What is OnPay?

OnPay is a cloud-based payroll solution that helps small businesses automate tax filing and payment workflows. Key features include employee self-onboarding, new hire reporting, automated payroll taxations and scheduled pay runs.

OnPay provides an employee portal for updating information, onboarding and accessing past pay stubs and tax forms. Businesses can track their employees’ PTO, vacation and sick leaves. The solution provides a document vault for storing contracts and employee notes. It offers integration with third-party applications like Xero, QuickBooks, Guideline, Humanity, Kabbage and more.

Another employee management feature offered by OnPay is 401(k) planning that helps employees plan for their retirement. The solution manages compl...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 10

216 Reviews of OnPay

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.87 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(195)

195

4 stars

(18)

18

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(2)

2

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 216 results

March 2020

Lisa from iCap Equity

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Great Payroll System

Great tool that is affordable and easy to use!

Pros

What I like most about OnPay is how easy it is to use the tool. I do not have a payroll background and I was able to figure out how to process payroll with getting frustrated. It's very intuitive and easy to use. I also like that chat functionality. They respond instantly and are incredibly knowledgeable/helpful.

Cons

I wish we could integrate it with our HRIS platform so I wouldn't have to switch between 2 different systems to process payroll (401k contributions and approve non-exempt time cards, etc.)

Reasons for Choosing OnPay

CFO liked OnPay's cost and functionality better than Gusto.

February 2020

Craig from Integrity Bookkeeping Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Wish all software was this easy

Onpay has streamlined the payroll process for me. I run my clients payroll in a fraction of the time and for a fraction of the cost.

Pros

The ease of setup, integration, and running payroll. They have simplified the process. Also the price is a fraction of other payroll companies.

Cons

There are a few features i would like to see added, such as automatic payroll.

Reasons for Choosing OnPay

Paychex is very difficult to integrate with QBO and cost considerably more.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Going down hill fast

They used to be good. I have been them for 3-4 years Customer service knew what they are doing, there were not glitches, basically hassle free payroll. Starting September or October, we started having issues here and there. First features would get added ( and we start using them ) and then disappear. Taxes are not being filed on time or at all ( I have called them, talked to them on the phone about this multiple times ) . Integrations appear and disappear and i have to keep syncing things. Have to map quickbook chart of accounts again for every payroll item. It's been a NIGHTMARE. It's literally a nightmare. I am looking at other companies and now willing to pay more. The function to upload payroll data comes and disappears right before the payroll and then it takes one day to add it and then again it disappears We have a collection notice from our state because of these guys. Every time, i message them / email them, either they don't respond or when i talk to them on the phone they act like i am a dumb. They are terrible.

Pros

Cheaper price than many but I would rather pay more for a job to get done well.

Cons

on collection notice from state dep of rev because of them Non responsive Customer service ( someone will talk to you but don't get things done ) Customer service not knowledgeable ( gave me wrong information several times ) Glitch y integrations with other platforms ( you can only use WhenIWork ) Glitch y software in general Features appearing and disappearing

Response from OnPay

Replied January 2020

Hi there! Thanks for your feedback, and I'm sorry to hear that you haven't had a better experience. Though tax mistakes are uncommon, when a tax notice does happen our Customer Experience team is here to help resolve everything. We'd be happy to look into the issues you mention and make sure everything runs smoothly. We have also expanded our integration offerings, which may be of interest. If you message us your company name or email, we'll reach out to help!

April 2020

Amy from MOSTe MOTIVATING OUR STUDENTS THROUGH EXPERIENCE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Full function, clear UX, low cost

Overall, it's been very positive. They have what our organization needs at a good price, and are easy to use.

Pros

I chose OnPay because they offered an easy-to-use QSEHRA designation, which our previous provider SurePayroll did not. I am tremendously pleased with OnPay. The page layouts are clear, reasonably intuitive and very easy to set up, and they keep introducing smart upgrades which make tools even easier to find. They also have excellent customer service, by chat, phone, or email.

Cons

It could be clearer to set up PTO/vacation/sick policies. I also don't know why I can't delete double notifications when employees get paid.

Reasons for Choosing OnPay

Price and ease of use.

February 2020

Donald from DLJTAX LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

OnPay software worked well for microbusinesses with little knowledge about payroll and payroll taxes

I no longer provide payroll services or payroll tax preparation services to my clients. In an environment where payroll tax requirements are rapidly changing, such as the new W-4 form, it is helpful for me to offload client payroll processing to a cloud-based payroll service provider. Yet, I can still occasionally check in to help clients if there are any concerns.

Pros

The software was very easy to use. I'm a CPA who converted my clients who process payroll to this software. The change went well. I received good support when I needed it. My clients, some of whom have very limited knowledge about processing payroll and payroll taxes, made the change and are doing well. Where support was required the OnPay staff worked with my clients, or with me to accomplish the goal.

Cons

This change-over was done in December to be effective with the new year. Sometimes there was some difficulty processing the first weekly payroll which overlapped both years, but was paid in the new year. Ultimately OnPay support helped us work through the issues.

Reasons for Choosing OnPay

The price was less and the product appeared easier to use which was very important to my clients who only had 1 or 2 employees.