User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(26)

26

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse CivicRec Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -10 of 40 results

December 2018

User Profile Picture

John W from Gwinnett County Government

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

CIVIC REC

The use of CIVIC REC in our department...I can't put a value on it. Our employees love it, as well as our citizens in this great county!

Pros

The Flexibility of the product puts it at the top of the heap for our Department's needs. The already canned Financial and Roster reports are 2nd to none. The reports capture all the information that our Finance folks want to see. Being web-based instead of seat or hardware based has been the key to our success. Being restricted by seat usage really infringed on our customer service. Now, that we are web-based, we the ability sign up anyone and at anytime and at any location.

Cons

The occasional updates sometimes interfere with our business the next day, but 99% of the time, it is fixed within the hour.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied February 2019

Thank you John for your review and feedback and for being a part of the CivicPlus and CivicRec family. We appreciate your comments regarding the flexibility and reporting. Thanks, CivicRec Team

October 2020

Amy from Power Ranch Community Association

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

User Friendly, Seamless Integration and Endless Customization

I have only been utilizing the software since March, and we did not launch until May and then because of COVID and amenity closures we only opened part of our facilities. My only "trouble" is not with the software itself, but with my assigned account manager and the difficulty in reaching them and the delayed response. I do however have GREAT service from the phone and online chat feature. Those team members are quick to respond, ask for details to better understand and provide an accurate and effective result.

Pros

I was very pleased with the customization of the software. Having multiple facilities, amenities and rates it was a lot to set up, however the customization was well worth it. The training was informative and the trainers were great at showing examples with our facilities, not just a mock up/sample facility. The functionality is great and very user friendly. There are multiple ways to set up a permit for example and although one method might be "preferred" by the trainers you can accomplish the same goal in at least three different ways. This is a benefit when you have multiple admins as each person may work with different set ups easier.

Cons

The set up, although very customizable was also VERY intense. We have not fully begun using all of the product features due to the complexity of setting everything up prior to launch. The most impactful functionality that I feel is missing is one related to field rentals. Our property rents 3 soccer fields and a softball field and we rent them at an hourly rate of $10/hour or a league rate of $124 for 10 consecutive weeks (2 days/week, 2 hours per day max). In the set up of these facilities there is no way to set up the $124 rate. If I set the minimum rate of $124/block with 20 units = 1 block and then I set the min units to 20 and the max units to 20, if the user doesn't select all 20 days available within the permit the system breaks down the rate/hour. So, if a user only selects 19 days out of the 20 max they can schedule the system only charges them $117 instead of the $124 I want charged. The other function that I wish were available were a feature to provide the user with "if this - then that" questions. We have a trailer with tables and chairs and a bbq and other items for a household bbq/block party and we rent this to residents, however a lot of residents just want some of the chairs or some of the tables. It would be great if we could ask the user how many tables they are requesting. If they only need 3 of the 20 we have then we could possibly rent out the other 17 to another resident, rather then having all items unavailable if one user just takes a few

Reasons for Choosing CivicRec

Offered 98% of the functionality we were looking for, 100% user friendly and it's integration with CivicPlus in creating a seamless transition for the user was a huge plus.

Reasons for Switching to CivicRec

ACTIVE Net was very difficult to use as an administrator and a user. It was very limited on its functionality and its customization. The layout was very outdated and could not be changed/updated.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied November 2020

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that CivicRec has proven helpful for your organization. Thanks for being part of the #CPfamily and using CivicRec. You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features along with tips and tricks for getting the most out of the CivicRec solution. Check the Resources section of the CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available. We appreciate your feedback very much.

October 2020

Adriano from City of Spokane

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

I Would Cautiously Recommend CivicRec

My experience with CivicRec has been overall positive, yet I would still cautiously recommend the product.

Pros

CivicRec was a big leap forward from the previous system we used. What I like most about CivicRec is how efficiently it allows our agency to rollover hundreds of programs from previous sessions.

Cons

CivicRec doesnt have an interactive facilities booking calendar, which is a feature that many of our customers have asked. This calendar would allow for customers to view the availability and book sports fields and park shelters. CivicRec also lacks a robust sports leagues management module.

Reasons for Switching to CivicRec

The product we switch from was extremely outdated and the company had no plans to invest in R&D.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied November 2020

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that CivicRec has proven helpful for your organization. Thanks for being part of the #CPfamily and using CivicRec. You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features along with tips and tricks for getting the most out of the CivicRec solution. Check the Resources section of the CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available. We appreciate your feedback very much.

October 2020

Maya from City of Glendale

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Civic Rec Review

Civic Rec has allowed our divisions to work together more closely and more concisely. Being able to send reports automatically has allowed a streamlined and accurate way to serve our community.

Pros

The ease of use makes for ease in training and public use.

Cons

I would like to have updates and training periodically available to stay up to date, it is currently not an option. Also, there are a lot of add-ons that I'm unable to utilize, such as Civic Plus.

Reasons for Switching to CivicRec

Our department had consistent issues with our old software.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied October 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that CivicRec is intuitive and enables collaboration across divisions. Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client! You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features. Check the Resources section of the CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available.

October 2020

Kelly from Spalding County

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Why we choose CivicRec

We are able to easily complete our programming and registration tasks within a resource that all of our staff have access to. The information we provide our citizens is consistent. We utilize CivicRec for programming, registrations, facility reservation management, point of sale operations and reporting. It is a comprehensive management system. Participants young and old use the system daily and with ease to check-in to their classes and programs!

Pros

I find the software intuitive and easy to use. As we complete the event or programming entry, our catalog of programs is done. The reporting options are expansive and extremely useful for budgeting purposes, program evaluations and trends. Communicating with participants is very easy via CivicRec.

Cons

The Knowledge Base does not provide enough details at times. Sometimes it is difficult to find the appropriate guide and instructions. However, when we encounter this we will call CivicRec and receive the help needed.

Reasons for Choosing CivicRec

CivicRec was still Rec1 when we chose the product. We immediately knew it was the product that would best meet our needs because it was built by individuals who were experienced in recreation and parks services. They developed a program that not only met our needs at that time but one that would grow with us. The original cost to us was affordable, easy to budget for, and based on a monthly percentage of revenues taken within the system. We are completely dependent on this system to communicate to our program participants and to manage the services we provide throughout our parks system.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied October 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that CivicRec is intuitive and participants can use it with ease. You are correct, local municipal parks and recreation departments are exactly what CivicRec is designed for. Our software excels at facility and activity management and we work closely with parks and rec personnel across the country. Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client!

December 2016

Todd from City of Rexburg

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Gwesome Software with Continual Development

We are a city organization in Idaho and we've been working with Rec1 for about a year now and our experience has been excellent. The software had a few small bugs and didn't do 100% of what we wanted when we signed up but that quickly changed. Rec1 worked though every "demand" we had and were very pleasant and knowledgeable with all that their software can do. They never remove features or functionality but are continuing to grow and expand their accounting, user interface, and POS management and to this day accomplishes everything we want in a recreation/POS/facility software. Accounting is also streamlined and easy to use. A cool feature is the customer roadmap where you can submit or vote on ideas for further development. There were even times they developed new parts of the software simply because we asked. For the cost of 1% of our revenue, this service it's absolutely worth every penny! Our only complaint when compared with other software companies comes from the lack of phone support. They do have an emergency line but generally, correspondence is done through email. Having the ability to pick up a phone and immediately talk with an expert would be nice rather than the unknown timeframe of email (although still fairly quick). Overall I'd give this software 4.8/5 stars

Pros

They never remove features or functionality but are continuing to grow and expand their accounting, user interface, and POS management and to this day accomplishes everything we want in a recreation/POS/facility software. Accounting is also streamlined and easy to use. A cool feature is the customer roadmap where you can submit or vote on ideas for further development. There were even times they developed new parts of the software simply because we asked. For the cost of 1% of our revenue, this service it's absolutely worth every penny!

Cons

Our only complaint when compared with other software companies comes from the lack of phone support. They do have an emergency line but generally, correspondence is done through email. Having the ability to pick up a phone and immediately talk with an expert would be nice rather than the unknown timeframe of email (although still fairly quick).

Response from CivicPlus

Replied December 2016

Thank you, Todd! It's our pleasure to work with you and the City of Rexburg!

October 2020

Nikki from City of Mesquite Parks and Recreation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Good product, still working out kinks

CivicRec has been a much needed upgrade in registration and reservation software for our department. Support from CivicRec has been good.

Pros

The software allowed us to easily transition to online registration and reservations. It's intuitive and easy for our part timers to pick up as well as the public. It also mirrors our city's website so it provides a consistent look for our end users.

Cons

Still have some kinks to work out that we find while working through things that come up. It's not as customizable to our programs as we would like (specifically with drop in programs) but we have found work arounds. The implementation/ building out was a lot of work but once it was done the software was easy to use.

Reasons for Choosing CivicRec

Best value for the price, ease of use, and quality of product.

Reasons for Switching to CivicRec

Class was becoming obsolete and switching to Active net. We were not happy with Active and wanted a change.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied November 2020

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that CivicRec has proven helpful for your organization. Thanks for being part of the #CPfamily and using CivicRec. You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features along with tips and tricks for getting the most out of the CivicRec solution. Check the Resources section of the CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available.

October 2020

Jason from City of Denton

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Great Recreation Software

Pros

It has made setting up leagues for athletics much easier. We are able to rollover from season to season very easily. I also set up a number of large rentals for different groups, and am able to do so very quickly.

Cons

At times trying to get a report sent to your email can be very delayed.

Reasons for Choosing CivicRec

Ease of use

Reasons for Switching to CivicRec

August 2017

Response from CivicPlus

Replied October 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that CivicRec is intuitive and efficient to use. The CivicRec team continues to identify opportunities to update the software with features and functionality to meet the needs of parks and recreation professionals, especially with regard to reporting. Stay tuned! Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client!

October 2020

Jay from Cherokee Recreation & Parks Agency

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Input

Overall, very pleased with the product, but in the past month we are having some concerns after just signing a new contract. I supported renewing the contract and I need my staff to be behind that decision. I need them to be confident in your product and customer service.

Pros

Ease of use. We were the first ever Rec1 customer 20+ years ago...

Cons

I like you staff, but we seem to be getting a less responsive reply. Too many hands in the cookie jar.

Reasons for Choosing CivicRec

Familiarity

Response from CivicPlus

Replied October 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to have Cherokee Recreation & Parks as a long-time client. We will be in touch with you to ensure you have all that you and your team need. Thank you for being a loyal part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client.

July 2017

Laura from Lyons Recreation Department

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Overall this company has been really good to work with.

It allows us to keep track of our building and pavilion rentals, register our sports programs, keep track of our concessions, and many other things.

Pros

Relatively easy to use and new/updated features are always being added. Support team has been AWESOME!!!!

Cons

Wish there was a little more detailed explanation of how to do certain functions. There are some functions that operate one way on one screen and different on another screen.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied July 2017

Thanks for the review, Laura! We love hearing from our clients and their favorite features!

July 2017

Shelly from City of Gastonia, Parks and Recreation

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Customer Support is top of the line and software is constantly improving.

It has improved the quality of customer services by: making scheduling of reservations quicker and easier, allows for online customer rentals and availabilities, decreasing double bookings, increasing sales totals, improving tracking of rentals and allows for ease of tracking reservation and accounts receivable by the reporting features.

Pros

The software is customizable to support whatever needs arise. This program has improved our customer sales and customer satisfaction by allowing customers to access our calendar online and schedule and pay for reservations themselves. The reports menu is fantastic! Manage bookings, accounts receivable, refunds, and make custom reports to fit whatever your need. . The options for reporting are endless. The customer services reps are ALL amazing. friendly, well-trained and always willing to go above and beyond to provide whatever help is needed to get you the answers you need to any questions, how to preform a task, technical problems and even operator errors. (That I am famous for!) Very rarely is there system ever down. I've worked on this system for one year and have only had 2 instances that the system has been completely down, one of which I know was involving a power outage in the area of their main offices. All in all, this program as greatly helped me to perform my job functions to a much higher standard than before we began using it.

Cons

When system updates are rolled out (typically on a monthly basis, there are some glitches that effect the quality of the software for a brief period of time. As they make improvements to some areas, it may cause a small issue in other areas of their software. A simple phone call to notify them of this will usually correct the problem within minutes or at the very least make them aware of it and get their tech department working on a fix for the problem.

February 2019

Becky from Spalding County Senior Center

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Best tech support ever!

We manage a fairly large membership in our Senior Center as they participate in activities and events. We really appreciate the large variety of tasks we can accomplish using the software which, of course, saves us from having to do all those things manually! The system is also used countywide for other facilities.

Pros

As a new user of the CivicRec software, I've had LOADS of questions! Tech Support has responded promptly and completely AND followed up with me to be sure everything was clear EVERY.SINGLE.TIME. I've called! They're awesome!

Cons

There are a couple of reports I'd like to be able to get, but they are unique to our situation. And the tech support folks have always had suggestions about how we can accomplish the task in a di

Response from CivicPlus

Replied February 2019

Thank you so much Becky! We appreciate your review and are so glad that Spalding County is part of our CivicRec family. We also think we have the best tech support team ever. Thank you for your feedback!

August 2017

Lori from Town of Windsor, Northwest Park & Nature Center

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Excellent software system!

First & foremost, the system has not allowed a double booking on a rental facility. It provides accurate data retrieval for roster lists to facilitate summer nature camp activity, as well as other programs offered at Northwest Park.

Pros

Support from Zarah and Laura is professional, highly responsive (i.e. call back within an hour of request). They consistently resolve the issue to my satisfaction, and when asked for a deeper understanding of the system, they provide education on how the system "thinks." .

Cons

The software application requires the user to carefully review the actions before submitting an entry. In certain situations, I find myself reaching out to Zarah and Laura to assist with complex refund or user credit situations involving multiple transactions. In my opinion, this is not a "con" but rather the user needs to be mindful of carefully executing a transaction to provide the account holder with an accurate receipt and just as important to ensure accurate"back end" data reports.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied August 2017

Hi Lori! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of CivicRec. We're glad that you have found our support team (Kudos to Zarah and Laura!) to be responsive when you need it!

July 2017

Philip from City of Brookhaven

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Rec1 has been a great software to help us meet all of our registration, event, and POS needs!

Pros

The software is user-friendly and easy to get acclimated with. Each area that we use most often (registration for classes or events, Point of Sale transactions, calendar updating, financial reports) are all easy to understand and navigate.

Cons

There are certain occasions where we will begin to put in a rental but need to back out or cancel, and upon attempting this are told that it cannot be done because there are active transactions associated with it. This is not a major problem but more so a minor inconvenience. One other small item I've noticed is that sometimes when going to give a refund the default method is "user credit" rather than the method they paid with.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied July 2017

Thanks, Philip! We're glad to hear that CivicRec/Rec1 has been able to meet the City of Brookhaven's Parks and Rec needs!

October 2020

Stephanie from City of Tustin

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

Still in the development stages

Frustrating

Pros

The software is easy for our patrons to navigate and use.

Cons

Not intuitive or user friendly. Reports, receipts, and facility calendars need improvements.

Reasons for Choosing CivicRec

I was not involved in the purchase of this product.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied October 2020

We appreciate your review very much Stephanie. We maintain a constant focus on offering and improving the features that parks and recreation professionals need most. You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars informative and helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features. Check out the Resources section of the www.CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available for reference.

August 2017

Scott from WECMRD

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Rec1 has been a phenomenal company to work with since 2012!

Pros

Rec1 is extremely user friendly. It is easy to set up programs and memberships, as well as train new employees on POS. The customer service is second to none. All of the programs ands activities then sync to our website. The user essentially sees what we see when registering.

Cons

It would be nice to receive better reports to better track crucial analytics in regards to our memberships and demographics.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied August 2017

We have been so pleased to be working with WECMRD for the past 5 years! Thanks for being one of our most loyal clients!

July 2017

Jill from Mooresville Parks & Recreation

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

No more paper forms for program registration! Excellent support staff!

No more paper registrations! Transactions are quick and simple. Flexibility in programming activities. Excellent support staff who seem more like friends.

Pros

CivicRec is always evolving to keep up with our needs. Support staff goes above and beyond to answer questions and solve issues that come up in a timely manner.

Cons

No software is perfect, and no software perfectly fits our needs, but CivicRec has been a good fit for us since 2011.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied July 2017

Thanks, Jill! We are glad we could fit your needs!

January 2019

Sarah from City of Manassas Park

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great Product, great price

We started when the product was called Rec1. The change from Rec1 to CivicRec came without much warning. We had some issues as a result. However, support is pretty responsive and great at helping resolve the problem.

Pros

Ease of use, low cost, layout of software.

Cons

Some of the reports do not run as desired.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied February 2019

Thank you Sarah for your review and feedback and for being a part of the CivicPlus and CivicRec family. We appreciate your comments regarding the ease of use, cost and our great support team! Thanks, CivicRec Team

January 2017

John from PARDS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

New to online registration

Our Park and Rec Dept. was new to online registration, and we looked at many options. Most companies couldn't do what we wanted to do. Rec1 not only met our expectations, they have exceeded them. When there is a small issue that comes up, customer service is very quick to reply and find and answer. We have been very pleased with the Rec1 service!

Pros

Very easy to setup and use. Once a program is setup in the system, it is easy to close for other similar programs.

Cons

There are some things that have caused issues with the way we handle our "age matrix" when determining what age group a child should play in.

December 2018

Ryan from City of Monroe

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

CivicRec Review

Customer service is outstanding.

Pros

It is very user friendly. Many staff are not fully comfortable with technology. This software is very upfront and forces users to follow correct procedure. It is easy to set parameters that assist staff with figuring out the steps of the processes.

Cons

The activity set up portion of the software can be a little confusing.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied February 2019

Thank you Ryan for your review and feedback and for being a part of the CivicPlus and CivicRec family. We appreciate your comments and valuable feedback! Thanks, CivicRec Team

August 2017

Jorge from Town of Dover

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Pleasant to work with and surprisingly flexible tools

easily organizes our events and activities.

Pros

I like how simple it is to organize events and activities, and how easily it can be modified on the fly, I also enjoy how quickly you can organize lists and sign in sheets using the reports tab, as well as how easy to contact every one in an activity.

Cons

Sometimes the software can be a little confusing at first glance, but once you look through the help or speak with customer support they easily explain the system in a way that becomes much easier to grasp.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied August 2017

Thanks, Jorge for taking the time to share your review of CivicRec! We're glad you have found our tools quick, easy, and flexible for the Town of Dover!

October 2020

Brandon from Jefferson County

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

Good Product for the Money

Implementation was very smooth and the product has met most of our needs. We hope that as CR grows so does its ability to create new requsted features at a much more rapid rate.

Pros

1. Deployment was very smooth, CivicRec provides on site and remote training for end users which is invaluable. The trainers where knowledgeable about the product and very honest. 2. Very easy to create new programs, activities, and facilities.

Cons

1. New feature requests are very slow to be developed even with alot of community backing on changes 2. Reporting features could stand to be improved. Especially financial reporting, the system does produce accurate reports. But running the wrong report will cause headaches as some reports such as a transaction report can differ significantly from a GL report.

Reasons for Choosing CivicRec

Cheapest solution that still met all of our needs.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied October 2020

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that your CivicRec implementation went smoothly. The CivicRec team continues to identify opportunities to update the software with features and functionality to meet the needs of parks and recreation professionals, especially with regard to reporting. Stay tuned! Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client!

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Civicrec

CivicRec is the best software I have ever used while working for a municipality.

Pros

This is the most helpful/useful/coolest software available for city events/reservations/inventory/Point of Sale management and much more. I would highly recommend this software to other municipalities and even some businesses.

Cons

We have yet to find a problem or something we do not like.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied April 2019

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that CivicRec has proven helpful for your organization. Thanks for being part of the #CPfamily and using CivicRec.

May 2017

Grant from City of Weatherford

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Awesome

Online registrations / booking, along with being able to access it from your phone

Pros

The outstanding customer service! And the fact that they have a spell check feature in their feedback :)

Cons

You can tell they limit the "back end" capability for ease of use. And the fact that they have a minimum amount of characters for their feedback :)

Response from CivicPlus

Replied May 2017

Thanks, Grant!

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Needs Improvement

This product needs a good database developer engineer to rebuild a good portion of the code. There are some serious error (bugs) in the system. I just hope they are being addressed.

Pros

It is fairly intuitive and easy to learn.

Cons

There are quite a few basic very poor database development programming problems. Starting with problems with keeping the unique identifiers - unique.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied March 2021

Thank you for your review and feedback. We would love to visit with you about the issues you describe. Lots of thought has gone into our technology, but if you have insight on how to make it better, we would love to hear from you. Since your review is anonymous, please reach out to CivicRec@civicplus.help or to your Client Success Manager directly, and we can talk with you about your concerns. Thanks, CivicRec Team

July 2017

Shadi from Yukon-Kuskokwim Fitness Center

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

Rec1 is a useful software for our organization. The interface is very friendly and easy to pick up.

Pros

-easy user interface - wide variety of functions -customer service is excellent. I email rec1 support once or twice a week with new issues or concerns and the same day they always get back to me with some information

Cons

-lack on inventory checkout function - sign in sheets - inability to develop our own interface that would be more beneficial to our specific organization.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied July 2017

Hi Shadi, We're glad that you have found the interface very user-friendly! Thanks for your feedback!

March 2016

Kirk from Johns Creek Recreation & Parks

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

Johns Creek Recreation & Parks Division

Just wanted to say that Rec1 has worked out great for our Recreation & Parks Division. Now that we are using Rec1, we can track everything that is happening in our park system. Whether is a class, special event or facility rental, our staff is able to easily track all of our transactions with a couple clicks. Our customers love being able to shop online for our classes and facility rentals. And Rec1's customer service is always quick to respond and address our needs/concerns. One of the best things about Rec1 is the software is constantly evolving and improving to meet the needs of our park users and the Recreation & Parks Professionals that are "in the trenches". I definitely recommend Rec1 to any Department that is looking for online registration solutions.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Matthew from New Castle County (DE) Government

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2018

Easy Web-Based Site Management

Good.

Pros

CivicPlus is easy to use once you get used to the interface, and it's super easy to flow between using the web and editing the page.

Cons

There are areas where I would like greater functionality, especially in placing photos and certain other special elements.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied February 2019

Thank you Matthew for your review. We did notice your review is of CivicEngage, another product of CivicPlus, which is our website and content management software and not of CivicRec. We always love hearing feedback from clients and encourage you to reach out to your Client Success Manager directly about any questions or concerns regarding CivicEngage. Thanks, CivicRec Team

July 2018

Josh from Shawnee County Parks + Recreation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Awesome product and experience.

Increased revenue and participation.

Pros

It's easy to navigate and use and allows our department and users opportunities that were unavailable before.

Cons

We've had certain things that didn't work correctly after implementation, but support has been extremely responsive on getting them fixed.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied July 2018

Thank you Josh. We are so excited to have your department in the CivicRec family!

April 2019

Marcy from Muhlenberg Township

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Civic Rec Review

Pros

Very user friendly! Much faster to book, programs, events and reservations with this software.

Cons

I didn’t find anything I didn’t like compared to our previous program called Class.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied April 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that CivicRec is exceeding your expectations. Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client!

January 2016

Beau from City of Lake Elsinore

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2016

Easy to use and Excellent Service

We switched to REC1 about about 1 year ago and the change has been great for our department. Naturally things were a bit hectic in the beginning but the program is easy to figure out which made set up nice. Id have to say my favorite part of REC1 is the service. Sometimes I encounter something I just cant figure out and REC1 is always there with a solution. They respond quickly and thoroughly. I also enjoy seeing all the updates they continually release. They are now working on more tutorials and webinars. This feature will be crucial in helping agencies set up their sites. I'd highly recommend.

January 2016

Megan from River Road Park and Recreation District

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2016

Intuitive, User Friendly, Affordable, Wonderful Staff Support

After experiencing several different software's and researching several more, Rec1 is clearly the overall best option for organizations of all sizes. Rec1 gives you the ability to do as much, or as little as you wish to do. The software is clear and easy to use, yet has the ability to do all that we need - for a very affordable cost, and that is beyond compare! Our transition was from paper to Rec1 - and it went wonderfully! The staff are very responsive and personable. They truly care about making our experience successful. Overall - a great software, and a great company!

March 2016

Karen from City of Augusta

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

It's taken WORK to adapt to childcare but we've made it successful!!!!!

Considering the software is intended for Recreation Programs it has taken a bit of work to adapt it to a childcare program. Rec1 Customer Service has been excellent to work with as they were presented with scenarios they weren't familiar with and then had to figure out IF the software could "do" what we were asking it to do. Parents are able to pay online and that is a big help. In childcare we are required to have a lot of information and a lot of options that seems too much for the software to handle. The software isn't a perfect fit, but it's working!

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

We tried CivicRec but found it unnecessary

Pros

If you know how to use Civic Plus CMS, using CivicRec is easy and it's nice to not have to learn a different product/CMS.

Cons

We found it unnecessary for our business needs. Unless you're running a large parks and rec department with a lot of facilities to manage and rent out, you can use other modules like activity center that are already included within Civic Plus without having to pay for an additional setup.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied April 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback. Glad that you found our CivicEngage CMS to be beneficial to your business and that it met your needs. Thank you for trying CivicRec. You are correct, local municipal parks and recreation departments are exactly what CivicRec is designed for. Our software excels at facility and activity management and we work closely with parks and rec personnel across the country. Thanks for your review and being a CivicPlus client.

September 2015

Michelle from Acworth Parks, Recreation and Community Resource Department

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2015

Rec1 is amazing software!

Rec1 is the perfect software to use in a recreational setting. You are able to make reservations, register for classes, organize leagues and camp programs. They have reports for anything we have ever needed and the staff is always ready and willing to help when you need it. They consistently update the program to run efficiently and offer additional features. It is extremely user friendly. Anyone can use it! We have had this software for a little over 6 years now and are always recommending it to others. Best decision we ever made!

September 2015

Bryce from Hurricane City Recreation

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2015

Rec1 Changed Our Department

We have been with Rec1 for over 4 years. Since we have signed up with Rec1 our membership, participants, and activities have grown tremendously. I can just pick up the phone and I can make a call and within minutes I receive help with problems that I have. The features within the system are so abundant that we only use a portion of what is offered. I recommend this product to any recreation department that is looking for a change in software management.

December 2019

Monique from COMF

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Rec Programming

CivicPlus is an overall great company and their products are extremely useful.

Pros

If you have worked in parks and recreation, you understand the dire need to have software that will keep everything simple and organized.

Cons

THE. PRICE. CivicPlus is a great company; however, their products are kind of expensive. My recreation department is small; and we cannot justify the annual price of this software.

Response from CivicPlus

Replied January 2020

We appreciate your review very much.

March 2016

Mark from Athens-Clarke County Leisure Services

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

Customer Services is the best!

Staff is friendly, specific, quick to respond, and always there to help. Out of all the customer service needs with online services I have used over the years, Rec1 staff have clearly been the best. I would highly recommend this product.

February 2017

Bryce from Hurricane City Recreation

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great Company

I have been with Rec1 for five years. It's a solid company that still has a person touch with all of its customers. I highly recommend them.

May 2016

Mark from City of Kerman

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2016

Easy to use product. Customer Service is excellent

Program is easy to use. Customer service is very supportive and quick to respond to questions or concerns.