All Projectworks Reviews

1-25 of 92 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Joanne

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Great tool with an abundance of features

Keeps track of project time extremely well.

PROS

Easy to see at a glance what you have worked on during the day/week/month, and able to drill down to individual projects. Good range of functionality on hand to apply for leave, expenses and reporting.

CONS

Would be nice to have the option of a different color scheme or text size

Vendor Response

Thanks Joanne, while we won't be adding the options to change color schemes, as the whole product is responsive you should be able to zoom your browser and still have everything look great. If you find something that doesn't look right then please let the team know! Cheers

Replied February 2021

Mia

Professional Training & Coaching, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Easy to learn! Can't wait for more features!

I really enjoy using it, the UI is very easy to get used to. Excellent program/software to help with operational and project management. I am excited to see what other features are coming up!

PROS

Viewing the current and projected margins have been wonderful to see and being able to see the forecasted income really helps the business strategically think of next steps to further grow. The tech support has been amazing and are always quick to respond. When I make technical errors, they have always been able to amend them without any trouble. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been excellent during the training process and I rarely contact support for queries as the software is quite intuitive.

CONS

I still find myself getting data from Projectwork and putting them on a spreadsheet to get more pieces of insight that would be good for the team to present. The integration with Xero has been good but at the beginning, with syncing them with the employees on Xero, we were having issues with the rate cards not accruing leave. Which created some issues with what employees were supposed to be accruing, etc.

Reasons for switching to Projectworks

We needed more insights that were automated rather than just a time-logging program.

Malvin

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2022

One stop shop

PROS

I like working with Timecodes and Resourcing.

CONS

I like the staff assignment the least as there are certain areas for improvement.

Luke

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Great Software & Support

Fantastic - they go above and beyond for their customers and the software has had a big impact on our business.

PROS

Implementation was extremely easy and our staff find it easy to use. They also offer fantastic customer support services

CONS

Not all reports can be exported, I have been told they will be changing this

Reason for choosing Projectworks

Met all of our needs and was much cheaper than Accello

Jakes

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Big or small, local or multi-national

We are a Staffing, Recruitment and Marketing agency with 9 companies operating in 5 geographies, 6 currencies and 250 staff. “We’re a small company, with big company problems.”Projectworks have helped us overcome a lot of these challenges

PROS

COST EFFECTIVE AND EFFICIENT IMPLEMENTATION: -Projectworks have catered for almost everything we need ‘out of the box’, with no need for additional costly customization.-Migration timeline from approving the tool, planning, design, implementation, training and post project Q&A’s and amendments was 6 months. Significantly less than other migrations I’ve seen.ACCURATE BILLING & PAYROLL-Projectworks allows 1 person employed by company A to work on a project in company B within the same instance of Projectworks. This allows effective and efficient billing to clients and hours for payroll – albeit 2 separate companies, 2 currencies/geographies etc.-Contractors being paid multiple rates for different projects are dealt within Projectworks.DEBTORS MANAGEMENT AND IMPROVED CASHFLOW-‘Out of the box’ integration from 1 instance of Projectworks with multiple instances of Xero has been a big win with the migration. Having the ability to integrate invoices and payments to and from with a click of a button – giving 1 view and access point for debtors and streamlining debtors management globally.RESOURCING AT THE RIGHT TIME-Resource planning and forecasting of projects, rolling the data up to a company, client and organizational level (within the tool) caters for effective resource management ‘out of the box’.BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE-SQL access plugs into any Reporting tool (we use PowerBI) for easy Business Intelligence required from different stakeholders. We’ve imp

CONS

Nothing that the team isn't dealing with at the moment.

Sandra

Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Very well tailored for needs of a professional services consultancy

I’ve been so impressed with the platform and the simple but effective balance it strikes in doing what a professional services company of our size/scale needs well. It's been a really easy transition and the continual product updates and responsiveness of the team are fantastic. Having used a variety of different systems in consultancies of different sizes and scales, this is hands down the most productive and effective platform I've ever used. It's intuitive, easy to use, and strikes the right balance between having practical well thought functions, without having too many distracting bells and whistles that can often make these platforms overly complex and hard to implement effectively across the whole team.

PROS

Project Works appears to be tailor-made for a professional services consultancy. Its interface and ease of use are the best I've seen. The rollout and integration with our existing business systems were about as seamless as you could hope for. I was so impressed with how quickly my team was able to use the system to full effect. We gradually introduced all features over a few months, starting with timesheets, invoicing, and then resourcing. This allowed the team to get to know features one by one and build confidence in its use. We are now using all functions and features and it's been transformational for our business. The project works team has also been amazing. They are really knowledgeable, available, and clearly willing to work with their clients to make the platform as good as it can be. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

CONS

There is not much I don't like. There is such a continual development process for the platform, that new improvements and tweaks are happening regularly. Over time, it would be good to see more user optionality in reporting and the margin reporting feature could also be improved.

Tony

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Many "wow this is powerful" moments....

Many "wow this is powerful" moments...this says a lot. The more we dug the more we found we could do. Having said that, with flexibility comes complexity, so you need to understand the interdependencies and ensure that you use filtering properly to get the results you need. this is not difficult, just something to be conscious of.

PROS

We are a rapidly growing organisation and were looking for something that would help us scale. We selected ProjectWorks after reviewing a few solutions with an initial focus on timesheets & Xero integration. This was achieved quickly and painlessly. We then shifted our focus to resource management and forecasting. As we explored ProjectWorks capabilities, we had many "wow this is powerful" moments. We now use ProjectWorks for timesheets, invoicing (integrated with Xero), resource management and forecasting. Like all things, there is a discipline involved to get the full benefit, but the insights and benefits you get are well worth it.

CONS

Expanded capabilities to deal with parent child projects - most of it is there as you can track separate budgets and time within a project, but resourcing cannot be tracked by budget yet....this is apparently coming in late 2023

Reason for choosing Projectworks

Based on capability and suitability for our business

Reasons for switching to Projectworks

We needed something that scaled

User Profile

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Good for Project Management

Easy enough to log time and manage resources via the portal.

PROS

Easy to export burn reports and log time.

CONS

You can't set rules about editing timesheets and for example rules about logging time. Also can't link parent and child engagements for projects so you end up with just separate projects to bill against.

Reason for choosing Projectworks

PW had a better interface.

Reasons for switching to Projectworks

Not easy to use

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Projectworks makes Projects Work

Projectworks is by far the best timesheeting software I've used across every company I've worked at - but it is so much more than that. I know the other business areas within my company have their own needs that are met with Projectworks, and having it all rolled into one solutions makes life easier for everyone.

PROS

As a user of the software I like the way everything is hooked up for me. I have a limited view of the budget which allows me to know if a project overrunning its budgets. All of the project planning, timesheeting and leave requirements I have are easily met with this product.

CONS

Although there are many useful options and features, it isn't immediately clear what is available. There is a setting that I now find immensely useful, but for the first few months using this product I'd originally had the setting disabled, not knowing of its existence.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback, if you'd like an overview tour of the product, then please get in touch with your customer success manager and they'll be able to show you some things that might not be obvious from the start. Keeping an eye on our release notes is also a great way to find out about those little nice to haves that are added each week. Cheers!

Replied February 2021

Belinda

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Easy to use with regular updates from the Projectworks team

A lot of useful reporting is available and has proven beneficial for our future growth, how we manage our company financially, project budgets and staff. The resourcing facility and forecasting have been key features for me. The switch to Projectworks was seamless and the Support team are very quick to respond to enquiries.

PROS

Nice, simple user interface. Very easy for everyone to record time and leave. Implementation was well executed and the support team provide swift responses to enquiries. Lots of regular tweaks being made to the system.

CONS

The Help topics could do with an update as it's sometimes difficult to locate information. The ability to add a comment when rejecting peoples timesheets or leave would be handy along with the ability to track changes to project end dates.

Andrew

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Great Solution

The application is easy to configure and use, very intuitive. Excellent experience with the whole Projectworks team, very professional outfit. The migration over to Projectworks was painless.

PROS

Easy to use and configure, on point with project creation, time tracking, invoice generation and the ability to integrate with Xero

CONS

Not having the ability to create billing rate cards that are based on a specific time period (e.g. billing rate for a calendar year), when changes rates there is a bit of manual work required to have this flow through the project correctly.

Reason for choosing Projectworks

Easy to use, met our key requirements of project tracking, invoice generation and integration with Xero.

Reasons for switching to Projectworks

Looking for a simpler application

Antony

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Great workload management tool!

Great. Really enjoy using it. Is an easy UI and takes very little getting used too.

PROS

Easy, one stop shop to manage all your Project needs, such as resourcing, forecasting time sheeting, and invoicing.

CONS

Is very specifically designed for Projects. I work in the support space which is a different take on Resource etc management., We make it work with PW but perhaps a 'Support module' could be designed for this line of business?

Vendor Response

Thanks Antony, some dedicated features for support are certainly on our roadmap. Your customer success manager will reach out when we pull this into design! Cheers

Replied February 2021

Dirk

Computer & Network Security, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Amazing Product getting smarter every day

Amazing product getting smarter every day. Much better and easier to use product compared to most other time sheeting and planning software I used before.

PROS

Web based, simple enterprise resource forecasting. Amazing product support. Good UI.

CONS

Missing mobile app with start stop time tracking, easier entry of repetitive tasks (no auto suggestions). No Outlook read my calendar translate to timesheet as draft, with AI module. In my kind of job (consulting) working with many different clients on many tasks it's still taking me quote long to enter all my time even this is not the fault of the product I would wish for a connector to my Outlook calendar where all my tasks are stored anyway.

Vendor Response

Thanks Dirk, we are making a big investment into integration this year (including spinning up a dedicated integration team). Deeper integration with the MS suite is something on our list so watch this space.

Replied February 2021

Cassandra

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Inexpensive alternative to the pricey, comlicated tools

Love Project works. Such a more intuitive tool and simple to use.

PROS

So easy to use. It's very logical. There are frequent releases with improvements.

CONS

It's great at resourcing and reporting. You will need a project management solution like MSProject to track project progress but Projectworks does the rest for you.

Reasons for switching to Projectworks

Open Air was so complicated resulting in lots of mistakes. Simple things took ages and it was easy to miss things. And it was expensive.

Steven

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Test analyst using project works for adding worked hours on multiple projects

Pretty good, found a few bugs in edge browser, but my understanding is this is not a supported browser.

PROS

I like how its easy to know what projects I'm resourced on, and for how long each week. Equally as much I like how it is easy to add my hours worked.

CONS

I feel it could be helpful to have a total of the time added as a project each week, rather than just a total of the combined projects

Vendor Response

Thanks Steven, you're not the first to ask for this and we have it on the backlog. Cheers!

Replied February 2021

Georgina

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Great interface and range of features for professional services

As a professional services company, we needed a platform to book our people's time across multiple projects and time periods to effectively manage capacity and utilisation. It needed to integrate with Xero (for leave management and invoicing).

PROS

Great tool for managing resources across multiple projects, with powerful capacity and utilisations views

CONS

Reporting could be a bit more sophisticated, but being improved upon all the time

Reasons for switching to Projectworks

The user interface was superior and granularity of data which layers up to multiple views (in resource planning)

User Profile

Charlie

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Great system

PROS

Does everything we need to run our medium-sized consulting firm of 50 people. Intuitive, clean interface, very responsive help.

CONS

Can't think of any major cons. The system is working well.

Michael

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Well designed and flexible project management platform

Project manager efficiency is improved which reduces admin overhead. Users typically don't require much training and can pick up and use the platform quickly.

PROS

Excellent support and client service. Smart features and excellent flexibility.

CONS

Some documentation could be improved and cost budgeting would be a nice addition

GLen

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Excellent overall product for time sheeting, projects and leave

PROS

Ease of adding time and comments into any time sheet field. Being able to see resourcing for what I need to be working on daily/weekly etc. Leave is simple and easy to be added in.

CONS

The only thing I can think of as a negative would be when submitting leave requests, the end date entry states 'First day back' which is a bit unusual compared to what I'm used to, but it's certainly not a major issue at all.

Vendor Response

Thanks Glen, much appreciated!

Replied February 2021

Badri

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE