All SmartAdvocate Reviews

1-25 of 103 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Karen

2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2023

User Task & Sleep Easy At Night.

User Profile

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

SA is Effective and Easy to use

Great, as someone who came into an office job for the first time, using this software has been easy, and is very helpful in organization.

PROS

This software is easy to learn and use. It does a great job of keeping things organized and has lots of options for easy accessibility.

CONS

Sometimes it can load slow, and customer support is not the best, sometimes needing to wait long times for response or follow up on submitted issues.

User Profile

Nicholas J.N.

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Smart Advocate is a Competent Case Management Software Catered to your Needs

Smart Advocate has allowed my firm to automate significant portions of our pre-litigation practice which is a huge time-saver. As we continue to learn about Smart Advocate's features and further develop our use of it, the logistics of our practice has been improved significantly .

PROS

Smart Advocate easily integrated into our firm with a relatively seamless transition from our prior case management software. Since then, Smart Advocate has been easy to pick up and learn and its wide breadth of features makes customizing the program to our specific practice worth taking the extra time to learn.

CONS

Not all litigation management tabs in Smart Advocate are self-explanatory, requiring a dedicated support person who is intimately familiar with Smart Advocate to wade through feature functionality at times.

Reasons for switching to SmartAdvocate

Trial Works lacked the automating features that we were looking for in a case management software.

Bonita

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2017

Overall great program. It is a bit tricky to at first but does make sense on how its formulated.

PROS

Notes, medical portion/record request, some of the forms, ease of use to locate and update contact information, how each aspect is predicated upon another of the program.

CONS

To create the forms, using the merge codes and having the margins/tab sets line up exactly where you want them to is frustrating if it is not a full left margin. Figuring out how to modify information in some of the screens if there is not an edit option on that screen.

Laura

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Smart Advocate is a Winner!

My 4 years of experience with Smart Advocate has been a positive experience. Over the course of the last 4 years this software has allowed us to grow without the normal growing pains. The automation and dashboard reporting are amazing tools to manage cases and personnel with a few clicks. We are better able to communicate with our clients using automation tools, have streamlined work processes using workplans and have been able to maintain labor costs even during growth due to the specific use of workplans. I had been a Needles user for several years prior to using Smart Advocate and hands down this is a winner.

PROS

Ease of use, intuitive nature of program. Automation and dashboards.

CONS

Inability to write custom reports and intake functionality.

Reasons for switching to SmartAdvocate

Needed a system that would allow more automation and employee oversight

Steve

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Life changing practice management software

The SmartAdvocate support team is amazing and very responsive. You have to be patient with any software product that you launch, but the team at SmartAdvocate has seen it all and they will solve any issue quickly.

PROS

SmartAdvocate has all of the tools necessary to successfully operate a personal injury law firm with incredible efficiency. The ability to text and esign right from within the program is a game changer in terms of client satisfaction. Ordering medical records is simplified to a few clicks and tracking those requests is totally transparent. A huge benefit of SmartAdvocate is that they are not new to the space which gives them a huge advantage over their competitors because they know what makes a PI firm tick.

CONS

You have to be committed to SmartAdvocate and it will pay to back handsomely. If you take the extra seconds to input the data, it’s well worth it.

Reason for choosing SmartAdvocate

The years of experience and knowledge of the industry put SmartAdvocate head and shoulders above the competition.

Stacey

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Great Product

Customer support is amazing, and the product itself delivers.

PROS

We have been using Smart Advocate for roughly 7 years for our case management software. It has streamlined our practice and is a great tool to manage both our cases and our team.

CONS

The lack of ability to seamlessly handle single event accident cases involving multiple parties.

Reasons for switching to SmartAdvocate

Better case management and reporting features

Nicholas

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Great product that is better and half the price

Great product and have not had any issues with the product.

PROS

Ease of use and set up. The team at SmartAdvocate made the transition so easy and we did not miss any time during the transition.

CONS

None that I can think of. I think the product is great.

Reason for choosing SmartAdvocate

Price because they have similar features.

Reasons for switching to SmartAdvocate

SmartAdvocate is a better product and not as expensive.

Juan

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

incredibly versatile and customizable

Much better organizing and reporting than what I'm used to (Needles)

PROS

It can be customized to fit the needs of the user, just as much as the practice area.

CONS

Document saving is more difficult than it needs to be. As documents have to be transferred to the SA platform, they lose the original metadata source, which can be very important in a legal setting.

Reasons for switching to SmartAdvocate

Switched Firms. Not a personal decision, but glad it worked out.

Hector

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

A Clean, Customizable Experience

PROS

The platform is easy to use and navigate from Setup to Settlement. It’s designed in a straightforward manner with everything reasonably placed. Even someone unfamiliar with case management solutions could probably pick this up and jump into a workflow pretty quickly. Additionally, the ability to change what information is presented and where is a very useful feature.

CONS

The system has a few issues that are holding it back. The file preview tools seem to be very sensitive about when and where they want to work. While Word documents almost never have issues with previewing, PDFs sometimes can’t be previewed. For a while, HEIF documents weren’t supported well; I’m not sure if this has since been fixed. It would be great if medical bills could be copied to liens more efficiently instead of one item at a time. The calendar events are very useful, but when you delete a series, it doesn’t automatically remove it from your outlook calendar. Instead, it updates it to say “Deleted”. Perhaps it’s not possible, but it seems like it would be.

Stephen

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Great product and service

PROS

The organization matched what i was trying to do at Stephen T. Collins and Associates but all in one place. After i got the product i was even more impressed with the training and service.

CONS

Setting it up but it was more of me not being comfortable and always thinking i am doing something wrong even when i am not.

Emily

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

SmartAdvocate is useful for a large case load

Overall it's a good system, it just takes some getting use too.

PROS

I love the many diffrent ways we can pull-up a client, that my be in SA (Thats what we call it), wrong. I also, like the feature to look for someone by their first name. You just use *and name. Takes out a lot of guess work. Great feature!

CONS

I'm not real wild about, how many steps it takes to attach documents in the system.

Reasons for switching to SmartAdvocate

We had to many cases. We maxed out.

Kathryn

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Happy Customer

PROS

I love how user friendly the software is

CONS

Lots of very similar titled fill- ins for templates No client portal app Our clients have lots of issues with being locked out/ not receiving notifications from the portal

Reasons for switching to SmartAdvocate

Looking for more features and easier use

Vendor Response

Hi Kathryn! We're thrilled to see that you're a happy customer and are enjoying SmartAdvocate! We have the client portal available to our clients. We'll have someone reach out to you for further guidance, thank you for the kind review.

Replied June 2022

Hemily

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

AMAZING AMAZING AND NOTHING BUT AMAZING

I have worked with SA and their team since we got the software and I could only recommend it!

PROS

There's is so much to love but the Documents system is a big plus.

CONS

there is no Con, its all love! honestly speak with time and some guidance everything is possible.

Reasons for switching to SmartAdvocate

2015

Shannon

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2023

Medical Records

Overall I have had a very good experience with SmartAdvocate

PROS

That the medical records can be grouped together in folders along with the requests in a separate folder.

CONS

The signatures that can be automatically transferred from Word, if this is could be for all documents that would be very helpful for all medical records

Claudina

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Good

Overall it's quite easy to use. SmartAdvocate hosts seminars fairly frequently which I have been finding useful. I'm new to this program and still learning. There are times when I feel like our operations in Class Actions may not fully fit in with this program, but Mass Torts seem to work well. We try to keep up to date and implement any features from the webinars as we go along.

PROS

I like that everything is in one place and that we use significantly less paper. The notes feature is great for keeping track of every interaction with the client. The search feature works well in the documents section. It is hooked up to my outlook which makes it easy to save all correspondence into the appropriate files.

CONS

When searching client names in the data base, you have to ensure there are no extra spaces or it wont come up even if it is indeed in the system.

James

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Great software

Overall, it is a great product. SA has made working from home seamless.

PROS

Cloud based software makes it incredibly easy to have all your files available on the go, from home, or at the office. Workplans have helped our firm streamline and uniform our case preparation.

CONS

Some of the features, like emailing, calendar integration, and word template formatting do not integrate well with Macs. The document's tab organization is a little clumsy.

Danielle

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

SmartAdvocate is the best case management software.

SA has made it a lot easier to keep cases organized and easily accessible, even when working remotely. I am a HUGE fan of SmartAdvocate!

PROS

Having to work remotely for most of last year has been so much easier with SmartAdvocate. It is easy to understand and use. The tips of the week and offered webinars are invaluable!

CONS

Some of the tabs have areas that cannot be changed when added but all the other features make up for that.

Slawomir

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY