User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

5.0 / 5

Browse CSS HTML Validator Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -30 of 20 results

July 2021

User Profile Picture

angela from Self employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Very useful and welcome. Program to have

It was an welcome additioñ that didn't require any effort on my PO art except to download it.

Pros

How easy and simple it was to use just download and it works without any further effort needed from the user.

Cons

It was almost to simple ,like there should have been more to do but there wasn't.

June 2019

David from Le Moyne College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

An indispensable tool for production and learning environments

Based on more than two decades using CSS HTML Validator under Windows and, more recently, under Linux, I recommend it highly, not only to anyone learning web development, but also to experienced developers who pride themselves on clean, standard-compliant code, or whose code is subject to the accessibility requirements of WCAG and Section 508, or who need advanced capabilities for website monitoring. A test run of CSS HTML Validator is possible by taking advantage of the free trial offer.

Pros

In the mid-1990s, I found CSE HTML Validator’s tight integration of syntax checking with an HTML editor very effective, and its recommendations for fixes and best practices were very much like having a mentor. In the following years, CSE HTML Validator evolved into CSS HTML Validator, and its syntax checking and mentoring stayed up-to-date with evolving standards for web development. Throughout this period, I continued to rely on it because of the enormous convenience of its integration of syntax checking with editing HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and PHP. Some syntax checkers require code to be uploaded to an online service, but CSS HTML Validator’s syntax checking is purely local. That means code is kept private, and syntax checking is fast. While the Standard edition is targeted to working with individual web pages, the Professional and Enterprise editions include a batch processor for monitoring and maintaining entire websites. Using the batch processor, I am able to subject a website to an exhaustive analysis, including syntax checking, validation of links, and recommendations for best practices. It can also check WCAG and Section 508 accessibility requirements. CSS HTML Validator may be a Windows application, but I have found that it executes flawlessly on Linux machines using Wine, which enabled me to continue relying on it when I switched from Windows to Linux. A complete technical evaluation of CSS HTML Validator is available on the WineHQ Wine Application Database.

Cons

Because CSS HTML Validator lacks a builtin FTP client, it cannot directly upload web pages to a web site.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Great for webmasters

Pros

I think this software is great. The pro version is the best because it analyzing the entire website and not just individual pages. I’ve used google webmaster tools but I prefer CSS HTML Validator because it really fine tunes the code mistakes i typical mess up on. There’s no builtin FTP client, Which is a bummer but overall it still allows me to clean up errors and make my code on the sites load faster across windows and Linux.

Cons

Besides no FTP, I havnt had any cons about the software.

October 2021

Allen from Allen R. Marshall Consulting LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Useful checker for embedding html and css code into javascript

Constructing html from scratch. There is no way to do that easily without some sort of checker/previewer like this.

Pros

The most important benefit to my mind is that the validator EXPLAINS WHY! The notes on the side for each message are extremely helpful.

Cons

I am not sure I love the TaDa sound but I am sure I can disable that....

Response from AI Internet Solutions

Replied October 2021

Thank you for the good review! I see you gave only 3 stars for 'ease of use'. If you have any suggestions on how to make the program easier to use, then please email them to support@htmlvalidator.com. Thank you!

May 2019

Thomas from BMT Systems, Inc.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

A must-have for web developers

It's helped me write robust HTML and CSS, and it's helped me learn the reason why certain things should be structured in the way that allows validation.

Pros

The CSS HTML Validator provides a better analysis of HTML than what is provided by the W3C: the Validator provides clear and detailed information not only of the cause of what problems it discovers, but helpful suggestions on how to solve those problems. It then goes beyond that to provide suggestions on what might be done to strengthen the HTML beyond a mere validation fix, including information on accessibility, cross-browser compatibility, and the like. There's also the added bonus of an online forum where questions may be posted, and the author of the software has always been quick to respond to queries, and he has been equally open to suggestions of new features (e.g., when I've discovered quirks of HTML composition that result from the use of certain JavaScript frameworks, the author has worked to ensure that the Validator responds to those quirks with appropriate validations and suggestions for usage). I recommend the Validator highly to everyone who wants to ensure that their HTML and CSS are rock-solid, and therefore a strong foundation for their application and its use.

Cons

If I could choose the default sound that is issued at the end of validation (a triumphant "ta-da!" when everything checks out, a single low "beep" when there's a problem), I'd probably want that. But the program is so highly configurable that there's probably a setting for changing those sounds that I haven't investigated yet. :-)

Response from AI Internet Solutions

Replied June 2019

Thank you Thomas! I'm glad that you have found the program very useful. There are sound settings in the Validator Engine Options where you can turn off or change the sounds that play after a validation.

September 2019

Bryan from Mossy Creek Engineering

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

A Powerful Multi-function Editor for Web Documents

I am very impressed with CSS HTML Validator software. It is a powerful editing tool for HTML, XML, CSS and other forms of web documents. The validator saves a lot of time reviewing code for syntax, nesting errors, and other coding mistakes. You can choose the level of error reporting from critical errors only, or add warnings, link checking, and even suggestions on good style practices and appropriate coding for web crawlers. When validating documents, errors are highlighted in different colors, indicating the severity of the mistake. And the validator allows you to choose to validate with the HTML 5 standard or select earlier, transitional versions. The Validator makes writing code quicker and easier than using a plain text editor. You can choose to have your tags auto-closed, and lines auto-indented to help avoid nesting errors. Spelling and syntax suggestions are available on-the-fly. The editing screen can be split horizontally or vertically between two documents allowing for quick and simple cut-and-paste, or side-by-side comparison of two documents, and the edit screen will hold multiple files open with quick-access tabs allowing you to switch rapidly between documents. Although the Validator is not a WYSIWYG editor, it quickly allows you to check the web display of your document using either an internal browser, or your choice of popular browsers through an external link. The Validator constantly follows your cursor, so help from their on-line syntax database is on

Pros

Even though this software is heavily packed with features, I appreciate the intuitive layout, the ease of use, and the low learning curve; I was up and running very quickly.

Cons

No What-you-see-is-what-you-get capability.

Reasons for Switching to CSS HTML Validator

My previous HTML editor was unsupported

May 2019

Alexander from AVCalc LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

CSS HTML Validator role in a website development cycle

Pros

CSS HTML Validator makes sure that aqua-calc.com with its more than 800,000 pages runs free of any HTML issues since 2011, providing for quick and reliable way to check any web page in development. Its batch wizard allows to stay on top of any inadvertently introduced errors during a development phase. CSS HTML Validator is a significant part of aqua-calc.com nightly builds, ensuring that search engine bots will not not find any HTML issues within the website. Lastly, but not least, in my experience, CSS HTML Validator provides stellar support, responding promptly and efficiently to any and all questions.

Cons

It takes about 10 hours for CSS HTML validator batch wizard to scan aqua-calc.com, but sheer amount of pages within the website makes it unavoidable.

February 2019

Michael from Interscan Corporation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

The best HTML and CSS validator, and yes you need one even if you use a content management system

Has helped immensely in Webpage design--especially before the era of content management systems. Remember, if someone doesn't like the looks of your site, he will switch off in three seconds. Also useful when doing bulk e-mails, using such programs as Atomic Mail Sender. This stuff has to look perfect to even have a chance of being read.

Pros

Does a complete validation of your web page, checking for essentially all possible errors. If you want the best look and functionality of your site's pages, the code has to be correct. Sure...browsers are more forgiving these days, but why take a chance? What's more, by having coding errors exposed, you learn how to design the pages better!

Cons

In some rare cases, the Validator can get too picky. e.g. For MailChimp e-mailing software, certain aspects of generated inline CSS coding are technically wrong, and will actually not render if corrected to the Validator's standards. Note that this is not a problem with the Validator, but with MailChimp. This sort of thing can also occur in WordPress. Thus, the user must be aware of those rare instances when being absolutely correct can be a problem.

January 2021

Rachel E. from SUNY Broome Community College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

A Validation Multi-tool!

I started with the free version in the late 1990s and upgraded to the Pro version later on when I taught Web design regularly. I continue to recommend it to my students when I find out they are doing any kind of webpage development. I use it to batch validate student websites. I share the generated reports with their grading rubric so they not only know what they did wrong, but how to fix it.

Pros

Easy for novice users. Highly customizable for expert users. Editor and validators are customizable. Excellent technical support. Validates within the editor. Has a batch mode that generates validation information, explanations, and ways to fix code that can be shared with other developers. Intuitive interface. Stays current with published standards. Can clean up code.

Cons

It would be nice to have a code completion feature similar to Visual Studio or Notepad++.

May 2021

Paul from NA

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

CSS HTML Validator - Awesome Software

Been using it for years to create web pages. Easy to use, but occasionally the error message or suggested correction is hard to understand. When that happens, just post on their support forum. You typically get an answer the next days or sometimes an additional day later. I've yet not to been able to solve an HTML error.

Pros

Easy to use. It checks your HTML to ensure it is correct - regardless of which version of HTML you are writing for. If your HTML needs correction, it provides suggested corrections.

Cons

Nothing. This software is great. Never had any problems with it. I am using the paid Professional version, but the cost - to me - is not of concern if I want to write HTML pages that are correct and above all: Work!

October 2019

RC from Speedwaybikes.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

My Review and Comment of and about CSE HTML Validator Software

I have been using this software since 2011. The fact that it found all the errors in my code and presented the reason why in a manner that I could understand is wonderful. It helped me insure my web pages were formatted correctly and would not be rejected by the various search engines.

Pros

Very fast and easy to use. Allowed me to find errors and explanations quickly and easily.

Cons

For me it has a lot of options that I do not use, some because I do not understand them some I just do not use.

November 2019

Joel from Patrick Henry Community College

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Seems to make learning easier

It has been a fantastic experience working with the CSS HTML Validator, I would definitely recommend this software to a friend.

Pros

I really appreciate the fact that this software can anticipate what I am about to type and will finish code for me, as it helps me to type the code faster. I'm pretty new to HTML and CSS, so as a student, the color scheme helps me to catch errors very quickly which is very helpful. Lastly, I'm very thankful that the validator can not only catch errors but often it can tell me what code I intended to include.

Cons

I wish this software would also validate javascript, that way I would be able to code my entire site within this one validator. I love using CHV but am currently being forced to spend a portion of my time in another IDE.

Reasons for Switching to CSS HTML Validator

I really needed to make the switch to some sort of validation software. Even though my websites are pretty basic at the moment, it would take me far too long to find a mistake in my code prior to downloading CHV

July 2019

Peter from AblePrint / Toucan Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Can't Imagine My Business Without It

Makes my projects easy and accomplished in record time.

Pros

The frequent updates keep up with the many changes in the market. Easy to navigate to any and all of its features. Priced Right !

Cons

Nothing comes to mind, it's all good as is

July 2019

Eric from Express Ramps, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Worth Every Penny

Never put a page live, without using this to check it first. Highly recommend it.

Pros

Easy to use, gives you virtually instant feedback and helps insure you pages are properly formatted.

Cons

No complaints. Easy to turn off warning messages, if you don't want to be warned about a specific error.

August 2019

Michelle from SPRIG Technologies

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Excellent tool for programmers

Overall, pretty solid. Honestly don’t have any major issues to report.

Pros

Programming is what I do... each and every day. As a result, I find myself working with a lot of software, as well as trying out things to make my code easier to edit , so markups, or debug. This is personally what I use to markup and edit my code I plan to use for websites . It is not really commercial, just for personal use.

Cons

Hyper markups are a finicky beast at times... seems you are always missing something. This software catches a lot, but doesn’t always edit or mark up everything I need it to.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Dehn from Best Websites Fast

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

CSS & HTML Validation is a breeze with this tool

I used it to see about a tool for checking code that may rival other more expensive tools I have been using

Pros

Simple and standard layout....intuitive and easy to adjust to after using other products in the past

Cons

Color option at start, likely has tools to theme it but the initial color is jarring

June 2019

Matthew from TicketCity

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Complete Validation in One Product!

Fantastic product, that I have used for many years. I use it to get an overall validation of a webpage.

Pros

Fast, and powerful. The software will do accessibility validation, HTML validation and best practices all in one sweep. Once it is done running the audits it will give you a complete list of items that need to be addressed.

Cons

The cost of the upgrades. I wish I could purchase once and then each update would cost a small amount, I sometimes skip versions to wait for better features to warrant the upgrade price.

August 2019

Quinn from Masonian Music

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Really helped out my website!

Pros

One use of this software and I was able to locate and fix many of the problems that made my website ineffective before. The layout made finding everything easy, so I was able to work quick.

Cons

The pricing for the full version can sometimes be a little steep and beyond my reach as a student.

Response from AI Internet Solutions

Replied August 2019

Thank you for the review! I'm glad that CSS HTML Validator really helped your website. As a student, you may qualify for the educational/academic discount. Please visit our website for more information about this discount.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Milan from freelance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Solid tool

Very good product, fast and efficient , supports everything you need for validation of your code and more.

Pros

Very good tool for web designers/developers to check their code for mistakes before going to production. Supports a lot of programming languages, checks for spelling errors, links etc...

Cons

Nothing considering the product itself. The price is a bit expensive in my opinion , especially for "enterprise" plan.

April 2021

Rebecca from SMWV

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Helpful software for HTML!

Pros

This software easily validates your HTML code, saving time and money when working on important projects!

Cons

Software is overall great! While some features could be updated, it serves its purpose well.