Hippo Manager

RATING:

4.0

(133)

About Hippo Manager

Hippo Manager is a cloud-based veterinary practice management solution for small and midsize clinics, hospitals, specialists and independent contractors. Its main features include appointment scheduling, reporting, point of sale (POS), reminders, inventory and more. Hippo Manager can manage all the clinic appointments with adding resources, use color coding for different type of appointments, modify appointment schedules and more. Its inventory management allows users to check on stock levels, add or remove quantities and track margins. Users can send appointment reminders, SMS notifications, e-statements and other communications directly to customers. Hippo Manager comes with an integrated POS system, which enables users to enter transactions, create invoice...

Hippo Manager Pricing

Free trial, no credit card required. $119 per vet, per month. No charge for all other users. Subscription includes unlimited training, support, data storage, patients and additional users.

Starting price: 

$119.00 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Medication template
Slide 1 of 5

Hippo Manager Reviews

Overall Rating

4.0

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

3.5

Most Helpful Reviews for Hippo Manager

1 - 5 of 133 Reviews

Christy

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Hippo review

We have had good experience...we were not previously computerized and this was a pretty good intro. We don't use all the features available but hope to someday.

PROS

It is pretty easy to invoice patients and tech support has been helpful

CONS

We have glitches sometimes with link with credit card processing.

Reason for choosing Hippo Manager

Cost effective for our small practice

Vendor Response

Hi, Dr. Nicely, We're so happy to be your chosen software as you moved into a computerized veterinary practice and cloud software. Hippo Manager is robust and full of features that are ready to grow with practices of every size! When you're ready to take advantage of all that Hippo Manager has to offer, all users receive 100% free and unlimited customer service and training so veterinary professionals can be ready to take the next step in business and patient care on their terms. We apologize that there's been some glitches with credit card processing, we've recently completed an upgrade which will eliminate these occurrences. As always, any issues that you encounter, please take advantage of our unlimited customer service and support so that we can resolve the question at hand as quickly as possible for you!

Replied October 2019

Jessica

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2019

Medical records software for acupuncture/chiropractic practice

PROS

I like being able to set up Hippo manager to meet my practice needs. I can customize templates that are specific to my type of practice.

CONS

There is a patient portal for clients to access, but the veterinarian does not have control of what goes into that portal unless you leave items unsigned. The portal also does not have a separate medications tab for clients so they have to search through every visit note to find what their RX is. The software does not automatically notify clients if there has been an update in their portal so they know to look at it. Hippo manager is accessible on mobile devices, but is not very usable at least on an iPhone. Can access charts, but scrolling through to read them is very difficult. I use the iPhone the most to upload photos and videos.

Reason for choosing Hippo Manager

Had more features than Cavanti.

Vendor Response

Dr. Marziani, Your feedback regarding our built-in patient portal is appreciated. We take partner practice feedback seriously and make improvements based on this feedback as soon and as often as we can. Additional functions that further improve the usability of the patient portal is a part of our continuous development cycle and your suggestions have been added! Hippo can be used on any mobile device but, you're right, we don't recommend anything smaller than an iPad. If you have other Apple devices that are larger than your phone you can enable airdrop and upload unlimited photos, videos and files from that larger device so that your experience is better. We're happy you're customizing Hippo Manager to better suit your needs and look forward to providing you practice management that continues to improve and exceed practice partner expectations based on industry demands and feedback from veterinary professionals such as yourself. Thank you again.

Replied September 2019

Justine

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2019

Ease of use

Easy to use and freedom to access outside the clinic is great. The follow up and reminders need to be improved to be useful and functional. It would be nice to also have the ability to have people have credits on their account display as well.

PROS

I like that we can access the program outside the clinic. The program is pretty easy to navigate.

CONS

The follow up and reminder system is not good. It would be better if we could customize follow up dates and have these alert on a list each day to ones due. Email reminders would be great if we could in each patient individual send an email.

Reasons for switching to Hippo Manager

Switched work place.

Vendor Response

Hi Justine, Thanks for your comments and feedback using Hippo Manager as your cloud veterinary practice management system. Easy to navigate, use and simple to learn is what we aim to achieve with our approach and we're glad Hippo is helping you provide patient care from anywhere. Native email reminders in Hippo Manager are free and unlimited, we do understand that they don't always fit what practices are specifically looking for with their client demographic. In these cases we recommend using automated and scheduled reminders with SMS and 2-way text messaging so that your practice can have a more customized approach you're looking for. We'll have a team member reach out to you asap to demo this feature and see if that will assist your reminder needs. We have many integrations on the horizon for the remainder of 2019 and also for 2020, we're confident you'll find improved reminder and followup features through these and our software upgrades.

Replied September 2019

Elaine

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Overall Fantastic Program

Everyone in the Clinic is able to access the software program and put in their notes without us having to purchase multiple licenses. We only have one Veterinarian, but with our former software program, we had to purchase a license for each computer it was used on.

PROS

Accessibility - I love that people can access it from their phone, tablet, home, etc. Customer Support - The fact that we do not have to pay extra for customer support is a huge plus. In addition, Customer Support is knowledgeable and prompt. Details - The Veterinarian's can put more details in their SOAPs than what they could with our former program.

CONS

Having to learn new ways to do what we did in our former software. I have found that in Hippo we are able to do everything we did in our former software, it is just done a little differently.

Reason for choosing Hippo Manager

Hippo is located in the United States. Hippo has a Help Manual. The demo we sat in was great. Hippo's Customer Service is beyond reproach. Anytime we ask for guidance, etc., we get a prompt response.

Reasons for switching to Hippo Manager

Cost, customer support, problems with former program not working.

Vendor Response

Hi Elaine, We're so glad you've made the switch to Hippo Manager. Our support team is poised to help practices such as yours, make the switch and shorten the learning curve. Learning a different way to do the same things is challenging when switching any software, not just veterinary PiMS. That's why we offer support and training on an unlimited basis as everyone has different learning needs. We think that complicating pricing or linking pricing to licenses and then additional charges are not ideal for busy veterinary clinics. That's why we only charge per vet per month and never any upcharges or surprise billing for accessing your secure account on any device from anywhere. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being a valued member of the Hippo Herd!

Replied September 2019

Jody

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2019

Overall good quality

PROS

Ability to quickly scan each entry for the one you want. Patient page gives excellent Quick overview of the record, although recent update resulted in poor scaling that previously existed so you have to scroll both left-right and up-down to see all widgets. Not just focused on receipts and finances. The medical record component is robust.

CONS

1) Bugs are slow to be addressed and resolved. ( Can’t enter multiple vaccines without saving and then reloading the patient page for instance. Still waiting months for fix) 2) Customization of certain fields (diagnoses lists, relationship field) not possible. 3) Vaccine history list printout unwieldy. 4) Entering dates from the calendar function requires multiple clicks if it is a historical date.

Vendor Response

Dr. Sandler, Thank you for your review of our veterinary software. We work to make sure that our total practice management solution includes robust features such as EMRs, inventory, checkout and more, as you mentioned. If you are adding multiple widgets to the patient screen to customize your view of the patient data you wish to see, you will have to scroll in order to see all the widgets you have selected. Using a lot of widgets at once does force that page to scroll which is easily done on a tablet, iPad, laptop etc.. We appreciate feedback from partner practices and try to implement suggestions as soon as possible. It's great to see you've been accessing our unlimited support to update areas you would wish to see customized until that can be done on the practice level. What you mentioned about the calendar is on track for a future update! We will have a team member touch base to make sure the reports being printed are what you'd like to see as that has been updated.

Replied September 2019