All BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy) Reviews

1-25 of 412 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Bailey

Medical Devices, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2020

Divvy - business credit cards as they should be

User Profile

Zachary

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

The best software our company purchased in 2018!

Overall, Divvy has enabled my company to gain WAY better insight into where dollars are going. We now know where we are over-budgeting and under-budgeting each month. Divvy makes tracking business expenses fun — I never thought I'd say that!

PROS

I first learned about Divvy via the daily business newsletter, Morning Brew. I was in disbelief that the product was totally free, so I scheduled a demo call. As it turns out, Divvy really is TOTALLY free. The app is incredibly user friendly and switching/updating budgets is surprisingly easy. But while the app interface is nice, the push notifications are wonderfully helpful, and Divvy travel has us saying bye-bye to Expedia, the REAL value our agency has found in using Divvy is the virtual card feature. As the Director of Marketing Strategy at a small Marketing Technology Agency, I manage a team of people who run a plethora of digital ads campaigns for numerous clients in any given month. Divvy's virtual card feature allows us to manage media buys on behalf of our clients without needing to open 100+ credit cards (or require the client to use their card). So, we're able to manage our clients' monthly spend and charge them a small admin fee (for putting the spend on our cards) without incurring ANY credit card fees.

CONS

Honestly, there are really only two things I dislike about Divvy: 1. That there isn't a Divvy for PERSONAL spending (I've been Googling looking for something like this for the past few weeks now...nothing seems to exist!) 2. The saving a receipt feature/adding notes feature is a little spotty at times. I find that I often need to go back into a purchase and re-upload the photo of the receipt/re-type my note. Hopefully this is a bug that gets worked out with the next app update.

Vendor Response

Hi Zachary, Thanks for the feedback! I've sent your feedback regarding the photo receipt uploads to the director of product, and he's looking into a way to improve that process and ideally ensure that it never happens again. Just wanted to thank you personally for joining the Divvy family of happy customers, and for taking the time to leave a great review! -Mark

Replied December 2018

Krystal

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

BSE is up to great things!

I think BSE is a great efficiency tool. Coupled with it's low price of FREE-99, it offers great control over expenses in a real time capacity.

PROS

I love the transparency and opportunity to have a real time look into your company's spending and the ability to code and sync directly into QuickBooks.

CONS

The least robust features are reimbursements and account mappings. It is frustrating to take many steps to unmap and map custom fields. Make it in the same place at least.

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Price, demo was convincing and ease of use.

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

It was expensive & over complicated to manage.

Vendor Response

Thank you Krystal for your feedback on BILL Spend & Expense. We are glad to hear that you enjoy having the ability to see real time spending and that the software syncs directly with QuickBooks. We apologize for any frustrations caused when doing reimbursements and account mapping. We will pass on your suggestion to have these two things in the same place to cut down on the steps you take to our development team. We are always looking for ways to improve the software for our users. If you have any other questions or concerns, please reach us directly at 1(855)229-3111.

Replied November 2023

Lindsey

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2020

Should still be in Beta - has a long ways to go...

I have always been a pretty early adopter for new platforms and I have to say, DivvyPay should still be in Beta Mode. Divvy - you could be great. Really really great. But you have a long ways to go. I’m rooting for you, but looking for other options in the meantime. Stop spending advertising dollars and fix your issues.

PROS

- The virtual cards are BRILLIANT (1 of only 2 reasons I stay) - The ease of classifications of transactions and how customizable they are, this a great thing for my accounting team! (2 of only 2 reasons I stay) - The cards look nice - Their customer service is responsive (They will not call you unless you are a new customer trying to get an account so do know that. There is no phone support after being a customer.)

CONS

- The app is getting better, but still has very very limited features. - The bill pay feature; run as fast as you can from this. I have a vendor that still has not been paid and I approved and funded the transaction over a month ago. Divvy has made this a manual process and they actually call ever vendor you add into the platform. They can’t call me for support - but sure will call my vendors. Every vendor I have tried this with has complained about how rude the people are who call and the turn around time is horrific. Stop calling my vendors - learn to do this via email or text like every other institute. - Changing of banks - don’t do it. I am 5 days into this process with this very small task and it is still not complete. Again all manual. You call and request them to change your bank, they email you a form to fill out. Then you wait until they decide to email you a sign now document to fill out. Then you wait again. I have no idea what I am waiting for at this point. No follow up and nothing proactive unless you complain. Archaic. I have switched over every other service in a few clicks of a button - why can’t you all figure it out? - Rewards - forget them. You can’t use them until you have been with the platform for a year. (No one tells you this when you sign up) and their prices are always more expensive then a simple google search. Plus they charge you a service fee every time you use the points on travel.

Kristine

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Expense and Reimbursement Management for next to nothing

Overall, implementing Divvy has ben a huge win for my organization. It's streamlined our expense reporting process, keeps all expense records within a single system and costs us nothing. We've used other paid platforms in the past, and Divvy's solution is far superior.

PROS

We rolled out Divvy in June of 2022. Every employee has a Divvy account for reimbursements; about 20% of our employees also have corporate credit cards. This is what works:- Easy to set up custom fields to correspond to our accounting system for expense coding and tracking- Budgets set up by functional team so managers are approving their direct reports transactions- Easy to adjust teams/budgets on the fly- App always works and employees can code charges and upload receipts seconds after a charge is made- Easy to administer; add employees, cancel cards or charges, delete employees, adjust budgets, add accounts. The system is simple to navigate and intuitive.

CONS

Some drawbacks to Divvy - - No notification alerting you that a budget is getting close to its monthly spend limit- Employees need lots of education on how budgets work; they need to request funds BEFORE spending- Reimbursement tab needs to be more obvious. Managers don't check and can have employee requests languishing there for weeks- Reimbursements don't hit employee accounts for days after the funds have already been withdrawn from the company account

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Expensify was expensive, not user friendly and had frequent issues with syncing correctly. Charges would take days or weeks to appear. Employee receipts would disappear. There was no way to easily track or make out of pocket reimbursements.

Caleb

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Divvy - Always Great Service with an Excellent App

Divvy has allowed our organization to set more controls and give more responsibility to managers through use of individual budgets. Divvy also has transactions show up in the users transaction log instantaneously, making it easier for individuals to do all of their admin work right away.

PROS

My favorite feature is the ability to control credit lines for individuals at any given time. If an employee who rarely uses the corporate card suddenly has a need, we can adjust accordingly.

CONS

For the time being, Divvy doesn't integrate with our ERP, Netsuite. As such, I have to import into our ERP with CSVs which isn't ideal. Divvy is currently BETA testing an integration with Netsuite so we are patiently awaiting the full release of that.

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Expensify wasn't as user friendly when it came to how quickly transactions were entered into the transaction log resulting in loss of documentation for credit card users. The controls that are present in Divvy's system were also missing from our previous credit card provider.

Aaron

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Great Credit Card and Expense Tracking Software

I have loved Divvy! I highly recommend it. We are much more streamlined and misplace way few receipts.

PROS

I love that we now have credit cards instead of a bunch of debit cards. I like the app a lot. My employees and I get a notification immediately on our phone to upload receipts, categorize the expense, and write any notes. I also love that I have control over how much money each of my employees have access to. I can easily take away and add more.

CONS

I have had a few cons. 1) I am supposed to get a reminder email every Monday morning with a "to-do" list. I have gotten it about 50% of the time due to bugs in the system. The same goes for my employees. 2) I would love to not be able to approve my own transactions. 3) On the transactions page, place where you add filters seems not as well organized as I would like. I would love to be able to personally edit the order of the filters. I am constantly scrolling to the bottom.

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

We got a new bookkeeping company. Zoho helped us improve a ton. Divvy helped us improve a lot more now that our credit cards and expense reporting are all under the same roof.

Andrew

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Divvy is the best expense software by far!

Overall with Divvy, we’ve been able to increase visibility in spending, empower our employees to make purchases and allow our budget managers control over what is being spent from their budget. It has been a win-win-win for us. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

PROS

I love that Divvy is not only free, but that it also allows you to manage expenses companywide we have about seven spenders in our small business and using Divvy allows us to assign budgets issue funds to particular employees and allow them to make purchases as needed. it also streamline to the bookkeeping process because all of the transactions are already categorized and require receipt upload it is absolutely fantastic.

CONS

It’s hard to think of anything I don’t like about the software because I love it so much the only negative I can think of is that setting it up to integrate well with your books can’t take a bit of time however, their team walks you through the entire process from beginning to end, which makes the process a lot easier.

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Divvy was completely free and offered all the features that we needed to get started. The other alternatives either offered clunky integrations or some sort of upfront financial requirements. In order to get started. divvy was super easy to get approved and set up

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

We wanted to each of our employees to have their own cards and give our budget managers more visibility over what is being spent

Miguel

Environmental Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

EXACTLY WHAT WE NEEDED!!!

Their customer services is by far the best we have ever experienced. We use the live chat all the time and help get issues resolved right away. Also, they are constantly innovating, making processes more efficient and effective and take customer feedback seriously. Lots of the requests or comments I've had with them have turned into solutions within weeks. Everyone in our office loves Divvy and haven't had a single thing to complain about.

PROS

For years we had wanted to get corporate cards for staff but did not want to take the risk of not having credit and approval controls like we do now with Divvy. The ease of use, simplicity, and thoughtfulness that comes with Divvy is why we love it. Oh and it's free!

CONS

I have not had a single issue with them.

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

The best and easiest customer experience with the app. It's clean, innovative, has been thought out well, and super easy to use. Also, their customer service has been 100% great, and it's free.

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Credit control, manager controls, ease of use, mobile access, and cloud storage of transactions.

Stephen

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Seriously the Best App our Business Found, for Anything

PROS

If you're a small business with big monthly expenses, and petty cash headaches, Divvy is a no-brainer. Each of our field techs have a card we can control from the office, or divvy out funds as needed. As a small family business, this cut down on half our office work (and my mother no longer goes through receipts in the office; she can just retire) Divvy integrates with Quickbooks well, but here's the thing... we didn't even integrate it. Its simpler for us to keep it totally independent from other accounting software, because working in Divvy's web app is a joy. The UI is simple and great. All of our company payables and receipts management stays on Divvy, and our bank account shows one payment per week for Payables. That's it. The purchase info can't be messed up with bad OCR, because the info comes from the Bank account.

CONS

Nothing. So far it's perfect for us. We haven't been able to mess anything up yet.

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

-Instant reconciliation with purchases, and in-app labels if transaction details are incomplete. -Transparency of petty-cash funds. -Field tech credit cards with admin controls from app and web app -instant expense report creations. -No risk of Bad OCR creating repeat work (totals and info are pulled from the vender)

Jeff

Staffing and Recruiting, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

It's the best because it is simple

It has been very positive. They are timely in their responses and they are flexible and open to customer ideas for improvement.

PROS

It is very easy to use and very ease to teach users how to use. It allows us to customize expense fields, budgets and reports so as an accounting team we get what we need, but it is simple enough for any user to use.

CONS

The only complaint I have at this point is that we cannot set limits for receipts. I'd like to be able to say "all transactions over $20 require a receipt," but that is not available yet.

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Ease of use and the link of a credit card program to the expense reporting platform.

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Ease of use and reporting ability.

Anna

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Great program, simplifies expense tracking!

even though its a newer company, we love Divvy. Their customer service and support teams always do their best to make it a comfortable process for all users.

PROS

simplifies expense tracking, reimbursements, receipt collecting, approval process

CONS

its newer so working out bugs still. I don't really think this is a big con, but its what I could think of

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

simplicity. Concur was way too robust for what we needed

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

at the time, expensify didn't have a corporate card. They do now, but we've learned how much easier and cleaner DIvvy is

Ashley

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

A Fantastic Expense Report Tool

PROS

I love the automation it creates for all of our expense reports. I also love the ability to make changes to spending limits, or accounts directly on the website. Any other card, we would have to get on the phone with customer service to make these changes, which was headache and a waste of time. I love the digital cards we can create for our online payments/ transactions.

CONS

The recurring vs one-time limits were hard to get used to. This has improved over the last couple of years though.

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

The expense reporting process seemed more fluid.

Andrew

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2022

Really friendly sales team and support tries hard as well

I like the product in theory and the team was great to work with, but the product is too complicated for its own good.

PROS

The ease of signing up and how friendly everyone is

CONS

A lot of the settings are confusing. They require you to set budgets per some 'best in class' methodology, but all we wanted to do was use a credit card. It was way too difficult. There are also a lot of catches like rewards not being available for a year by default or foreign txn fees. Some of the role permissions are also configured oddly (likely for our book keeper -- the book keeper permission didn't give her access to all transactions, particularly reimbursements, so I had to make her an admin).

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

We are a bill.com customer, and bill.com recently acquired Divvy

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Hope for reimbursements and credit cards in one that were both easy to use

Lou

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Divvy is great. I highly recommend to companies of all sizes

PROS

Divvy is a fantastic solution. We have been using it for 4 years and it not only saves our travelers and admin team time each month, but we feel it saves us from unnecessary spend each month. We are heavy users of Divvy with over 40 active users. We also manage all of our business software subscriptions via the virtual card solution that Divvy offers. This provides us greater visibility into spend and keeps it organized in one place. It also prevents fraud when using the virtual card solution. And come month end we easily integrate Divvy activity into our financial close in a matter of minutes. I highly recommend Divvy for companies of all sizes. It is truly a transformational expenses/card management solution that is light years ahead of the way it use to be done.

CONS

I've been pushing for a global solution with multi-entities so we can roll out to our UK and Canadian teams. No solution offers that at this time but hoping Divvy is the first as we would likely use it.

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Great solution that had the credit line, expense reporting, visibility, and low cost.

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Time savings and lower cost

Peter

Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Expense Management Made Easy

We've loved Divvy. It has given flexibility to those that travel while giving the flexibility to get things done without having to worry that one of the 3 corporate credit cards is floating around being used by a random employee.

PROS

Divvy has been great for our organization. We have been able to move away from reimbursements and have been able to give spending flexibility to everyone within our organization. We love being able to give every employee a card, but not having to worry that they are going to overspend. And possibly, one of my favorite features of any software ever is the ability to create virtual cards (both for subscriptions and burner cards for one time purchases). Its nice to know that I can cancel a virtual card and not have it affect other vendor payments.

CONS

There is a little bit of a lack of hierarchy available (like an administrator over certain budgets only) and a lack of flexibility with paying down our account (holds placed on account effectively freezing our cards) but other than that, it has been great!

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Flexibility.

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Flexibility. Functionality. To be clear though, Divvy is not traditional credit. It is more like a charge card. It should be looked at more as expense management than short term debt financing.

Marc

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Exactly what you need to manage expenses

I have been very happy with Divvy. The customer service, the simplicity of the system, the ability to budget are all been what we needed in an expense company credit card system.

PROS

It allows the creation of budgets. We can create budgets and give anyone access to a budget or not. Giving us the flexibility to give everyone a card and issuing funds on an as needed basis. Divvy also is constantly looking for ways to improve the product and make it better, for instance the dashboard of how many transactions need to be approved or completed.

CONS

It is hard to think of any, one thing I would like the ability to do would be to drag an email into the receipt box as a number of receipts are not attachments or pdfs. Watch they will upgrade the system to do this in the next release.I did think of one...card holders sometimes have been denied transactions when they have funds on their cards and or budgets. This has been very inconvenient for those traveling.

Reason for choosing BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Budget Management Capabilities

Reasons for switching to BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy)

Spending limits and budget management capabilities.

Preston

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT