All HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service Reviews

1-25 of 28 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Revlon Oliver

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

The simplest and easiest backup software solution available

PROS

It's simplicity to install, configure, run and start operations on day 1. You don't need to be trained and basic understanding of back-ups works. It's patented solutions with agentless back-ups for Virtual machines and for physical environments makes it sustainable. It supports most known backup storage solutions.

CONS

support for Hyper-V which again isn't a concern as I don't use this hypervisor

Reason for choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

HYCU is the simplest and easiest backup product to work with. Also it's wide range of application/HCI support made it easier. Moreover the pricing is well within budgets.

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Quite old in terms of technology and isn't catering to the next gen applications.

Vendor Response

Revlon Oliver, thank you for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review, it means a lot! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied February 2023

Jas

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Hycu Backup and Recovry

We have had a very good experience with product implementation and design from HYCU, and have extended our clusters with WORM and Azure with significant support from HYCU.

PROS

The feature is simple to use and manage, the updates are straightforward with minimum downtime, and is integrated very well with Nutanix AHV. The support is of a very high standard from the documentation with Nutanix, and also the product knowledge of the support staff, of not HYCU but all of the applications backed up.

CONS

We have asked for a few more features on the Validity testing, and forever incremental backups.

Reason for choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

HYCU integrates very smartly with Nutanix, and in this case proved a perfect fit to our requirements.

Vendor Response

Jas, thank you for your feedback! It's great to see our solution has been helpful for your business and that it has simplified your day-to-day activities. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied February 2023

User Profile

Adrian

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

HYCU protégé

Extremely satisfied. Do you want CONFIDENCE back?Then this product is what you are looking for.Exceptional service delivery.

PROS

Simplistic but powerful.Web driven through a standard web browser. Oh,and did I mention it's agentless That's right,no need to install clumsy agents on each server.

CONS

Nothing.What more to ask for than a product that takes 15 minutes to learn.

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Integration with a Hybrid solution.

Vendor Response

Adrian, thank you very much for your kind words! We strive to provide the best possible experience so you can be successful. Simple, reliable, and secure - as data protection should be! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied December 2022

Werner

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Backup and DR management in an all Nutanix environment

Very good balance of functionality, ease of management and pricing. Very pleased with both solution and company.

PROS

Integration with Nutanix AOS filesystem and managementFair pricingBrilliant and responsive supportReliableFastEasy managementVery progressive company that is good at listening to customer demand. Always helpful and very responsive

CONS

Moderate options for footprint reduction on target. Best used with deduplicating back-end

Reason for choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Reduced management, almost Zero impact of workload, better pricing, perfect integration, superb support

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Change of platform

Vendor Response

Werner, thank you! We appreciate your positive feedback! We'll continue working hard to provide you with an excellent experience. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied December 2022

Ron

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

HYCU is a trusted partner

It has been a set it and let it run tool for us, of course we verify backups daily but unless we change something, it just works.

PROS

Easy to use and great support and documentation.

CONS

There is a learning curve with HYCU. Moving from traditional backup software to HYCU backup anytime and figuring out policy setup took a little bit but I had a backup running within 3 hours of starting the setup process.

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Moved to Nutanix and vRanger did not support Nutanix at the time.

Vendor Response

Ron, thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU's simplicity - our product is designed from the need for a better and simpler way to protect business-critical data. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied December 2022

Richard

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Fantastic Protection for Your Nutanix Enviroment(s) and Cluster(s)

We needed a solution for backing up our Nutanix Cloud as a Service Offering it fit perfectly.

PROS

The only choice to protect Nutanix! HYCU's support team are second to none and make implementation and support a breeze :-)

CONS

The only issues we have had are when updating and updating alongside Nutanix platform updates; it can take time to get it fully working again after Nutanix updates.

Reason for choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

A much better offering and really felt like it was designed with and for Nutanix.

User Profile

Wael

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Best Backup and Data protection software in the market.

PROS

it is super easy to implement and use. has all the features required to protect your data. Also Support is responsive and knowledgeable. Most of the tickets that I have raised are for knowhow. No bugs on the system so far. which means they do an excellent job on the QA.

CONS

I dont like the naming of the products, it is somehow confusing.

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Veam is resource intensive and require a lot of configuration

Vendor Response

Wael, thank you! We appreciate your positive feedback! We'll continue to work hard to provide you with a great experience and service. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied February 2023

Jonathan

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Simple, Easy and Effective

PROS

We currently use Protege for our O365 backups. The software was simple to set up and has a great interface to work with. It gave my team the ability to recover emails/documents faster when mistakes are made for a fraction of the cost of other industry-leading solutions.

CONS

We have no complaints about the Software.

Reason for choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

The software gave us a better administrator experience than Veeam and Druva. It also allowed us to backup MS Teams channels and private chats in a legible way.

Vendor Response

Jonathan, thank you for your kind words! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU Protégé simplicity and that it has been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied February 2023

Dan

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

HYCU Works Great and Requires Very Little Maintenance

We back up many virtual machines and are easily able to send backups to our local data infrastructure as well as copies out to the cloud for off-site backups. We have many different policies set with different backup frequencies and retention levels. It has been a great asset to our server infrastructure.

PROS

The thing I like the most about this product is the ease of use and dependability it provides.

CONS

The only thing I have felt it is missing is SAML SSO authentication.

Reason for choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Price and look and feel of the console.

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Unitrends was clunky and not easy to use or maintain.

Neal

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

HYCU Meets and Exceeds Our Expectations

PROS

Easy to deploy, easy to configure, easy to keep upgraded. Nice dashboard for daily checks. Excellent detail in the jobs report for troubleshooting. Support is excellent.

CONS

Upgrades can lag behind Nutanix so that I have to wait for HYCU to sign off before I can upgrade Nutanix Files for example. Not a showstopper, just a minor annoyance at times.

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

We switched from Hyper-V to Nutanix AHV. DPM was not an option with AHV.

Vendor Response

Neal, thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to see you enjoy HYCU's simplicity, and ease of use! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to contact our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied February 2023

User Profile

Will

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Vendor Agnostic, Space Efficient, and Secure Backups! All under a single pane of glass!

HYCU Protégé DPaaS has been extremely easy to implement and then even EASIER to maintain. We can rely on reporting to tell us if something has gone wrong or action is required. Otherwise, HYCU does it job...so we can do ours. HYCU is reliable, robust, efficient, and secure!

PROS

HYCU, with the vendor agnostic storage capabilities, allows for backup across On-Prem and Cloud environments. Whether systems and applications are in-house (Nutanix, VMware Dell PowerScaler (Isilon), SaaS solutions such as Microsoft 365 or others, or machines living in the hyperscalers (Azure, AWS, or Google Cloud), HYCU can do it all. HYCU is also - SIMPLE! A few clicks and storage is configured, backup policies are set, and virtual machines and workloads are being backed up. No more Windows Server OSes to maintain for the backup controller. Easy as advertised and secure!

CONS

HYCU is one of the younger vendors out there on the market, so there are a bit of growing pains. But...their team is responsive and reactive and operates with great care and efficiency. Be patient!

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, Will. And thanks for being such a great advocate for our service. We really appreciate it! We'll continue to strive to provide the best possible experience so you can be successful. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied December 2022

Rhys

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Hycu is an innovator.

PROS

It just works. It really is that simple. Hycu was rolled out and successfully installed in less than 2 hours per site globally. We cut our backup times in half and in some cases even more so giving direct value add to the business. It also gave time back to our engineers on patch weekends. The support has been second to none. This has been one of the easiest implementations we've had and that's credit to Hycu and its team.

CONS

There is not much to dislike in all honesty and anything we have wanted to add is in for consideration with future releases. A once touch upgrade would be nice.

Vendor Response

Rhys - thank you! We're glad to have you as our customer and to see that you and your team of engineers are enjoying HYCU Protégé, which was designed to make moving, protecting, and recovering data no matter where it sits. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied December 2022

Simon

Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Fantastic - It Just works!

PROS

This is best backup solution I have used in the last 20 years. Once setup it just works and is fast and easy to use. Excellent integration with Nutanix AHV as well as working easily with Vmware vSphere, Microsoft

CONS

Separation of interfaces for office 365 backups

Vendor Response

Thank you for your kind words, Simon! We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review, it means a lot! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied December 2022

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

HYCU DPaaS

Really great product, great company and staff, always willing to help if or when required. A professional team.

PROS

Agentless, intuitive management screens, Ease of use

CONS

Nothing to dislike, product works as promised and real easy to use.

Reason for choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Better more features

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

outdated software, not as easy to use less functional

Vendor Response

Dear valued customer, thank you for your feedback! We're happy to see you are satisfied with both, our solution and our amazing support team! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied December 2022

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Extremely happy with the Product and its was of use.

PROS

Extremely Easy to setup and Use Data Protection for M365 Users

CONS

Sometimes Feature Changes are Made without Consolation or Notification

Reason for choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Availability. Microsofts Product , although announced years ago , is still not yet available.

Vendor Response

Dear valued customer, thank you for your feedback! It's great to see HYCU Protégé has been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied December 2022

Craig

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Hycu - A cost effective feature rich backup solution.

Overall, we have had a great experience deploying and using HYCU. The Sales and Support team were always in communication. Our account manager has been great, following via email and Teams call with how the project was going and if we needed support on anything. The trial was a very big thing for us as it allowed us to get a feel for the product before making the decision to purchase. Great experience overall!

PROS

Ease of deployment and policy management. Software was deployed and backing up in a short time. Policy creation and reporting of compliance of each policy is a great feature. Performance is also excellent, and many options for different types of targets. Cost is very competitive compared to some of the other solutions out there (Especially the main player in the DR space).

CONS

For our use case, there wasn't much to dislike. It ticked all the boxes for our purpose.

Reasons for switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Cost. Poor support when issues occurred. Software updates were incredibly frustrating with Veeam.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your kind words, Craig! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU's simplicity and that it has been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

Replied February 2023

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY