All Panopto Reviews

1-25 of 74 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jonathan

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

Panopto has met all of my needs and then some and the support is phenomenal.

We were able to give faculty one tool for all of their video creation and editing and storing needs instead of all the various tools they had to use previously to accomplish the same thing. All of the content is now stored on our server so we don't lose access to it if an employee leaves the college. We can live stream our events with it. We can manage all of our video and caption it as well. It provides us a secure way to stream 3rd party video we have an agreement with to share with specific users. Allows for adding quizzes in the video.

PROS

I love how it manages our video content. The ability to manage 1000's of videos with ease and update user permissions or move content around all without breaking the link to the video was the biggest selling point for me. Other products I've evaluated managed video very differently and left things more up to the user. If the user were to leave their content would be difficult to hand over to the next person that may need it. The LMS Integration is excellent. Biggest workflow saver is when an instructor makes a recording in class the hit stop and upload and the video automatically goes into the course it needs to be in and even gives students a progress bar for it. Other products required the instructor to go in after they made the recording and move the video into the course manually or move it into a specific playlist. When an instructor finishes class they don't have time to go moving their recordings around. They need to finish up and leave before the next class starts coming in. It has so many bells and whistles. Live broadcasting, quizzing that integrates with the LMS Gradebook, scheduled recordings, so many great video player features, the mobile app. It's overall an excellent product and I couldn't find anything else that checked all my boxes.

CONS

The recorder has a lot of options in regards to setting the quality when we always encourage our faculty to set it at the highest possible. I wish the recorder could be streamlined so I could start up recordings faster and have a share link go right to my clipboard so I could send it out like how Jing does it. There is value to all of the options on the recorder but I wish they had a lighter weight version.

Eugenio

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

how a software can get outdated because lack of innovation

it was very good 5 years ago but now that we need online teaching we had to change to another software.

PROS

classes are automatically recorded at the scheduled time

CONS

it is hard to set up a new sporadic recording and there is no option to have videocall at the same time because cameras are recording

Reason for choosing Panopto

We choose google meet because we can record like panopto but we can interact with the students, the only thing we miss is that in panopto classes were automatically recorded at the scheduled time.

Laura

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2023

Panopto-powerful but over complicated.

Half good, half very frustrating. Faculty have to login for th e1st time to a specifc Panopto link. We did not realize this at first and thought a user could just type in "Panopto" in the URL. So the step by step document/video would have been helpful. Also all the videos need to be linked a specific way no copying and pasting URL's. Panopto has to be turned on in tools in our LMS. We have our faculty create a link to Panopto in the menu of the LMS and have a link to the Panopto site. It is just several steps and it just seems there could be an easier way. We used to sue VidGrid & Mediasite: Our co. made the switch. The recent decision by VidGrid to not undergo the state-required Texas Risk and Authorization Management Program (TX-RAMP) certification for all cloud-based vendors to operate under contract with state agencies and institutions of higher education. Mediasite had many issues, so best to stop using it. The interface was ugly and not so useful also.

PROS

Panopto's interface is clean cut and not too busy. I like the file areas to the left and the center area for videos. I like that it is integrated into BB, the LMS we use.

CONS

Panopto was presented to us as an really good option for faculty to use. It has turned out to be not so easy to use. There are many steps that we learned about later that have to be done a certain way or the students cannot access the videos within BB, the LMS. Panopto is integrated into BB, the LMS we use but it is problematic. If someone pastes a link to a video in a text field it will not open correctly for them. The faculty has to embed it correctly using Pan video embed. VidGrid did not require so much for the user.

Reasons for switching to Panopto

Our co. made the switch. The recent decision by VidGrid to not undergo the state-required Texas Risk and Authorization Management Program (TX-RAMP) certification for all cloud-based vendors to operate under contract with state agencies and institutions of higher education. Mediasite had many issues, so best to stop using it. The interface was ugly and not so useful also.

Frank J.

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Panopto provides me with a reliable, flexible venue for documenting and assessing my students' progress.

PROS

There are many features that I like about Panopto; ease of use is near the top of the list. I have been using it for several years and it is comforting to know how reliable and simple it is to get a recording completed. I have had situations where an opportunity arose and I wanted to capture it for my students to see later, and I simply pulled out my phone and recorded and uploaded it to the Cloud with a few simple clicks. My students love it because regardless of their hardware (PC, phone, iOS device), they can record their assignments and get feedback almost as if they were in front of me. The simple-to-use editing features allow me to update/enhance legacy content enabling me to leverage existing resources. I could go on and on...

CONS

Some of the more advanced features are a bit more challenging for some of my students to understand; however, the good news is that the basic features provide more than enough opportunity for successful resource generation.

Graham

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Coming up to our 9th year with Panopto

Over nine years we have gone from a couple of technically leading academics promoting its use to a large scale rollout with half the University asking staff to use it. Almost immediately students asked for it to be mandated.

PROS

The software is easy to roll out across a large campus due to its software-only focus and the need for just a microphone. Most steps can be automated and the integration with Blackboard (in our case) allows videos to be secured to classes/modules with no additional steps.

CONS

Moving to a fully automated recording workflow requires heavy integration with your timetable system.

Paul

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2021

A solid option

We worked with them to get through some issues our institution had with them. Our success manager was responsive and helpful. I believe they refined some of their support protocols based on our conversations. If mobile is a requirement, we've found it useful in our purposes, but personally I find the app a bit clunky and outdated in UI

PROS

The structure is easier to navigate than others we've used Integration is pretty straightforward

CONS

limited upload quality compared to our current platform the mobile app is not very user friendly the editor is good, but as it turns out it doesn't truly edit, just hides portions of the video and automatically includes a fade at every cut (doesn't allow a straight cut)

Reasons for switching to Panopto

Mediasite is terrible Wanted a cloud solution

User Profile

Diego

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

Panopto is very easy to use and has many great features.

The ability to make instructional videos and to share them with others.

PROS

What I like most about Panopto is how easy it is to choose what you want to record, with what source of audio you want to use, and where to save it. Another good thing is that when your video is all done, there is the ability to edit the video down in case you want to cut out some parts.

CONS

The only thing I noticed was that when you would start the recording and then decide to switch to a different audio source, the program would freeze and would have to be restarted.

Simon

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Great user experience and excellent support

In terms of experience, we've had a really good one. The learning resource it provides and enhancement to our student's experience.

PROS

Panopto is reliable and easy to use. Well featured and flexible, Panopto is integrated into our VLE, and used thoughout our institution. Panopto's personal capture tools make it easy to get started creating educational video resources.

CONS

Automatic captioning could work better - and transcripts need a fair amount of editing. But hope this will improve as Panopto update their software.

Malcolm

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

Phenomenal partner, robust product

PROS

Panopto's ease of use combined with the rich feature set make it one of the best tools out there for large-scale recording capture and viewing. Users can bring in multiple cameras, mics, screens and applications with just a few clicks and create content that they can share with a chosen group.

CONS

The one drawback I have encountered is using the advanced editor as opposed to the basic editor. The advanced version can only be accessed using Internet Explorer.

User Profile

John

Verified reviewer

Higher Education

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

Excellent Security, UI, and file management

PROS

Panopto's integration with our university's LMS is vital to keeping our video lectures secure, but also easily accessible to viewers who are enrolled in a course. The UI is also highly favored by viewers.

CONS

Small learning curve/training for new admins or instructors who have no background in video. Support documents on the Panopto site are great, but it would help to have one-on-one training for new admin users.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Simple but Powerful Video Capture and Video Management Tool

We primarily use Panopto for lecture capture and distance learning. Using Panopto for training and meeting recordings is something that we are just starting to leverage. Having a place to centrally store, share and search through videos has been a great value to our institution. Our integration with Panopto to D2L has provided a simple solution for instructors and students to interact 'face-to-face', even if they are located around the world.

PROS

Panopto integrates with our LMS, D2L quite well. It makes the process very simple for our instructors and students to record and watch videos. It does not require any plugins or software to watch videos, as they load up in a web browser. The videos work on mobile and embed easily in courses or on websites. We also enjoy the easy sharing of videos and simplified management in the web portal.

CONS

The Panopto Recorder software can be a little bit buggy and simplified. It could use a more modern look and feel. The software does give our end users some trouble - but not the service or website itself. If a student or instructor has an issue with the software, luckily any .mp4 video file can be easily uploaded to Panopto.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

PanOpto for lecture recording, media collections, class engagement, and more

My overall experience with PanOpto has been favorable. It's brought about increased self-reflection in teaching, and my students love ability to circle back and review collected class proceedings prior to papers and tests.

PROS

I most like the collection folder organization and customizable sharing permissions. It's great for lecture recordings to help document class proceedings for subsequent reflections and student engagement strategies. The picture-in-picture recordings, the automatic tagging of timestamps with the progression of PowerPoint slides, and the versatility of downloaded outputs make this a great product for education.

CONS

The connection between the desktop client and browser-base interface that we've integrated into our LMS is not easy to navigate, especially for newcomers. Consequently, the tool is predominately used by seasoned instructors. I've found it productive to give students creation access to class media collections, but there is definitely a nominal learning curve in place, where students at first use, lack the confidence to configure input and output sources. Also, it continues to frustrate me that capturing screen audio has been in beta for so long. If there is a process for multiple video inputs, then should also be a way to include multiple audio inputs, as well.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Panopto is a really great video/recording tool

Our institution has really benefitted from having Panopto as our enterprise lecture capture solution and adoption has soared since the quarantine--it's extremely useful for online learning, as well as hybrid and flipped classroom situations.

PROS

We really like the versatility of the product. The results can range from a simple narrated presentation to a multi-sourced production. Access to the sessions (or folders of sessions) can be tightly controlled or open to the public, as well as anywhere in between. It's nice that sessions can be recorded offline and then uploaded to the server at the creator's convenience. There are some really cool integrations available, too.

CONS

There are some features that can only be turned on/off system-wide, so a bit more granularity to the feature permissions would be nice. The vendor's development and documentation heavily favors Windows, so Mac users are subject to fewer options/features, as well as less self-help. Panopto offers integrations with other applications, which is great, but our impression is that the developers and technical documentation writers are not too familiar with the practical use of some of those apps (good example is Blackboard), so the published documentation for the integrations is not great and doesn't quite match up with reality.

Matthew

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

All round best value for money

Ease of use, Unlimited Cloud Storage for our content, fantastic customer service and support

PROS

Panopto has so many useful features such as embedding Youtube videos, Websites, PDFs right into your recorded sessions. This has allowed us to create a learning experience for our students like they haven't seen before. Cloud hosted makes it easy to configure who can see what and when. It has also helped us with CPD training, the ability for a member of staff to record something just once and allow all staff to view it in their own time with quiz questions throughout to check their understanding.

CONS

Its great for multiple video feeds at one time but to be able to select mulitple audio source (say several microphones in a conference room) would be benifical. The length of time between updates varies and can be lengthy in between but then they do arrive they don't dissapoint.

Elora

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Wide ranging benefits for teaching and learning

Panopto is available to use by the whole organisation and there are more and more staff who are taking up the opportunity to use it for recording lectures and short videos for students. We often have quite dispersed student groups over different campuses and out most watched videos are often of assignment information and difficult teaching concepts that they need to come back to for clarity.

PROS

The software is easy to use and intuitive to find your way around. As the system is software based it is available for staff to use on many devices and students to access content online. Its really flexible to suit the needs of users so that can be recording large lectures or multiple short student uploads.

CONS

Captions are always a problem for us we would like to caption all our videos and currently the automatic captioning is not very good. You can send away for captions but there is a high cost if we want lots of content captioned.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

Simple yet robust video capture software/service

PROS

Using the integration with our LMS, D2L has been a life saver. It simplifies the process for our instructors to record videos and share them with their students. Additionally, students can record back for public speaking classes. We also really appreciate the automatic closed captioning service. While it is not 100% accurate, it does encourage the use of the captions, which is a nice feature.

CONS

The recorder can be buggy at times. Some of our users have difficulty installing it. We would love to see a web based advanced editor as well. Right now there is one, but it only works in Internet Explorer.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2019

Freezing

University Student, it is vital for my studies and revision so when it fails it is hugely disappointing and a major inconvenience.

PROS

Good when working, I can watch clearly and sound is good.

CONS

When something that causes the replay to stop, e.g I lose internet connection, I can never reload the replay video. After this occurrence whenever I click on the replay, all I get is a black screen and the video will never load again. This is infuriating as the replay is then lost to me forever. Major inconvenience and this makes the service useless. I try everything to reload the video replay, signing in and out, turning off computer, but still when I load the replay I only get a black screen that never loads. Major bug that needs to be fixed.

Marina

Apparel & Fashion, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Aula virtuale essenziale

PROS

Panopto è stata un ottima opzione per poter continuare a frequentare la didattica anche a distanza, avendo accesso alle registrazioni delle lezioni a qualsiasi ora del giorno, e da qualsiasi luogo. È fantastica, mi ha aiutato molto per poter consultare le lezioni , dopo aver visto le lezioni in streaming, per colmare delle lacune, e il fatto di aver sempre la lezione a disposizione è qualcosa di eccezionalmente innovativo

CONS

Quasi nulla, l’unica pecca è che le trascrizioni delle lezioni audio in lingua non sono esattamente accurate, migliorerei meglio il sistema di traduzione

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY