All Traction Reviews

1-25 of 46 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Eric

Farming, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Excellent System for Small Operations

When I started farming on my own, I knew I wanted to be well organized. I had heard of different accounting systems, some of which are not well adapted to farming. Traction appealed because it was built for farming. So far, it has not disappointed!

PROS

Traction works at my own very small (<500 acres) scale. It allows me to make good decisions throughout the year. I also work in Ag Lending, and I wish that all borrowers could provide detailed reports like Traction generates. The opportunity to trial the software was beneficial - I was more confident making a selection.

CONS

No cons to mention, but I would point out that my small operation does not use all of the capabilities of Traction.

Caleb

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Traction - Finally, Farm Software that does both Accounting and Operation Management!

In short I want to understand and have the details of my finances and operations at my fingertips and Traction is the only software that we have found that does both. I spent the last 2 years searching for a platform that does this and it does not exist anywhere but here. Other software's do one or the other or if they do both they use a slim version of the finances which doesn't help me accomplish the goals I need for my business.

PROS

The best part of Traction so far has been the Accounting Platform, and most importantly the ability to automatically pull in all of my transactions from my various accounts! Once you have your chart of accounts customized to your operation (which took less than a day to accomplish) its as simple as a few clicks to have all my accounting organized. Taxes and my balance sheet next year will be as easy as hitting "print". Next, the mapping part of operations is also very user friendly. I imported my maps from my old software in a matter of minutes and then updated them using the built in tools. It only took me a minute to learn how to use the tools and I didn't even watch a tutorial video. Onboarding with Traction is as simple as three easy steps and is very user friendly, especially for a new user! Tractions Customer Support has been second to none! If I have a question I can likely find the answer and a video explaining it in the Knowledge Center. If I can't find it there the customer support team is only a chat away and very quick to respond.

CONS

The operations side is not finished yet, but in the initial release of the operations there is already great functionality, but more is needed to make it better and I believe they are going to deliver that in time.

Reason for choosing Traction

All of the options we looked at were close to what we wanted in terms of accounting and operational functionality but none do both as well as Traction does. Traction also is a more affordable option than the others we looked at, and delivers the best ROI.

Reasons for switching to Traction

Farm Works Accounting was fantastic, however we have moved forward in how we need the delivery of our platform. 20 years ago, desktop software was the way to go. Today and moving into the future, a cloud based platform is essential to make the user experience the best that it can be.

Matt

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Set up

PROS

The most impactful features is the ability to have a financial management software that also can be used for the cash accounting as well. Traction was easy to set up and start. Integration into our business has been seamless so far .

CONS

It doesn't really feel like its complete yet. Features are still coming into it which can make it difficult sometimes to get the results we need currently.

Reasons for switching to Traction

Needed to move to a web based platform

Christie

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Awesome Farm Accounting Software

The ability to enter transactions into different entities all in the same place is a huge timesaver and having all of the entities financial information together to give an overall picture of the entire operation is a HUGE asset! These two pieces alone were enough to justify making a switch but there are so many more benefits to using Traction! The knowledge base that they bring to the product is tremendous and they have multiple support options to help you with any problem or question you might have. Agriculture has its own unique rules and requirements when it comes to accounting and record-keeping and having a product like Traction that helps me keep track of all of it is a tremendous benefit to my farming operation!

PROS

The product is easy to setup and use--much more so than other farm accounting packages I have used. You can be up and running with a few simple steps. The ability to run multiple entities at the same time and have all of the information available either separately or together is a great feature!! Having all the information together in one place makes it much easier to analyze and make business decisions. And the ability to tie your banking information directly to your records is a great time saver for those wanting that option. I appreciate, however, that Traction also has the capability to enter your transactions manually. Having options is what makes a GREAT product!!!

CONS

Because the software is new, there are still a few features that I am waiting on to be added. Once the land, equipment, supplies and field record-keeping pieces become available it will be a full service Farm Software package. Not having these pieces right away just keeps me from entering some of my transactions which have occurred.

Reason for choosing Traction

Granular does not have an accounting component and they kept pushing me to simply use QuickBooks. I like having both an accounting component and a field record-keeping component in one package plus the added benefits this gives you in analyzing information and decision-making. Additionally, Granular was much higher in cost for half of the product. Probably the more important deciding factor was the industry experience that Traction brings to the product. Even though it is a new start up, they understand what is needed in a farming software package and are willing to continue to expand the software's capability to meet the needs of the farmer.

Reasons for switching to Traction

I have used the FarmWorks product for 20 years. Unfortunately when Trimble purchased FarmWorks their focus on supporting FarmWorks diminished. Their technical help and support became harder to get as they shut down their Discussion Boards and lost some of their representatives along with the long-time knowledge that they had of the product. Then they released an online version of their product which they re-designed three times and it never did really work. It was unfortunate as well as frustrating to see the decline in the support as well as the product.

Laryce

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Previous FarmWorks user migrating over to Traction

I have been very impressed with the team and their desire to listen to what farmers truly need in a whole farm management software program. Some of them came from FarmWorks which has been the software that we have used for the last 20+ years, so I know from that they understand how important it is to be able to do true managerial accounting.

PROS

Truly made for farm bookkeeping. The online platform. No more software updates or backups. More than one person being able to work in the program at a time. Connecting to our bank accounts so that day to day transactions can be input in a lot less time. Future updates that will include keeping inventories, use of profit centers, and field operations.

CONS

This software is in its infancy so its limited abilities is probably the biggest con at this point, but I know from talking to the Traction team they understand the need to be able to manage day to day accounting and also field operations in one software.

Reason for choosing Traction

We chose Traction because it was competitively priced and many on the Traction team have come from other farm accounting software companies that truly understand the need for a software that can manage many facets of farm accounting from inventories, field data, and ease of day to day input of accounting entries.

Reasons for switching to Traction

FarmWorks is a desktop software and although it has many capabilities that we use on a daily basis, it is limited to one person working on the software at a time which puts most of the work onto one person to keep up. From what I understand they are trying to phase out the desktop accounting software and go to a more online program but from what I can see it lacks being able to put in day to day transactions that give you true costs.

Matt

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Newer product striving to be the best software package for agriculture.

Overall, I am very pleased with traction, and I am excited to see how this software package evolves. I have tried many software packages and spreadsheets in the past, and none have come close to the ambitious goal of being the “one stop shop” for Farm management software

PROS

Farming software has always been segregated. Some dealt with financial data, and some dealt with field records. And for the most part, we were left on our own for accounting to use generic business software. But Traction aims to finally be the missing link between all these areas. It has an awesome accounting package, mixed with very capable field records, and a polished, completely online package. Also, they are continuously rolling out new features.

CONS

Like any new software, even my own spreadsheets, there is a learning curve to adjust to the thought process behind many tasks. Fortunately, Traction provides fantastic support, whether by a live person, or videos, to guide me through the learning process.

Reasons for switching to Traction

QuickBooks is fine software for general business needs. However, Farm accounting can be highly specialized. Traction was designed with with farmers in mind

Monica

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Farmworks user converted to Traction

From the start of looking for software to replace Farmworks and making the first phone call to [SENSITIVE CONTENT] I have not been disappointed. Everyone I have talked to at Traction has been very helpful and easy to work with. The file movement from my Farmworks to Traction went very smoothly. Any questions I have had there has been videos to help me get my issues solved. Would highly recommend this software.

PROS

The Accounting is my favorite. It is easy to use. Just clicking on the transaction to make a change to it or delete it works wonderful. Bringing up a previous transaction is also a plus to not have to reenter all the info, only change the check no, date and dollar amt. Reconciliation is also easy to use. Also use the Farm Ops to record field records. Works well to track what was done on each field such as what was sprayed, what seed was planted on which fields, or tillage that was done and harvest info.

CONS

I haven't found a least favorite yet as I have only been a user since January of 2022.

Reasons for switching to Traction

I purchased a new laptop and needed an updated version of Farmworks and came to find out it no longer existed. I made a call to a Farmworks salesman and he gave me the Traction website to take a look at.

Lisa

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Loving the ease of set up

Love the software for its common sense approach and all the support has been great!

PROS

So far, I have watched the you tube videos and am in the process of moving over our accounting software to TractionAg. It has been so easy and the support is excellent. Never have had to wait for help and they answer and help explain the "why's" of how it is set up, which helps me remember and just makes sense. Very easy to use so far and their willingness to help me a long has been great.

CONS

The only thing would be that not everything is completely available yet, but is coming. But in a way this makes it easier to get it up and going because you understand the basics first. The rest will be fine-tuning and they ask for opinions on how we would like to see it. Was dreading making this switch, but it really has been an easy transition so far.

Reason for choosing Traction

This software is more detailed and had more to offer for the accounting and inventory side of things

Reasons for switching to Traction

Farmworks is phasing out

Randy

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Farm works, the next generation

I have just been using traction ag for less than a month and my only issue is that I wish I would have found it 3 months ago. I really have not found an issue that could not be worked around with the teams help.

PROS

The fact that it transfers the Farm Works information so well is great. And the team at traction ag is fantastic at helping and problem solving. I let my accountants look at my information and they were very pleased and that makes me happy.

CONS

Because of the programs newness and my short time with using it, I have found things I would like but maybe not gotten into it deep enough to find what I was looking for. From what I have seen so far though, this team will fix any and all issue's that come up

Reasons for switching to Traction

Traction Ag is going to fill some holes that I was having with Farm Works

Joe

Dairy, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Great developing farm management software with superb customer service

For a program under development, it has been great so far and it is exciting to see new features with each new software update. It is reassuring to know that the company is small enough to listen to customer suggestions.

PROS

The customer service is amazing, and the online chat is helpful. The cloud based program is useful for different people to access it from different computers and devices.

CONS

Due to the early stages of software development, some of the features such as crop enterprises and payroll are not yet part of the program.

Reasons for switching to Traction

FarmWorks was more focused on the Trimble products than on the accounting software in recent years.

Larry

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

January 2023 review of Traction for our farm

Staff has been very detailed and excellent to work with. They have several videos available to assist in set up, designs and functions of their software. They also will respond very quickly on the chat box or via video conference call.

PROS

I really like the ability to quickly enter income and expense items with full data to reflect proper inventory and financial management. Also the ability to link in to our bank accounts and upload invoices and crop settlements, which can easily be revisited and printed at later dates. Revisiting the detailed invoices on equipment repairs comes in very handy in verifying parts installed on equipment.

CONS

Traction is working on taking data to the machinery management level that I desire to have, such as filters, parts inventories linked to equipment models that we own. Also maintain equipment records, hopefully can tie into equipment manufacture's maintenance record templates at some point. Then all my records would be in one location.

Reason for choosing Traction

easier to setup, auto link to bank accounts, several staff members were from Farm Works- so they knew what customers needed.

Reasons for switching to Traction

Farm Works was discontinued by the new owner and the software was becoming out dated in technology.

Dan

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Traction Ag Software

My overall experience has been very good. Whenever I have came across a problem or have a suggestion the whole team at Traction has been very well receptive. I have no doubt this program will develop into the "go to" program for farmers and managers alike.

PROS

It is developing into a one stop shop for all my farms accounting, crop records and payroll needs. Very simple and quick data entry and the support has been awesome. My bank and credit card accounts tied into Traction, with one click of a button the transactions get loaded into Traction. Saves time with data entry.

CONS

Traction is what I feel on the ground floor with a huge upside potential. There are some features not available yet but I feel they will get addressed. It is lacking the ability to import and manage different GIS maps and develop precision ag prescriptions and map layers.

Reasons for switching to Traction

Farm Works by Trimble has reached its end of life with no more updates. I needed a program that I could trust and having it on the cloud gives me great flexibility.

Sam

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Easy to Learn, Easier to Use

Traction has simplified our accounting, field records, inventories and grain storage tracking. by bringing it into one program, instead of multiple spreadsheets.

PROS

I can see field by field profit and write a check with just a few clicks.

CONS

Adding field records would be better if I could apply to multiple fields at the same time but input a specific amount of acres for each field that was partially covered.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the suggestion. We'll add a ticket feature request for bulk field records with partial field acreage and see about fixing that in the future. Much appreciated!

Replied June 2023

Steve

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Traction Ag by S&KA

Dashboard view and drill down is awesome! Traction Ag is new and we can grow with them and don’t have to learn it all at once! It is truly built for agriculture and we don’t have to tweak an of the shelf software to trick it to work for ag.

PROS

Taking a pic of invoice and ability to drill down in check register to that invoice easily!

CONS

Changing from our old software and getting hole farm to commit to changing to something new and different

Reason for choosing Traction

Good people I knew and trust. And I fell I might have a voice in what is needed for good financial accounting and record keeping for agriculture.

Reasons for switching to Traction

It was not going to keep growing with us and updating, and was an old one user software and not as portable as Traction Ag is.

Casey

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Traction Review

PROS

Ease of use, mobile access, customer support

CONS

Being so new, there are times I run into issues that involve software techs to research to help me resolve. It is always timely but can be a pain

Reasons for switching to Traction

Outdated software

Lillian

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Traction Software Review

It has fit the void in an easy to use ag accounting and management software. Great customer support.

PROS

It is easy to set up and easy to use. The software has a good basis for accounting and draws in the field operations and inventory use. The customer support is great.

CONS

A work in progress but worth waiting for each aspect that is coming out every couple of months.

Reasons for switching to Traction

The software I was using was no longer being supported by the company and this has been a much better fit for what I needed than what I had before.

Phil

Farming, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Cloud based farm accounting software

PROS

Easy to setup and use. Access from any device.

CONS

Not all features of Farmworks are available yet. Traction assured me that those features are coming with time.

Reasons for switching to Traction

Trimble is pulling the plug on the old Farmworks desktop software.

Traci

Farming, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.