All GTmetrix Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Torikul

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

It's an excellent website speed troubleshooting and testing tool

My overall experience is amazing, I'm using this tool from the beginning. This tool helps me to grow up my speed optimization service and take it to the next level. GT-Metrix saves my time also, I don't need to do research for any critical issues, they have ready all the guidelines about every single problem. I use this tool almost every day, GT-Metrix is now my 1st choice of all speed testing tools.

PROS

The first thing I liked about this tool, is it's super simple to use as well as it's effective. GT-Metrix added a new feature called Speed Visualization which can help me to track every second loading report and the obstacle that blocks the speed index. This tool especially provides two types of score, performance and structure which is very helpful. They don't even just show the website loading speed result. There is a TOP ISSUES tab with a complete guideline for troubleshooting methods. As a developer, I take help from this tool a lot, it's really superb!

CONS

GT-Metrix can't show the exact loading speed or performance in the report. If you scan the site URL for the first time, you'll not get the same result if you scan it for the second time, this is a weird thing. I provide speed optimization services to my clients. After finishing the speed up process, clients check the site performance on GT-Metrix. But the performance they got from their side, not match what I'm getting on my side, so this is another annoying thing about this tool. Scan location of GT-Metrix always shows from Vancouver, Canada, but I'm not in this location. It doesn't matter from where you are scanning or using the tool, it will show Vancouver, Canada location. I think this tool needs to improve these things.

Reasons for switching to GTmetrix

It is important to me that what other testing tools show reports about the websites. As a developer, I have to take bits of help from all software, not just one.

Senne

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

One of the best performance metrics tools

I have been using GTmetrix for years now and will continue to do so in future. I'm still on the free plan now but will most likely upgrade later on. There's really only 1 alternative that I found to be very good as well, but gives some different views. So I'll be choosing between this and that tool (Dareboost).

PROS

Last year GTmetrix updated their protocol so it's now fully up-to-date with the latest Google metrics. Just by having an account, you have a choice between various different locations to test your website load speed from. GTmetrix gives a lot of different views, metrics and important tips that help you optimise your websites. Not many tools have the possibility to enable video view so you can see exactly how your website is rendered in a certain browser and what the actual loading time is. This is very handy.

CONS

It might be just my websites, but I'm often getting very different results between tests, which can be very frustrating. There's always this doubt whether a website is trully fully optimised when you get A ratings, B ratings and then suddenly an E rating. But again, that's probably not their fault. The limits on the free plan can be pretty frustrating. But they're a business so they obviously need to have limitations on their free plan in order to have more people upgrade and make money.

Tanmay

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Improving Website Speed and Efficiency with GTmetrix - A User's Perspective

Overall, GTmetrix is a powerful and comprehensive website performance optimization tool that can offer a lot of benefits to users.

PROS

GTmetrix helps in website performance optimization cuz it gives comprehensive analysis and recommendations. It also provides detailed information on website speed, performance, and load time, which can be extremely valuable for website owners and developers looking to improve the user experience.

CONS

The platform can be slow at times, which can impact the accuracy of the performance analysis.

User Profile

Mairina

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

If you want to increase the performance to position your web page, this is the best tool!

In my particular experience, I use several tools and they are compared with this tool that is the speed reference of load, of YScore, degree of performance, and the most important thing that is that I'm listing in what value each parameter is found Make up my website, from optimization of images to optimization of code and parameters of caching. The truth is I recommend it, it is easy to use and it gives you a lot of value when optimizing your website for a good SEO positioning. Recommended 100%

PROS

I have had very good experience with GTMetrix, and believe me I have used many in order to not only measure the speed of my site, but to correct many aspects that prevent an effective SEO positioning. For me, one of the best tools to measure the speed of loading the website, in addition to this great advantage, also lists the errors you might have within a site and the recommendations to improve or minimize such errors. This tool has given me a lot of value when auditing one of the websites, since it lists the values โ€‹โ€‹of each of the parameters that the site has and tells me how long each part of the code of the page takes. So with these values โ€‹โ€‹I can optimize my website.

CONS

The truth of all the tools, this seems to me the most complete, because what they lack to others this one has it and it is to be able to compare several websites. The only thing that would add would be other servers, since it only has a location like Canada.

User Profile

Dave

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Quick and easy information on site speed

Mostly good experience, especially given the free options. I haven't seen the need yet to pay for the upgraded experience.

PROS

I love the quick and easy set up and weekly reports and, perhaps most importantly, it's free. As someone who uses a few different website building platforms and re-building websites, I really using to evaluate the efficiency of outgoing and incoming software on a website. I believe the change to using just Lighthouse info lost a lot of interesting data but it's still my go to.

CONS

Some of the data and results are confusing and you have to really dig in and research what they mean. Also, they sometimes put too much weight on data that aren't that relevant. Look at loading speed before anything else. I've have had sites that got low scores over all but were loading very quickly, so be sure and note what's really important. Otherwise you'll spend hours trying to figure out how to raise that score when, really, your site is loading just fine.

Reason for choosing GTmetrix

I didn't, I use both. :) I think it's important to get as much data from different sources as possible.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

All you need to keep an eye on vital data

I really love how quick they are at updating criteria when algorithms change. This allow me to keep my performances and those of my customers well, within few hours. Happy customers make good profits.

PROS

I manage many websites for my customers and I do like the idea of automatizing most of the checking I have to do and be able to access the data whenever I need to without having to set many things up every single time. Plus it is that userfriendly, most of my customers can get the info on their own and ensure everything is fine on their website without being forced to ask me to check things up. Finally, the reports are complete enough to find solutions about anything that would turned to be wrong about your content, so when new algorithms emerge, you won't only know your contents don't pass the system but how to correct things so they will.

CONS

I sincerely have no idea, that's exactly why I never looked for another software.

User Profile

Chamuditha

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Best way to maintain website speed!

PROS

- It's generating informative detailed reports for the website and it's very useful for everyone. - Most of the time we can fix the errors with their report. - We can loop the speed test of the website.

CONS

- Some time we need to wait a little longer to get the results. other than that this is a good software to measure the speed of your website.

Hari

Online Media, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Powerful and easy-to-use website speed testing tool.

GTmetrix is a speed testing tool that gives us all the information we need to know about how fast or slow our website loads. It gives us a report on how we can improve our page load speed, which will in return improve our SEO ranking and overall user experience. It will also give us tips on how to make our content more mobile-friendly, which is a major ranking factor as well.

PROS

GTmetrix is a powerful and easy-to-use web tool that allows us to track our website performance in terms of load time and provides actionable suggestions on how to improve it. I like that they have a huge database of test servers and the user interface is easy to use.

CONS

GTmetrix has huge servers for speed testing, I have no complaints about its services.

User Profile

Chamath

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Superbolt of fast websites

It does not have many technical and technological details. But yet, for a completely free tool, this job is optimum.

PROS

Many companies use GTmetrix to process a fast load period of websites to customers and clients. Many website designers create beautiful sites with attractive features, yet, they load slowly. Gtmetrix is the best option to know where the website is lagging and also how to improve fast loading quickly. - A complete report of display issues. - Simultaneous reports are downloading from PageSpeed and YSlow. These features took my attention when I using GTmetrix.

CONS

For the cons side, User interfaces are a bit confusing it would be great if the user experience of the tool improved. I couldn't find a different test server as I'm from Sri Lanka. Other than it's an awesome free tool to get done the job.

User Profile

Gihan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Best tool to speed up and optimize any kind of websites

GTmetrix is a free software which you can use to optimize your website within a short time. Awsome software to check and improve the performance of the website.

PROS

GTmetrix shows the current performance of your website. Also, It indicates everything you need to optimize to increase the speed of your website. It is so easy to use and easy to understand. It has PageSpeed, YSlow and Waterfall feature to grab website state. It 100% accurate and it's a free tool.

CONS

So far, I don't saw any cons on this software. You may be confused if you are new to this software. But you will find a lot of tutorials about GTmetrix. So it, not a big issue.

Antonio

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

The best way to test your website response and load time

I use GTmetrix to test all websites we make for us, or for clients. When creating a website for a local tourism company, GTmetrix helped me lower the load time from 8.5 seconds to under 1 second, just by telling me what the bottleneck was and nudging me to the right solution. It is a great tool that I can highly recommend to anyone making websites.

PROS

One click and a few seconds of loading time give me more information about what needs fixing on my website than most other software that I tried. It is an amazing tool that shows you where the issues with the speed of your website are and how to make them go away! I love that it tests against two different metrics, and it has testing options including server location and the ability to measure only until "on load" event.

CONS

I can't say there was anything I disliked about GTmetrix. It would have been great to have even more server locations maybe, but that was never a big issue for me.

Kumar

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Best Website performance Testing Tool

GTmetrix gives exact standing and overview of my sites by generating reports showing different test parameters like LCP, CLS, TTI, etc. This helps me to know the issue and suggest me to solve the possible suggestion that I can easily take action.

PROS

GTmetrix is the best performance testing platform, it tests my site's Largest Contentful Paint time, Total Blocking Time, Cumulative Layout Shift time, and Fully Loaded Time. All these parameters help to maintain my site's overall speed and performance.

CONS

I have not found any cons on this tool but sometimes GTmetrix changes their grade while re-testing, this behavior creates some confusion.

mathieu

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

An important first tool to improve your website

Gtmetrix, for free gives a lot of inputs to website creators to help them react and correct each flow while explaining the issues in detail. It will help solve many problems and seeing your rank improve is a great gratification. The free account gives already a lot of inputs and will be enough for most of the users, while paid versions gives more freedom and fine tuning on how to improve your website speed.

PROS

Gtmetrix is so easy to use. In a few seconds you know how to improve your website and tests done on different locations gives even more precize data

CONS

Gtmetrix changed its ranking score and it was a bit confusing at first but once used it is still a very good tool.

Reasons for switching to GTmetrix

WebCeo, while being a paid tool, gives a comprehensive data report covering GTmetrix capabilities and other data tools like Google Tools. WebCEO helps me work on the CEO and still gives me inputs on all the points GTmetrix would cover.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Best way to diagnose website performance

I regularly use GTmetrix to diagnose performance issues in clients' websites.

PROS

Besides being very intuitive and easy to use, GTmetrix provides very detailed views of website performance, including detailed waterfalls and even videos of the actual test.

CONS

I have noticed that they sometimes change the metrics they use and don't really notify the user about that. So it can get confusing from time to time.

Reasons for switching to GTmetrix

GTmetrix has a free version.

Danielle

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Great tool for analysing your website's speed, with quick wins to improve!

We use this report almost everyday to test our client's website speed.

PROS

- Simple, clear dashboard that reports on website speed (average fully loaded time etc). - Free version gives you a clear indication of website speed performance. - Provides recommendations to improve site speed, with clear reports and insights.

CONS

- Some of the recommendations to improve site speed are irrelevant. - Free version only tests from certain regions (which may not be where your website is hosted, and thus not a true representation of overall site speed).

Boris

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Easy way to identify speed bottlenecks of your website

I use GTmetrix to test speed of all websites I make. It helps me identify bottlenecks, and reminds me of what optimizations I can still make to load the websites faster. A faster website equals happier customers and longer retention time, which directly relates to conversions. I can easily recommend GTmetrix to everyone who makes websites - it will help you make your website better.

PROS

It is super easy to use. Type in your website url, press a single button, and the results just pop up! I also love how you can choose the server location to test from - sometimes I am more interested in how my website loads somewhere far away.

CONS

Some scores are unfixable. It would be great if you could mark some of their tests as "not applicable" and then calculate the score from the ones you can actually fix. Sometimes I get bad scores but there is no realistic way to fix the score because of the technology I use.

Devraj

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: