All vSphere Reviews

1-25 of 139 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kevin

Law Practice, 51 - 200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed October 2021

A great tool to manage VMs

User Profile

Yuri

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Vmware Vsphere the best Hypervisor with rich features for every need

Well we have over 80% of our workloads virtualize with VMware vSphere. We haven't have a mayor issue with the virtual environment. We can optimize the investment of the infrastructure and also respond to the business needs quickly when there is need. The support it is also really great. If you have a active support, they help with any issue really quickly and with a good solution. I can sleep well knowing that the business services are support by VMware vSphere platform.

PROS

Vmware vsphere its a really great hypervisor that can virtualize compute and storage resources right out of the box. I like the fact that you can easly manage the resources and create virtual machines in a intuitive way. The configuration of the storage connection is easy. It has great compatibility with just about any harware out there. We have at our organization more the 70 esxi host with different hardware vendors, but they all are compatible and I can migrate workloads with just a few clicks.

CONS

Maybe the price of the licenses. If you work at a enterprise, maybe that it not a issue. But if you want to have all the cool feature, you will have to purchase the enterprise plus license. It can be a little expensive.

Reason for choosing vSphere

We chose Vmware vSphere after we did a PoC and they show us the benefits and how well the workloads the we migrated works and it increase the performance. Also this product it more mature then others, so we felt that we can use it for all the services, included critical ones.

User Profile

infant

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Vsphere - Best virtualization software

virtualization in a very good way without any major issues & less human intervention to manage the platform. Patching automation with VUM , DRS , HA are some of the excellent features of vsphere. Moreever the latency wise very less compared to other hypervisor softwares.

PROS

I would say the vsphere provides various features as a package. vmotion , FT , DRS , Affinity/Antiaffinity rules , HA , monitoring , automations etc..VROPS/VRLI/VRA/VRO are the tools provided along with vsphere which provides excellent features when compared to its competitors

CONS

Obviously the costing is the major drawback especialy the production support cost & it's not that much value for money , since vmware support takes more time to resolve & troubleshoot issue. It's my personal opinion. Other issue is in patching , vmware needs to come up with one click upgrade same how their competitors have.

Reasons for switching to vSphere

Due to its stability / integrity / scalability.

Mike

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2017

Mac client works fairly well with some issues

Ability to run a Windows VM in a smart card required environment is essential and VMware Horizon is the only solution available so far.

PROS

Allows logging into a Windows VM from a Mac in a smart card required environment. The performance is speedy.

CONS

Frequently when the Windows VM screenlocks (goes to sleep) you can't unlock it. Quitting the VM and logging back in is the workaround. On Mac 10.12 Sierra and later, you must disable Apple's CryptoTokenKit, because Horizon will not work with it enabled. Which means pairing your smart card using Apple's native protocol (as opposed to using a third-party solution) is not possible.

Carlos Hugo Martin

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Experience with vSphere

It has been used for the implementation of large monitoring environments for both data centers and monitoring equipment distributed nationwide.

PROS

The ease of generating and customizing virtual machines, as well as being able to know how they are working at all times.

CONS

Virtual machines from old environments are very complex to migrate, since changes have to be made to the network components, disk, etc. Causing on several occasions that the virtual machine from 0 had to be generated again, in addition to getting new drivers.

Reason for choosing vSphere

Due to its support capacity for large environments, in addition to its implementation and deployment facilities.

Ibrahim

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

VMware vSphere Review

Very satisfied.

PROS

-Easy of use -Resources allocation for VMs. -Easy migration -Usability -Stability -Frequently updates with new features and security fixes.

CONS

Orchestration features need more AI enhancements and more automation integration using API this will made integration process very easy for developers and administrators.

Reason for choosing vSphere

I found support by vmware and ease of use is the strongest selling point that make me choose VMware vSphere.

Reasons for switching to vSphere

Because vmware vsphere have advanced varieties with very strong GUI and stronger snapshots/backups capabilities.

AMAR

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Works well for large organizations, a bit costly for smaller companies

I've been using it for over 9 years now, started with version 4.0 and have gotten good exposure to all versions up to and including 6.7.

PROS

Ease of use, the functionality. The ability to add more API's as well as creating different levels of administration. IE Helpdesk, user, administrator etc. Helpdesk is very helpful and work with you till there is an actual resolution to the problem.

CONS

The cost. Compatibility with some of the older hardware (specifically Dell R810). Almost impossible to get support for any version less than 6.0.

Reason for choosing vSphere

It's almost an industry standard and more versatile than Hyper-V

Bart

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

vSphere One of the best virtualization tools

Very happy, virtualization of servers is very important in the 2022 ICT world. vSphere works great, we use it for all of our customers and integrate it with DR tools

PROS

The way of use, very easy, stable solution, support of several types of hardware (and software, marktpleader, integration with DR solutions.

CONS

The price for using a version with several features you want can be expensive for the SMB companies but it works great! So it's the hogher price double worth!

Reason for choosing vSphere

Marktleader, stable, performance, price, support hardware

Scott

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

The only infrastructure you will need

PROS

The integration with so many products makes this an easy choice.

CONS

The initial setup can take some time to get right.

Reason for choosing vSphere

vSpherr is the clear leader in the virtual space

User Profile

Martin

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Virtualization utility for cloud virtualization over WMware technology

Nice tool with modern UI and dashboard to provide configuration opportunities and monitoring across all virtualized servers.

PROS

vSphere is utility which provides UI and API layer for WMware cloud virtualization tool. It provides configuration interface for your vApps. You are also allowed to view everything in cloud in main dashboard. In any problems there is a utility to show the console right in the server to fix the problems. You can manage permissions list and resouces to organizations.

CONS

A bit difficult interface with lots of options and configuration. It can't be easy to set up when someone doesn't have required experience in WMware technology.

Reasons for switching to vSphere

Popularity.

User Profile

Przemek

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Manage big virtual environment!

I enjoy using vSphere every day to connect to my virtual environment. This makes my job easier when testing application security because I can run tests on multiple machines and in multiple configurations at the same time.

PROS

I really like the reliability of vSphere. It's hard for me to remember situations when I had a problem connecting to the virtual environment or when it was unstable. Working with virtual machines and their configuration is very simple. Restoring machines to their initial state or reconfiguring them takes little time and you can focus on their effective use.

CONS

If I were to change something in vSphere it would be the User Interface UI. Unfortunately, tab navigation and menus are not well designed and require some getting used to. Better interface planning could improve productivity and user satisfaction.

Kevin

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

The best virtualizing solution

Vmware’s vSphere is one of those products that you despite its cost you will never feel like you made a bad investment buying. It gives me so many options when it comes to remote management of all the software I have running within the local ecosystem. What was really impressive was how we were able to demo newer enterprise software within a control environment giving us a perspective that we would have never had given the old software that was present. With the recent Corvid outbreak, we were actually able to implement VPNs and grant remote access without having to invest in new hardware.

PROS

Stability and scaling were very important to me when choosing a solution to my problems. One of my clients had an old ERP software connected to an equally old version of SQL server. Pressed to upgrade and incorporate newer cloud base services I had to find something that could be used in the interim but could be shaped slowly to match our needs. I chose vSphere and it worked out very well. Having something that remote workers could access, that was stable and secure meant we able to weather the storm. The ESXi is easy to access as it is web based. Now I run all our servers on VMWare with an integrated remote cloud service for backup. Just the ability to preserve data stored in the vintage ERP alone was worth the cost.

CONS

While the ESXi is easy to access its can be confusing at first. Its hard to focus on what you need to see as the interface is very cluttered. Also, Hardware requirements and licensing can be taxing. While it was critical to protect our data no matter the cost the costing and implementation still felt a bit excessive. There is also huge learning curve when it comes to using some of vSphere’s functions When incorporating it into your on-site datacenter you will definitely need to train your staff or hire an expert cloud technician to monitor and manage your cloud services.

Reason for choosing vSphere

VMWare is considered the industry standard for Virtualization and clud services.

Ihab

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Virtualization = VMware

We no longer have to worry about buying new physical servers. We have 2 HPE blades chassis and 2 HPE Synergy across 4 location. VM migration between data centers is very helpful. hardware is being utilized at almost 85% and overall cost is certainly reduced.

PROS

I have been using VMware for almost 12 years, day to day operations had never been so easy. easy implementation and administration. we converted 95% of our server to virtual machines. My favorites features are online migration, high availability and DRS .

CONS

I didn't and still don't like the web interface, the old Windows application prior to version 5.5 was perfect and very effective. now with the new flash based interface is dissapointing. there is another HTML5 version but it lacks some features. i am hoping that they come up with a new version these days knowing that Flash plugins will no be longer supported.

Reason for choosing vSphere

There was nothing to compare at the beginning. Hyper V lacked most of the features and it was really poor. i can't say that now because I didn't have the chance to try the latest Hyper V but I was told that it got much better. However, I am not willing to change.

Turan

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Virtualization? You should review vSphere!

You can install the program with very simple steps and start managing the system instantly. And without any compatibility issues. You can see and manage the servers whenever you want, and you can use many functions comfortably.

PROS

VM vSphere , It enables the virtualization structure to be completely managed from another environment without the need for resources. Thanks to the multi-operating system support it provides, installation and configuration convenience is available. A server ip and password are enough to connect to. You can see and examine your entire structure and feel the comfort of working on the server. Moreover, you can easily provide this on any computer you have.

CONS

In order to get maximum efficiency, our servers must have VM Tools. This is not a shortcoming, but installing extra software can be a problem.

Reason for choosing vSphere

Other systems had compatibility problems depending on the platform, which required additional software that was much more difficult.

Hector

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Best Customer Support

PROS

If you are looking for a central solution to consolidate your data center and all servers look no more. This is the best tool you can buy to do so, you can save money because you will use less hardware by virtualizing all your servers, you can adjust settings, or server specs on the fly, you can run hundreds of servers from the same console and you can manage all of them from the same. Wanting to do maintenance but dont know if that patch/update or upgrade will break the server, dont worry, you can take a screenshot and test it before you apply the fix to the server. The best part of this is their support, you can call them or submit a ticket and their team of experts will call back and help you. Really recommend this product to anyone wanting to consolidate servers and save money on hardware

CONS

No complaints about this product, as long as you know how to browse and use the product

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

VMware vSphere Review

A perfect sofware for virtualization, multi-operating system integration. Good software.

PROS

The software is easy to use, it enables me to run multiple operating systems on my computer and also help me to try and test softwares before I buy them.

CONS

Some times new virtual machine wants to boot to network even when directed to boot from DC or USB.

Reason for choosing vSphere

Very intuitive and cross-platform software.

Marsha

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

I like that it allows us to optimize or resources and overall cost savings in IT

Having been trained in VMware as my first introduction to the virtualization of servers and utilization of resources; I like what vShere provides. It reduces and simplifies our IT infrastructure and it allows us improvements in the accessibility and connectivity of our computer applications. The components included makes the solution really reliable such as ESXi hypervisor for help in which is responsible for help in setting up multiple VMs and DRS that divides and balances computing capacity for VMs across collections of hardware resources.

CONS

Please ensure that you are familiar with VMWare suite of products and get help from current users of this product. Know that this is an investment and as such the solution comes at a price but the total cost of ownership is well worth the initial investment. And the cost is based on the amount of host and processors.be careful of the additional services provided as they can become pricey.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY