almost 10 years now. I found an email from back in December 2010 where I sent the beta to a friend of mine. It was only about 3 or 4 years ago that I finally broke down and bought it. I'd been using several free git clients for a while and they did work fine, but after trying a demo of Git Tower, things just clicked. It made managing my team's large git repository a breeze and was generally a joy to use. Git Tower mostly stays out of your way and allows you to get your work done without difficulty. I'm a happy paying customer and will continue to be for the foreseeable future.

CONS

No major downsides. As with any paid product you have to judge it's worth to you over the free versions out there. Since I make my living coding and spend a lot of time inside our team's git repository, paying for an app that makes this easy is a no-brainer.

Reasons for switching to Tower

The ease of use and the fact it was a native Mac app.

Thorsten

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

The best git UI tool for macOS

Tower helps me handle all my daily git workflows; no need to open the terminal at all. I"m much faster working with git in Tower than I would be in the terminal. Especially when doing selective commits.

PROS

Git tower is the best git UI tool I know. It makes working with multiple branches, multiple git repositories, cherry-picking commits easy. I've been using it for more than five years now, and there is no other git tool that better fits my mental model of git. From the start on, I loved working with Tower. You can do nearly everything you can with git on the command line and much more, i.e. comparing branches or working with pull requests.

CONS

There is nothing I really dislike about Tower. But I would wish for some new features regarding pull requests i.e. assigning reviewers or adding comments in code

Vendor Response

Thank you for your kind words, Thorsten. We hope you continue to enjoy using Tower for many more years to come!

Replied March 2022

Chris

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Excellent Supplement or Replacement for Command Line

I save time every single day with Tower's ease of use and excellent visualization of repositories. I still find myself using the command line for some things (especially cloning for whatever reason) but I am always referring to Tower before making commits. It also makes Interactive Staging and Stashing a breeze.

PROS

I find the user interface to be very easy to use and the feature set is fantastic. The quality is very high as well, I can't recall running into any bugs with Tower.

CONS

I don't like that it's 100% subscription based, I am completely ok with paying for updates, there's no other sustainable way, but it's a bit disheartening to be locked out from using previous versions when the license is up. I would prefer to see a purchasing model more similar to Sketch (https://www.sketch.com/pricing/).

Reason for choosing Tower

Familiar

Reasons for switching to Tower

Better UI/UX and more features

Matthias

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

The most robust git UI out there

It’s one of the few software tools that I use every single day. With its minimalistic UI Tower simply gets out of my way and lets me focus on getting things done quickly.

PROS

It gives you great confidence when dealing with git for two reasons: first of all it guides you to learn the concepts behind git without hiding the more complex features. And its speed and robustness give you great transparency when dealing with larger repositories on your Mac.

CONS

It wasn’t that simple to configure authentication using my already existing SSH keys.

Reason for choosing Tower

Because I rather pay for a high quality software tool which amplifies me instead of using a free alternative with a bad User Experience that slows me down.

Cameron

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

The best Git GUI

There are free Git clients out there and I’ve tried many. They have nice aspects to them, but nothing ever felt like it checked off all the boxes like Tower. It’s one of very few software licenses that I don’t even have to question when I’m going over expenses.

PROS

Tower’s UI is so much easier to navigate than anyone else’s. When I first started learning Git years back, it felt very intimidating but Tower made it feel not so scary fixing a merge conflict, merging into Master, etc.

CONS

There’s honesty nothing to complain about for me.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Making Git more accessible

We have used the Tower GitHub client in a Neuroscience research group setting for the last 4 years. Our users have differing levels of programming familiarity. The graphical user interface of Tower is perfect for this type of mixed skill environment. Using Tower we have been able to effectively share and manage code without getting individual users bogged down in the intricacies of git.

PROS

Graphical Interface Ease of use Complex mergers and rebases LaTeX sync

CONS

Minor issues getting up and running with 2FA

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Fairly intuitive Source Management Tool

Tower has been a great tool for me. I don't have any real problems, and haven't encountered an easier source management tool yet.

PROS

It is very easy to set up a new repository and link it with GitHub, BitBucket, or whatever repo you need. Most git actions are very easy and intuitive compared to other software I've used/seen.

CONS

The only issue I've had is with switching between active branches, the stashing isn't very intuitive and needing to manually stash untracked files is fairly annoying.

Antoine

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Very good product

PROS

I use it as main git client and I'm very happy about it. Very efficient to merge branches and conflict resolving.

CONS

The only thing is : No dark mode for Windows yet.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to review Tower! We have good news: dark mode for Tower for Windows is now available in our latest beta along with other new features, a complete design overhaul as well as a significant performance boost.

Replied March 2021

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Tower is the official source code management tool of choice in our company.

I like Tower and I admit that it is a very powerful app. I use it by requirement and I have to force myself to be very careful with it because I have seen unspeakable butchery happening with some repos due to a moment of lesser attention. I have a good and powerful machine but still Tower lags with it. I like it but for my every day use I lean on one more app which I never had glitches with.

PROS

Clear when it comes to commit history. Wide range of features to use but you need to be experienced to use them without making a mess of it.

CONS

Sluggish with large projects to the point of freezing.

Andrei

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Best Git client ever!

It's amazing. One of the best Git clients I've ever used!

PROS

- It's super easy to use; - Has a superb UI/UX; - You can perform complex tasks quite easily (ex. rebase, force push with lease); - Has a very nice diffing tool;

CONS

I've struggled a bit to find this one: on large projects, the performance drops a bit (the UI lags a bit in terms of updates).

User Profile

Jakub

Verified reviewer

Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Great and reliable tool

PROS

Intuitive interface and integration with multiple platforms.

CONS

Can't find anything annoying or problematic.

Sven

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Powerful Git-Client

PROS

The interaction with GitHub and the integration of existing projects is just great.

CONS

In the beginning, it took me some time to learn how to use the software. But after some time it was very easy for me.

Reasons for switching to Tower

After seeing Tower for the first time, I knew it was my new software for Git from now on.

User Profile

Brett

Verified reviewer

Investment Banking, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5