All Unity Reviews

1-25 of 831 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Bobby

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed September 2021

Still learning and loving it!

User Profile

Fernando Manoel

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Best game creation engine I know

So far Unity is exceeding my expectations in every process.

PROS

Creating a game with Unity is quite easy and exciting because you don't need to be an expert in game development. The tutorials and walkthroughs show very clearly each step of the process. Creating integrations with other tools is also a task that doesn't take much of your time.

CONS

I didn't delve too deeply into the process of developing complex games, so I haven't felt any lack or difficulty in using the engine. So far the tool is great for me.

Reason for choosing Unity

Easy to install. Many tutorials. The free version is excellent and provides all the tools you need to create amazing games.

Michael

Computer Games, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Intuitive Game Development Environment

I've loved working in this engine for the past 8 years or so -- adding scripts to game objects naturally mirrors the MVC design pattern to an extent. It feels just like putting brains inside bodies, and the whole process is a bit like creating lots of little tiny robot workers to do your job for you and talk to each other. It's as intuitive as playing Checkers; anyone who understands the bare essentials of programming with for loops, if statements, and so forth will have no trouble picking this up. Scripts are small and self-contained -- I rarely write one over 400 lines long, and many are under 200 lines. I've put out a number of casual games with it. Prefabs are useful also -- think of them as visual Classes that you instantiate. You create a game object, put whatever you want on it (scripts, components, children, whatever), drag it anywhere into the window on the bottom center, and it becomes a "factory" that can make copies of itself. One of my favorite code features is the concept of Coroutines -- Unity's way of writing asynchronous methods with a specified delay between one part of a method and another. Want to write an infinite loop that doesn't jam up your processor? No problem -- just create a Coroutine method (type IEnumerator) and add a "yield return new WaitForSeconds (0.5f);" statement inside that loop and it will only iterate every half-second, for example. Unfortunately, cryptic errors outside of my code tend to pop up from time to time, but those usually go away with exiting and reopening Unity. It's also quite a process to migrate your code to a mac for iOS distribution, but isn't it always? Overall, despite the little bugs, slow load times, and over-reliance on plugins, it's a great engine for your 2D or 3D (with each having their own physics systems) game development needs.

PROS

-Very easy to grasp the game object / component / script system. -Simple to switch between platforms -C# is a high level language, easy for beginners and advanced programmers to pick up. -Automatic garbage collection (but you still need to make sure it's invoked sparingly) -Great break point debugging system with Visual Studio

CONS

-Bloated, slow, and mildly buggy -Plugins will often conflict with each other and give duplicate library errors when building for iOS -Over-reliance on plugins -Not great for web games; OpenGL is extremely slow to load, and it's like Unicron, devouring browser memory

Reasons for switching to Unity

Multiplatform game development was fairly new back in 2012, and Unity felt like an evolutionary step further than Flash and Haxe. Flash was also dying.

Shasta

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Ideal for rapid prototyping

I approached Unity aware of it's biggest faults, and have had an overall easy time getting acclimated to it. It has become my go to tool for rapid prototyping, and each major update has only made it faster and easier to use.

PROS

It's hard to best unity for rapid complex prototyping of non-standard ideas. Engines like Unreal can be good if you want a game that fits it's molds, but if you want to break out of the box Unity offers a lot more options.

CONS

The outdated user interface, and massive backlog of training material can make it difficult to learn Unity at times. It is much better to find a recent course for an LTE version than it is to simply hit up youtube because quite a lot has changed for the better overtime.

Reasons for switching to Unity

I needed something that offered faster universal prototyping.

Georgios

Maritime, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Unity review

Unity is a very useful program for creating apps and games. For me is the best in the market at this moment. My total experience by using Unity is very positive until now.

PROS

Very easy for creating quality apps. The 3d graphics for the games is the best. I add also in the positives the integration with Visual Studio.

CONS

The customer support is poor. Most of the games despite the excellent 3d graphics they have too many bugs during the gameplay.

Aidan

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Good 3D Engine for Low-Tier Devices

Unity is a good engine for lower-tier devices (laptop/mobile). It looks clean and professional so everything is easy to find. I would continue to use it for 3D games as long as I am focusing on smaller projects, otherwise I would look for something else with better graphics that are easier to set up.

PROS

Nav-mesh pathfinding is a breeze to use. With some knowledge of how it works (1-2 tutorials) its possible to have objects navigating around the map within ten minutes. The Unity documentation is very good.Physics engine is very fast on low-tier devices (laptops/mobile)

CONS

I really dislike the animation system as it is. I have only ever been able to animate one thing, after nearly a dozen different attempts. I have also had multiple issues with shaders and collaboration tools breaking all of my in-game textures. I was forced to re-texture every single object (100+) by hand. If you are using both, DEFINITELY check if there are any critical shader issues before choosing a version for your project. Doesn't look great without a lot of work in writing your own custom shaders. The asset packs and templates are pricy.

Reason for choosing Unity

Unity is a little less heavyweight than the Unreal Engine, so it runs better on lower-tier computers. I was also more familiar with C#/javascript, so it was easier for me to get started.

User Profile

Mahek

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Perfect Game Engine

PROS

The collaboration tool offered by unity is the best thing about it we can easily collaborate with other developers on the same project with the pro version of it. The Unity asset store is another amazing thing about unity we and get the free and paid assets from there both 2D & 3D. It supports various types of tracing for AR and a Web AR and AR experience could be built using unity.

CONS

The errors are difficult to handle some times specifically regarding he memory issue. The issues regarding the os are more complex to understand wen working on a XR experience. The Assets panel is the most difficult thing to understand for a beginner.

Reasons for switching to Unity

The capability were the issue with unity and that was the biggest reason behind the shift.

User Profile

Taylor

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Unity - Way of the Future

The graphics are mind blowing. Compared to other game creating platforms. Unity gives me the most variety to do just about anything i want to do in creation. When I am stuck on a problem, the forms come in handy to talk to other unity Developers and Creators to see how they solved there problems and help with mine at times. Overall, I am having a blast with this company

PROS

Using 3D Graphics, Simplicity, Do not have to only use C++ coding, Button and Control layout is easy to understand.

CONS

The extent of what you can do is overwhelming. Customer Support is not active 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Updates, depending on what you have used from unity can break your game and a new technique must be used.

Reason for choosing Unity

Price and creative options the product would let me do to create my game just the way i needed it to work.

User Profile

Ach

Verified reviewer

Animation, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

You can't Go wrong with Unity, a lot of resources and a good starter if you are new to game making

Over all I love it, Everything you need is in there, plus it has a huge community to learn alot of different skills on it from free to paid courses and tutorials ! You can't Go wrong

PROS

Definitely a steal, this engine is so powerful and it has a very large community, everything you need is in it, plus it has frequent updates

CONS

Unity Academy is behind a paywall IDK if it is still the case but it was a turn off like I understand you want to have cash flow but still If I want to use your Engine I need to learn it. The fact that so many files only works under a certain version of Unity, Working like me with different Devs. I filled my SSD with different Unity versions to be able to manipulate the different games the company is working on.

Reasons for switching to Unity

At the time Unreal was paid and didn't have such a big community as unity does. I may jump between the two engines from time to time

User Profile

Kaarel

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

The simplest way to building games

Very friendly community and always apt to answer questions.

PROS

Unity has a small learning curve, but is extremely powerful. All the content to learn game development in Unity is out there and you do not need to pay any money to master it. It's free and has a huge community!

CONS

Unity gets fairly frequent updates and upgrading to a new version of Unity while maintaining your project can become a hassle. They have solved this issue with the introduction of LTS versions.

Reason for choosing Unity

Unity requires a less powerful machine to run.

User Profile

Surya

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Best 3D Game Development Engine

Game designing is very easy in this software even for non programmers because they provide visual scripting option too.

PROS

It offers free plan to users and has almost all the features needed to build a small or large AAA game. Best thing is that they offer comprehensive collections of assets.

CONS

Error handling is frustrating in this software. Suppose if a random error occurs because of importing any plugin/asset then it will ruin the entire project and it is very tough to undo.

Reason for choosing Unity

Other softwares are not providing much options and customization in a easy to use manner.

Rubangakene

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

A Game Dev Engine to go for

Working with Unity Engine has brought me faster into the game development industry. Having a wide communities has made learning easy.

PROS

I like unity engine because of its well coordinated features which makes everything looks real. Just to mention, the particle system has a lot of simulations and physics components which makes creating of real world simulations easy.

CONS

I have always had issues while importing assets in unity from other 3D software like blender especially the PBR format. The material properties always go missing when imported to unity. I would love to see unity embed a 3D modelling feature in the coming future

Reasons for switching to Unity

I switched from the Unreal engine because it kind of has a complex Interface is hard to understand compared to Unity

Maynard John

Research, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

I can create games too! Game development made easy by Unity

Unity allowed me to enter and understand game development because it has lowered the barrier of entry for game development. It allowed my team and I to quickly iterate on our game ideas and play test it. Although there are hiccups, these may be addressed in the future and is not a deal breaker that would make me stop using Unity.

PROS

One of the reasons I admire Unity is that it has broken the barrier and the lessened learning curve needed to become a game developer. It is an approachable tool for anyone that is interested in becoming a game developer and want to learn how to use a game engine. Although I make it sound like something that new game developers use, the is so much more to Unity. Unity has been used to build multiple award winning games for the mobile and the PC platforms. Unity can be very beneficial for people in small teams or individuals working on 2D/3D/AR/VR games who don't have the resources to build their own game engine. It features multiple tools needed for you to create your game and get it out to the market, and it doesn't stop there as there are also tools for analytics on how your game is doing on the market. Examples of these tools are the All in one editor, AI, Animation, world builder, asset store, analytics, and monetization - basically there are too many to mention but I hope you get the idea. The feature I appreciate the most is its ability to allow for collaboration. Scenes, code, and other assets created by someone else collaborating in the project is conveniently reflected to yours and conflicts with these can easily be solved. And aside from that, I could easily create a rapid prototype of my idea and quickly iterate from it because of how easy it is to do on Unity. Lastly, Unity provides an extensive documentation of its functions and features video tutorials.

CONS

Unity has a weird way of upgrading. Whenever a new version of Unity is available, I am forced to download a different instance of unity, and this can take a lot of disk space and time. I also encountered instances where my project broke when upgrading unity and sometimes experience inconsistencies between versions. And something I've experienced on my low-end machine are crashes as the project became larger, which is understandable. Something that advanced game developers might have to consider though is that Unity uses their version of C# (and probably not a modern version of C#) which performs badly compared to C++ at multithreading.

User Profile

Juan Carlos

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

THE Game engine for videogames

I worked on several simulators on unity and we managed our goas thaks to this tool. We animated our models inside, programed the logic of a multiiplayer game on it and handled the assets via our .net code. Also we programed some devices out side thks to the blue tooth port by the .net port api. Some plug in on the asset store made our life easier like the scene transcitions one.

PROS

Really easy to use (if you know what a game means on terms of codification) Reallystic physc Collition handlling Ambien oclusion Paralex compatibility with material editors like sublime. Integrated animator. Export on several plataforms and devices Web port(beta) Several plans for prices (student , small team) Compatible with control version Compatibility with visual studio Compatibility with 3D like oculus ,etc. Unity asste store allows you to buy code that solve features you nee dto do Can create projectts that out put to computer ports. Compatibility with .net 2.0 And other sevral things that made unity one of the best video games engines.

CONS

Small curve of learing at the beging. The web build suck they are heavy and slow to charge but is a beta feature. The Vr plug in is expensive. The not compatibility from newer version to olders.

Reason for choosing Unity

Price and documentation.

Reasons for switching to Unity

Better compatibility with new devices

User Profile

Andrei

Verified reviewer

Computer Games, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2020

Great game engine for small-medium sized 2D and 3D game dev projects

Working with Unity is great for a prototype or a small 2D / 3D game. It performs much better than the competition because it's less bulky which unfortunately also leads to more limitations. It's a trade off. Their asset store is great and that can save up so much time, it's unbelievable. All in all it's a pretty fast paced work environment.

PROS

Unity has been around for several years now and it's perfected some of workflow for small and medium 2D and 3D games. Good pricing One of the best parts is that you can make games in Unity and not have to pay anything if you don't mind their logo appearing at the start and you don't earn more than 100k $ revenue per year. If you do go above the threshold or don't want the logo, the pricing starts at 40$ a month per user. Shorter development period Compared to the competition (such as Unreal Engine, CryEngine, Lumberyard) small-medium sized games in Unity have a shorter development time. This could partially be due to the fact that it uses C# as it's programming language for scripts. Another thing which could contribute to it is their "prefab" system in which someone can create anything and encapsulate it into a prefab which can then just be drag-dropped on another project and it would mostly work. Their asset store is full of them, and it's one really huge asset store. Huge community A big drawback with other game engines is their small community. Luckily, Unity has an enormous about of people using the software, some friendlier than others. Kinda clean UI The UI is pretty consistent and clean. I love a clean workspace and Unity is rather good at that.

CONS

Unity is known for having mainly 2 bad things: extremely bad support for multiplayer games and limitations once the project becomes too big. Regarding the multiplayer, there are built-in solutions one can buy off the asset store. Regarding the project's size, that can be fixed by adding a lot of instancing thus not creating a seamless world unfortunately. The community is big and that's a plus but unfortunately it's not amazingly mature. Unity Technologies is updating Unity quite a lot and that leads to a lot of useless tutorials and docs to follow. There's nothing worse than spending an hour or two following some instructions to find out that at the end you're stuck by not having the same menu/options as the other person. The animation blending too could use a lot more work and some of their behaviors are a bit bugged but noting too severe. The interface is too small on 4k screens. The scaling is quite horrible.

Tavakus

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

unity has to be the best gamming software out

PROS

is quite possibly of the most famous game motor, particularly for new autonomous engineers. A lot of enormous names have likewise been created on Unity like Pokémon Go, Assassins' Creed: Identity, and Angry Birds Epic. It's a notable stage in the gaming business and really a state of the art game motor, also free for more limited size projects. Solidarity offers both the instruments to foster your new game, in addition to the choice to test it too. The games are versatile for different stages, and it's not difficult to utilize, likely the fundamental purposes behind its prosperity. Contenders, for example, Unreal could have the edge in certain region, so it's critical to resolve which is the best game motor for you.

CONS

There should be a few disadvantages to picking Unity as a game motor, or there wouldn't be contenders. Certain elements have been portrayed as lacking by certain experts and it very well may be a stage behind several different stages. Here are a portion of the inconveniences of utilizing Unity. Not appropriate for difficult tasks Solidarity is great for fledglings and those at more significant levels of schooling, yet if you truly need to dive profound and work for a bigger scope, maybe another game motor could work for you. Stunning offers the choice to construct AAA games with a bigger scene of things on the screen immediately. Solidarity is most popular for versatile game turn of events. It relies upon the kind of undertaking you need to make. Begin without any preparation Solidarity doesn't offer the likelihood to construct your game from an establishment or layout. You need to begin without any preparation. While it gives a wide library of devices in the resources store, you'll have to make your game yourself.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Unity is a great engine for new and experienced game developers.

It made game development a lot easier. We actually created a virtual reality game and they even had full support for that out of the box when VR was in its early stages. I really enjoyed working in the engine compared to others I've used because of how much time it saved and how easy it was to work with.

PROS

Unity is very easy to pick up and play with right away. The tutorials on the website will allow you to create a fully working game within hours of first installing it. Unity also has a community store where you can buy art or programming assets to help you quickly prototype your game. It has a lot of built in features that are easy to work with as well. I've personally used the networking and it took something that was very intimidating at first and made it very easy to grasp and implement. You can build you game to a ton of different platforms including web, Xbox, Playstation, PC, and mobile just by clicking a button. Everything works out of the box. Unity also has a large community so finding answers to questions is pretty easy with a quick google search. The last pro I'll mention is the dev team seems to address issues with the engine quickly and they are constantly adding new features.

CONS

There isn't much I didn't like with unity. The only negative experience I had was when the engine started to crash after my project would be open for about an hour. It was an issue with my project specifically, because I had other projects that it didn't happen on. The customer support team didn't really do a great job getting back to me, I would wait weeks at a time for a response. That was a few years ago though, so things could have changed. The only other thing that was difficult in Unity was version control. This largely had to do with the binary files, and I don't know if other engines have a good solution for that. Unity does have a few packages in the store you can buy that are supposed to help but we had no luck with them.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Unity is changing the games industry for the better

Unity has opened up games development and made it accessible to many more people than ever before, it offers industry leading tools and capabilities with a relatively low cost of entry. The community and support network around Unity is second to none and many great games have been made with the platform.

PROS

When we started out in the games industry, there was a time when 90% of your development effort went into the creation of a bespoke "game engine" for whatever game you were making. 10% of the effort went on the unique elements of the game that you were working on. Unity has been part of a middleware wave that started around 20 years ago (such as Renderware, and many other engines before it) which provide a platform for game creation without positioning itself to being the master of a specific type of genre or game type. This has opened up the world of game development to hundreds of thousands of people, because now you no longer need the low-level expertise of developing a rendering engine, it's already there, and although it's maybe not as cutting edge as a bespoke engine of the bigger AAA titles, it is more than adequate for 99% of the games development world. Particularly indie studios who need low costing solutions to games development. Unity is great, it offers cutting edge graphics, amazing physics, animation, scripting and platform compatibility for a very reasonable price (it's free for personal use up until a certain amount of revenue) - it's simply not cost efficient any more to consider developing your own bespoke engine. And what's more, there's a huge and very helpful community of people out there who have probably faced any problem you encounter during development, a quick google and you have your answer.

CONS

Unity doesn't have many drawbacks, if anything it's maybe *too* easy to use in some cases and causes asset rippers (or "flippers") to be able to make and publish very low effort titles onto platforms such as Steam for a small profit. Sadly there's no real way of preventing this (and it's certainly not Unity's issue) Unity doesn't have many flaws, it could perhaps offer some better landscaping and world creation tools (a minor point) and it's 2d game creation abilities are definitely improving but not as good as it's 3d development side. Beyond that, Unity is a wonderful tool for any game developer and is here to stay for a very very long time. It just keeps improving.

User Profile

Abdennasser

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: