User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(39)

39

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(16)

16

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse Melio Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 60 results

December 2020

George from The Ninigret Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great Software

It has been great overall: saves me a lot of time, great price point, and customer service has reached out to me numerous times to tell me about new functions and to check in.

Pros

The ease of use is incredible. I simply drop one of my invoices into the software and generate a check within seconds. So much easier than writing checks by hand. Melio has saved me hours in productivity.

Cons

I would like more integration into Quickbooks. Also, sometimes when you drop a new vendor's invoice, the software doesn't read it correctly.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Price point and ease of use.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi George, thank you so much for this wonderful review and for your important feedback. We are so happy to hear Melio is making your life easier and saving you valuable working hours - it's what we're here for! We will pass your input along to the relevant teams and continue to work to make our service even better. All the best, Team Melio

May 2021

Ryan Rey from A1 Property Management

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Payment Solution that works

Melio has an excellent customer support and resolves any issues quickly.

Pros

We choose this product since it seamlessly integrates with our accounting software. It also allows us to send paper checks without the hassle of printing and mailing them.

Cons

There is nothing really to dislike about the software with how our company is using it right now. I do hope for a much better interface and a more informative dashboard in the future.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Melio integrates with our accounting software

Reasons for Switching to Melio

It is integrated with our accounting software. No need to re-enter vendor information on Melio.

Response from Melio

Replied May 2021

Hi Ryan, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to hear you find Melio useful and that our customer support team has been able to assist you. We appreciate your detailed feedback and will take it into account as we continue to improve our product and service. All the best, Team Melio

September 2021

Sherry from Freedom Bookkeeping Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Love Melio

Pros

I found this on a podcast and love it. It is absolutely free for me and my clients. It also has approval capabilities that are needed for me.

Cons

I wish that they would do batch processing instead of individual bills but I understand that is coming.

Response from Melio

Replied September 2021

Hi Sherry, thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to hear you find Melio useful for you and your clients. As you mentioned, we are currently working on the ability to pay multiple bills with a single transaction and hope to roll it out soon. All the best, Team Melio

August 2021

Angelo from AKA WINES LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wine and Spirits

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2021

Good for Small Volume Payment Processing

Overall, Melio has provided a great solution for our business to be able to easily send ACH payments to our vendors. This holds the highest value in their product for us. However, time to deploy new features is often far overdue, and leave the platform feeling lacking most of the time.

Pros

Easy setup and deployment, connection with external accounting system began easily.

Cons

Does not provide a great solution for medium-sized operations that need to batch out large quantities of payments or sorting and balancing this data.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Cost

Response from Melio

Replied September 2021

Hi Angelo, thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to hear Melio you find Melio useful. We appreciate your detailed feedback and will take it into account as we continue to improve our product and service. All the best, Team Melio

June 2021

Sue from JR Entertainment & Services LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Invoice

Outside of the invoice problem, I can't find fault.

Pros

I like the ease of use. I also like that it offers what PayPal doesn't...I can allow my clients/customers to pay using their credit/debit card without having to create a account. Thats what I'm looking for, at an affordable price...melio got it

Cons

in order to complete a transaction the client/customer will have to add a invoice....ummmm...thats NOT going to work. I will loose money like that. Tried sending a message...NOONE is there to respond. Time to move on to a competitor

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Paypal forces clients or customers to create a account to make a transaction via the personal link.

Response from Melio

Replied July 2021

Hi Sue, thank you for taking the time to post this review and provide us with valuable input that will help us make Melio even better. All the best, Team Melio

December 2020

Herbert from Rabid Nerd Productions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Painless payments for painful payees

Excellent

Pros

I was able to set up payments to the very few vendors that absolutely demand being paid via ACH rather than needing to consolidate my business transactions through a software suite to make it worthwhile. It is also incredibly affordable or free for the transactions, and there has not been problems.

Cons

There was a feature that was pretty adept at picking up an invoice PDF and setting it up as a pending bill, but the accuracy has gone down. Nothing to cry about though as I have always triple checked things!

Reasons for Choosing Melio

No need to consolidate my business into a software package that locks you into renewals. I can switch banks, accounting software, addresses etc. and Melio is just for paying bills. No need to be all things.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Easier and more reliable

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Herbert, thank you for the fantastic review. We are delighted to hear Melio has been able to take some of the pain out of making business payments - it's what we're here for. We would also like to thank you for your feedback which we will pass along to the team. All the best, Team Melio

December 2020

Kate from iPlacement, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Melio Feedback

I am happy with the product, especially since it is free for the functionality I am using it for. I would be willing to pay a small fee (at least the cost of a stamp) to have live checks be processed and mailed on the same day that the payment is processed.

Pros

I love that I can pay all invoices without printing and mailing checks. It is also great that the program completely integrates with QuickBooks so the bills show up automatically in Melio, and with a few clicks I can pay all of the bills.

Cons

It takes over a week for a live check to be delivered to a vendor, which is a long time.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

I loved the fact that it was free, and had all of the functionality that I was looking for.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Kate, thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review. We are glad Melio has been able to save you time and busywork. We are currently working on a fast check feature and it should be available soon, so stay tuned. All the best, Team Melio

January 2020

Markus from make it nice, llc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great payment tool

I'm excited to use this new platform, the customer service team is fantastic, they immediately respond and they're quick in understanding your 'concern' and will address it accordingly. If it's a new feature idea, they'll let you know that it's been on their list but that other features may currently have priority, appreciate that honesty to not create false hope.

Pros

Ease of setting up all my vendors so they can be paid via ACH with a few clicks (for free) Upload/scan of invoices Quickbooks integration, crucial!! Customer service

Cons

I look forward when they allow me to send out a link to new vendors so they can do their own onboarding (put in their contact & bank details) so that I don't have to chase them myself and input manually.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

I liked the 'simplicity' of use of Melio, it's exactly what my type of business needed.

August 2021

Bouapha from Kos Media

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Melio is amazing for small businesses

Pros

I think that it syncs seamlessly with quickbooks and it gives us multiple options of how to pay our vendors.

Cons

We can't do stop payments on our own or change payment method. While your customer support is amazing, I'd like do somethings on my own.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Melio is cheaper for us to use and more convenient. User interface is simple.

Response from Melio

Replied September 2021

Hi Bouapha, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to hear you find Melio useful and that our customer support team has been able to assist you. We appreciate your detailed feedback and will take it into account as we continue to improve our product and service. All the best, Team Melio

October 2021

Alan from Nashville Music Scoring, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2021

Good when it works, horrible when it does not

good idea when it works, horrible when it is does not.

Pros

integrates well with QBO, pricing is great, easy to seup. When all work well is a good experience.

Cons

Horrible, almost non-existent customer support. TWICE, in just a few months of using Melio, they have sent out duplicate payments that were only entered once by me. First time they caught it and notified me a few days later, second time (a few days ago), vendors started calling me saying they got paid for an invoice that they had already been paid for 2 weeks ago. First time dinged my account for $60K, this time $26K. No explanation on what happened either time. Spent 2 days on Chat with no help whatsoever and promises to call me never happened. No phone number to call to talk with anyone, just have to email and wait many days for replies. No one seems at all concerned that I can't pay my bills dues to vendors since they took $26K out of my account or may bounce a lot of checks. There MUST be a number to call someone in emergency situations like this.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

ACH deposits

January 2020

Brent from Stratosphere

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Melio is the easiest software to use

Pros

I love everything about Melio form how easy it is to use and the dashboard is so simple. From switching to incoming payment to seeing who you paid in a click of a button.

Cons

It’s the best Nothing I didn’t like about it.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Faster payout time went from 7 with stripe not counting weekends to 2 days with melio

August 2021

Julie from TripOutside

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2021

Terrible experience signing up and no response from customer service

I tried to sign up with Melio to process business payments, and went through the entire process of providing all my business information (enough to be very dangerous). I received a confirmation email that everything was complete, and I just had to verify the 2 deposits in my bank account. Then I waited, and waited, and the deposits never came. I contacted customer service by email and they wrote back a vague email about not being able to verify my account. I inquired further, and they stopped replying. 5 emails later I found a phone number to call, and the customer service rep told me they were aware of the issue and would resend the 2 deposits. Again I waited, and waited - no deposits. I called customer service AGAIN and this time I was told that I needed to contact their compliance department, and the only way to do that was by email. He could not help me whatsoever. So I emailed the compliance department, doubting I would get a reply. No reply - it's been 5 days and 2 emails later I still haven't heard back. What a terrible experience, no explanation as to what is going on, no one could give me any information, and I didn't get any reply to my emails. I don't know how they are still in business with customer service this terrible.

Pros

seemed to be what I needed for making business payments

Cons

Terrible customer service, never heard back on 5+ emails, and the customer service rep told me to just email again.

Response from Melio

Replied August 2021

Hi Julie, we are sorry to hear about your experience. Without publicly getting into the specifics, we have confirmed that our compliance team has reexamined your case and resolved the issue. Your micro-deposits should now go through so you can verify your account. We apologize for any inconvenience this incident may have caused. We will also have a member of our team reach out to you directly. Sincerely, Team Melio

December 2020

Jason from McCosh Films Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

A Cut to the Chase Solution

Customer service is second to none. You really get the sense that the people speaking to you care about the product and care about how you are using it. I've had several people reach out to me just to make sure everything was okay and that we were getting the most out of the product. The interface needs a little work to make it easier to use, feels a bit clunky at times, that and the other things listed above are some issues that need to be incorporated in but other than that we love using Melio for our needs.

Pros

Melio is a great product we recently had the opportunity to discover. I was very impressed at how easy it integrated to our accounting in Quickbooks. This is the main reason I found it so vital in our operation. Before we started using Melio there never really was a great solution for paying people by different means. We had some vendors who wanted printed checks and still others who preferred an electronic payment. Melio makes it easy for your company to pay people safely and quickly.

Cons

I have to say I really like the software so far but there are a couple of items I would really like to see and these items almost stopped me from deciding to use the product. First, the paper checks really need an overhaul to look more professional and branded from a specific company. I've had freelancers who wonder if the check is legitimate because it doesn't have our logo or they can't see that it's coming from us. Paper checks definitely need some work...also, the ability to run a simple payroll out of Melio wold be helpful so that you can eliminate printing checks in your office completely. It would be nice to be able to simply pay employees through Melio as well as freelancers. I know that there are work arounds, but we need a dedicated way to pay employees added.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Jason, thank you for posting such an amazing review. We are very happy to hear you find Melio's various payment options useful and that our service is able to save you time and hassle. Also, thank you for your valuable insights into our product - we will pass them along to the relevant teams. All the best, Team Melio

January 2020

Adam from Vino Fine Wine & Spirits

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Melio for Wine Retailers

See above.

Pros

-ability to use credit cards to pay distributors via ACH -ability to earn triple points on Chase INK Preferred card since Melio is categorized as "shipping" for Chase. Don't mess around with this! -syncing to Quickbooks invoices -itemized credit card transactions with distributor name; easier for bookkeeper -wonderful and responsive account rep - [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] Smart -simple interface

Cons

THINGS TO ADD: -importing vendor credits from Quickbooks to Melio -ability to partially pay an invoice -ability to sort invoices by date, vendor, due date, amount, etc. -need to clearly display which store/account I'm logged in under; I have two stores and I have to click my name in the bottom left to see which store I'm logged in under ISSUES/IMPROVEMENTS: -better communication with accounts receivable departments at vendors; a lot of companies have Melio and have no idea what it is, don't trust payment, don't tell sales reps, etc. -improve the speed of emailing of payees after payments are made; there is a lot of confusion if/when a payment is made -Code for bonus categories for AmEx and Barclays business cards -Create an Android app -Find a way for credit card payments to hit vendors' accounts at open of business next-day -offer promotions to be more competitive with Plastiq. Currently, Plastiq offers tens of thousands of dollars every month with 1% fees. They also only charge 2.5%... -Find a way to make COD payments easier or more trusted with alcohol vendors

January 2020

Zane from Coast to Coast Distribution

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

A God Among Men

We use Melio to send all our ACH transfers. You can quickly upload and create bills and schedule payments for whenever they are due. when you send transfers via your business debit card, they arrive to your vendors NEXT DAY! It's super easy and actually fun to use. They also have the ability to pay your vendors via credit card, so they charge your card and deliver the funds to your vendor's bank account for a small fee. It really helps us keep up with cash flow, plus the 2% back from the credit card makes the fee almost non existent. And with the direct connection to Quickbooks Online, its super easy to sync all your vendors, bills and payments, making Melio a perfect bill management application. We'd recommend it to everyone.

Pros

- Free to use - Free to send bank transfers - Low cost to send bank transfers by charging a credit card - Perfect bill management application - Gorgeous and responsive UI - Syncs directly with Quickbooks - Quick and responsive support staff

Cons

No ability to pay international vendors via credit card transactions, but no one does that so not really a loss.

December 2020

Barb from Quality Bookkeeping Plus

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Good System - Needs some tweaks

I have onboarded 2 clients. The first one went well. The second one did not. We had to verify the bank account the deposits did not come through. I kept getting different answers from customer service. Sometimes saying they had gone out, and sometimes saying they had not gone out yet. Back and forth. I think it took about 10 days for them to finally send them out. I still don't know why.

Pros

Very inexpensive way to send ACH payments. ACH is free. Paying with a CC is not, but that's not surprising. Ability to sync bills/payments to/from Quickbooks Online.

Cons

All payments/bills have to be paid one at a time even if it's the same vendor. Need a way to pay more than one at once to be more efficient. No good reports to see what payments have been sent out.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Cost and sync with QBO.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Bill.com would send vendors and email every time I entered their bill or made changes to their bill in Quickbooks. We were unaware and were entering bills as estimates. This caused a lot of confusion with our vendors. Melio does not send emails to vendors unless you select it when you make the payment.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Barb, thank you for posting this review and providing us with valuable feedback. We will pass your input along to the relevant teams. We are sorry to hear about the issue you had but are glad it was finally resolved. Happy to hear you find Melio helpful and cost-effective. All the best, Team Melio

December 2020

Ryan from Luxkor

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Best Transfer Service Available

Compared to our prior way of making payments to vendors, Melio makes it extremely easier and even saves us money!

Pros

Melio in my opinion is the best transfer service available. Simple and quick to use, it offers a tremendous value. Furthermore, customer service is one of the best I've dealt with.

Cons

It would be great if there was an ability to send international wires in other currencies. For example, in Chinese Yuan.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Offered better, easier to understand, and free ACH transfers.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Easier to initiate a transaction from the computer. Cheaper.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Ryan, thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. We are happy to hear Melio has proved easier and more cost-effective for your business than your previous payment service. We will pass your kind words along to our hard-working customer support team. About international payments, we are currently working on this feature, so stay tuned! All the best, Team Melio

August 2021

Corinne from Corinne Cook

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

I lead teams with interns and newbies and Melio has saved my sanity!

Pros

Simple to set-up, train and use - Melio has been a lifesaver in my accounting team processes. The approval functionality allows for training of interns and newbies with some control and the automated notifications help keep our suppliers informed and happy. Love being able to preschedule payments to pay per supplier terms which helps keep cash in the bank as long as possible yet avoiding late fees.

Cons

Just wish that there was a notification for suppliers as soon as the payment was set up vs just when it’s sent.

Response from Melio

Replied September 2021

Hi Corinne, thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to hear Melio made your life easier - that was and remains our goal. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into account as we continue to improve our product and service. All the best, Team Melio

August 2021

Kari from K A Consulting LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Bookkeepers dream come true

It is a huge time saver and very convenient not to have to print and mail checks. It is also faster than many bank bill-pays.

Pros

It easily integrates with online accounting software and helps me pay bills for multiple clients in one place.

Cons

I wish it would not sync recurring payments into online accounting software until it occurs because I don't want to pre-record a whole year of payments.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

one of my clients introduced me.

Response from Melio

Replied September 2021

Hi Kari, thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to hear you find Melio useful for you and your clients. We would also like to thank you for providing valuable input that will help us make Melio even better. All the best, Team Melio

December 2020

Katherine from Moore Brothers Wine Co

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

High marks for ease of use and customer service

Overall I've been very pleased with Melio. We currently only use it to pay vendors which is all we need and for that it's perfect. The payments are fast, secure, and easy to set up. I should have signed up for this service long ago!

Pros

Pros are user friendly, customer service, speed of payment.

Cons

I don't know that I've found any cons yet. So far the program has given me exactly what I've needed it to. I guess the only thing is not being able to merge two vendors that are the same but accidentally created if both have a payment already made on them.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

The main factor in choosing Melio was due to our premier vendor. They preferred payment electronically versus a paper check. Since we were sending checks to them 2-4x a week, it made sense to use Melio. I'm glad that we did too because it has made my job easier especially with working from home part time due to Covid.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Katherine, thank you so much for this great review. So happy to hear Melio has been able to simplify your bill pay process and we're super grateful to have you as a customer. All the best, Team Melio

December 2020

David from Saraghina Restaurant

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Fantastic, easy to use product

I have cut back on hand written checks by 90%, which saves me 2-3 hours and ACH transactions are more secure and immediate than mail.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use and the product feels very secure.

Cons

Copying vendors between stores under the same company would be a great feature. I found the Quickbooks integration clunky, as every time I made a payment it made several entries, but it's fast enough to manually enter payments.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi David, thank you for posting such a great review. We are glad to hear using Melio saves your business so much time - it's what we're here for! We would also like to thank you for your valuable feedback and will pass it along to the team to see what can be improved. All the best, Team Melio

October 2021

Richard from Precision Brake & Wheel

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

A time saver for all small businesses

So far, any issues were an my side, and they corrected any problem in 24 hours.

Pros

Schedule payments in advance, so we are never late, user controls to allow the smaller bills paid that so not require my approval. Side benefit, saves on postage.

Cons

Nothing, much better than any banks bill pay.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Free Service, unless you use Credit Card, or need same day transfer, and even same day is cheaper than a Wire Fee

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Azlo was Shut Down in March, when I was notified, I started to reach again and found Melio. I guess it was a good thing, Melio is much better

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Melio changed the way we pay bills and receive payments

- Reduce waiting times for customer payments (via check) to arrive - Cash flow leverage - I can use a credit card to pay my bills - Take advantage of credit card reward programs while paying bills - No need for us to charge customers for credit card processing fees

Pros

- I can use any payment method (all major credit cards, debit cards, bank accounts) to pay my bills - Easy ACH payment implementation for paying bills - I can receive payments from customers quickly, relieving them of the need to mail checks and providing various options to pay me

Cons

- it seems that many features are still in development and not necessarily thought over yet - communication about incoming payments and their status needs to be more transparent

Reasons for Switching to Melio

- Melio provides less expensive way than Plastiq to pay with debit cards - Better website interface and experience

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

They Cancelled My Account

Not dandy, not happy

Pros

I have no idea if I cannot use it, I cannot know

Cons

My client wanted to pay with a bank transfer, so I signed up for Melio. I set up the account, verify the deposit, all looked like it is working properly. Now my client signed the contract, I sent him a payment request, he paid and a day later I get notified that my account could not be verified and the payment won't go through. This is so embarrassing. Instead of them contacting me and request whatever proof they need, do this discreetly, and continue the process, they just kicked me off. I have no idea why. Why not at the time I signed up. Why am I verifying my bank account last week was not enough? It is a business account. This payment is business to business. My business has been around since 2011. I really don't know. Now I either have to find another payment method or somehow get this back working and ask my client again to pay. It is just not a reliable way for me to do business. They will wonder if I cannot even get their payment coming through what kind of service I will provide. That is a bad way to build trust with a new client. Thanks, Melio

Response from Melio

Replied June 2021

Hi, our Risk & Compliance team determined we are unable to support your transactions. While we cannot publicly discuss the details of your case, if you would like to provide us with further information and appeal our decision you can reach out directly to: compliance@melio.com. Sincerely, Team Melio

January 2020

Christine from Spirit Lounge Corp

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

A Diamond in the rough ...

Overall this platform has been a lifesaver. I'm glad I made the switch from Square.

Pros

I'm glad I discovered this platform. I had been paying an exuberant amount of fees to recieve payments from my customers. Thanks to Melio, I enjoy receiving electronic payments without the deduction of transaction fees.

Cons

I wish I could receive the payments faster. Sometimes it takes 4 to 5 days to show in my account. I also wish the notes field would be better. More space, better looking on the recipient side. Maybe invoicing is a feature Melio could add.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

TD was too complex and expensive. Just needed a simple and free way to invoice clients.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Cost of fees ...

December 2020

Kelly from Wise Therapy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Melio is the best for small buisness

First of all, it's free. How is that the case? I don't know. The customer service is great--quick, easy, kind.

Pros

It's simple, and does exactly and only the thing I want it to do: Pay people! I have other software the tracks everything, just no way to pay larger sums out.

Cons

nothing. literally. it's simple and works.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

simple! I like simple. life is too complex.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

it is too complicated for just my little business. I don't need all the features, but it was too complex to pair their system down to just meet my needs.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Kelly, thank you so much for taking the time to post such an amazing review. We are glad to hear using Melio has helped your business become more efficient and provided you with an easy to use solution - it's what we're here for! All the best, Team Melio

December 2020

Jason from Keyz Media

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

The easiest way to pay vendors

Absolutely love it!

Pros

Love using this to easily pay all my vendors, track payments and of course have the flexibilty to use a credit card vs bank account as a funding option.

Cons

Improved workflow to add new vendors. Time for payment by check to get delivered.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Jason, thank you for this amazing review and for your important feedback. We are glad to hear you are finding Melio to be useful and easy and that you enjoy our features and interface. We are currently working to add fast payment options, so stay tuned. All the best, Team Melio

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Sorry we don't accept credit cards - has that bothered you before?

Overall it's given me the freedom, and the recipients all flexibility to make transactions fast and convenient. I also particularly like support. They are real people and treat their customers as real people. Fintech can often get caught up in the tech side, and forget that it's is still humans housing the product.

Pros

The onboarding is fast and easy. It is a direct solution and no ambiguity. The support was fantastic and has helped when needed it, and that was user error, not the platform. What I like most is that Melio gives you the flexibility that you wouldn't get in your financing and A/R flex. It's also something that has actually helped our client's more than it's helped us.

Cons

There are some limits to what you can use it for, while I understand those limits, sometimes you'll run into sites that it might not work with. Perhaps a bit more detail on the progress of transactions, and an audit trail. It's a great solution to a simple gap, doing one thing well it's hard to find faults. That said I don't use it every day.

August 2021

Jamie from Foundations Family Therapy

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Great for paying contractors

Overall it’s a great fit for our business

Pros

Ability to pay contractors as direct deposit and use a credit card to get points

Cons

Issues with payment from checking account being delayed or an instance where melio didn’t process the payment in the timeline they said they would and even after escalating to higher level still received no response

Response from Melio

Replied September 2021

Hi Jamie, thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to hear Melio made your life easier - that was and remains our goal. We hope your issue has been resolved, but if you still require assistance, please reach out to us directly, stating your full name, company name, and the email you used to register: support@melio.com. All the best, Team Melio

January 2020

Neil from SolarKal

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

All startup Founders and C-level execs need to know about Melio

Exceptional. I have a relationship manager who always solves any issue that might come up, and I am thrilled these guys found me. Highly recommmend.

Pros

Melio made making payments to vendors, 1099s, partners, etc., A LOT easier for me. The interface is easy to understand, and it reads invoices well, so that you are just clicking buttons towards payments.

Cons

They need to make it so that you can pay expense reimbursements to W2 employees. I know they are working on that though.

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Great, cost-effective platform to process vendor payment

Pros

Perfect integration with Quickbooks. Low cost to process payment. Simple but effective UI.

Cons

Processing time could be faster. Initial delay could be shorter.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Processing cost

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi, thank you for this great review. We are very glad to hear you are enjoying Melio's user interface and QuickBooks integration. We would also like to thank you for the important feedback. We are always looking to improve and will pass your input along to the relevant teams. All the best, Team Melio

December 2020

Daniel from iPenzing LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Bringing US accounts payable into the 21st century

Pros

It's insane, but businesses still mail each other checks. It feels like time travel back into the 50s. Melio makes it possible to easily do FREE ACH payments. It's crazy, that this is something special and makes them a standout in 2020, but that's the reality here in the US. Thanks for giving us the most obvious & basic functionality!!!

Cons

No cons. It's really easy and great for us.

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Daniel, thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are glad to hear you find Melio easy and helpful for running your business! All the best, Team Melio

January 2020

ILEANA from M&M LOGISTICS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Best!! Notifies you thru email

Notification of payments is the best about melio thru email and thru software

Pros

MELIO helps you identify the next payments to be due in time and also notifies you by email your next due bills. That is the best since a company with many vendors like ours help us to save time in making payments because, you can put all the information you need to help yourself with the identification and payments of your vendors.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about melio, I love it and I would like to continue using it.

January 2020

Kyle from Lynk Group of Companies

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Good; need international payments

Pros

It is very convenient to use and the QB integration is a huge plus. I use this for Domestic transactions.

Cons

I really hope you make INTERNATIONAL payments possible really soon. I do business with vendors in China, Argentina, Bolivia, Philippines and I hope to use Melio's services to pay my vendors.

December 2020

Pamela from Spotless Tile & Grout LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Best Option Out There Using Credit Card to Pay Bills

The ability to use cards to pay certain bills.

Pros

It is often hard to use a credit card to pay your bills. This allows you to use either a credit card, for a small fee, or a debit card for free. You really can't beat that with a stick. It's great for paying things like Building Rent that needs a check or any other bill that does not accept cards at all.

Cons

It is pretty straight forward and easy. My payments go out fast and I never have a problem

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Pamela, thank you for taking the time to leave us an amazing review. We are very happy to hear you find Melio's card payment options useful and our service to be smooth. All the best, Team Melio

January 2021

Craig from Accounting for Your Business LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Melio for Bill-Pay is Great

Not too sure at first but once we got everything set up, it works great.

Pros

Everything for paying bills is taken care of by Melio. We linked Melio to QuickBooks Online and all our bills uploaded and in one place waiting for us to release for payment. Hoping to use the getting-paid ACH feature soon.

Cons

Onboarding was not as easy or clear as it could be - took some time but eventually got there

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Again, because it integrated with QBO and saved a lot of time

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Melio integrates with Quickbooks Online, KeyBank did not and therefore using Melio is a huge time saver.

Response from Melio

Replied January 2021

Hi Craig, thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review. We are glad to hear you are all set up and that Melio has been able to save you and your clients valuable time. All the best, Team Melio

September 2020

Catherine from Project Outdoor LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

September 2020

Terrible experience, never again

I will never use this vendor again. I will only use my bank to process ACH payments.

Pros

It was easy to use from Quickbooks and seemed like a good solution.

Cons

After just a few weeks of using it, I am having today a horrible experience: a payment of $39,000 to my vendor was not processed. Not only was Melio unreachable by phone, they were also unresponsive by email (they never responded to my last email) and I had to deal with the issue by chat. Hours later, I still haven't had an update. My bank account was debited 5 business days ago, and Melio still has the money and can't tell me where it is. I am asking them now to send it back to me so that I can urgently wire transfer my vendor.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

I chose Melio because they were a Quickbooks partner. I thought that gave me the assurance that they were safe and reliable. Obviously, that was not the case.

Response from Melio

Replied October 2020

Hi Catherine. Last month one of our banking partners had a technical issue which caused a temporary delay in processing a few payments. After speaking with you, and resolving this matter, we've also made a donation to a charity of your choice. We sincerely apologize and hope this was resolved to your satisfaction. We hope that you continue working with us and one of our account managers will be happy to follow up with you in person if you email us info@meliopayments.com

January 2020

Joanne from Lohxa, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great Bill Pay Service

Pros

Melio is very easy to use. I love that you can upload the invoice and it preloads most of the necessary fields to process payments. Everything transfers over to our quickbooks accounts. The option to pay with our credit card is very convenient.

Cons

We are a pharmaceutical company and unfortunately cannot pay for our pharmaceuticals through Melio due to some compliance issues.

June 2021

Veronica from Selected Food & Beverage Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Quick set up and cheapest solution to receive ACH payments

Melio has smooth our collection process by providing the easiest way to receive online payments from our customers. Is easy to set up, easy to use, clean and smooth for our customers, and the best it is free for our customers to send ACH.

Pros

I love the interface is easy to use and the setup with our bank was super simple. I love this solution is simple and basically free of charge if your customers pay with ACH.

Cons

I would like a kind of integration with Quickbooks Desktop in order to keep the payments updates automatically

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Pricing

Response from Melio

Replied June 2021

Hi Veronica, thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to hear Melio made your life easier - that was and remains our goal. We have good news! We are currently working on an integration with QuickBooks Desktop, and it should be available soon, so stay tuned. All the best, Team Melio

February 2020

Warith from FTC Publications Inc

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2020

Great Idea! - poorly implemented, at least by Melio

Horrific customer support. Replies take hours. They are extremely slow, inexperienced and have no customer support interest. You are truly own your own with the platform and service. Melio also has no phone number, and eventually will stop responding.

Pros

Excellent way to pay contractors and check-only vendors with credit card

Cons

The system has many flaws, their credit card authorization platform confuses the Company address and the credit card billing address resulting in AVS mismatches when authorizing. Only work around is to change company address and card billing address to match. Melio refuses to acknowledge this issue. Also Melio's system does not have real-time CC authorization, it takes several hours.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

We RAN back to Plastiq and also standard Bank ACH until more competitors enter the field. I doubt Melio will last 2 years.

June 2020

Raphael from Morreale Services, L.L.C.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Melio Professional Review

Melio helped me to liquidate cash so that I could invest in a higher ROI investment. The process was simple and I am very satisfied with their service.

Pros

I love the low fees and the promotions for liquidating cash from credit cards.

Cons

Not much of a downside to the service here. It is pretty straightforward.

January 2020

Gary from Lawn Chair USA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Furniture

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

What an awesome software!

This software is easy to use and I use it nearly every day.

Pros

Free to send checks! Easy to use! Syncs with my accounting software. Remembers my vendors.

Cons

Not being able to add bills in batches. Not being able to email in bills.

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Cost and ease of use

October 2020

Lynne from All Five

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2020

Garbage

The chap I have been dealing with on the helpdesk has been lovely but his hands are tied. This mess is all the compliance area. What a disaster.

Pros

I originally liked it because our customers could choose to pay by their bank account with no fees. We are a preschool serving a diverse range of socio-economic backgrounds and being able to pay online made it easy for our families to pay their tuition fees without incurring extra costs.....BUT

Cons

We trialed it, then used it with a couple of parents and it worked well....FOR 1 MONTH!! Now they can't (won't) verify us as a company! It appears that they don't have the systems that make this an automated transaction platform. Real people at their company are deciding each month what they will allow and not allow - how bizarre is that!

Reasons for Switching to Melio

Thought these guys were go-getters. Even did a zoom call with their dev team to talk through upgrades coming etc. What a shame they have gone live without all their "ducks in a row"!

Response from Melio

Replied November 2020

Hi Lynne, we are sorry you feel this way. Without getting into the specifics of your case, Melio is a business-to-business payment tool, allowing small business owners to make payments to other businesses online. For compliance reasons, we cannot approve transactions in which one or more of the parties is not a business. We would be happy to discuss the details via a separate channel and you are welcome to contact our support team at any time. All the best, Team Melio.

April 2021

Terrance from Mudd Construction LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2021

Nightmare experience followed by horrible support - run away fast

Like having your business murdered.

Pros

It doesnt have any pros compared to the damage it caused us

Cons

It made us a victim of fraud and their support team is even more inadequate than quickbooks online support.

Reasons for Choosing Melio

We were swindled by quickbooks to sign up for quickbooks cash and they didnt disclose in any obvious terms how many third parties like melio are involved.

Response from Melio

Replied June 2021

Hi Terrance, we are sorry to hear about your experience. Without publicly getting into the specifics of your case, we've confirmed that the duplicate check issue you encountered has been addressed and resolved. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if you need any further assistance: support@meliopayments.com. Sincerely, Team Melio

December 2020

Dante from The Natural Wine Shoppe

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wine and Spirits

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

A great service overall

Pros

Straight to the point - it simply and effectively works.

Cons

I haven't run into any issues so far. No complaints!

Response from Melio

Replied December 2020

Hi Dante, thank you for posting such a great review. Glad to hear you have had no issues with us :-) All the best, Team Melio

August 2021

Levy from Ly

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2021

Terrible company and customer service

Terrible taking advantage of small business owners.

Pros

Nothing. Literally scammers. Will never ever work with them.

Cons

They stole 22k from me. My customer sent me 22k from thier platform and they took the money for over a week and didn’t send it to me. Then they canceled the payment over a week ago and still didnt refund the money to my client and when we call they say the supervisor will call me and hang up and he never calls

Reasons for Choosing Melio

Mug mistake terrible people

Response from Melio

Replied August 2021

Hi Levy, we are sorry to hear about your experience. We have searched our record and have been unable to locate a user by your name. Please send us your contact details to support@melio.com so that a team member can reach out and resolve your issue. Sincerely, Team Melio

August 2021

Arnab from Arnab Sanyal LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Bill Payments

Pros

Useful tool to have for paying partners & suppliers

Cons

Excessive cost when you would like to pay by credit card

January 2020

Allen from Crossroads Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great Solution for Payments

Pros

We primarily use Melio to pay vendors that we can't pay online. It works great for that purpose! Simply enter the invoice, go through the steps of setting up the payment, and it processes the payment without me having to print, stamp, and mail checks.

Cons

I wish that it would sync the address info with Quickbooks. We have to enter it in both places currently.

September 2021

Jeff from IT Source

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

September 2021

Melio is a joke

We went though all the onboarding prompts successfully. I tried our 1st payment and it failed, so I reached out to support which is incredibly incompetent. They told me the payment needed to reviewed by the compliance team, which is understandable for a new account but it was pretty clear that this is a very dysfunctional team. Nobody knew what the other was doing. They dragged the case on for a month, just repeating that someone would get back to me. I got tired of waiting and asked them to delete my account. I can't trust this group with my financials. If this is the type of service I get trying to make a payment, imagine what would happen in the case there was a mistaken withdrawal. I highly recommend AGAINST Melio.

Pros

Nothing. We never got the service going.

Cons

Customer Support is dysfunctional and completely incompetent.

February 2021

MaDonna from BSW

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2021

Horrible Customer Service

Very poor responses from Customer Service. They have held my client's money captive for two weeks while they investigate. A check was marked as deposited and it was a different check completely. Different vendor and $ amount. It wasn't even a check for my client's vendor! It takes 2 days to get a response when I have to follow up. Overall, they suck.

Pros

Easy to use if you are only ACH'ing money.

Cons

Checks are lost, sent twice, logged as deposited when not.

Response from Melio

Replied February 2021

Hi MaDonna, we are sorry to hear about your experience. Without publicly getting into the specifics of your case, we can confirm that the issue has been addressed and we are sending you a refund. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if you need any further assistance: support@meliopayments.com. Sincerely, Team Melio

Displaying 1 - 50 of 60 reviews