User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(65)

65

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "The product gives you good value for money. Its easy to use and implement with excellent customer support. "

  • "Very easy to use and cuts down totally on paperwork "

  • "Ease of use, excellent customer service, ability to have multiple levels of authorisation"

  • Cons

  • "A few little bugs here and there but always resolved with a sense of urgency. "

  • "Being able to integrate inventory into myob would be handy but the flexibility of lightyear means we have a simple workaround."

  • "If mapping can be more automatically for any format of invoices will be great. "

Browse Lightyear Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 68 results

June 2020

Megan from Metro Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Time Saver

Using Lightyear eliminates the overhead of a staff member and risk of manual data entry errors. Saves time and money for the business

Pros

- Ease of access for different managers to approve their own departments invoices - ability to bring up old invoices as a click of a button - quick turn around from customer service team - Data interpretation to avoid data entry errors - Access 24/7 anywhere in the world

Cons

Phone app does not have all the same capabilities as the website, waiting for further updates.

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Game changer

Fantastic, over the couple of years I have been using the program I have had nothing less than outstanding service from the support team and after initially only using it for my larger clients, it has been an easy decision to bring all my clients across to the platform. The program is intuitive to use and easy to implement and scale up or down depending on the client and approvals process needed.

Pros

The invoice approval function was the reason for initially coming across to Lightyear but the statement reconciliation process was a hidden surprise that has enabled my last remaining paper based clients to take the leap to being completely paperless. The integrity of the data being exported to the accounting software is much better than other programs.

Cons

My clients who use purchase orders are currently needing to batch together the PO pdf & supplier invoice images before sending to Lightyear which would be amazing if we could either match them up within the app, or issue PO's direct from the app which are then able to be viewed with the supplier invoice.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

It was some time ago now and I can't recall all the other programs we looked at, but Lightyear really came out as the only contender due to the price point and the approvals process.

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

My clients needed a program which offered a layered approvals process

January 2019

Michael from Stradbroke Beach Hotel

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2019

Failure

Terrible is all i can say to be honest

Pros

Nothing to like about light year it is doesn’t work simple

Cons

Slow, Unstable, inaccurate ocr of invoices causing excessive manual re-entry of invoices, customer support non existent as they can’t do anything as it is a terrible system I have waited for improvements over the last 3 months they haven’t happened stay from lightyear find something else

Response from Lightyear

Replied January 2020

Hi Michael, Thank you for the feedback. I've reviewed your history on our system and I believe you were using our system in the early days whilst it was still in Beta and were also having some connection issues with internet speeds. I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience with the product, certainly not what we strive for at Lightyear. Lightyear is now in full release and has been receiving great reviews all round with a much improved user experience and speed. Our team would be very happy to spend some time with you and show you the product now if you like. Just drop the team a line if so.. Many thanks, Chris.

September 2020

Leigh from Add iT Accountants

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Excellent Accounts Payable System

Our clients can see where their AP invoices are at any point in time as well as the value of AP "in progress". The fact that the system picks up duplicates is the game changer for us. Reconciling & "filing" statements is an absolute breeze.

Pros

We love how this product enables our clients to check & approve their invoices before the invoices land in Xero. We know that anything in Xero is checked & ready to be paid. Easy for multiple people to have access & sign off. All AP is in one place & finding historical invoices is a breeze.

Cons

Reading OCR receipts has been a bit behind other competitors but improvement is coming through really quickly.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

When we looked at Hubdoc about 18 months ago, Lightyear was already far more advanced than what Hubdoc was offering.

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Controls are tighter in Lightyear but the product is so easy to use & can easily be customised to the level of control that our clients need. Visibility of the flow of invoices through the approval process is perfect. The Dashboard makes it so easy for our Corporate clients to manage their AP really well and for us to manage the bookkeeping for our clients. All our clients from corporates to sole traders love Lightyear - they can have access to the data they need 24/7.

May 2020

Christine from The MBA Partnership

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Love it!

I've used the software for years and have always found it to be reliable and the support start are fantastic if ever I need help with something.

Pros

There are so many things I love about Lightyear. The new statement reconciliation feature though is a game changer! Lightyear tells you what invoices are missing and allows you to contact the supplier to request missing invoices direct from the software. Amazing!!!

Cons

There's not much I don't like about the software, and the things that I would like are already in the works.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

With Lightyear, you can delegate approvals into groups, so if you have multiple cost centres like the hotels that we do the bookkeeping for, the Chef isn't seeing bills which need to be approved by the Cellarman. Also, you can have suppliers that you don't want everyone to see, so you can select that only certain people see them. As well as multi-level approvals so the General Manager can check off and I as the bookkeeper can check the data is accurate before bringing it into the accounting software. In conjunction with the integration with Xero happens within seconds so you're not waiting for your bills to come across from one software into another.

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Invitbox was been owned by Reckon and had not supported or upgraded for some time. The original developers for Invitbox took it back and rebuilt it from the ground up. Invitbox, even unsupported and without upgrades, was an awesome piece of software and superseded the functionality of it's competitors such as ReceiptBank. Since the original team was coming back on board, it was a no-brainer.

May 2020

Lloyd from Roslyns Accounting Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great Support

We've been using Light Year for a little while now. It's been a little up and down with the uptake from our clients as some are of a more traditional mindset and do not want to convert to paperless. Some clients also take a little longer to acclimate to the system then others, but once setup and working, each client on light year improves efficiency by about 20%. More over, the support and continued patience of the team at Light Year, especially Tom, has been astounding. Due to job changes, they've helped train any and all staff as we've seen fit. Have listened to ideas, and implemented workarounds where possible, truly making this a system we can use above other similar products. They also offer that support to our clients who may otherwise be struggling and are always on hand 24/7 to call, video conference or chat online to anyone who needs assistance.

Pros

The support from the team is fantastic and are always on hand to help and assist. Feedback and suggestions on the system are welcomed and implemented if possible and useful. Invoices no longer need manually entering! Option to automate the process of receiving invoices entirely, doing away with any need to upload - instead just get them emailed directly into Light Year.

Cons

A few of the options appear to be placed on pages I wouldn't expect, but nothing particularly bad.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

The other options were either underdeveloped, or offered no a very strict, uncompromising service that did not fit within our company. They also relied too heavily on OCR. Light Year while newer than some of it's competitors, chose a different approach and worked with us to see if their solution could help, and even added and updated features to make it fit more into our company.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear how that the support team has been fantastic. We will pass this along to them.

May 2020

Chris from CCCL

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyear works as promised

Lightyear provided more accurate invoices from different kinds of suppliers and minimised the need for manual input, provides transparency as all the history is included with the bill and allow for Approvers to view the invoices for their area so provides confidentiality and saves them time. Staff skills and time can be used more productively on more than inputting invoices.

Pros

Every step of the process has been excellent and the ongoing support has continued to be excellent. The initial contact was responsive and guided through the set up to allow us start processing quickly. The product is logical to follow and easy to view and provides options every step of the way. The data extraction is very accurate and adaptable to different supplier invoices and the mapping team is very quick. This is more accurate than our previous software. To email queries from within Lightyear saves so much time and hassle looking for emails and provides great transparency. Separation of users to their department only Choosing where we export to Xero has been essential to facilitate approval levels Lightyear continues to improve their Service to queries has been responsive and solutions are specific to our company using information and not a regurgitating the help function.

Cons

There is a lot of functionality and detail so can be a little overwhelming. Support videos and notes focus on administrators but could find information on guiding from the other user roles perceptive after initial guide when first login

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

See above benefits

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Datamolino and Xero did not provide the functionality which meant a lot of time was spent entering invoices and nothing else.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that you are finding the data-extraction to be more accurate and quicker than your previous supplier.

May 2020

Justin from TFE Hotels

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Efficient, intelligent and easy-to-use

The team at Lightyear are hospitality-experienced and so empathise and comprehend my business and the daily problems I need to resolve. They are fantastic to deal with - grounded, patient (I test them on this), understanding and always willing to help and train. They are more than a supplier - they are a true business partner, with the best interests of my business as their main concern (even if it means cutting themselves short a few dollars here and there). A great company to have on your side, and an inspirational team to work with.

Pros

Once set up, it's a one-stop-shop for invoice receipt, accounts payable and receivable reconciliation, cost management, and business information. It is intuitive and simple to use, extremely cost-effective and takes out some of the most mundane and laborious tasks so I have more time to work on improving my business and keeping front-of-house. I could not recommend it more highly.

Cons

There's nothing I dislike about this product - I am overly happy to have it as part of my suite of tools.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

An overall better system, but also better priced and better people to deal with!

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

I believe Invitbox was discontinued.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that you are taking full advantage of Lightyear.

May 2020

Daniel from ProAMS

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Accounts Payable Perfection

Extremely happy.

Pros

Lightyear allows us to easily manage the accounts payable process across our entire client base. It's unqiue mapping extraction process as well as logical flow of information, clean user interface, filing cabinet, approval process, inventory and duplicate recognition make it in my opinion the best accounts payable solution on the market. There support team is second to none.

Cons

Integrations with more POS programs or even job management programs would only increase Lightyears potential.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

The additional functionality and accuracy of the extraction process/technology.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear that you are taking full advantage of LIghtyear. We are always working on new integrations and more are coming soon.

May 2020

Alex from Royal Hotels Group

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Best Invoice System I have ever used

Very positive.

Pros

- So easy to use - Effortless - Easy to integrate to accounting software - Easy to identify working streams via approval tabs - Easy to find old invoices

Cons

- Nothing ! It is such a good platform. Highly recommend.

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Because the company changed names to Lightyear.

June 2020

Glenda from Stone & Wood Brewing Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Lightyear makes invoice handling very easy and more accurate.

Stone & Wood has a non-corporate and egalitarian culture. Employees are held in trust to do the right thing when purchasing with budgets as a guide. We don't have a purchasing department and we have flexible guidelines on buying stuff. However the board of directors and the auditors want black and white figures and proper accounting standards. I would not be able manage two very different requirements without Lightyear. I would need a lot more staff!

Pros

What I like most about Lightyear is how easy and versatile it is to use. It saves so much time! Invoices come into Lightyear and are identifiable immediately. Important information from the invoice is automatically read and displayed. Invoice details are easily updated, added and authorised in the one program. The beauty of this is that it happens before it reaches our accounting software which makes the process much more flexible and accurate. All our invoices and statements are stored electronically in this clever filing cabinet and any one granted access can see the actual invoice PDF anytime and quickly. Much easier and more secure than within accounting programs or Outlook. If a supplier has sent an invoice to lightyear, it doesn't go missing. It can't be lost. if it can't be read by Lightyear, it bounces out to your appointed email. Lightyear provides a thorough audit trail. Every time an invoices is read, edited, sent, authorised or declined, etc it is recorded.

Cons

As we use SAP accounting software, which is not cloud based, our software integration took a bit longer. The team at Lightyear (then Invitbox) worked with our SAP provider helping them write and produce the integration document.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Lightyear is way above any other product on the market and the staff are friendly and reliable.

May 2020

Jane from WLM Financial

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

This software took away our headaches with accounts payable

We love using Lightyear. It provides a fast, smooth process for auto processing and two-step approval. This saves us time and gives us the control process we need with administration staff checking mapping and accounts along with Directors approving the bill for payment; all before getting exported to Xero. Customer support is helpful and timely , especially during the set-up process.

Pros

Integrates seamlessly and easily with Xero - our accounting software The option for single, double or exec approval process within Lightyear - meaning bills can be directly exported to the payment tab in Xero rather than draft. Ability to file statements within the software - very handy with suppliers that send multiple dkts then ask you to pay on a statement

Cons

Minor wish list item:The archive tab for completed bills would be handier to search if located on the horizontal tab area where reviews, approvals are shown - rather than only accessible from the left-hand menu bar.

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Being a previous user of Invitbox, I liked the approval process within Lightyear and the fact that you could export to Xero instantly. Really handy for those last minute bills you receive late but needing payment before your impending creditor run.

May 2020

Diego from Halkin Business Partners

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great AP tool for your business

User friendly platform, great support and an outstanding approval options. I recommend Lightyear to all my clients, specially the ones that requires a complex approval process before the bill is imported to the accounting system.

Pros

The approval options definitely is the differential of Lightyear. From a simple 2 steps approval, to up to 3 executive approval, there are many options that can suit the most complex business. Another strong point from Lightyear is their support. You usually gets a response on the same day.

Cons

Their subscription is based on the number of transactions, so if your business manages a large quantity of bills, it might become a bit expensive.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Due to their approval options.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for the review. Glad to hear that the approvals are making your life easier.

June 2020

Merran from Zagame Corporation

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Accounts Payable Game Changer

Kudos to Team Lightyear for delivering a full range Accounts Payable solution in a simple and effective package. After researching a number of similar products, we implemented Lightyear over a year ago and it has transformed the way we manage our suppliers across all business divisions. Automation ensures integrity of data flows and authorisations through all our core systems and provides a comprehensive audit trail for every document - from when it was received from the supplier, across every interaction and through to our accounting system. Data processing time has halved and all users can source information directly through the simple online document storage feature. Implementation was seamless and the team managed to deliver the entire product remotely and in record time. Support is strong and fast, and I love seeing continued enhancements and new features in the software. I recommend Lighyear to my peers often - a great solution for any business.

Pros

Simplicity - easy for non-finance users to navigate Clear audit trail on all interactions with documentation Very cost efficient

Cons

I would like to see a bounced email feature when a supplier directs their invoice to a slightly incorrect email address - as far as I can see, if the Lightyear email address is incorrect, neither the supplier or the receiving entity is aware

February 2020

Soonah from Astute Administration Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Growth Enabler

Using this program has centralised our accounts payable system. its has allowed us to mazimise growth through the use of a time saving effieciently tool and also offering features that other do not eg approvals, statement mapping, line item, price matching etc

Pros

Streamlined our processes and added features of line mapping, statement mapping, price matching

Cons

that when you log into the app on mobile devise you have to re-enter the password every tiem

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

line item mapping

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Hello Soonah, Many thanks for your review. We are lad to hear about all the other features you are taking advantage of. The issue with logging in everytime to the mobile app should now be resolved and you will stay logged in for longer.

May 2020

John from Healthcare Infection Society

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyear are a true business partner

The Lightyear team are an absolute joy to work with, absolutely passionate about their product, and absolutely passionate about your customer journey. Lightyear provide fantastic support, with investment in comprehensive system training, onboarding and seamless accounts system integration even before you have committed to buy. The transition from our original processes took approximately one day! Lightyear have now fully automated our AP function, embedding improved and auditable controls, and is now a fundamental part of our business processes. Lightyear truly are a business partner in every sense of the word.

Pros

The functionality of Lightyear is incredible. This solution fully incorporates digitisation of all aspects of the AP function including data extraction from invoices, a full invoice depository, approval workflows via email and app, audit trails, seamless integration with our accounting system, automated supplier statement reconciliation, to name but a few. It can even verify supplier invoice line pricing to agreed pricing product price lists! The system is user intuitive, with the process was so natural that rolling this out across the team was simplicity itself. And pricing is scalable to usage, providing totally affordable Rolls Royce functionality to any organisation.

Cons

Have found no cons to date! Thee are certain upgrades in the pipeline for approver interface via the app and email which will further enhance the already existing superiority of this product.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Functionality surpassed all competitive products that we could find for a truly affordable price

June 2020

Sharon from Accounting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Lightyear

It's saved a lot of time for my business and it works for all of my clients. I have some interstate clients and it's a speedy way to agree and make payments on daily invoices coming through for approval etc. We can all view the same invoice at the same time if there is an issue and easily resolve then and there.

Pros

I love that all my actions can be taken out in one place - it's stores/archives all information received and is easily searched upon.

Cons

I would like to see an option to archive 'Service Reports' - it's not always just invoices and statements that come through but often a 'supporting' document that I don't like to delete.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

I didn't really get a say as the software system provider that I use (Abcom) recommended the switch. I was all for it if it was going to save time in waiting for mail of doucments etc

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

It was automated

June 2020

Mike from Australian Retailers Association

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Must have software

I found Lightyear easy to use and value for money. I can't recommend it enough!

Pros

The Lightyear software is very affordable, user friendly and easy to implement. It does have many functionalities and the integration to NetSuite ERP system is very robust. The accuracy of data extraction is impeccable. What I valued most though is the customer service. The Lightyear team has made the implementation and ongoing operation of the software a breeze.

Cons

The Lightyear software is feature packed. However, more could be done in the space of multi level coding and exporting capabilities.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Cost.

May 2020

Erin from Hospitality

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyears Ahead!

Very happy with Lightyear and the efficiencies in processing up to 500 invoices per week in our various businesses. Even when we switched to Microsoft Dynamics (ERP system) Because it is so user friendly I was able to customise the export format with little fuss. Support have always been very helpful, from our migration (Invitbox to Lightyear) and any queries that our team have. We have developed a really good relationship with the team. It continues to work very well for our operations, I wouldn't consider changing and have no hesitations in recommending the product.

Pros

The ease of use. We have varying levels of computer literacy across the group, and I haven't had any complaints or confusion about the product.

Cons

some times the mapping/mapping requests can cause delays in processing. though this would be a problem in any like system.

May 2020

Ramakrishna from Prosegur Australia Pty Ltd

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyear Feedback

Wonderful team and great people always extent their support in need. This took made life more easy and faster, keep track of all the transactions and less maintenance. Cost effective and over all this is great tool that helping organisation to minimize cost with less effort and good record keeping tracker and processing.

Pros

User friendly and easy use and no effort required to understand every thing is self explanatory.

Cons

No such other tool available in the market that is near close to the lightyear performance.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Excellent tool built in surprises it is a complete Accounts payable processing package. Nothing to worry about managing people and process. Simplified the process and cutting edge Accounts payable technology platform.

May 2020

Ajai from Arks Gloabl

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

EXCELLENT SERVICE

Very pleased with level customer service and support

Pros

This software does things that other software could not offer us and was not as user friendly Once the software was set up correctly the we saved 12-20 hours a week

Cons

General I am very happy with Lightyear and no negitives

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Service and ability to do what we needed

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that you are saving so much time every week.

May 2020

Kathleen from Traffic Management People

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyear saves you time for sure

We've been using Lightyear since it started. We find it very helpful and easy to use. It keeps a tax record of all our supplier bills in one location and sends a copy of the bill to Xero so that the process owner can see it when reviewing it to approve for payment.

Pros

Having Lightyear enables us to do in minutes what used to take hours of manual data entry to enter suppliers bills into our accounting software.

Cons

I find it annoying that I have to set up a supplier in Xero, raise a test bill, then pull that back into Lightyear to set up a supplier in Lightyear.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Hello Kathleen, Many thanks for your excellent review. There should be an easier way to setup new suppliers between us and Xero. One of the team will reach out.

May 2020

Rebecca from Cutcher & Neale Pty Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Stop searching this is the product for you

We have been with them since the start - and I find it exciting to see the new developments, and love the innovation of the team. It has made my workload smaller and aided me in finding invoices that would have long been lost had it not been for lightyear search options.

Pros

The ease of use, and the multi-level permissions. I run three companies using one software.

Cons

every time I find something I don't like customer service solve it within minutes - they have figured workarounds for all the work we complete

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Lightyear was doing more and thinking broader than other integrations.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Great to hear our customer service team is going beyond your expectations.

February 2020

Ankur from Emerald Grain

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

AP Automation tool ideally suited for SMEs

Implementing Lightyear was tricky initially as the software did not have existing integration with SAP. That's something we had to figure out however the team at Lightyear gave us ample opportunity and support even during the trial phase. Would like to specially mention about [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our account manager. She is a customer service champ.

Pros

The product gives you good value for money. Its easy to use and implement with excellent customer support.

Cons

Still early days for the software when it comes to integrating with SAP. Would have liked an API that integrates with SAP too. Best works for Xero, MYOB and other finance platforms.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Better value for money.

Response from Lightyear

Replied February 2020

Many thanks for the review Ankur. We are always developing the platform but we will pass on your feedback to the development team. Great to hear the support team have been able to get everything sorted for you in the meantime.

June 2020

Tamara from Border Inn Hotel

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Life is easier with Lightyear!

Pros

The integration was seamless - around the clock support from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the team meant that we were up and running immediately. Our invoice storage and processes pre-lighyear were quite complex and very time consuming. Since we started Lightyear, I have saved atleast 4 hours a week in wages. I like that our bookkeepers have instant access and can export invoices within seconds. We run two entities and I was able to create a sister company at no extra cost.

Cons

Honestly, nothing. If I could add one function, it would be to add the ability to mark an invoice as paid. As we don't have direct access to our companies MYOB account, this would be handy but I realize this is not the case for majority of users.

May 2019

Matt from The Carrington Hotel

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Accounts Payable - sorted

Been using Lightyear since it launched, and their previous product invitbox before that. Can't believe we processed paper bills for so long.

Pros

This is the simplest software we know. It just works. Chefs approve food bills, Marketing Managers approve marketing bills etc. Data extraction and approvals workflow in one. Plus the price-checker means we don't get overcharged. Love it. Local support. Easy setup. Would highly recommend.

Cons

none to be honest. This does more than anything in market, at a similar price.

Response from Lightyear

Replied January 2020

Hi Matt. Thank you for the review and great to hear you are enjoying Lightyear

January 2020

Alistair from Pacific Business Partners Pty Ltd

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Fantastic Product

Pros

Have always found Lightyear to be a terrific and easy to use product. Dual authorisation of bills is something that many products do not have and the data extraction is very fast and accurate.

Cons

It can sometimes have speed issues and lag.

Response from Lightyear

Replied January 2020

Hi Alistair, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you are finding the combination of data-extraction and authorisation of bills to be a game changed for your organisation. We are continuing to work on the speed issues that some users are experiencing and we have major updates for this planned over the next month. Stay tuned. Thanks, Eoin

May 2020

Timothy from Seattle Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyear is great

Paperless, seamless accounts payable function. Have upgraded bookkeeper role to a commercial accountant making our small team more functional and value adding than administrative

Pros

The ease and simplicity at which it operates. The seamless integration with Xero. The transparency, accountability and control it allows.

Cons

No cons at this stage. There is some initial set up work and testing to be done but the more you use the more efficient it becomes.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Ease of use and cost

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that you are enjoying using Lightyear.

April 2020

Nance from Accounts Management

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Fantastic Product

Lightyear saves hours of data entry, allows for multi-level approvals throughout a company and exports seamlessly with Xero.

Pros

The ease of set up and use and ability to export automatically to Xero.

Cons

Very little. Initially in the change from Invitbox to Lightyear there were some issues but they have been quickly resolved and in fact Lightyear just gets better and better.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Vastly superior interface, multi-level approvals, excellent customer service

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for the review Nance. Great to hear how much you are loving Lightyear!!

May 2019

Greg from Maitland-Newcastle Catholic Diocese

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Extremely Capable & Easy to Use

We receive between 2,000 to 3,000 invoices per month. Lightyear facilitates auto receiving and forwarding to the persons responsible for approving the invoices. It provides a logical and easy to understand workflow and has integration to our Xero aacounting software. Lightyear provided excellent training and their support is 100%

Pros

Quick to Learn Excellent functionality Fast and knowledgeable support

Cons

None as most of the things I would like are coming in soon to be released new version

Response from Lightyear

Replied January 2020

Hi Greg, many thanks for the feedback and delighted we are able to help your team improve their AP processes!

August 2020

DONNA from G & D Refrigerated Transport Pty Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Time Saving

Purchase invoices, time saving

Pros

This is so beneficial for our purchase invoices. Saves so much entry work. Customer service is fast on chat and if need be the issue can be discussed over the phone. Which I find most useful. Customer service always helpful and will fix up the problem via joining your screen if needed

Cons

Credit expiry is not warned when it is coming to an expiry point.

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

N/A. Automatic switch from Invitbox

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Automatically switched over from Invitbox

May 2020

Chris from Calligeros Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

A Great Time Saving Product

Timesaving, easy for suppliers to have ONE contact email so if staff move on, the 'lost invoice' becomes a thing of the past, friendly support staff, great user friendly interface.

Pros

Ability to login from anywhere, searchability and storage of invoices (great for looking up contact or invoice information from years ago), approval process is recorded by user.

Cons

A few little bugs here and there but always resolved with a sense of urgency.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for your review. Glad to hear Lightyear is helping you to work remotely.

August 2020

amanda from coad toyota

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

user friendly

Pros

The product is easy to use because you can navigate through what you need to in order to accomplish your daily tasks. My administrators are well informed and can help me with any issue that arises.

Cons

The only issues I have typically arise from the integration of Toyota with the software. Toyota has an issue then I am unable to complete certain tasks inside Lightyear.

May 2020

Silvio from Made In The Shade Hospitality

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

MITS review

Experience so far has been fantastic. We have had little use, and had to stop during the COVID-19 shut down, but from what we have used so far, we can see this saving our venue managers and well as our finance team lots of time in processing and reconciling supplier accounts.

Pros

The ability to set up different team members to approve invoices, as well as keeping all invoices in one central location, uploaded via suppliers. Integration to Xero is also fantastic.

Cons

The learning curve for new users takes some work.

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Limited functionality and uploading issues.

May 2020

Kenneth from Kelly Partners

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Excellent Accounts Payable Invoice Processing and Approval Software

Excellent support from their support team Very user friendly

Pros

Layered and tiered approval process Simple and easy to use, very user friendly PDF recognition Progressive software company that looks to continue to develop its product

Cons

Speed of software can be improved Can improve on recognition of other file formats

May 2020

Nicole from Compass Agribusiness Management Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyear is fantastic

We love Lightyear. It has made the way we operate so much easier. Team members across NZ & Australia can access invoices to review, code and sign off/approve invoices for payment.

Pros

Saves so much time, easy to use, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Easy to train our Farm Managers to use to code invoices.

Cons

Can't think of anything. We have been really pleased with Lightyear.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review on Lightyear. Glad to hear you are saving time with coding your invoices.

February 2021

Chanel from Keynote Accounts

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Efficient & Effective

As a Bookkeeper, lightyear has provided me the ability to take on more clients and efficiently process larger volumes of Purchase Bills through the automatic mapping and coding. For any issues that require troubleshooting, the customer service team are always fantastic and proactive to assist us with rectifying any problems.

Pros

- Duplicate filtering - Xero Intergration - Automated Coding & Mapping - Statement reconciliation - Flagging of GST or amounts that may require reviewing if the coding does not match the PDF

Cons

I would love to see other forms of purchase bills/receipts accepted in future updates

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Lightyear was more user friendly and a simpler software to use

May 2020

Paul from Scubair Group Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyear changed our life!!

Our previous PI approval process was time consuming and mostly manual, we had to process each invoice several times to update various systems, with Lightyear we have reduced that process to several clicks, plus approvals are now much quicker and we now never lose invoices! The ability to price check regular suppliers invoices automatically has also helped reduce costs by finding suppler mistakes we would have missed previously.

Pros

The best bit of Lightyear is the cloud archive of all our purchase invoices, we no longer have to keep paper archives saving us space and time. We also like the Bill Task function which allows us to send an approval request to a specific person who may only approve a few invoices.

Cons

We would like an integration into simPRO which we use to raise orders, this will reduce the administration involved in managing our PO’s and PI’s.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for your review and feedback. We have some exciting developments regarding PO's in the future. We are always exploring new integrations and I will pass this back to the product team.

May 2020

Colin from Connect Total Communications

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Fantastic AP automation product

A great success - Lightyear have a very supportive and customer focussed team and their product has allowed us to achieve so much efficiency and accuracy in our AP process. Highly recommended.

Pros

The best feature is the direct integration with our Oracle NetSuite which has enable the team to save a lot of time printing, posting, and filing paper invoices.

Cons

Nothing of note - integration was a success and really well supported by the Lightyear team, and they also support closely with any queries as we use the software on a daily basis.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for reviewing us. We will pass along your praise to the support team.

May 2020

Ansal from The Carrington

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

My experience with Lightyear

I’m absolutely satisfied with Lightyear.

Pros

Very much user friendly, well programmed and mostly importantly very secured.

Cons

Nothing yet that I have experienced any bad so far.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for the review. Glad to hear you are finding the product to be user-friendly.

December 2019

Li from Lotus Dining

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Lightyear

Pros

Reducing the AP process time at least 50%. You are able to see the the line items and the statement can be automatically reconciled. So if there are missing invoices that you can chase them up immediately. The Support team is also wonderful. They response your problems quickly.

Cons

If mapping can be more automatically for any format of invoices will be great.

Response from Lightyear

Replied January 2020

Hi Li, Many thanks for the feedback, delighted to hear you are enjoying the software. Good news is we have enhancements planned for the data extraction process in 2020. Stay tuned. Chris

May 2020

Isobel from Black Sheep Coffee

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great product

Really positive, very helpful support team and great product.

Pros

This is the only product I've been able to find where it can map what's on an invoice and has an approval process built-in. Also no requirement to have PO's which a lot of similar products use.

Cons

At first, I couldn't work out how to use it but after a quick demo, it was very easy to use.

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Receipt Bank does not offer an approval function.

May 2020

Paul from The Bondi Brewing Co

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Processing heaps of invoices?? Lightyear will make lightwork of it!

I cant really recommend lightyear enough. It's easy to set up and just does what its meant to ... saves you time and money.

Pros

As we are a small team i have always been on the look out for software that will save us time. Looking at our processes, accounts payable and data entry was the biggest time suck for our business. A friend put me onto lightyear and we've never looked back. All my invoices get broken down and sucked into Xero in seconds. Every price is checked automatically and compared to the set LUC. I have cut down our invoice processing time by much more than half using this little gem of an app.

Cons

Cons: Being so impressed with Lightyear, that it has made me want to tell the world about it via this Capterra review....5 minutes of my life i'll never get back.

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that you are saving 50% of your time.

February 2021

Bec from Chalk Hill Viticulture

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Save time and improve accountability

The support staff at Lightyear are helpful and speak my language.

Pros

Clear and simple workflows allows for correct coding and ensures managers have transparency and accountability around their purchases.

Cons

Being able to integrate inventory into myob would be handy but the flexibility of lightyear means we have a simple workaround.

May 2020

Laura from Barton Electrical Services Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Amazing Support

Absolutely amazing customer support!! Very easy to use and saves so much time, which therefore saves money!

Pros

The mapping of the invoices is amazing! The support that comes with lightyear is the best customer support I have received, instant helpful support. Issues resolved quickly and efficiently every time.

Cons

We are just waiting for the PO functionality to be available to help better our processes, the only thing I least like about lightyear is that its not available yet.

February 2021

Lynn from Oilfast Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Lightyear

Makes the workload easier to handle , so much quicker turnaround getting Invoices approved etc everything is on Lightyear that everyone needs to see , no more searching through files for Invoices , brilliant system to use and the staff are all really friendly and helpful , queries are always solved very quick at the other end of the phone or online .

Pros

Very easy to use and cuts down totally on paperwork

Cons

Still a work in progress for raising PO's etc but wouldn't say this is a fault as the system is constantly getting upgraded

May 2020

Tony from Rockhampton Jockey Club

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

RJC Review to Lightyear

As above, we have freed up so much time for our Bookkeeper and eliminated the human error.

Pros

The ease of use and that fact that it is so easy to navigate your way through the system. The reporting is first class as lightyear sorts all invoices for you into their correct category and account.

Cons

The obvious is the set up process, very timely. But hey once complete correct the first time, life is so much easier and quicker to compile your invoicing.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Excellent End to End Accounts Payable management

Easy, excellent

Pros

Ease of use, excellent customer service, ability to have multiple levels of authorisation

Cons

Not much - if I have to make a comment it is that the actual invoice does not flow through to MYOB, however I understand that this is an MYOB issue

May 2020

Jarrah from Potts Point Hotel

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Has come a long way

Massive reduction in the time taken to process invoices each week. Reducing the role from a team to a single approval person before going to the accountant

Pros

Great features with a good balance of intelligent software and learning systems to give the most reliable and dependable invoice processing software available

Cons

Nothing since they build in OCR scanning and auto detection!

Response from Lightyear

Replied May 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear how you are saving time with the approvals workflow.

May 2020

Pearse from Andras House

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Lightyear - great team and product!

Pros

The team at Lightyear have been fantastic from the outset, from onboarding to ongoing support. The software itself it very user friendly, makes our processes much more efficient and eliminates our need for paper in the accounts payable process.

Cons

The software doesn't yet integrate with any purchase order software which limits its use in some aspects for our business.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 68 reviews