All Spotlightr Reviews

1-25 of 43 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Shade

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

A top-player in this space!

I've had a great experience using vooPlayer with my clients. Everyone loves the player!

PROS

Love that you can create really beautiful, customizable players! The feature-set is also amazing as the vooplayer teams actively seeks feeback and feature suggestions which they readily implement if it makes sense! They have weekly webinars where you can come with any questions you have about implementing anything and the webinar host shows you right then and there how to implement it.

CONS

The only thing I find a bit disconcerting is the buffering of some embedded videos while you play it. That's kind of annoying. I've heard it has something to do with the CDN (or lack thereof). Fingers crossed that this is fixed soon.

Reasons for switching to Spotlightr

vooPlayer just seemed more modern and the rate of feature-implementation by vooPlayer was astounding and very commendable!

Benjamin

Photography, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Amazing Video Hosting Platform

i learned about vooplayer about 4 years ago and after getting it, it was game-changing for what i do with video production and real estate phography. it allows for me to host videos without paying an outrageous amount per month. my website gets more traffic, i feel, because of it. i use vooplayer where i can on my site and not just for my content, but sharing videos from other sites like youtube and vimeo. it keeps the coding consistent on my site.

PROS

I love that I'm able to leverage my amazon aws account and host videos there and use vooplayer to provide the skin for my videos. I don't have to rely on a third-party platform to host my videos and pay a crazy subscription fee. vooplayer can even take youtube videos, linkedin videos, and facebook videos and wrap them with their skin and allow me to host that video wherever.

CONS

there's still a lot of user experience improvements that could be done with vooplayer, but overall, after knowing where to go and its limitations on what you can and cannot do, it's not that bad. there are some things like knowing which code to use on your site that will not mess with your site's code, but all of that is trial and error. once you figure it out, just create some step-by-step instructions for yourself to reference and you'll be golden.

Reasons for switching to Spotlightr

Vimeo and Wistia were way too expensive with severe limitations. I didn't like that they nickeled and dimed be for everything and limited the amount of content i could upload. Vooplayer allows for me to use my own servers, too, without limitation and makes video hosting so easy as a small business owner.

Scott

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Perfect for displaying videos in online courses!

The MOST important feature in my mind: extraordinary customer support! I've asked them several questions, and every time, the answer is fast and thorough!

PROS

We evaluated a number of alternatives, from YouTube to AWS and several in between, but settled on Spotlightr. Our recommended tech stack includes WordPress and LearnDash, so Spotlightr fits in seamlessly. The most useful features, in my opinion:- ability to add questions during video, as overlays (several options)- inability for users to download the video (who knows what they'd do with it?!)- cost-effective, while having nice features such as custom branding and ability to stream from other services (though I prefer to use their streaming as well)

CONS

I'd like for the upload speed to be faster, but it's just because I'm impatient!

Reason for choosing Spotlightr

Besides everything previously mentioned, the ability to embed questions within the video (and edit them easily in the future) was a game-changer.

Reasons for switching to Spotlightr

Cost of Wistia

Vendor Response

Thank you Scott! We appreciate you!

Replied August 2023

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

very slow to load

PROS

lots of features. great idea in theory. excellent lifetime pricing deal offered occasionally

CONS

After clicking Play, the videos take 4-6 seconds to start playing! This happens whether I upload the video directly to Vooplayer, or use it as a skin for a YouTube player. This is a confusing and terrible user experience and makes the software unusable for me as it stands. Very much hoping they fix this, as it seems pretty great otherwise. Also, small gripes - it's not clear which setting changes create a change in the embed code and require updating. - after editing a video, they don't just give you the embed code. you have to go back to the My Videos page, select the video and then copy the embed code from there. Would be much better to give me a one click to copy embed code button after making edits to the settings.

Reasons for switching to Spotlightr

Wistia is too expensive, and their free version only allows 3 videos per account

Dean

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Why Spotlightr

Since I've been with Spotlightr for years, I can honestly state that they have (year over year) improved their platform and made it possible for us to have our viewers watch a fast loading, interactive video in which we can guide them to what we want them to do using the interactive elements Spotlightr provides!

PROS

- Ease of use- All the features one would need, they have it- If you have an agency and need client branding, they have you covered- ADA is very important and CC (closed caption) is a must for any video. With Spotlightr, they have the ability for you to upload your .SRT file and BAM... you got CC on your video.- Customer Service is spot on.- When using their embed code to embed a video on a website, it is fast to view. No lagging!

CONS

Cons: I've been using them for years and truthfully, I don't have any cons. They are priced right, and they have robust features.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Can't find a comparable alternative

vooPlayer was one of the smartest investments for my business. Video marketing is essential in today's digital landscape, and with its low-cost, premium-featureset, vooPlayer is positioned to be the ideal choice for any small business trying to compete for audience attention. Do yourself a favor and give it a free trial to see if it's right for you. Can always use an alternative service if not.

PROS

vooPlayer offers the best security if you want to protect your videos. They use HLS encryption (which unlike other video providers) prevents unwanted downloading and external sharing. Even pricier video hosting providers can't compete with this. I also love the feature-set offered for the "Startup" plan. You get what I believe are Enterprise-grade options for a lower price than Vimeo Pro.

CONS

Because there's so many options, I sometimes get confused with the UI. Also, I'd love to setup a default template for ALL settings, and tweak on a video-per-video basis. This is possible with some settings, but not all. Additionally, sometimes a video will glitch during playback, but have only encountered this a few times in many playbacks.

Reason for choosing Spotlightr

Wistia is too expensive, and doesn't allow hosting videos on YouTube or Vimeo like vooPlayer. Additionally, vooPlayer strips the burdensome analytics codes employed by YT and Vimeo (which slows down website load time).

Reasons for switching to Spotlightr

I didn't like the password protection system employed by Vimeo, nor the lack of extensive features without doubling the monthly fees.

Soham

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Have used this over 2 years!

Spotlightr has been a blessing. Loaded features at ever more affordable rates has been the biggest selling points. Great software for someone looking to host their videos online!

PROS

The thing that sold us for spotlightr was its cost structure along with the features it provided. There were a lot! We were able to use the capture gates along with creating beautiful video embeds onto our website. It also has a great integration with multiple tools for example zapier.

CONS

The analytics sometimes tended to misrepresent what we thought should be the actual metrics.

Reason for choosing Spotlightr

Great bang for the buck along with the features and its popularity.

Ulysses

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Couldn't Be Any More Satisfied

Truly amazing software and people... Can't recommend it enough.

PROS

The ease of use. The pricing is very fair and competitive with other top players in the industry. And above-all, their customer support, you can feel that they truly care about helping their customers.

CONS

There really isn't anything I can say off hand, but if I had a wishlist of things they or any company can improve in, its speed.... Because some of our viewers are located all over the world. Depending on where they are located, it may at times be slightly slow, but not enough to warrant any complaints.. As we are truly happy with everything, just speed is something I think we all can say is relevant in any product, industry, system.

Reasons for switching to Spotlightr

This product/software just does the trick at a reasonable price and well, customer service is on point!

Earnie

Education Management, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Second to none

In 1 word: excellent. Wish there werer more companies like this.

PROS

Front-end, back-end, pricing, features, changelog. A solid 1st impression. That hasn't changed in the past 5 years I've been using it.

CONS

Can't think of anything. There have been times I found things to be less intuitive. 1 support ticket solved that. Every single time.

Reason for choosing Spotlightr

New features on a rolling callendar with keen eye for implentation detail

Jason

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

So happy to have moved to Spotlightr

Reduced our customer service tickets by using Spotlightr to host and embed videos for our event. No reported technical problems or international access problems.

PROS

Super smooth experience using Spotlightr to host/embed videos for our online summit/conference (the biggest ever - 122k). Top-tier customer service. They understood our needs as a business. Great quality and ease of use. Moved off Vimeo with ease and haven't looked back. The pricing model is more in line with our business needs.

CONS

Looking forward to improved reporting features.

Reasons for switching to Spotlightr

Poor customer service, rigid pricing model, heavy-handed sales tactics

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

A great service for anyone who uses video

It is proving to be a very valuable tool for my business and I would highly recommend it to anyone with a website who makes good use of video. This will help you to take that professionalism to the next level.

PROS

From top to bottom this a fabulously versatile tool. It doesn't matter whether you are using your own videos hosted with Vooplayer or simply using Vooplayer as a pass-through tool for video reporting and the ability to skin the likes of Youtube videos to your liking. For example, it is easy enough for anyone to embed a Youtube video on their site without much expertise, but the problem is it looks and behaves like a Youtube video. Vooplayer on the other and can take the Youtube url for the video, all you to tweak lots of display settings, and then display it beautifully on your site so it looks just like you are hosting the video and not Youtube. In addition to all the video player related stuff, Vooplayer also provides some great reports that will really help you to see what is being watched and what isn't. And we are not just talking the number of times a video has been watched, but things like which bits of the video were skipped. Very cool.

CONS

There are some quirks to the userinterface such as the way folders work, but other than that this is a very mature and robust service backed by a great support team.

Ale

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Vooplayer is a really good alternative for wistia.

Customize the video experience, branding the player and use marketing on video

PROS

Vooplayer is a really good tool for marketer and media who need to get on the next level with videos. You can use it with other people video content or get secure and private videos. With Vooplayer you can - Customize youtube videos or other video service - remove ads from players - host secure and private videos - Add marketing tools on video like lead captures - view analytics - player's branding. - add to calls Hosting video? No, i choose it because the players customization, branding and marketing tools One of the best video players on the market

CONS

They need to offert more features and improve the speed. They pricing is not expensive but should be more accesible. They try to focus on hosting videos but most of the people pass on that, because youtube is insanly fast, you dont have limits and also people can find your videos so is an extra exposure The solution for host videos is good if you wanna keep private, but most of the people pick other solutions. On the player personalization is good but should be amazing. They should offert more config and extras. Also, they dont support amp

Brent

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Reasonably priced video marketing host

vooPlayer is at the core of the online courses I've been building in one of my businesses. It allows me to securely host the videos, and also get my marketing message across to users and engage them further for my business.

PROS

vooPlayer is built around more than just serving videos to users. It's built around those who want to market their videos, or sell them. There are features designed to gather leads, upsell other products, etc. And the interface is relatively easy to use, if not a bit scattered at times. I also love that you can add most of the features to videos hosted elsewhere, like Youtube.

CONS

Storage limits are a bit restricting, and if you don't purchase a plan with their turbo bandwidth, the videos you host on the vooPlayer servers can be a little slower. Video hosting of this kind isn't cheap, and vooPlayer is still one of the more reasonably priced options out there. But it would be nice to have slightly higher limits as the core limits are pretty low.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

The ROI is great!

Great experience, vooplayer is essential to my business today!

PROS

I can't recommend it enough. For anybody that works with video and want to sell more, this is for you! My favorite tools are the CTAs and metrics for the videos!

CONS

Some features are limited to the basic plans... but nothing that can cut you down.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Cloud storage for the Entrepreneur

Excellent experience with vooPlayer. I use it for my website as well as my social posts.

PROS

This is a fantastic cloud storage for videos. You can use links for embed codes. Also, you can customize your thumbnail and see your statistics.

CONS

The initial load time can be a bit slow if your internet connection is not strong.

User Profile

Matthias

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Many great features, great support, unique opportunities to gain new customers

Many more customers. :-)

PROS

VooPlayer is full of unique features f. ex. to gain new customers, to make a/b-testing, to set up complete video funnel and much, much more. The opportunity to change the completely "outfit" to match your CI is great as well.

CONS

It took me quite some time till I was able to use this tool in my sense. But that is not really the fault of the company. If you are willing to invest enough learning time this tool may change your whole business. (Yes, that's my experience).

User Profile

Raul

Verified reviewer

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

An impressive player

I use it and and I am happy with it. It has been difficult for me to find a good video player that looks professional, it is easy to use and fast enough. I have tried with four before (including Youtube, where I did not like the advertising). And it addition I can AB test videos in lading pages or blog posts to keep improving.

PROS

I like how nice, customizable and how much accurate feedback can give the player. I use in conjunction with other tools like publit.io to host the videos, also could be done on youtube. And I am happy with the result. The player offers very good statistics about the videos (from visits to know average time watched, when people stop watching, AB testing,...). Tons of features that I would only expect on very expensive tools, here I could get included. It looks ideal for video marketers.

CONS

I am very obsessed with the speed. As I am afraid to send people to a page that can be buffering or not loading fast. First time that I installed I was unhappy with speed. But now the player has a new look and I think loads faster.

User Profile

Shannon

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT