User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(356)

356

4 stars

(113)

113

3 stars

(14)

14

2 stars

(5)

5

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Unity Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 485 results

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Nabin from Curl Labs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Develop amazing, immersive and interactive 3D games

Unity is the leading game development engine that allows game development for major operating systems.

Pros

Games built on Unity can be exported for Windows, Linux, OSx, iOS, Android, Playstation, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, and popular AR and VR devices. Comes with a real-time 3D rendering capability and supports programing on C#. There is a free version for individuals and students making it more accessible to the starters.

Cons

Features like render textures and stencil buffer support are expensive. Difficult to optimize large games for performance. The longer learning curve with an old-fashioned user interface.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

We choose Unity over its alternative for its export capabilities, cheaper pricing, and availability of free personal licenses.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Because with Unity we are able to export the game for all major platforms and devices.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Luis Daniel from YCS PR Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Unity's for you!

I love it and use it daily to work on my own game. I have been with Unity for 4 years now and it's an amazing engine and getting better by the day. It's so easy a lot of people flip game/apps with how easy to use. I don't endorse that but it gives you an idea of how easy anyone can pick it up and build something.

Pros

Unity is one of the most easiest engines to use if you're starting with game development. Also if you previously have a C# background, it will be a breeze. The UI is simple but that can also be one it's downfalls. It's a lot inspector/tabs based but it's full-fledged. It's light and it's not as complex to work with like other engines. You can easily follow tutorials online to build games for it, and also Unity it's one of the best engines to build mobiles games if that's one of your desires. Compared to other engines like Unreal Engine, it's easy with Unity to find online support or groups of people that work with the engine and have tutorials. You can look for people on Youtube like Brackeys that can help you get started on your journey of game dev. Unity is free and has some paid tiers that offer a bit more flexibilities in some features, so look at them and take what you need.

Cons

I wish the paid tiers were a little cheaper and the subscription model could be month-to-month and can be canceled any time. One of the main reasons why I haven't got Unity Pro/Plus it's because my life cna be abrupt a lot of the times and I might need to cancel or pause the subscription, but they don't allow you to do that. Becuase if you're an indy dev, you have to do a lot of expenses and keep track of things. I really wish they did that. Also for full 3D games and really complex ones, Unreal engine is more powerful due to it's C++ nature.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

C# coding, price tiers and community support.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Scope for my project and simplicity of what I was going to do. Also knowing C#.

May 2020

David from Solanimus Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

It really was good, but that was years ago

Beginning to use Unity for our largest game to date at first seemed like a good decision but in the end turned out to be a tremendously damaging mistake. The version control systems broke entire project folders multiple times. The conversion formats were never transferable. It's not out of the question that Unity's lackadaisical attitude towards Nintendo's Wii U editor prevented hundreds of titles from releasing on that platform (they ended up two years behind schedule of making a functional version for Wii U development). When Windows 10 started force-installing, Unity did not have functional support for Windows 10 for far too long. When trying to use Unity again (of course outside of commercial games, because it's too unstable in my opinion for those) in game jams, it's routinely been put to shame because of being unusable even by experienced Unity developers.

Pros

When I first began using Unity, it was during Unity 4 and I considered it a wonderful editor to make 3D games. I greatly preferred the Unity approach at the time relative to Unreal. I initially learned how to use Unity by making a horror game for a 48-hour game jam over New Year's.

Cons

Unity these days is plagued by bugs and I haven't considered Unity "stable" in several years. The company routinely has glaring issues reported by users for years in a row without addressing them, instead opting to add new features, despite the underlying tech not working in the first place. Unity at this point is over-engineered, deeply unstable, and not even optimal in terms of features and usability compared to competitors.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

Pricing and platform support (at the time).

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Unity's feature set was excellent, and it seemed to allow a smaller amount of time for getting to market.

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Mahek from Facebook School of Innovation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Perfect Game Engine

Pros

The collaboration tool offered by unity is the best thing about it we can easily collaborate with other developers on the same project with the pro version of it. The Unity asset store is another amazing thing about unity we and get the free and paid assets from there both 2D & 3D. It supports various types of tracing for AR and a Web AR and AR experience could be built using unity.

Cons

The errors are difficult to handle some times specifically regarding he memory issue. The issues regarding the os are more complex to understand wen working on a XR experience. The Assets panel is the most difficult thing to understand for a beginner.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

The capability were the issue with unity and that was the biggest reason behind the shift.

September 2021

User Profile Picture

Joel from Tropic Tales

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Easy game development

It is really easy to learn and has a great assetstore where you can buy extentions to make the software even more powerful. You get several types of compiling in the main package so you would not have to pay extra just to compile a android app. So the open structure of the software makes it easy to get in and run the learning material and get going. I have been stuck to Unity since i tried it and love the asset system.

Pros

It is easy to work with, easy to learn and has a free entrypoint from where you can get into the software and learn. You only need a pro licence if you realease and earn.

Cons

The way they have split the versions in render pipelines. Sometimes i need to buy several asset types if i need to compile in several render pipelines.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Unity seemed more professional with more developers supporting it. Better price.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Taylor from Intelligence Pursuit Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

The game dev software I have been searching for

I have been able to create the games I have drafted on paper and it has also taken my coding skills to the next level learning coding techniques popular in game dev that were totally new to me. Their asset store has tons of free assets to get you going and building a prototype for a game very quickly if you have the coding skills to do so.

Pros

Writing code in C# and integration with Visual Studio or Visual Studio Code and the ability to run the game code with debugging turned on and setting break points to troubleshoot the code.

Cons

It takes patience to learn this software, but that was expected as this is a serious game dev product and not some drag-and-drop game creator. It was worth the effort and there are tons of resources online to help learn.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

Ease of use, free version, tons of online tutorials and sample code, and I have known some AAA titles made with Unity.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

I found Unity to be a little easier to navigate and I could program in C# language.

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Still learning and loving it!

my overall experience is very positive. The platform is constantly being updated and new tools and technologies are added all of the time. I love the community as well.

Pros

Unity has a wonderful and helpful community of professionals and newbies. I haven't felt nervous to ask any question there. The tools themselves are easy to understand if I give myself the time to learn them and concentrate. Also there are a lot of add ons and toolkits that can be had to make my ideas come to life.

Cons

I really found the different versioning of the software a bit confusing. There is a version manager where you can update Unity but it also allows you to keep an older version in case your app is effected by the updates in Unity. I had a few problems with uninstalling older versions and they took up a lot of space on my hard drive.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

I chose Unity over Unreal because of what my developer friends were suggesting. I wanted to keep it easy but I also wanted something that I could grow into. I feel that I made the correct choice.

February 2021

Antonio from TTB

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

The way to go for making your own game

Unity is the best solution to create video games and probably one of the easier ways to get into video game industry. We are trying to make a video game companion to our webcomic and have made a good headway, mostly because of the amazing community built around it.

Pros

Unity is the best when it comes to community support. Whenever you have a question, a hundred people have an answer. It is amazing to work when you know there are so many resources out there to help you out. Another big plus is the fact that there are so many assets that were created for Unity.

Cons

The learning curve is really bad. It took me days to understand simple concepts, but with time I was able to learn enough to actually create simple games.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

We chose Unity because of the number of available assets created for it. It looked like whatever we could need already existed and it would significantly improve our development time.

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Ach from Hadda Mohamed Achref

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Animation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

You can't Go wrong with Unity, a lot of resources and a good starter if you are new to game making

Over all I love it, Everything you need is in there, plus it has a huge community to learn alot of different skills on it from free to paid courses and tutorials ! You can't Go wrong

Pros

Definitely a steal, this engine is so powerful and it has a very large community, everything you need is in it, plus it has frequent updates

Cons

Unity Academy is behind a paywall IDK if it is still the case but it was a turn off like I understand you want to have cash flow but still If I want to use your Engine I need to learn it. The fact that so many files only works under a certain version of Unity, Working like me with different Devs. I filled my SSD with different Unity versions to be able to manipulate the different games the company is working on.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

At the time Unreal was paid and didn't have such a big community as unity does. I may jump between the two engines from time to time

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Surya from AEZOWIE INFOTECH SERVICES PRIVATE LIMITED

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Best 3D Game Development Engine

Game designing is very easy in this software even for non programmers because they provide visual scripting option too.

Pros

It offers free plan to users and has almost all the features needed to build a small or large AAA game. Best thing is that they offer comprehensive collections of assets.

Cons

Error handling is frustrating in this software. Suppose if a random error occurs because of importing any plugin/asset then it will ruin the entire project and it is very tough to undo.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

Other softwares are not providing much options and customization in a easy to use manner.

October 2020

Abhishek from Cascade Games

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

One of the best engines for game development

It is brilliant. And since it is free so I believe that any newcomer to the game Industry can take advantage of the game engine and move ahead

Pros

There are many pros to start with. In my opinion,the biggest pro is the number of users using the engine itself. (The maximum games submitted for game jams are made using unity). This has enormous advantages:- if you encounter any issues then probability is high that it's solution will be there on the net itself. Other advantages are :- 1.) the company is a billions dollars industry. So you can be assured of its future 2.) The free version is available which is as powerful as paid one (it costs to remove the unity logo) 3.) Many features are being added (either by developing itself or acquiring from third party) 4.) Bolt,a utility for click and code development is now available for unity at no extra cost, even for free version 5.) Roadmap is very promising 6.) Has been used for many hit games 7.) Most important:- the game size generated is quite small as compared to unreal engine 8.) Uses C#(for some this may be a disadvantage) 9.) Dark version is now available with free version

Cons

Engine is powerful but comes with few cons also 1.) Many face issues with C#(it is not as flexible as C++) 2.) UI in my opinion is quite tricky 3.) They sometimes itself get confused on roadmap of unity itself( they promised visual based code development environment but then suddenly they purchased bolt ) 4.) Access to engine source code is not available easily( but this will be demanded only by a small section of game developers) Otherwise the engine is fine

October 2020

Binigya from Hashstash

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Unity - Creating a new generation of Games and Game Developers

I really love Unity, and it has remained my default choice in making any game, be it a simple 2D platformer or a realistic Spaceship simulator. My experience with Unity has so far been fantastic, and I can honestly recommend it to anyone who wants to make games. It would not be an overstatement to say that Unity is responsible for the boom in the increasing number of game developers, and has made game development accessible to everyone, to a certain extent. It is a wonderful tool to learn and master, and with AR and VR seeping into mainstream apps and games, learning Unity seems to be a valuable skill for anyone to gain.

Pros

Unity is THE game engine you need to be using if you want to speed up your game development process. It makes deploying to multiple platforms a breeze, the User Interface is a delight and the games you can make with it are only bounded by your imagination. Here are some of the highlights of my most favorite things about Unity: - Great Community : You can find a great community for Unity everywhere, whether it be Reddit, Discord, Stack Overflow or its own forums. It really easy to get help and ideas on anything that you want to implement with it. This is by far Unity's greatest strength. - Learning Curve, UI/UX : Anyone can easily pick up Unity, and get started on making simple stuff really quickly. You can find tutorials and guides in any corner of the Internet and the UI is pretty much to-the-point and now with Visual Scripting via Bolt, the barrier to make great games is lowered even further. - Chock full of features : Unity is fully loaded with awesome features. In-built tools for rigging, animation, terrain generation, Lighting, AR/VR support and much much more. - The Asset Store : You can get pretty much everything you would need to make a game in here. Art, Code, Music, VFX, pretty much everything is up for grabs here, so that you outsource some aspects of your games if your are short on time and skill. It is a lifesaver. And there are plenty of high quality free assets here too.

Cons

There is little to not like about Unity. It has made game development accessible to many and is opening up new possibilities with its AR and VR toolset. But, there are a few niggles here and there as with any tool, some are minor and some are unfortunately, deal breaking. Some of the things that I like the least about Unity are: - Too much of Half Baked Features : Unity is full of features, but some of them are really not meant for production, and some are straight up confusing and keep changing with every version. The animation pipeline is frankly kind of complicated, with all the new tools that keep on changing. The HDRP/URP pipeline still doesn't support custom hand-written shaders. Switching between HDRP and URP can possibly break your project (Always have a backup ready!), and the Shader Graph and VFX Graph still need much work. And finally, the new DOTS system has been in development since couple of years and is still not production ready and complicated to learn. - Sub par Rendering when compared with competitors: When comparing Unity with AAA game engines like Unreal and CryEngine, the rendering pales in comparison. It has been fixed to some extent with HDRP, but still you need to do a lot of tinkering to get the graphics to look like what you get by default in Unreal Engine. - Web Deployment: Web Deployment is still not satisfactory as Web builds need to be of small size and run on mobile browsers too, both in which Unity fails.

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Andrei from JeFawk Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

Great game engine for small-medium sized 2D and 3D game dev projects

Working with Unity is great for a prototype or a small 2D / 3D game. It performs much better than the competition because it's less bulky which unfortunately also leads to more limitations. It's a trade off. Their asset store is great and that can save up so much time, it's unbelievable. All in all it's a pretty fast paced work environment.

Pros

Unity has been around for several years now and it's perfected some of workflow for small and medium 2D and 3D games. Good pricing One of the best parts is that you can make games in Unity and not have to pay anything if you don't mind their logo appearing at the start and you don't earn more than 100k $ revenue per year. If you do go above the threshold or don't want the logo, the pricing starts at 40$ a month per user. Shorter development period Compared to the competition (such as Unreal Engine, CryEngine, Lumberyard) small-medium sized games in Unity have a shorter development time. This could partially be due to the fact that it uses C# as it's programming language for scripts. Another thing which could contribute to it is their "prefab" system in which someone can create anything and encapsulate it into a prefab which can then just be drag-dropped on another project and it would mostly work. Their asset store is full of them, and it's one really huge asset store. Huge community A big drawback with other game engines is their small community. Luckily, Unity has an enormous about of people using the software, some friendlier than others. Kinda clean UI The UI is pretty consistent and clean. I love a clean workspace and Unity is rather good at that.

Cons

Unity is known for having mainly 2 bad things: extremely bad support for multiplayer games and limitations once the project becomes too big. Regarding the multiplayer, there are built-in solutions one can buy off the asset store. Regarding the project's size, that can be fixed by adding a lot of instancing thus not creating a seamless world unfortunately. The community is big and that's a plus but unfortunately it's not amazingly mature. Unity Technologies is updating Unity quite a lot and that leads to a lot of useless tutorials and docs to follow. There's nothing worse than spending an hour or two following some instructions to find out that at the end you're stuck by not having the same menu/options as the other person. The animation blending too could use a lot more work and some of their behaviors are a bit bugged but noting too severe. The interface is too small on 4k screens. The scaling is quite horrible.

December 2019

Aleksandra from YevvieART

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Unifying workflow

Regardless of the issues, Unity is a great starting point for beginners and professional studios, as well as for everyone who wants the simplicity in creating their own software. Chosen by many indie developers, Unity has provided me almost everything I needed to start creating my own game, and in less than a week from installation I had a basic system for the game ready for further development; all that with no prior experience in C# or Unity.

Pros

Unity handles all the files needed for creating software as well as game development. It's a powerful and customizable engine allowing to bring any creation into the world. Integration with the Asset Store allows anyone to choose from thousands of development-ready files, and provides a lot of them completely free of charge. Thanks to its tools there's no need for expensive plugins to create and export textures or 3D rigs, everything is available straight from the application.

Cons

In recent releases, Unity dropped the support of the pre-packaged code editor, MonoDevelop and replaced it with Visual Studio. For many users, including myself, that's a big issue, as Visual Studio's performance makes it impossible to create code on the go, when using less powerful hardware. MonoDevelop still can be accessed and integrated with Unity but the hassle with installing the crucial tool that is no longer updated may become a big turn off for many. The UI feels quite outdated for the program that is updated so often. Some things just don't work or don't make sense and it's hard to find any information regarding why.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Limitations of the commercial license for indie developers, small number of free assets matching the theme of the game.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Best tool for Newbie & Expert Game Developers

My overall experience with unity is quite good, as Ive been working as a Game Developer for over an year, it makes things easier to do, got alot of help through unity forums, and the asset store covers almost evert aspect of Game Development.

Pros

Things I like the most about unity is its user friendliness, the UI is easier to understood, is more RAM friendly, and the asset store will cover all your requirements if you dont have enough time to create everything from very scratch.

Cons

Cons about the software is its compatability issues, as it happened many times that the project starts misbehaving after new update, so i mostly avoid the tool upgrades.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

I will choose unity over other resources because of availability of both paid and free resources on asset store of unity, and is quite easier to use and manage however you want

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Unreal Engine UI is a bit difficult to be understood as a newbie, and is quite RAM eating software

October 2019

Panagiotis from MediaFlake Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Not just a game engine

I started by making my own game engine and related tools back at 1993-95, in DOS, using Assembly and Pascal. I was successful and I created some small games that we used to play with my friends from the neighborhood. Later I embraced the 3D Construction Kit, an early attempt to a commercial 3rd party game engine and editor. That was awesome and the era of digital creativity was just starting. After many years, when I created my own company and team of creatives, I was searching for a game engine to adopt as a development platform for us. It was the time before Unity become successful and famous and I remember that I payed for the license through my own PayPal account to the previous Unity's CEO PayPal directly, and got an installer attached in an email the next day. For some reason I had faith on that team of developers and their product (Unity) seemed to be just right on my needs and philosophy. I was a Windows developer at the time, but Unity came only for OSX back then. So I also purchased an iMac to be able to test the development with the Unity editor. So many years passed from then and I saw Unity grow, from nothing to the behemoth of a company that it is now. And their technologies and tools grow with them. My overall experience with Unity is great. Unity is extremely steady for such a huge development environment, and the editor's interface is well organized and has enough abstraction to make learning the environment easy and intuitive.

Pros

I guess many things that I like from Unity, is that the creators of this software keep an open mind as to what game technologies are and how they can be used. I always felt that I think in parallel with them. What I mean is that, I always thought that technologies used in games can be used in many more aspects of the society and I don't mean only for the entertainment media industries. The Unity authoring environment keeps this philosophy even after many years of their initial offering to the public. Being a truly open ended authoring environment, that allows the its users to be free as creators. With Unity almost anyone can build video games, interactive experiences, research applications, powerful media presentations, interactive media that cross boundaries between the digital and the physical. The interface of the Unity editor makes is easy to import various media types and connect them in an intuitive way, and it is also extendable via scripting, to make your own tools and workflows, if you need that extra mile in your pipeline. Another thing worth mentioning, is that from early on, the developers of Unity, understood that community driven solutions are also a great way to extend a product. So they created the Unity Asset Store, in which they curate a vast collection of tools and content that is created daily from the creatives that support the Unity community. That adds a lot of value to the product both ways, user and supplier.

Cons

Unity in general is an excellent software and is offered in tiers that relate well to any level of user. From the free to the professional and beyond, the price is right and the features are awesome. In reality, I don't have a specific bad thing to mention about Unity, but from my experience I can guess what might count as a negative to some subset of its users. First of all, and topmost at the forums and discussions, is that Unity now is a huge company and not the kind of company that was when they started at the beginning. This brings positive value, as Unity now can offer much more platforms for the creators to bring their projects and to provide a vast amount of technologies and workflows for any creative person or team at any industry. But to have all that, a company has to be huge, and with that comes a little de-personalization in the company-to-customer affairs. That means that a user needs patience when it comes to receiving support from Unity, especially on technical issues. Personally I don't mind and I accept the trade of personalization in order to have a very powerful interactive media authoring environment, that can really make whatever I wanted it to make. After all, if you need urgent person-to-person support, there is a paid option for that too, so professionals who really need that service, can get that too.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

Unity offered an open-minded philosophy on what interactive media is and they look beyond the horizon of making video games, linking technologies and industries to create an authoring environment like no other, where the only limit is your imagination.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Unity offered a more open-minded solution that feel parallel with my philosophy on creativity and the digital media industries. Their business model and price tiers are accessible for my company. It allows me to experiment in various fields without prior knowledge and to create prototypes very fast together with a remote team.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Juan Carlos from Empower Data

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

THE Game engine for videogames

I worked on several simulators on unity and we managed our goas thaks to this tool. We animated our models inside, programed the logic of a multiiplayer game on it and handled the assets via our .net code. Also we programed some devices out side thks to the blue tooth port by the .net port api. Some plug in on the asset store made our life easier like the scene transcitions one.

Pros

Really easy to use (if you know what a game means on terms of codification) Reallystic physc Collition handlling Ambien oclusion Paralex compatibility with material editors like sublime. Integrated animator. Export on several plataforms and devices Web port(beta) Several plans for prices (student , small team) Compatible with control version Compatibility with visual studio Compatibility with 3D like oculus ,etc. Unity asste store allows you to buy code that solve features you nee dto do Can create projectts that out put to computer ports. Compatibility with .net 2.0 And other sevral things that made unity one of the best video games engines.

Cons

Small curve of learing at the beging. The web build suck they are heavy and slow to charge but is a beta feature. The Vr plug in is expensive. The not compatibility from newer version to olders.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

Price and documentation.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Better compatibility with new devices

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Dreams comes True with Unity 3D

I always wanted to do game development though I am not in the field of Computer related Engineering but still Unity helped me a lot to make my dream come true. I use it not everyday but atleast in a week and have developed so many basic and some mid-range games in which mostly games are 3d open world, so I can say that making an open world game is really more preferable with Unity 3d. I would suggest every newbie to try Unity atleast once if he just wants to develop a game for not a big purpose. Though testing the Unity games on an android device is quite harmful as it may drain battery because Unity 3d cannot export the optimized game for all devices. So many big companies are using Unity 3d for big purpose too but they have a team of specialists who knows coding really well but an indie developer can't do any big with Unity but can surely try his hands on it.

Pros

I have always had a passion of Game development and was so much interested in making my own game for fun, Unity 3d helped me a lot doing this in last few years. Unity 3D is one of the best Game Development Engine out there which is open for everyone. The download and setup for Unity 3D is really easy. Unity 3d doesn't require a much memory though to keep it working on a flow we should have atleast 8gb of ram. Unity 3d supports almost every 3d model format. There are a lot of features already present in Unity 3d like to make a terrain or a plain and there are almost every essential geometrical shapes present. Unity 3d has a Professional-looking User interface which makes the work even more exciting. Unity 3d has an asset store from where we can get so many useful models, animations, scripts etc which are quite helpful in quick development purpose. Though there is a lot of work to do in game development to get the best outcome, Unity makes every outcome worth the effort and atleast satisfies us. The best part of Unity 3d is that it can export the game project to a windows .exe file, android app file and for so many other platforms including Consoles. With Unity 3d, we can make 3d as well as basic and even advanced 2d games which are more interesting though requires a hard and detailed work. Unity 3d has the power that so many big company names are developing Battle Rpyale Games with it. Unity 3d Games are quite easy to load and hence gives a high quality output.

Cons

Although Unity 3d has a professional user interface but it's way of working that is C# coding is pretty much tough and requires a good coder though it is a problem only if you target to develop a unique and a big game. Unity 3d has almost all the amazing features but the output sometimes doesn't worth it(not always), as per as my own personal experience I can say that the games made with Unity 3d are not well optimized to work in different types of devices and especially if we are exporting the game project to work on Android, it is not that much optimized which results in battery drain of some devices though this bad affect is nearly negligible in a new and powerful Android device. Unity has an asset store which is useful but the prices are like bad jokes to the newbies in Game development and for small businesses too, the prices are really high. The setup of Unity for basic use is simple but to export the game projects to Android, it is quite difficult to set everything up. Sometimes it can't support the high texturized models or can't optimize the overall game to work fluent with those models.

July 2019

Sean from Faith Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Unity is a great alternative to Unreal

Its been great. I don't have a finished product that is to be published yet, but Unity has given me all the tools necessary to do so!

Pros

Being able to create games is an amazing ability. and Unity makes it a possibility. - The graphics are amazing - The amount of tutorials on the internet allow you to become very familiar with the product in very little time. - The possibilities are only limited by your own imagination and or computing power lol - The licensing deals when you actually get around to publishing your game are very reasonable.

Cons

Like most high-end game creation software, the demand for a computer with great processing power and expensive video cards is a must. If your machine isn't up to the task, creation using Unity can be troublesome. Unreal engine has more in-depth tutorials online and their node system is very easy to learn but Unity does a good job making a name for it's self against the giant that is EPIC Games.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

Game maker is a great product but it can be limiting. Opposed to Unity, which is limitless, it was a no brainer.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Adobe is not only crazy expensive, but the Actionscript 3.0 I was working with in Adobe Flash just seemed clunky, limited, and hard to learn.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Gonzalo from Freelance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Where the Indie game developers thrive

Unity is overall a beautiful piece of software that came to do much of the heavy lifting on low-level tech stuff, allowing smaller teams to develop faster and better games in less time, opening the market to more and more people worldwide.

Pros

Unity is, out of the box, a beautiful piece of software. Is the kind of middleware that arrives and does the job, the missing link that most of Indie and small game development teams were looking for. Unity has made it simple and easy to develop a game for beginners and experienced users alike and the most important, allowing you to build your game to a plethora of platforms. Now a small team of developers and artists can build and publish a game in several platforms in no time. Unity does great for small and mid-sized projects, I really enjoy prototyping with Unity, even when I know I won't use it for the project itself I like to use Unity to build prototypes because it's easy and fun. The interface is really easy to use, a real playground for developers and artists alike. Their documentation is vast, well-written and constantly updated. Same with the API documentation and the tutorials that will walk you through making a game end-to-end in few hours, the community forum is also helpful when something is not working and you can't work your head around it. The Unity store has also proved useful when I didn't have the time or knowledge to develop some assets I needed for the game. Unity was also helpful in developing apps beyond games, like architectural explorations, interactive art installations, AR showrooms, etc. Overall a great engine that does much of the heavy lifting for you.

Cons

Sometimes I felt that the process of upgrading was quite difficult and scary, you have to install a separate instance of the program (taking a lot of space) and some of the projects can be really difficult to adapt to the new version. Some of the assets will stop working and you will find your console full of errors that weren't there before. Another issue is version control, the binaries are pain and still, I haven't found any alternative than committing blindly the scenes, for example, without being able to track what changed from commit to commit. After a few projects, I have found that the app optimization for mobiles is not that great. For example, if you don't meticulously take care of the textures and assets max resolution you can end up with an app weighing a few hundred megabytes. Could be great if the build itself included some optimization towards the assets.

June 2019

Maynard John from De La Salle University

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

I can create games too! Game development made easy by Unity

Unity allowed me to enter and understand game development because it has lowered the barrier of entry for game development. It allowed my team and I to quickly iterate on our game ideas and play test it. Although there are hiccups, these may be addressed in the future and is not a deal breaker that would make me stop using Unity.

Pros

One of the reasons I admire Unity is that it has broken the barrier and the lessened learning curve needed to become a game developer. It is an approachable tool for anyone that is interested in becoming a game developer and want to learn how to use a game engine. Although I make it sound like something that new game developers use, the is so much more to Unity. Unity has been used to build multiple award winning games for the mobile and the PC platforms. Unity can be very beneficial for people in small teams or individuals working on 2D/3D/AR/VR games who don't have the resources to build their own game engine. It features multiple tools needed for you to create your game and get it out to the market, and it doesn't stop there as there are also tools for analytics on how your game is doing on the market. Examples of these tools are the All in one editor, AI, Animation, world builder, asset store, analytics, and monetization - basically there are too many to mention but I hope you get the idea. The feature I appreciate the most is its ability to allow for collaboration. Scenes, code, and other assets created by someone else collaborating in the project is conveniently reflected to yours and conflicts with these can easily be solved. And aside from that, I could easily create a rapid prototype of my idea and quickly iterate from it because of how easy it is to do on Unity. Lastly, Unity provides an extensive documentation of its functions and features video tutorials.

Cons

Unity has a weird way of upgrading. Whenever a new version of Unity is available, I am forced to download a different instance of unity, and this can take a lot of disk space and time. I also encountered instances where my project broke when upgrading unity and sometimes experience inconsistencies between versions. And something I've experienced on my low-end machine are crashes as the project became larger, which is understandable. Something that advanced game developers might have to consider though is that Unity uses their version of C# (and probably not a modern version of C#) which performs badly compared to C++ at multithreading.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

A great engine for small to mid-range project

We had a great time working on Unity, we pushed the engine to its limit at the time and this allowed us to be featured in many show at Unity's booth. However, as we switched to Unreal3D for the following project, we found a better fit for our needs in that engine. Unity would still be perfect if we had to go work on a less demanding project, less demanding platform and/or 2D projects.

Pros

Unity3D is an easy to understand engine, with an intuitive organisation that allow any new developer to get a grip quickly on a new project. Things are getting more complicated as you progress, but support from the community of users makes it easier. The architecture of the folders is simple and allow raw assets to get along easily with integrated ones. This engine is perfect for 2D project and coming up with a prototype in a quick and efficient manner. Starting a 3D project will require more time and optimizations, but the latest versions of the engine are getting better at this.

Cons

The main challenge we encountered with our project on Unity was, at the time, the port of the game to consoles. It was very demanding and a lot of updates on the engine were breaking TRC/XR, meaning that we had to wait for fixes before being able to send the builds to console manufacturers and get them certified. On top of that, the engine is trying to compete with other advanced 3D engines, but lack the optimization and "game oriented" architecture that you can find in the heart of other known engines available on the market. This is a great engine for small/mid-ranged project but should be avoided for bigger project that would involve advanced 3D rendering.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Unity is changing the games industry for the better

Unity has opened up games development and made it accessible to many more people than ever before, it offers industry leading tools and capabilities with a relatively low cost of entry. The community and support network around Unity is second to none and many great games have been made with the platform.

Pros

When we started out in the games industry, there was a time when 90% of your development effort went into the creation of a bespoke "game engine" for whatever game you were making. 10% of the effort went on the unique elements of the game that you were working on. Unity has been part of a middleware wave that started around 20 years ago (such as Renderware, and many other engines before it) which provide a platform for game creation without positioning itself to being the master of a specific type of genre or game type. This has opened up the world of game development to hundreds of thousands of people, because now you no longer need the low-level expertise of developing a rendering engine, it's already there, and although it's maybe not as cutting edge as a bespoke engine of the bigger AAA titles, it is more than adequate for 99% of the games development world. Particularly indie studios who need low costing solutions to games development. Unity is great, it offers cutting edge graphics, amazing physics, animation, scripting and platform compatibility for a very reasonable price (it's free for personal use up until a certain amount of revenue) - it's simply not cost efficient any more to consider developing your own bespoke engine. And what's more, there's a huge and very helpful community of people out there who have probably faced any problem you encounter during development, a quick google and you have your answer.

Cons

Unity doesn't have many drawbacks, if anything it's maybe *too* easy to use in some cases and causes asset rippers (or "flippers") to be able to make and publish very low effort titles onto platforms such as Steam for a small profit. Sadly there's no real way of preventing this (and it's certainly not Unity's issue) Unity doesn't have many flaws, it could perhaps offer some better landscaping and world creation tools (a minor point) and it's 2d game creation abilities are definitely improving but not as good as it's 3d development side. Beyond that, Unity is a wonderful tool for any game developer and is here to stay for a very very long time. It just keeps improving.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

An incredibly easy to use piece of kit. A truly expansive and versatile engine.

It encouraged me to learn a new skill while I was a teen, programming. This is incredible useful and I have been using it since to create applications and even prototypes within the Unity engine.

Pros

Where do I start with this incredible software. Firstly, would be the scripting capability within the engine. It uses C# which is a managed language based on the .NET framework. This underlying framework in conjunction with the Unity API introduces a lot of useful features for keeping your code clean and concise while also being highly performant. This also includes the ability to create custom editor windows within the Unity Editor which can be customised to fit a specific need, streamlining your workflow. Secondly would be the newly introduced High Definition and Lightweight pipelines. They are preset way of rendering the screen which can either produce high fidelity graphics if you are targeting high end platforms or can be used for a more simplistic look if you are targeting low end mobile phones and tablets. These are highly expandable and can be adapted on a per-project basis to get just the look that you want. Thirdly would be the massive array of platforms that Unity can export your game to. This includes but is not limited to, PC/Mac/Linux, Android/iOS as well as consoles soon including the Switch among others. This allows you to quickly deploy to different platforms so they can be uploaded to the cloud and downloaded by your players.

Cons

Unfortunately, a piece of kit this large is not without its drawbacks. One of these being that the dark theme can only be accessed by those holding a Unity Plus subscription. This means that those with slightly poorer eye sight may struggle to read the text throughout the user interface. Another con would be that currently, the Unity interface does not currently scale in size when used on high resolution monitors. This leads to an incredibly hard to read user interface and can become very straining on the eyes after just a short session. However this is soon to be fixed in an upcoming Unity version.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Unity is a great engine for new and experienced game developers.

It made game development a lot easier. We actually created a virtual reality game and they even had full support for that out of the box when VR was in its early stages. I really enjoyed working in the engine compared to others I've used because of how much time it saved and how easy it was to work with.

Pros

Unity is very easy to pick up and play with right away. The tutorials on the website will allow you to create a fully working game within hours of first installing it. Unity also has a community store where you can buy art or programming assets to help you quickly prototype your game. It has a lot of built in features that are easy to work with as well. I've personally used the networking and it took something that was very intimidating at first and made it very easy to grasp and implement. You can build you game to a ton of different platforms including web, Xbox, Playstation, PC, and mobile just by clicking a button. Everything works out of the box. Unity also has a large community so finding answers to questions is pretty easy with a quick google search. The last pro I'll mention is the dev team seems to address issues with the engine quickly and they are constantly adding new features.

Cons

There isn't much I didn't like with unity. The only negative experience I had was when the engine started to crash after my project would be open for about an hour. It was an issue with my project specifically, because I had other projects that it didn't happen on. The customer support team didn't really do a great job getting back to me, I would wait weeks at a time for a response. That was a few years ago though, so things could have changed. The only other thing that was difficult in Unity was version control. This largely had to do with the binary files, and I don't know if other engines have a good solution for that. Unity does have a few packages in the store you can buy that are supposed to help but we had no luck with them.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Angelo from Influo Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

The most complete game engine

My overall experience with Unity is more than satisfactory. I was able to develop and publish a handful of games, from a simple hyper-casual game to an elaborated multiplayer online game. Unity has given me the possibility to live developing games and although it's not always perfect it is very, very close.

Pros

Since its conception Unity has opened the game industry doors for everybody. What seemed to be a very distant dream has become a reality. And with the advent of the indie developers, Unity has been raising the bar even further, launching world-class features, pumping the engine with AAA quality tools. What I like most in Unity is the mission to "democratize" game development, enabling developers to create from the most simple to the most robust game. With its Asset Store, it is possible to extend the engine's functionality and there are plugins that allow users to develop games without writing a single code.

Cons

Creating simple games is quite easy in Unity, there are tons of materials online and they even offer courses. But to take bigger steps it's another story. Although having tools that allow development without writing a single code, it's difficult to be able to deploy a high-quality game if you don't know computer science. And because Unity focuses too much energy advertising for starter users, there's not much quality material and courses for intermediate users who wants to take that higher step.

April 2019

Lee from Reach Evolved

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Is unity the best Game engine?

When I was considering a game engine for my projects I looked at several different engines such as Unity, Unreal, and CryEngine. By far the easiest engine to use was Unity. There were many people telling me that Unreal would offer better graphics capability but with the advances to the Unity platform, it is getting to pretty even. With the new pipelines that Unity has in place, a developer can choose the pipeline that makes sense for the type of game they want to build. From tiny games to full-featured high-end games Unity has an option for the pipeline. Overall, I am very happy with the Unity platform and will continue to use it for my development projects. I particularly like that with the available paid assets in the asset store even if you can’t program very well you can get a visual scripting extension and still make a complete game using node-based programming.

Pros

Pros Unity is really easy to get started with. There are a number of tutorials online made by Unity that allow you to learn while doing. The game engine has access to an asset store that currently has many free assets available for download to use in your projects. Over the past few years, Unity is continuing to develop a better engine with more tools to help developers make great games no matter the skill level.

Cons

Cons It’s not really a Con but if you create a product that nets you more than $100,000 in revenue you have to upgrade to plus or pro versions that have a monthly fee to use.

July 2020

Joel from Freelance Artist

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Animation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Unity Game Design with ease

I have built several games with this software. Along with a team of designers I created a 3D Action game and in the past I have created a 2D platformer. Each project began with ease because of the sheer amount of assets and tutorials available.

Pros

The pros of Unity are its ease of use. Users do not need to be seasoned developers to create games. Unity comes with pre existing assets to start a project. Another Pro is the philosophy behind the company. They are their to support their users. They provide several tutorials from importing art to establishing coding basics. Unity Engine is flexible. It can be used to create 2D or 3D games. Users can import 3D models or sprites to begin a project. I’m addition Unity can create executable files for several devices including PC, gaming console and smart phones. Lastly, a pro for any user is that there is a shop feature that allows any designer to sell and buy artwork, code, and tools to make games from any genre.

Cons

Occasionally when import 3D Art with several components, some components would import differently. For example if I imported a satellite model with small antenna on the top of the satellite, it would import and be placed at the bottom of the satellite. To fix this issue I rebuilt a portion of my model.

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Sheikh Sakib Ishrak from Samsung R&D Institute Bangladesh

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Great Game Engine for Indie and Professional Developers

Unity has a large user community base who can share their knowledge to help out others. From beginners to advanced developers can feel at home and jump right in with Unity. I've worked with my team using Unity Teams cloud feature to allow team workflow without the need of working face-to-face together. Overall Unity has been a reliable fully featured Game Engine which can be used conveniently for cross-platform game development.

Pros

Unity has a wide range of learning materials available for free which can be helpful for both beginners and intermediate/professional users. Indie developers can get into developing and publishing their games even without worrying about budget with the free version of unity and the available free assets. Unity has a wide range of advanced features which can be used to implement any type of creative game idea. Opportunity to import 3d models and assets from 3d creation software (Blender, Maya, etc.) is useful. Various Unity plugins can be used based on requirement.

Cons

Unity is more resource-intensive than some other game engines. Using it in low-end devices might not always be feasible. migrating projects built in older Unity versions to newer versions can lead to compatibility and technical issues in some cases. Also, keeping multiple Unity versions installed locally can take a lot of disk space. Premium features like high-end asset packs, Enterprise license functionalities, Teams Advanced, Server licensing, and Advanced Cloud Diagnostics could've been cheaper.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Unity has more number of resources, learning materials and useful plugins to make the development process simpler. Unity's user community is stronger than Godot's. Godot is a newer engine and requires more time to grow up to a position where Unity is now.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Experienced user

I believe most of the things I've already mentioned in the Pros text box but as an addition, i can say that I've done quite a number of games using this engine and it never failed me, neither the engine nor the community. I have amazing respect for the teams behind this engine as their work can surely be seen with each update they come. It's an amazing engine that i highly recommend.

Pros

Playing with Unity for a bit over 3 years I've managed to fiddle with everything this engine has. Was able to check its progress update after update and I must say that they deliver what they promise. It's an easy to learn piece of software with an amazing community behind and lots of places to learn how to master it. Almost every idea that comes to mind can be implemented with ease in Unity. I said almost because it's a mature engine with a great number of features that might not be good for small projects and could only cause overhead, minus that is now out of the question with Unity Tiny. In the end all i can say is that it's a gorgeous software that is only getting better.

Cons

There were things that dragged Unity down in the past but with each progressive update they fixed their flaws or are fixing as we speak, so in the end, i cannot say that there are any major things i do not enjoy in using Unity.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The best game engine for small and medium teams

No lies, Unity is really hard to master, but once you get used to it there is no obstacle for You! You can create literally anything with Unity. 2D, 3D, VR, AR ... anything! There is tons and tons of tutorials online. Community is also great. Unity have it's own forum where you can ask anything and you will get answer in short time for sure. Even big companies like Ubisoft and Paradox uses Unity. So, if you want something that will give you full control of your project and you are willing to learn something new, search no further! Unity is right choice for you!

Pros

-You are totally free to do anything -Unity is constantly improving. More and more features are coming with each update -Tons of tutorials -Great community with tons of answers, tutorials, hints and tips -Free license is more then enough any team -Free collaboration feature -Easy use of monetization (ads) -A lot of built in features -Great Asset store -Can export the game to almost any platform -Great visual graphic

Cons

- It is really hard to learn, but once you master it, there is no obstacle - Isn't good for really big projects. You will have to optimize the game a lot. For small games, you don't have to bother - UI is hard to master and sometimes unresponsive - You will have to buy license in order to have dark mode enabled - Lack of programming languages (only C# supported)

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Ali from Mrs Wordsmith

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Animation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

A fantastic, fairly simple game engine with tons of scope and potential

Overall my experience with Unity has been very, very good. I have used it in a wide variety of jobs and sectors, from mobile apps and PC games, to conventional software and animation demos. It is easy with a small learning curve and there is so much potential to use Unity to build just about anything, it's a pleasure to use.

Pros

What I like most about using Unity are two main things. The first thing is its sheer ease-of-use - it's quick and easy to build playable prototypes and work that can be debugged in real time, thanks to its component system and C# IDE integration. The second thing is that there is tons of potential to make just about any software or app using Unity, despite it being primarily known as being a game engine. Mobile apps, conventional software and games are all easy to build using Unity.

Cons

What I like least about this software is its occassional unreliability - particularly to do with compilation failures and occassional crashes when using external packages using its built in Package Manager. It is not always made obvious as to why crashes occur and why compilation is not always possible when using external packages and it can be difficult to debug at times. There is also no autosave feature that I'm aware of which is a problem.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Renusha from University of Melbourne

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

One of the best game development and real-time rendering tools I have used.

I have been using Unity for many years. I have used it mostly to create mobile games. I love the fact that Unity keeps updating regularly and each updates brings great new features. When I was a student I found Unity very useful and as a experienced user I still find it to be one of the great game development tools in the market.

Pros

Unity made game development possible for anyone. You no longer have to be a designer or a programmer to create games. Unity is a user-friendly software with a great deal of unique tools that helps you design any sort of game. However, Unity being simple does not mean that it is only for beginners. As you start learning Unity you will find that it has a large variation of tools for advanced users. Unity also supports PC, console, web and mobile platforms. Unity also provides great learning materials which you can find on their website. You can also be a certified Unity developer by doing the online training and examination.

Cons

I was disappointed that I need to travel to certain countries to face the Unity developer certification exam. I would like if it was an online examination so that anyone can do it. I also do not like the fact that the certification is only valid through a certain period of time.

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Powerful tool for beginners and experts

We are using unity as basis for most of our games, so everything we do kind of evolves around Unity and it's tools.

Pros

Unity is a powerful tool both for beginners and for experts, I most like about it that it makes your job as a game developer much easier. You don't have to take care of things that can be very time-consuming like creating builds for several plattforms and creating network connections. The program itself already has a lot of features and tools, but the asset store is what makes it to one of the most pratical ones - thousands of useful assets (models, sounds, tools) can be used for free or bought in the asset store and is imported easily in your project. The price range is pretty good, the free version already has a lot of features and the cheap "plus"-version should be sufficent for most smaller studios.

Cons

Unity can be very memory and also cpu-consuming and tends to crash from time to time, which can result in a significant loss of time. Also problematic are older projects and assets, as unity is updated frequently and backwards-compability, especially for asset-store items, is not always given.

April 2019

Kimberly from Sourcecode Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Unity Is Great for Indie Developers

As an independent game developer, I need an engine that allows me to produce high quality games while being easy to use. I tried many other engines, but Unity offered me the right number of technical features and advancements in an easy to use platform. I use the engine because it allows me to publish to virtually any platform without additional modification easily. I also like that to create iterations of my builds I simply have to make my modifications and rebuild the files and upload the changes. I do make use of some of the available system assets from the asset store and most are easy to modify. Finally, I am also able to create and upload my own assets to the store for additional revenue during the sometimes-long development times of my projects. For me it was the right choice for my business and I would recommend it if you’re just starting out or if your looking for a full featured game engine.

Pros

Super Easy to get started with. Easy to use complete assets available from the unity Asset Store. Unity Is always evolving and keeps adding new features and Technology. 1000’s of tutorials online that help even a novice make and publish games to any platform.

Cons

While there is no licensing fee based on percentage there is a required monthly fee if your game brings in over $100,000 in revenue.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Best in class Cross Platform Development Solution

Using Unity has resolved many development headache. It's simple to use for all users, being graphic artists, designers, programmers, and audio developers.

Pros

Unity is the perfect solution for small to large developers, and everything in between. Fantastic users base and community, constantly updated to follow technology demands, and simply reliable to produce competitive and quality software.

Cons

There is really nothing to dislike about Unity at this point. The only complain that one could have will be that it's "too easy" to use and affordable for everyone to use, causing the different App markets to be saturated with Apps.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Unity is a superior game development solution

I'm several years into developing games and AI in unity and I don't know what I'd do without it.

Pros

I love having the ability to use such a huge range of 3D development and design skills and techniques in one place and it is totally empowering in that I can model, animate and code all in one place. And the peicing structure is awesome.

Cons

It's a huge learning curve. And sometimes plugins will just stop working on an update. But it's worth every bit of effort it takes to manage it.

Reasons for Choosing Unity

Vibe, price, and also I tested unity first and fell in love and never wanted to change.

December 2019

Gareth from University of Brighton

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Unified game development framework and IDE

Does an awful lot for you in terms of game development while still giving the developer options such as how much to define in code or via the UI.

Pros

Good integration with Visual Studio (the scripting language is C#). Takes care of scene management and the entity component model while providing enough that can be controlled via the UI that non-coders can get working results. Excellent documentation and new user on-boarding with lots of tutorial and starter content and assets.

Cons

Would be great to have a built in paint program for creating quick placeholder sprites when prototyping 2D games. In the latest version a lot of the 2D tools need to be installed via the package manager (such as 2D Sprite Editor and Tilemap) even when the project has already been defined as 2D - would be better if there was another project type which had these pre-installed.

Reasons for Switching to Unity

Preferred C# to Gamemaker's language and the 3D support was better.

December 2020

Stacey from Wild Technologies

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Game development for beginners to experts.

Good for quick product development when the development cycle is short. Integration with Asset Marketplace is very good allowing for integration of 3rd party resources speeding up product development. 3rd party interest is high with a lot of educational resources available on the web as well as a large quantity of good YouTube tutorials. Building an application for multiple platforms is fairly straight forward unless you need hardware functionality limited to specific platforms.

Pros

Unity is easily accessible for beginners as well as experts. Extensions available allow for no-code development of games and applications for both Mobile and PC/Mac markets. Unity provides a marketplace integrated with the software allowing for purchase and installation of assets from 2d graphics collections ready made for game development to advanced weather simulation software for immersive 3d visualization and game development.

Cons

Large scale changes to code functionality from version to version results in incompatible code and limited reuse of previous development work. C# is used as the core development language for the Unity product, but function format has changed from version to version requiring development projects to standardize on specific Unity versions to prevent rewriting code to new standards. Online documentation is fairly good, but lacks sufficient examples. Tutorials produced by 3rd parties is quickly obsoleted by changes to the software.

July 2019

Rosa Irene from ITESM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

My experience with Unity

Unity is a basic for any Digital Artist. It provides everything you need to create a computer game, it´s incredibly complete and offers a very attractive number of features from already made assets and scenarios to multiple libraries. It takes a couple of weeks to completely get it, but there is a lot of info online that will allow you to lean it on your own, or also a lot of courses out there. It is worth your money and time and a must if you want to create your own mobile games.

Pros

*A lot of information and documentation available online. *A lot of tutorials available online, from the basics and how to get started with it, to more advanced features. *It is a common software for game design, and compatible with almost any OS. *It is easy to learn and fairly intuitive. *Offers good and multiple libraries. *A lot of assets available online just to add them to your game. *You can export your games in a format that is compatible with app stores. *There is a large community of users and multiple forums. *It adapts both to new users that want to experiment with it or students, and professional users that want to sell their games.

Cons

*Pricing may be an issue for some, but you can always try the student version if you are not using it for commercial purposes. *It may be intimidating at first. *It may not run nicely on all computers, it takes a fairly decent machine to work smoothly with this software.

May 2019

Holli from SourceCode Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

One of the Easiest Game Engines to Use

When I need to import and test a model I have created Unity allows me to do this very easily. The setup for each model takes no time at all and the engine has a simple animation workflow with the editor’s features. For the most part, I learned the engine very quickly after coming from another product to Unity and once I got the basics down everything kind of fell in place. The engine is always being updated and new features are being added. I fully believe that this engine is going to continue to develop into an amazing tool for game creation. I fully support Unity and highly recommend it to anyone wanting to make games.

Pros

• Thousands of tutorials available online including free courses directly through the Unity website. • Easy to use when considering some of the learning curves with other advanced engines. • Cross-Platform support available to publish on multiple platforms with ease. • Make both 2D and 3D games with a simple button click. • Fast and Helpful Tech Support. • Free Version is available to learn the platform and even make free games.

Cons

• Uses Monodevelop for the coding IDE, but you can change this to use something more robust. • The terrain system is not the greatest however, there are 3rd party plugins that can offer the needed systems for high quality development.

April 2018

Matt from Ops

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

An indie game devs dreams come true

Changed my professional career.

Pros

I wish Unity would have been around when I was a kid. I had aspirations to make games, I filled notebooks with game design and took programming classes... but I just couldn't pull it together on my own or meet the people that could have done it with me. Ever since Unity came along, all of that has changed. It covers the low level stuff that allows designer/developers like me to focus on the gamebuilding. I can't say that I've been a runaway success, but I've accomplished more as an adult- thanks to Unity, than I thought I ever would once I gave up on my dream in my late teens and focused on becoming a "regular" programmer.

Cons

It certainly isn't perfect. It has quirks and flaws, just like any other real world thing. All of those things are extensively documented across the net, and what is a blocking problem for some people goes unnoticed by others. That being said, the people Unity are working constantly to deliver requested features and make their users happy.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Great game engine for small and large projects, in constant evolution and with a huge community.

Unity allowed me to easily try new concepts quickly without compromising a cent (like GM2 which is limited until you pay) and then, move from a simple concept to a full project easily. The code version storage (cloud) is perfect if you have a laptop and desktop so moving the code from one play to another can be done just with 2 clicks--literally, and it's integrated on the engine interface!

Pros

Even without a visual scripting (like GMS or UE4), Unity is in my experience the easiest engine to learn. Additionally, newcomers can move really fast from creating simple games to more advanced creations. The documentation is really useful and installer includes Visual Studio which is just amazing for the task. Unlike other engines, Unity can run on older or less powerful machines (as dev or player). Also, the community is supportive, collaborative, lots of tutorials and documents can be found online.

Cons

My only complain is how official tutorials are made. They are great to show the overall of the engine functionalities but not to understand the context of each element. It's more like step by step on how to achieve something instead of why are we using the stuff used on the tutorial to achieve it. They are useful, but they could go a lot deeper.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Chrystian from Aeria Canada Studio Inc

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Easy to create videogames(main focus), AR, VR and apps, with tons of features. Has a big community.

Fast and iterative process. Easy to start making videogames (although knowing the bases helps a lot) Cross platform compilation adn prodcut development Lots of variety on the projects you can do with it. Big community and nice support.

Pros

Easy to use and do most of the heavy lifting necessary for videogames creation, and other media related software. It is cross-platform (build once deliver in multiple platforms) and its super effective to create game prototypes and iterate over them. It has a very big community and a store with a lot of user created content where you can find a lot of features out of the box besides the ones in the engine. Really good tool to start AR/VR and videogame development.

Cons

The compiled files for mobiles are bigger than more simpler engines, but it gives you way more tools to work. Its easy to use, but you still need some technical skills. The pro license is expensive, but they take none of your royalties. It's hard to achieve AAA game results, for that to happen you need some serious skills.

June 2019

Judah from MidnightCoffee, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Required for any type of beginner game development

I use unity in a professional context with my company, an indie game studio, specializing in Virtual Reality. I started out not knowing how to code (I just did level design), but with Unity's tutorials, I became a pretty proficient programmer.

Pros

It's extremely easy to pick up and learn, which is great for anyone just starting out with game development . Additionally, despite the ease of use, all of Unity's tools are super powerful, and even the most AAA of developers/studios can make amazing games. And, if there's a feature not built in, you can just download a plugin from the Asset Store.

Cons

To start, by default the games Unity makes don't look too great. It requires lot's of tinkering with post-processing to get the visuals realistic. Though I said it's a positive that you can download any feature you want from the Asset Store, that also means that the main editor itself is pretty barebones. Yes, with every major release there is new features added, but still there are a few essentials that most other engines have built in already.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Best program for creating a game

I have worked with Unity both in the context of my job and outside. I have created both 2D and 3D games, for multiple platforms and it is safe to say that no other engine provides the user with such an ease of use.

Pros

The best part of the unity engine is that it comes with already implemented physics, basics for animating, creating shaders for objects and etc, which make the programing process much easier, especially for beginner developers like me. Furthermore, the tutorials that they provided in their website helped me to start creating my own game as they taught me everything starting from the basics of character movement to more complicated aspects of game making. I also had fun with their Asset Store as it provided me with free 3D objects and plugins. You can also get Unity completely free with very few disadvantages compared to the paid version and those do not interfere with the process of creating complete and working game.

Cons

The first disadvantage is that when updating unity to a newer version sometimes your older code gets buggy and does not work until fixed. This might get annoying if you have multiple unity projects and suddenly none of them work. Second, its not the most efficient when it comes to programing for mobile phones, as in the final build includes certain files that make the overall application heavier than expected.

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

The most popular real time game development platform

I have been using Unity for over six years now and have done desktop, mobile, web, VR and AR development with it. The simulation I created using Unity is going to earn me my Ph.D. degree and I also got a job offer as a Unity Simulation Software Engineer. I can wholeheartedly say that learning Unity will be your most vital skill in your arsenal.

Pros

There are hundreds of things to like about Unity. If I have to mention some it would be something like this: user friendly, create once and deploy on multiple platforms with one click, huuuuge community, great tutorials and learning materials, free version is enough for most users, great asset store and most importantly, it uses C#

Cons

What is really going on with their multiplayer networking? They have been saying that UNet is deprecated and a new multiplayer networking is under development but all I can see is that they are pushing people towards Photon. Anyway, other that this, I really don't have anything to complain about.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Alexis from Imaginary Spaces

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

A Dream!

Unity is an absolutely incredible game engine, hands down. Compared to other Alternatives, the user experience and Clarity of the general development workflow is absolutely amazing. I've been using Unity for years, and their output for new, impressive features is absolutely unmatched.

Pros

Its speed! Compared to other game engines, the speed at which you can iterate on your various ideas is absolutely incredible. The interface runs exceedingly smoothly and every other aspect of the engine from the compilation times to the customizability of the rendering pipeline promotes an efficient and performant ease-of-use.

Cons

When I first started using Unity, I thought that its features were more limited than other game engine Alternatives like unreal. The more I learned however, the more I saw that in fact it had more features than other game engines, and that features that were half broken in plain sight in other game engines were extremely powerful and conveniently tucked away in an hour of need.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Christopher F. from NAMI TENTOU

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Fully Featured Engine for All Needs

We've been using it to develop games for consoles for a few years now and it's always been our number one choice for the ease of porting. Anything extra we needed we've been able to code into inspector and add onto the existing base without it really breaking with new upgrades. It's allowed us to customize our workflow to what we need and make use of the heavy lifting that Unity does for all aspects of development.

Pros

The reason why I didn't specify a fully featured game engine is because we have used it for far more than just games. We've used it in designing medical apps, educational, and standard apps. It's endless what you're able to do with the Unity engine and also equally as easy to develop and deploy to multiple platforms.

Cons

Scene files are a pain for source control. There hasn't been an elegant way devised to be able to merge scene files. Besides merge issues with such files, everything else works fine in source control.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Arnaldo from Chevron

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

the best engine for prototypes, learning, and small projects.

I learn the development of the game with unity, and I had a great experience. The concepts can be tested really fast thanks to the ease Unity provides. You have a project in execution in a short time, even a productive one. It is very intuitive for 3D and 2D, and working with C # instead of C ++ makes it easier.

Pros

It is very intuitive, so it is easier to follow along when you enter the game development industry. It has a large community since it has a free version out side for mutch longer, so it has many questions, problems and patterns that are already solved. It provides a faster experience to create a small project, making it a perfect tool for prototypes and proofs of concepts. It has many deployment options, and the free version includes mobile devices, making it perfect for mobile game development.

Cons

The visuals and performance are no match against its main competitor. So, if your project depends on realistic graphics, it may not be the right tool. Or if you have a lot of physics and need a higher frame rate, neither is the right tool. Remember, small projects with a rapid need for development is the right scene for unity to shine.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 485 reviews