User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(22)

22

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse TeamCity Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -14 of 36 results

March 2018

User Profile Picture

shaik from Loyalty Methods

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Best tool for build configuration,build history, and system maintenance in real time applications

Pros

Every enterprise business uses this tool for maintaining their services enabled and establish the best business flow. All the services that are being build via Mule can be available via team city to be deployed.Its features include build history, user management and system maintenance. Build history has excellent feature of holding the various build version that are deployed earlier.Use service messages in your build scripts, interact via REST API, or create plugins for TeamCity using Open API. User Management has different ways of user authentication, and a log with all user actions for the transparency which can be used for tracking all activity on the server.Best feature is Version Control System(VCS) in which Team city in a single build it can take source code from different VCS Repositories.All the versions history is available environmental wise.

Cons

The least of this software is there are some additional features required for the versions to avail across different enviroments like manual build configurations process can be avoided for the lower environments and UI part can be increased looking for new enhancements

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Excellent tool to build your Application with confidence for continious Integration

We can solve a lot of problems using teamcity as it is one of the continuous integration tool which helps in never ending business success story. As it is been used for deploying our services to the server very easily. We can have teamcity configure with different various tools like ant maven which help us in continious integration process. Best of this it helps us understand where our build process went wrong and root cause for the failure rather than manual intervention in trouble shoot it directly show the issue we can dig the process and resolve the issue from there onwards and UI part is much more flexible so that we can organise as per our requirement

Pros

The good thing i always like with the teamcity is its cross platform means we can configure agents of other OS types so it can build anything easily. It is Good integration with variosu different frameworks and it has various methodologies that can be used as a part of your application development and code dump. It also have an amazing feature of supporting the extension via plugin mechanism we can also integrate with other popular tools such as artifactory plugin or we can write our own. When ever a new build failed teamcity has a special feature of trouble shoot and provide us the root cause for the failure. It has a very user friendly interface which is very easy for the navigation and understanding the standard of each options in the panel. It is an opensource product and a happy news is startup are eligible for the 50% discount on the package

Cons

There is nothing much least about this but there are few drawback like for a single person holding project teamcity is not right choice.Upgrading the teamcity is very lengthy process and consumes large amount of time. The logs that are being generated during the build process can be made much more beautiful with UI changes

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Nice Integrated CI

Pros

It connects well with other JetBrains tools.

Cons

It is not as popular as Jenkins so does not have as many plugins and the community using it is a lot smaller.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Not an easy tool, but does the job

Pros

It does its job, and once you've set it up it's pretty solid. Agents and server have never needed a reboot as far as I know, and upgrades are quick enough. The integration with the VCS (SVN where I work) can let you keep track of what you have down the pipeline and, if you use the right tracking tool and add ticket numbers to the commit comments, you might find useful seeing what brought to that commit. If you often create new projects, the template feature can enormously speed up the process.

Cons

It's very very easy to screw up. It gives you quite enough rope to hang yourself and your whole team twice, like creating dependencies among builds so that a simple commit can make the agents run for hours, or other amenities where you're not really sure what's the code you're building from (or, you might even be sure, but wrong!) If you're not well organized and don't know your way around the myriads of configurations, you may well end up not knowing what features you are deploying. It really needs some serious study before using it in production, and since it's not something you configure everyday, it's not easy to keep trained. In this perspective, the template feature will make you forget what's going on. Sadly, it's the only CI/CD tool I've ever used, so I can't compare it to anything else.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Gurleen from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

TeamCity - A platform to approach Continuous Integration and Delivery.

TeamCity By JetBrains provide the hassle free Continuous Integration & Delivery. The freeware license come with up to 100 build configuration and 3 build agent are enough to check the feasibility study of your product. The powerful build CI & smart configuration make it enterprise like DevOps tool.

Pros

TeamCity by JetBrains is one of the best and simple tool to manage the build and Integration. The powerful integration features out of the box make it unique and operation team first choice. The DevOps approach helps in continuous Integration & Delivery. Smart Configuration feature like project hierarchy, in-build templates, build chains & dependencies split the build sequence in multiple step to serve in simplex form. The Version Control Systems integrate the process in comprehensive way. Build History is also helpful in tracking the issue & let us allow in tracking the changes in the development process. Statistics of build history and test result help in generating the reports.

Cons

There are numbers of In-build configuration plugins for cloud integrations like Amazon, Azure, vSphere, Kubernetes and many more but cluster and creating the plugin for on-premises infrastructures is really a big and complex task to do with the TeamCity without the help of expertise.

November 2017

Terence from Telnet Services Limited

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Developer's Essential Tool

Pros

Once you get this powerful CI tool up and running, it will save your development massive amount of time. We have been using this for years, all set up to build, run unit tests and deploy to a staging server. Also, JetBrains generously lets you use it for free up to 3 build agents from the get go, so cost is not a concern here.

Cons

The tool can be a bit complex and overwhelming to get started if you are new to the tool. If you overcome this hurdle, it will be worth your while.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Christopher from Harvest Company, International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Team City, My Personal Experience

My experience with TeamCity is great, and I would recommend it to any developer looking for an enterprise build server without cost.

Pros

Personally, I've used Jenkins, Team Foundation Server (DevOps), and a few others. For continuous integration, and multi-platform tool/build agent deployment nothing beats JetBrains TeamCity. Any kind of compiler, build tool, or plain application can be assimilated into your build model using JetBrains TeamCity. Best of all the application is free, the only limitation being the number of builds and branding.

Cons

My only issue would be it's heavy memory footprint, but that's due to the java run-time. If you use Visual Studio 2017, and TeamCity simultaneously there's going to be a lack of performance.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Ekta from Kforce Inc

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great tool for CI

Pros

We manage all build configurations, deployments triggers, automated tests triggers through Team City. It is the best tool, I have used till now. It allows you to clone projects, mute/investigate failing tests, pause triggers.

Cons

You need some time to master the use of team city. There is a lot to learn if you are new to team city. But with time and practice, you are good to go.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Sudharshan from DISYS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Siimilarity to jenkins

great. Wish the tool could do visual modelling around the database side.

Pros

The Tool is a great CI/CD tool. I would highly recommend someone following best agile practise to use this tool.

Cons

Similarity to jenkins is there but less plugins are available.

Reasons for Choosing TeamCity

NA

Reasons for Switching to TeamCity

I was exploring new products.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Vasyl from Self-Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Must have for continuous integration!

Pros

It's easy to use (for it specialists), it has clean and friendly interface, it's very customizable

Cons

Have nothing to say about cons regarding this software

May 2018

Matt from Pluralsight

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Changed the way I computer

Pros

My phone is my laptop- my laptop is my desktop. My work computer is my personal computer. I can control any of my computers from anywhere. When my kids need me to enter the admin password, I just do it from my phone. I've turned a dozen or more people on to it, because it's just that convenient.

Cons

The only con I can think of is that it's enabled me to be even lazier than I used to be. Do I need to do something on the downstairs computer, but I'm upstairs? No problem, I just teamviewer in from upstairs. I've gained 15 lbs.

February 2019

Pravin kumar from Credit corp

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

One stop tool for CI/CD

I have used the tool with my two previous employers.. definitely improved the productivity of team.. it was uself with both web and desktop application

Pros

Highly flexibly and configurable.. filled with a ton of functionality.. if you don't find a functionality, you will still have option to configure through custom scripts

Cons

Learning curve can be annoying especially if you don't have support within your team. It takes time to master the tool

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Excellent continuous integration and automated build tool

Pros

TeamCity plays really well with .NET check-ins and continuous integration. If you've checked in something that breaks a build, or that won't pass the tests that have to be passed before a build commences, TeamCity will definitely let you know. This is a great kit for CI and getting builds out when you've got multiple players involved in updating and maintaining code throughout the day.

Cons

The security options for TeamCity to let people run it from workstations and simulate a build to see what might break -- that can be a little tricky to get going.

July 2017

Henry from Campaign Monitor

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Used this as part of the deployment pipeline. Using it everyday - although mostly automated already.

Deployment pipeline for programmers

Pros

I'm familiar with it in regard to build and deployment pipeline. My current company uses it as well as my previous one. The UI seems quite intuitive, as I could modify existing pipeline quite easily. There are quite a lot of features (although I believe there are lots that I haven't explored yet).

June 2018

Juan Ramon from Golden Race

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

We use TeamCity for automation and CI and is great

Pros

TeamCity in comparison to other CI software have a better interface. It is clear and helps to understand the software. The integration with other software is algo great.

Cons

Maybe that is not an open source software and the limit of free agents (Only 3) because if you have to compile code in different kernel versions of Linux (like us) is a problem. I think that a few more free agents will be great.

December 2020

Philip from SubZero

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great for automating builds, especially with multiple devs

Good features overall and seems to be up to par with competitors such as Azure Pipelines; there is a learning curve for first-time users, and certain menus/settings are hard to find, but offers good options for configuration and flexibility

Pros

Ability for continuous deployment to happen when multiple devs are involved in projects; ability to kick off builds from merges into Git. The "target" branches can be switched temporarily to monitor other branches for short periods

Cons

Basic tiers only allow certain number of builds happening at the same time. Oftentimes automated testing tasks must be paused to allow site builds to happen

March 2018

Tim from McGee Corporation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

TeamCity is how CI should be done

Pros

As a former Jenkins user, I find TeamCity to be a much more user-friendly way to do Continuous Integration. There are recipes that cover the spectrum and integration with git/github is very cool. I also like the extensibility and integration vaialble through the various plugins.

Cons

Continuous Integration can be daunting to set up and use - TeamCity handles this pretty well but there is a definite learning curve.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Easy to use continuous integration tool

Pros

Much easier than Jenkins to setup a C# build. Love the ability to do templating on common build scenarios. Nice integration with GitHub for build status on PR's

Cons

I would like to be able to setup Build Pipelines. The integration with Visual Studio and Git is lacking.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Perfect for Self-Hosted Teams with strong JetBrains tooling preferences

Pros

Integrates flawlessly with IntelliJ and other JetBrains tools. Quick and easy to verify changes in a CI environment.

Cons

Lack of integration with some 3rd party CI/CD tooling makes integration in larger enterprises challenging.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Powerful build tool with lots of extension capabilities - we use for CI Java builds and CD.

Good reliable build tool, very flexible, used for builds (Java and Docker packaging), CI, CD

Pros

Reliable, lots of extension and customization possibilities, versatile, fast, integration with IntelliJ.

Cons

UI is confusing, not clear what to look where, confusing terminology, many times you look at a link and have no idea where it will lead to, in general UX - substandard.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Feature loaded best CI/CD

Using since long time with TFS integrations. Very useful and time saving for automated builds and deployments.

Pros

1. Easy to configure per instance CI /CD options. 2. Can integrate with various frameworks. 3. Easy integrations with TFS, GIT..etc. 4. Good user /role management

Cons

Nothing as such but one can face difficulties if need to use third-party tools.

September 2017

Marco from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

easy to configure, easy to use, powerful when works

Pros

Teamcity is a small and powerfull continuos integration tool, I configured my first project in a good way reading the manuals, also it is easy to integrate with another development tools like TFS

Cons

I think the cons is the agents that you can use with free edition, also de configurations that you can includo as i remember the maxium is 20

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Great software about continuous integration

Pros

It is a wonderfull software about continuous integration and one of the few that has integration with plastic scm. Also it have a great seat of rules to apply in some parts of product as trigger vcs. It have a free version!

Cons

It does not have a extensible part to improve the build configurations, it will be good has any possibility to code our own build step as you can do into BuildBot

May 2019

Amol from Vacancy Filler

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Great to transform manually deployments

Pros

we have been able to build the software in one go having multiple dependencies collected in one deployment easily

Cons

the interface is very hard to understand where some of the options are

July 2019

sudharshan from disys

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

software believes in CI/CD

excellent . flip side licensing.

Pros

it is unbelievable as you leave less footprint of an entire project lifecycle . you cam code build unit test mail reports deploy all in one suite.

Cons

notsure how all plugins fare? wish each build step could do more on the documenation side by exposing a light weight wysiwig editor for documentation purpose only .

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Shankar from Center Point Energy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

TeamCity Review

overall I like this tool to do the builds for .net and angular environments and is great tool to implement the CI/CD.

Pros

this is one of great tool to implement CI/CD. I like the way it packages the things after the build is done I like the way it keeps history of previous built packages versioning is also great way and you can also move the stuff after built is done

Cons

it can be be improved in the area of notifying the results of build after is done setting up the build agents and target environments need to be fine tuned.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Versions

Pros

It is easy to monitor and do analysis between builds and show the differences.

Cons

Not really, every thing I needed in some way can be supported by the SW

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Manoj from Ciena India Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Very user-friendly and comparatively easily configurable build management software

Pros

I have been using it for last few months and I liked its user interface, reliability, robustness, and comfort in use

Cons

Its cost could have been a bit more reasonable. Another limitation is java based configurable build management software. One needs to have Java skills if he wants to create the plugin of his choice.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

July 2018

Good Continues Integration but it must be better

It makes the life better for developers

Pros

It is a good product, it makes his job and it good for a company because it creates all the release that you want.

Cons

I think that it must update some properties. For example, the notifications, maybe they could be good a integration with Skype, Telegram, or Slack

July 2019

Alex from Commerzbank

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Very useful

Pros

TeamCity is really helpful when it comes to testing builds to see if they work, and seeing exactly what the error messages are.

Cons

The website can be overwhelming and include a big learning curve initially to understand all the possibilities.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Ankit from Ciena

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

A quality product

Pros

1. Build merging is easy 2. Easy to install 3. Plugins are making work easier, an important point is it's flexible

Cons

It will take time to understand the Teamcity as a beginner its not easy to learn. It needs lots of hands on.

August 2017

Phillip from NetPotential

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

I love the free-tier of this software!

Easy to use compiling of software!

Pros

I love how if you have a small amount of projects, this software is free. You can customise this software a lot!

Cons

If you reach the max amount of free projects, you are required to pay a hefty fee. Yes they deserve the money, however it is a large jump compared to free. Just be aware.

November 2014

Alessandro from TomTom

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Extremely good, need some improvement for Continuous Delivery

Hi Guys, I'm a fan of TeamCity and I've convinced many of the teams at work to abandon Jenkins for TC. I see some limitations in Continuous Delivery, unfortunately TC's build chains are a quite clumsy, compared to the way you design a build pipeline in products like Thoughtworks Go, which has recently become free and opensource. That's the major limitation I see. For the rest, it's a fantastic product. Keep up with the good work!

December 2016

Gaurav from Custom Arts

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Solid CI platform

Used on a large team, replaced a Jenkins setup, no problems and highly configurable. We had some issues running lots of builds concurrently on a Mac Pro, so it'd be nice if there were more features (such as isolation) supporting such scenarios out of the box.

March 2018

Malachi from Huron High School

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

GREAT~!

Pros

It has a good interface and navigation. It have liked all the software from JetBrains. It has great functionality and a good guide for the software.

Cons

It is quite time consuming and a bit complex of a system to figure out how to use. It could be made more user friendly.

May 2018

Evgeny from Viral Foundry

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Good CI solution if you're using JetBrains toolset

Pros

A lot of integration options - especially well integrates with other JetBrains products. Simple walkthrough for initial setup.

Cons

Not all build systems have good up-to-date integrations. And they are prone to break on updates. Finding some settings after initial setup is not easy.