All VelocityEHS Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Flawless chemical management

I use this software to keep track of all the hazardous materials in our lab. It's great at organizing your inventory and the accessibility of the GHS SDS is a great advantage.

PROS

I like the different options to track and manage hazardous chemicals. I can access all the Safety Data Sheets from any device, including my phone! It's efficient and simple. I love the option to customize our labels, it helps us have a new organization in our lab.

CONS

The regulatory reports were hard to produce at first because of the layout of the software. It is not hard to understand, it just feels a little too out of place.

Maria

Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Excellent with some improvements on the Risk Studies Tool

My experience with the software has always been good, it is visual and easy to use and the customer service has always been excellent, quick and effective.

PROS

It is easy to customise the software to suit your needs and simplify the options of what you can see if you are not using the program in its all functionality. It is easy to use and easy to capture all the information as there are multiple comment boxes where you can put all the information you want.

CONS

That you need to know how to use the software at the start if you want to build a management database that is effective and to be able to report the data that you want. It is difficult to get rid of old mistakes once you have added them onto the system, for example if you create a base control by mistake. I think there are some report templates that could be improved, for example the bowtie export tool. I find difficult to use the Risk Studies section too. It is not easy to follow the content when doing an assessment.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear that our Support Team has been so helpful. We would welcome further advice on the report templates that you mentioned, if you would raise a ticket on our Support Site. I will also relay to the issue of removing base controls made in error to our Development Team. Thanks again for your feedback.

Replied August 2019

Sophie

Pharmaceuticals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2020

VelocityEHS is missing basic features that other software have, programming bugs, etc.

I'm using it on a daily basis

PROS

Nothing, even submitting a review is difficult....

CONS

You can not generate a report You can't see dashboards You can not email from the software Radicicolous design

Reason for choosing VelocityEHS

Corporate chose

Reasons for switching to VelocityEHS

Corporate choise

Brian

Law Enforcement, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Velocity EHS in Corrections

The department has used MSDS Online, now Velocity EHS since 2009. Could not be more satisfied.

PROS

MSDS/SDS management is most critical for the Department. We have 22 correctional facilities, plus headquarters and parole. All of these areas have access to the Department ebinder, as well as their own facility/office ebinders. Having access to this helps all areas keep their MSDS/SDS and chemical control in line by having the ability to know what chemicals/products are approved for use in the department.

CONS

Reports used to be easier to use. They used to be able to be exported in .pdf or .rtf which were formatted in a printable way. Now with export to excel spreadsheets, the reports have to be extensively edited to be able to get all of the information we use onto a printable page. We use product summary reports for our allowable chemical lists in our chemical inventory books, so a format that will print them in an 8 1/2 or 11x14 size would be great.

Bob

Chemicals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Risk Management Made Easy

We wanted the ability to manage all of our risk studies from a centralised location. In particular we wanted the ability to develope Master Risk Studies (ie full plant HAZOPs) and keep them accurate. We can do this now this is a great benefit

PROS

Captures all of my risk studies, HAZOPs, qual;itative and semi qualitative. Bowties are simple to generate, easy to follow, visually pleasing. The ability to have the the performance monitoring activities linked directly to the risk control measures is good. The flexibility to have studies and assessment look the way I want them is also good

CONS

Initially the ability to customise the software is problematic because it could do so much that i becomes a little difficult to know where to start. One aspect that I would loike to see improved is the tracking of changes and the automatic updating of risk scenarios from the risk study

Reason for choosing VelocityEHS

Price Flexibility Ability to generate Bowties

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. Some great comments around change tracking and auto-updates, which I will relay to the team. Thanks again for your review.

Replied August 2019

Breece

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Great Product for Container Tracking and SDS management

This is great for small businesses if you can afford the cost. The issues come in with expanding companies and larger and larger cost. Cost aside it is a great product and would highly recommend to small organizations.

PROS

This system allows for barcode tracking of containers. The mobile app is very helpful. There are very few SDSs/MSDSs that are not included and definitely boast correctly when they say a large selection.

CONS

The biggest disadvantage of this system is the price. You are charge not by space but by how many people potential are viewing the inventory. This is cloud base so even view only people are counted. (people without accounts) The IT staff is awesome while the sale associates have little knowledge of the product they are selling, and are not able to answer pricing questions without discussing with supervisors. It seems to be a small cloud run business out a building with a couple of people which is fine because the product is awesome but the service from sales has much to be desired.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

Working with RiskView

My overall experience has been enlightening. I am used to having to manage risk registers in excel then use Microsoft Visio to create the bowtie then enter all of that into a corporate reporting system, so much duplication. Now I can enter into RiskView once, then select view as a bowtie or view as a risk register, saves a heap of time and provides a range of reporting options.

PROS

The best feature is that this is an all in one system, no need to manage risk registers in excel then create a bowtie separately. Enter the information once view individual risk scenarios as a bowtie or view the complete risk register in table format even export to excel. The program has an easy to use interface and navigation is simple. The construction of bowtie risk assessments is easy to follow.

CONS

Wish we had taken the time to set the software up properly at the beginning. The information you get out is only as good as the information you put in. Only now are we starting to realise the potential of RiskView as we take the time to set the program up properly.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. If there are any changes you think we can make to help minimise those setup difficulties you identified, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Replied June 2019

Ken

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

City of Grand Rapids Experiences

This chemical management system was extremely timely, trying to manage those old SDS three ring binders were a mess. Overall, the experience has been good, and I would recommend this product to any other company needed these services.

PROS

The ease and functionality of the system, also having 24/7 access online.

CONS

We are having trouble refreshing our system, I've spoken to a few customers service reps and it's still not working?

Reason for choosing VelocityEHS

Recommendation from another government agency

Mark

Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Keeps risk organised manages changes

Using Bowties allows me to address all the contributing factors and focus on where to put additional Individual protection layers Having an update to HAZOP and LOPA available even with various parallel projects underway allows me to 1) not replicating risks already identified in new small projects 2) creating a review process automatically to improve the detail in the risk assessment each time an existing node is modified, 3) which reduces the need for 5 o 10 year "full plant" HAZOPs

PROS

Now when making a plant or process change, it is possible to access the database (not some HAZOP filed away somewhere that is not up to date) and know that it is up to date, check quickly if changes are creating new hazards and evaluate the risk consistently

CONS

It takes some skill to nagivate through the various elements and risk presentation options then to export the changes for individual projects so we use a facilitator at this stage

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you are deriving benefit from our Bowties, HAZOP and LOPA functionality. If there are any improvements you think we can make to help minimise the skills gap you identified, I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks again for your feedback.

Replied August 2019

Tanzi Lee

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

Great experience and I love working with the VelocityEHS team.

A source of truth for all data related to safety and social responsibility.

PROS

The software is very user-friendly and can be customized to meet our business needs. The software has allowed us to implement solutions to meet many different business needs so that our stakeholders have one system rather then multiple to enter/manage their data.

CONS

The reports and dashboard webparts are limiting based on the metrics we report on. Corrective actions can not be assigned to multiple stakeholders (ie: same action for different areas).

Susan

Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

Its an affordable solution with good modules/options, but without being overly complex.

(1) Saves a lot of time rolling up incident reporting and injury rates across the corporation, (2) allows excellent standardization of our corporate audits, including scoring, (3) allows racking of action items from multiple sources, (4) love the "To Do" piece on the home page/dashboard

PROS

We have had success with the incident, audit, compliance, action tracking and metrics modules. Our greatest success was with the audit module - once we built our corporate audit protocol, we were off to the races and we have a standardized process across the entire globe, including for tracking action items to closure. The system give us 90% or more of what we need, and the price is appropriate for our mid-sized company. Looking forward to integration features with MSDSOnline, which our US sites already use.

CONS

Not always intuitive/user-friendly, especially for folks who don't use it often; e.g., the HSE manager who (fortunately) has only one incident a month, or the supervisor who only goes in to close out an action item or to enter an occasional change in MOC. That said, we are getting better and have accomplished a great deal in the 5 years I've been involved. More "How To" scripts and cheat sheets that walk you through a work flow would be helpful (ideally they would be available on any screen you get "stuck" on.

Catharina

Chemicals, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

All in one stop shop!

RiskView has helped integrate our hazard identification and risk assessment into one tool - no more loss of information in transcribing. It is simple to understand when showing to people for the first time e.g. in reviews, and its action and verification wizards make closing out items so easy.

PROS

RiskView has lots of functions that can be used right from the start of the safety assessment for the lifecycle of the facility. It has made safety assessments so much easier with everything in the one tool, as well as action management and control verification. Our clients love the dashboard to clearly see where their risks are, action close out and verification status. Their training and support is of a high quality.

CONS

As with any software, there is a learning curve to get the configuration optimized for our needs. The reporting tool doesn't provide every option we had looked for, but Meercat have added more features to this in each new version of the software, so I expect this is being resolved.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. If there are any changes you think we can make to help minimise the learning curve you identified, I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks again for your feedback.

Replied July 2019

Peter

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2019

Riskview for process safety

Generally Riskview is well received by our clients (when we run safety assessments for them using Riskview)

PROS

online with multi-user access data export (eg to pdf or Excel) Bowtie tool is flexible and powerful, good for compiling a wide variety of incident bowties

CONS

Data export is limited, often the required dataset is not available, a report writer too would help Lacks auto numbering of actions Can be difficult to filter the major incidents identified at the hazard identification stage, and transfer data to the risk assessment phase Riskview doesn't distinguish well between control measure maintenance & test and control measure verification

Reasons for switching to VelocityEHS

Online functionality and multi-user access Bowtie production linked data from hazard identification, to risk assessment, bowties, performance standards and verification

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. Some great notes to relay to our development team.

Replied August 2019

Rutger

Utilities, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2019

Not great

We try to use RiskView to manage our critical risks, but the way the application is set up, the slow and complicated navigation through the system, the clunky screen layout and the frequent bugs and slow customer service response times (partially caused by the fact that Perth is 4 hours behind NZ) are making this hard.

PROS

The fact that I can build bow ties and use the system to provide Annualised Loss Expectancy for all risks.

CONS

The screen layout is clunky and the system is overly complicated. Browsing between bow ties takes time as you have to go via the root of the menu, reading and printing bow ties is difficult and it contains errors such as garbled up bowties.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. And apologies as we had no idea how bad your experience has been. Firstly, the latest release has corrected the issue around bowties not being laid out correctly in certain circumstances. Re the other issues around navigation, we would like to organise a screen share with you so that we can better understand your challenges and fix them ASAP. Thanks again for your feedback.

Replied June 2019

Ferhat

Machinery, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Reduces the risks of our operations

PROS

VelocityEHS is our most effective solution for reducing the operational risks.

CONS

VelocityEHS is working quite fine so far and I haven2t experienced any issues.

Gavin

Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

VelocityEHS Humantech - Ergonomics Software & Services

Our company's ergonomic issues (both office & industrial) has been managed so well with the implementation of the VelocityEHS Humantech software and professional services by experts that are able to assist us with Worker Comp questions & concerns.

PROS

The two (2) primary areas of VelocityEHS that I like and appreciate the most are: (1) The software functions and capabilities offered with their Humantech (Ergonomic) program and (2) if not more than this, I would say it is the staff and team members, who are experts in their respective field, that are able to assist with answering questions and supporting the endeavors of their program for others using their software & services.

CONS

After some reflection, I cannot think of anything as a feature to the software and/or support of the team at VelocityEHS that I would change and/or correct.

LES

Chemicals, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Is you risk control as live as your business

Measure and monitoring of critical risks and risk reduction measures live.

PROS

The ability for the tool to capture the changes being implemented, and the risk controls implemented to be quickly documented, and measured, and made visual makes the difference.

CONS

The delegation of the tool to people who may not really understand what they are meant to achieve. That's the implementation by users, rather than the software.

Reason for choosing VelocityEHS

Risk view is more intuitive, faster and more aligned with my thinking and process control.

Reasons for switching to VelocityEHS

Risk view is more intuitive, faster and more aligned with my thinking and process control.

Vendor Response

Les, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this excellent review. We really appreciate your business. Thanks again for your feedback.

Replied September 2019

Grant

Chemicals, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

A flexible, easy to access solution

My overall experience has been excellent. Riskview has allowed us the flexibilty to accelerate some components of our program i.e. control verification and the only issues we have had in executing our program vision is entirely on our side. Meerkat have been extremely helpful in providing suggestions and solutions to some of our self inflicted problems e.g. duplicate data, poorly described controls etc.

PROS

I like most, the easy access provided to our employees on the ground to complete a verification.

CONS

I like least, that there more functions are not available via the mobile App.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear that it is meeting your needs. Can you tell us which functionality would you like to use on the mobile app?

Replied June 2019

Patrick

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE