Teampay

Teampay Reviews

RATING:

4.16

(37)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.16

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"I like that is it integrated with slack. It makes requesting a card so easy."
  • icon"The ease of use, and the time I got back from implementing the solution."
  • icon"Slack integration, and how easy it is for employees to submit an expense."
  • icon"The lack of monthly statements makes it a bit difficult to reconcile the account during our month end close."
  • icon"It does not have very basic functionalities and implementation vs sales is very different. I start thinking that this company is scam, since how can you miss the most important functionalities."
  • icon"There are a few weird tech issues I have experienced."

All Teampay Reviews

1-25 of 37 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Let Management Make Their Own Decisions

Teampay is always there to help or answer any questions in a timely manner, which is important in the world of finance.

Pros

I love that it gives power to the people! The employees don't need to ask accounting for every single payment request, but also do not have a physical credit card that is difficult to track and report every month. This has eased up the lift in the accounting department as expense reports have fewer charges and AP is also lighter. There are still controls in place to ensure that these decisions are being approved, but these are decisions that should be approved within those departments anyway.

Cons

My company definitely pushed the limits of the software, in terms of transaction counts and approval groups. Managing approval groups is a bit clunky, but it's not a huge problem.

Amanda

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Best Spend Management Tool

Overall it is great. It is easy to use and the control we have is great. We aren't micromanaging but we do have the control we were lacking prior to.

Pros

Teampay is super easy to use and has cut our monthly spend by more than 50%. Expense reports are turned in on time, its easy to upload receipts. It directly integrates with our ERP. The cash back on all purchases is amazing. Implementation was easy and the spend management control is beyond anything I have seen.

Cons

I wish the expenses wouldn't transfer over to our ERP unless the backup has been uploaded.

Reasons for choosing Teampay

The ease of use, integration, and cash back option

Reasons for switching to Teampay

Our spend was out of control. We needed a better way to control spend and ensure expense reports were being done in a timely manner

Response from Teampay

Hi Amanda, thank you for the kind words! We are so glad that you're finding Teampay to be super easy to use and that we've been able to help you reduce your monthly spend! We appreciate your support as we continue to grow.

Replied November 2022

Jack

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Adequate for a time

Pros

TeamPay is an intuitive software that is quick to get up and running. I'm able to approve and modify purchase orders coming through in moments through the Slack integration. It's simple.

Cons

Although it's quick to get up and running, TeamPay is not a long-term solution. Reporting and PO management is unstructured, creating extra work for AP teams. As an example, because nearly all of the system is open text, employees will make multiple vendors, POs that AP has to manually reconcile (ex: TeamPay, Team-Pay, TeamPay.com would all be different vendors).

Reasons for switching to Teampay

Reduce manual work for AP team

Response from Teampay

Hi Jack, thank you for sharing your feedback. Our product team is actively working to optimize much of the functionality you described in your review and would love to speak with you to learn more about your experience and use cases. If this is of interest, please reach out to support@teampay.co. Thanks again for your feedback; we couldn't grow without it!

Replied November 2022

Brian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Great Visibility to Spend

Pros

I love that I get to see all of our credit card spend in real-time through slack notifications. It gives me great visibility into who is spending what and when.

Cons

I wish the expense reimbursement module was completely. This is a huge gap in my current processes that I would like to use Teampay to solve. Also, things that need to be paid with a physical card (ex. hotels, taxis, dinner) is somewhat difficult through Teampay.

Reasons for choosing Teampay

Airbase was too expensive and too comprehensive for what I was looking for. I needed an easy to implement system that is intuitive to use. Thats what I got with Teampay.

Response from Teampay

Hi Brian, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're so glad to hear you're enjoying our Slack integration and have greater visibility into spend with Teampay. Regarding reimbursements, we recently announced direct reimbursement syncing with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, and QBO. Your Customer Success Manager would love to help you get that set up if you haven't already. They can also help you work through physical card transactions. Thank you again for your feedback!

Replied November 2022

Timothy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2022

Perfect for the Small Business

So far positive, as long as you build proper controls around it.

Pros

It's very easy to use and it's also integrated with Slack (no extra PW/Login needed). It's features are good enough to accomplish credit card controls, but not so robust that you have to build on top of it.

Cons

There were certain features that were missing (shutting off recurring subscriptions) and not having the ability to notify when renewals are up.

Reasons for choosing Teampay

Airbase was too cumbersome and it's a whole system. We already had existing systems in place.

Jennifer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2022

Good product for expense management

Teampay has improved the team experience tenfold and I look forward to a better experience once we get some of the backend items fixed.

Pros

The request process and approvals are a breeze. And the TeampayGo cards allow management to approve spend before the card has been charged!

Cons

Some of the features were over-sold in the demo, so I walked into features in beta or not yet released that were made to seem as if they were the base product, which caused a bumpier start than I expected. The ACH turnaround is also very slow, so we cannot use that feature yet, even though I has factored that into cost offset.

Reasons for choosing Teampay

Budgeting module and visibility of committed spend.

User Profile

Brett

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2019

Solid for recurring expenses, but there are better options out there

We wanted to help our team purchase the products they need while keeping track of everything and Teamppay does a good job of it. Problem is their competitors are able to offer additional value.

Pros

The Slack integration is a very cool and user friendly way for users to request additional recurring billing software. Customer support team is good and trying to grow the product as they are a small company.

Cons

They do not provide credit unlike competitiors Divvy and Brex which really impacts the value. Also our Slack integration broke and it was very difficult to get it back up and running

Reasons for choosing Teampay

Intial setup was easier than Divvy and they had an integration with Slack

Nam

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

October 2022

More promised than delivered

Not a positive experience with the implementation team. Product was over promised during pitch. They need to fix all bugs and issues before signing on clients.

Pros

Pros includes Amazon business integration and approval rules

Cons

Implementation is frustrating, we are 6 months into implementation at this point and core functionality of the product still does not work. There are multiple bugs within the system that we find every day.

Reasons for choosing Teampay

The promise of full end to end procurement solution from PO to cutting checks. In addition Amazon integrations

esther

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Automated expense mangement

The platform is at a constant improving, they take customer feedback into consideration on improving the software.

Pros

The approval process is quite important, the software was able to fully automate this process via work messaging system. This help reduce the work on the finance team. Auto alert notification for missing document also help to reduce the manual tracking.

Cons

User management process was challenging if large users count, and the HRIS system does not support user management.

Reasons for choosing Teampay

The work messaging system was a big help, unlike other platforms, where approvals of a card requires management to access the dashboard, managers can approve/decline/modify from a message. This is a neat feature that is important for our end users, and no other software offers this solution as of yet.

Response from Teampay

Hi Esther, thank you for the kind words! We're so glad you're finding our automated approval processes to be so helpful for your team. We appreciate your support as we continue to grow.

Replied November 2022

Nicholas

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2022

A solid foundation, but needs some work

Teampay has a solid foundation, but I find myself thinking about how much better it could be if it made some information more readily available.

Pros

It is easy to add people to the system and send requests. The interface is straight forward and not crowded. I've never experienced a bug with this program as well.

Cons

It is hard to keep track of the approvals I have sent that have been approved. I have to scroll through the chat to see which ones have been approved and sometimes the cha doesn't include information like who approved it and what vendor it is for. I also get logged out a lot which can be frustrating when I'm trying to send requests.

Connor

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Teampay - Accounting Manager

Overall, Teampay is a simple solution to monitor company spend, and is a nice replacement for issuing company credit cards to all employees. The integration with Intacct is easy to use, and the reports generated are useful for seeing how funds are allocated to different GL accounts

Pros

The easy of routing payment requests to department heads, and the ability to monitor expenses.

Cons

Occasionally, there are timing issues between when purchases sync to Teampay, which can be a nuisance during monthly close

Reasons for choosing Teampay

Teampay was in place when I joined the company

Ben

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Teampay - New Admin

Someone else set up TeamPay then left our company so I took over as Admin. It's been fairly easy and intuitive to use. I'm still learning the ins and outs of it for reporting.

Pros

Easy setup of new cards with rules. Makes categorizing spend easy.

Cons

Slack app can be a little clunky at times.

Reasons for switching to Teampay

Someone else made that decision.

Response from Teampay

Hi Ben, thanks for taking the time to review Teampay! We're so glad you're finding our product easy and intuitive to use. We are always looking for ways to improve our users' experiences, so we would love to connect you with our product team to discuss your experience with our Slack app. If this is of interest, please reach out to support@teampay.co so that we can get you connected. Thanks again for sharing your experience!

Replied November 2022

User Profile

Shannon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Makes your life easier!

This tool is amazing and every company should be using it! I have never used a more efficient accounting approval and purchase tool. Love, love, love it!

Pros

I first started using this app as an Office Manager you may be several purchases in one day. I'd spend a full day once a month going back and finding my receipts in my inbox or dig through my wallet. Now, I get my purchases approved and have accountability to load my receipt directly after the purchase. It's such a time saver!

Cons

I wish there was a physical card we could use for in-person transactions or places that require a card.

Dena

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2022

TeamPay useful for smaller expense

keeping smaller purchases out of the Accounts Payable system and helping to get those purchases done faster, thus helping work flow.

Pros

I have found that TeamPay has been a useful tool to help with those smaller purchases that do not require contracts. It makes it easier for employees to purchase without going through PO process.

Cons

The export and reporting is not as useful. I find that I must manipulate the data to get it into a useable form.

Chris

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Excellant Service

Excellent service and great product for a company our size with many different types of expenses.

Pros

The ability to control, track and monitor spending. I prefer the use of virtual cards because it for the most part guarantees receipts from emails, unlike a physical card and having to track receipts down.

Cons

Sometimes the website is slow on loading. Also having the ability to prevent someone from making a future charge if they have not uploaded receipts from a prior purchase. This will help reinforce the need to upload receipts. If teampay can expand globally that would also be great.

Gregory

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Simple & Effective

- TeamPay simplifies the payment/approval process for requesters and approvers while maintaining a clean and efficient dashboard for spend management.

Pros

- Easy to use- Slack Integration for requests/notifications- Accounting Software Integrations- Adjustments/Changes Are Simple To Manage- Workflow features - Approval Processes/Uploading Receipts/Historical Data- Newly Added Reimbursements For Team- Easy to view card status etc

Cons

- Setting up large approval workflows can be time consuming- Expensive- Support can sometimes be hit or miss

Alexander

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE