All Rubrik Reviews

1-25 of 47 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jon

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

We use Rubrik to protect Managed Cloud devices for our clients and we love it

Rubrik has allowed us to stop focusing on the minutiae of running a homegrown backup storage/orchestration product and focus on automation of the infrastructure/deployment instead Rubrik has improved the performance of our backup jobs, allowing us to perform more backups with fewer resources overall Rubrik has given our clients more choice in how backups function

PROS

The Rubrik API is central to the product Rubrik backs up VMware-based VM very well Rubrik is a growing company, which makes the personal interaction we have with their folks very rewarding and productive

CONS

The Rubrik product is still young (only a few years old), so it has some room to mature, specifically in the non-VMware backup space Rubrik is a growing company, so sometimes it's difficult to build a relationship with tech support staff when you get a new person every time

Daniel

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

One of the Best Purchases I've Ever Made

There was one time that a fellow admin permanently deleted some backups without receiving confirmation on if they were still needed. It turned out that they were still needed and that the backups would be unrecoverable. There were multiple prompts to confirm this action, so we should not have expected it to be recoverable. However, the fantastic support team at Rubrik said "We can't make any promises, because the data should be deleted already. However, we're going to have our engineers use this as an educational experiment." While they were not able to recover all of the data, as it had been overwritten, they were able to piece together enough for us to get the most critical files. I have never seen a support team go this above and beyond the reasonable call of duty.

PROS

The Rubrik appliance is reliable, has a robust feature set, their support team is world-class (seriously the best in the game), and updates add awesome new features far more often than new bugs.

CONS

It can be a little pricey for small to mid size businesses, but It's well worth that cost. Other than that I have zero complaints.

Reason for choosing Rubrik

Support quality, product features, and the development roadmap

Reasons for switching to Rubrik

We wanted a more robust feature set, including the ability to archive to a cloud storage location and backup SQL data separate from VM snapshots.

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2018

I am patiently awaiting the release of 4.1 which should bring massive improvements .

We haven't progressed far enough with the product to see value to our overall business objectives.

PROS

Rubrik is used to protect 1,000+ objects in my environment with 90%+ being VMware virtual machines. It is being used across the whole organization, globally, with three clusters existing to support our global initiatives. It provides backup protection for my objects and also provides a way to migrate certain data profiles into the cloud. Searchable Content - search for file across datasets allows for quick restores.

CONS

I am patiently awaiting the release of 4.1 which should bring massive improvements to the functionality of the system as well as add additional features missing from the product. I feel Rubrik is well suited for customers that want to run high amount of snapshots per day and wish for a lower RPO granularity for restore. It is less appropriate for perhaps customers that want to run all their backups in one evening because of how jobs are queued and spread across the backup window. Missing functionality - allow for more granular intervals across different time segments.

Casey

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Backups made easy

Easy to install. Support is excellent. The product has saved us a few times with production servers going down. Instant recover is great.

PROS

Setup was a breeze. Easy to create SLAs depending on how many snapshots you want of each vm. Migration to either azure or aws is also handy. Customer support is excellent.

CONS

No cons at this point in time as we've had no issues whatsoever with the product.

Reason for choosing Rubrik

Local contacts and existing customers pointed us toward Rubrik and recommended it.

Reasons for switching to Rubrik

Numerous issues with Rapid Recovery. Support not the greatest. Expensive for what we got. Wasn't a fan of the console.

Andrew

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

One of the best around!

Moved to Rubrik from Avamar and it's miles better. APIs, software, speed, not having to have accelerators or proxies. Have had a few issues with figuring out a backup or new feature but one here and there is nothing compared to before. Support it useful and usually knows what to do but sometimes it does take a few tries.

PROS

Speed. Backups are very quick, restores (especially instant ones) are very very quick.

CONS

Sometimes figuring out why a backup failed requires you to open a support ticket, the errors aren't super useful or help and a lot of times it's a quick fix from them but a more descriptive error message would point to the same thing.

Reasons for switching to Rubrik

Avamar was old, still running Java under the HTML screenscraper. Old technology.

Shawn

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Single dashboard for backups

Very positive. Staff has been helpful and very understanding when it comes to our environment. Overall we are a small company but they treat us the same as a large one.

PROS

Ability to manage and backup all of my cloud based solutions with a single product.

CONS

The setup was a bit difficult across the various cloud platforms we have.

Reasons for switching to Rubrik

Needed a more formal solution for our products.

Thushan

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Backup and recovery tool for data

Our company has used few software before using rubrik and ended up using this. We can backup our server data and has no doubt of any data loss.

PROS

This make sure company data is always available without any loss. This archive data in storages based on storage tiers on customer requirements. Later users can change their tier based on the price. If there's a disaster happened, then company can recover the data because data is backup in cloud and we can rstore data easily.

CONS

Technical expertise should be needed to manage this tool.

User Profile

René

Verified reviewer

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Brik the holes in your data protection strategy

Much better ROI over traditional data protection solutions like Avamar. Fastest time to market. High rate of innovation delivers great business value.

PROS

Fastest time to Market - literally takes minutes to install and setup (assuming your prerequisites are met). High rate of innovation - Rubrik has a very fast release cycle, new features come out regularly. Amazing support - very high NPS score, these guys care about their customers.

CONS

New to the market - but these guys are just getting started. No support for non-x86 workloads. Only starting to support in-guest agents for application and database consistent backups.

User Profile

Miguel

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

We utilize Rubrik both Internally and as our BaaS solution offering. Its robust API interface allows

PROS

Cloud Archival - Rubrik allows you to easily archive backups to any Objects based storage (AWS S3, Azure Blob, etc.) File level restore - Rubrik allows you to download individual files from snapshot based backups. Without needing to mount or restore the entire VM.

CONS

Access Control - Rubrik's user roles and access could be a bit more granular. Current options do not allow for limited read-only accounts.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Best Tool in the market for Backups and Recovery!

Very Happy with the experience of using Rubrik so far, UI is very user friendly , it has allowed us to easily plan our data backups and recovery. Its multi-cloud support has helped us in managing our data quiet effectively.

PROS

1. Friendly User Interface and easy to use 2. Allows on the click options to backup, replicate and restore. 3. Reduces manual intervention by automating SLA for backups 4. Provides good visual insights and monitoring features 5. Support for multiple cloud platforms makes it unique

CONS

1 Cost is a bit high as compared to other similar products 2. More options for report generation can be provided

Reasons for switching to Rubrik

Rubrik is easy to use

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Rubrik is used as the single backup platform within the business.

It's improved operational efficiency, as we now don't have to spend time scheduling backups, and has created very tangible savings. In the next 5 years we expect to save over 55% switching from our legacy provider to Rubrik. It's also mitigated us against any future data centre blackouts through its Azure replication capabilities - while significantly reducing our power consumption and footprint in the data centre.

PROS

1. Replication to cloud 2. SLA based backups 3. Data immutability 4. Single platform 5. It's improved operational efficiency, as we now don't have to spend time scheduling backups, and has created very tangible savings. In the next 5 years we expect to save over 55% switching from our legacy provider to Rubrik. It's also mitigated us against any future data centre blackouts through its Azure replication capabilities - while significantly reducing our power consumption and footprint in the data centre.

CONS

Out of the box reporting could be better - However the API interface allows the generation of custom reports and the ability to retrieve any detail from the system

Frederic

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Backup simplicity at the higher level

Rubrik had transformed our IT operation forever, we simply love backups now !

PROS

Easy to use, friendly, efficient. Rubrik understood how backups should work and how to simplify IT Team's tasks.

CONS

The upgrade process is still cumbersome, but simplicity is on the roadmap.

Reason for choosing Rubrik

simplicity, disruptive approach

Reasons for switching to Rubrik

to consolidate on some next-gen technologies for future decades

Andrew

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Amazing backup solution, always adding more features!

Amazing, coming off of an old outdated solution Rubrik is leaps and bounds better in pretty much every way. They are always releasing new features and things to try out or systems supported. It's great.

PROS

It's FAST. Backups complete in no time. We used to have a 12-16 hour long backup window, with Rubrik that's been shortened to about 3 hours and it doesn't even need that. Also it's build "custom" so no need to plug in Java or linux commands, most stuff is done through the gui or APIs and it all easy to understand, learn, and use.

CONS

Replication and archival could use some help. Replication only to another Brik, and archival, while it works, is slow and tends to not be very space or bandwidth efficient.

Reasons for switching to Rubrik

Avamar was old and outdate, built around Java, and restores and mounting backups was slow and clunky.

Michael

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Excellent service with good customer support

PROS

Very intuitive and easy to use, a lot of integrations built in for services such as VMware, Office 365 and SQL Server. Backups are encrypted and help prevent any ransomware. Speed of recovering from a backup is very quick and impressive.

CONS

No overall cons, it's pricey but worth every penny providing comfort that everything is backed up securely and readily available with a great customer support team behind it for any queries or issues on setup.

Brandon

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

A backup solution that just works!

PROS

More than any other backup platform, the jobs simply run and succeed without any other assistance needed. It is set and forget, replacing a solution that required daily work to verify/validate/fix issues from the backups. Instant restore is not instant, but sub 1 minute, which is very fast to recover.

CONS

As it started working from most used to least used features, some edge case backups are not supported. No SQL filestream for transaction log backups, no support for smaller database vendors native products.

User Profile

Rob

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Rubrik is being used at my organization for backups of virtual and physical servers enterprise wide.

I no longer feel the need to babysit and monitor all of the backup jobs in the backup system. It simply works when it is supposed to at all times. Live recovery is near instant and handles all mounts through the appliance for rapid recovery. Spinning up test SQL servers from mounts are great for our development team also.

PROS

Backups of virtual machines and live mounts are done really well Storage arrays can integrate with Rubrik. Easy cloud archive setup.

CONS

More storage array integration needed. Easier restore for files that download using the browser. I can't get this to work.

Jerad

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY