All Veeam Data Platform Reviews

1-25 of 73 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Taryn

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Veeam Backup & Replication is our still our go-to backup software in the SMB/SMC customer base.

Veeam local support for new business is outstanding. Renewal support is not local, but is sufficient. Overall, VBR is a great product, and used in the majority of our customer base.

PROS

Veeam Ent Plus licensing is an end-to-end solution. Very easy to install, setup and use. Excellent local support.

CONS

The new licensing model is difficult to migrate to for those customers on STD and ENT existing agreements. Pricing has increased drastically for the "Per VM" model. No agent licensing for small sites with standalone servers.

Reason for choosing Veeam Data Platform

Pricing and Support

Reasons for switching to Veeam Data Platform

Veritas Backup Exec does not offer all functionality and features that Veeam offer. Backup Exec licensing structure is complicated.

Fernando

Computer & Network Security, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Best backup for Virtual Machines system

Simple the best backup software for protect Virtual Machines.

PROS

Easy to use. Most secure backup software for virtual environment

CONS

Nothing. Absolutally nothing to mentioned.

Reason for choosing Veeam Data Platform

Because the technology that uses is more better than competitive alternatives. Price is no high

Reasons for switching to Veeam Data Platform

Acronis is recommended for phisical machines. Veeam is the best technology for Virtual Machines.

Ian

Computer & Network Security, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Great product for backup with a nice support team

Overall, this is a great product that doesn't only provide great backup and support. It also helps prevent data loss.

PROS

Veeam makes it simple to back up and replicate data. The support team is incredibly helpful and was always there to assist us when needed.

CONS

Sometimes the database encounters errors when backing up workstations with changed names, requiring manual deletion of entries to fix.

Mark

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Great replication for DR

Easy to setup and then it just works. We've not had any issues. Restores are fast and easy to complete.

PROS

It is simple to use. The jobs are easy yo manage and in job monitoring and reports are good.

CONS

It is expensive in comparison to others especially for some the advanced features.

Reason for choosing Veeam Data Platform

It seemed the most comprehensive and was a recommendation from a VAR.

Craig

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

I resisted for a long time... not sure why

The pricing (much to my surprise, which is why I resisted for a while) was very good and even better that competitors. I have the "Essentials" licensing pack, which is limited to 50 backup nodes but is very affordable if you can fit within that limitation.

PROS

It work well, is flexible, and offers lots of features

CONS

There are only very small things that I'd like to see changed.

Reason for choosing Veeam Data Platform

Reputation, backed up by performance during trial, and price

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Great Backup & DR Software for the Datacenter

A great backup system that allows us to recover data when needed and required. It allows us to retain backups on-site and offsite for recovery including replicated jobs.

PROS

The current software - Version 9.5 Update 3 covers the needs for any user of the software. You can use the Windows/Linux Agents for physical boxes and manage them directly from the Console now, which includes updating, installing and rebooting of the endpoint. The software is easy to navigate and set up. While true it is mainly for virtual environments they are making strides to cover physical as well. Storage Integration is a great plus with vendors like HPE Nimble, IBM, and Infinidat but requires the Enterprise Plus license. When deployed with Proxy Servers you can cut down backup times drastically. What would take more than 10+ hours can be reduced to 4-5 depending on your environment. The ability to restore to Active Directory, SQL, Exchange is very easy with the software as well as Replication and Recovery Testing with SureBackup. Be sure to review the licensing models to pick what is best for your organization as they even have a Free Edition with limitations. Support is top notch with this product and very responsive. Never had a ticket opened that could not be solved or take a long time to resolution.

CONS

The user interface could use some updating to something more modern like some Windows 10 applications.

User Profile

Joshua

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Great Administration Controls and Improved Linux Operation in Backup & Replication v11

I use this to manage backups of office-facing and production servers in a non-profit business. We have less than 10 servers to care for and the free Community Edition is perfect. I have found the features and reporting to be robust. Practicing restores is no trouble. I have never needed vendor support to operate or configure this Veeam Backup & Replication - it works well and has good documentation!

PROS

Before version 11 the features available to manage Linux backups were a subset of the features available to manage Windows backups. Windows only allowed one backup job per Linux Infrastructure Object and I found myself configuring the backup settings from the Linux command line. Now I can make two backup jobs for the Linux box that are completely managed from the Veeam server interface. Many other features are also available now. I have not used the CDP feature for virtual operating systems, yet it is promising.

CONS

There is a module to export a backup and the wizard doesn't let the operator specify the destination of the export. It is sent to the backup repository on which the backups are made for the job. I would like to specify the location during the wizard.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Semiconductors, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Robust and optimal data backup

PROS

Allows backup without any interruption. It successfully simplifies the data recovery process. It has excellent replication, which allows data to be moved and sent from one directory to another. Allows you to compress data while backing up saves time and storage space.

CONS

The initial configuration takes a considerable time, it is necessary to incorporate more documentation to speed up this process. Your license is considerably expensive.

User Profile

Luke

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Veeam Availability Suite is a useful software package for Backups and DR that works well.

Security and peace of mind for security and retention of data.

PROS

The ease of installation and use, easy configuration and minimal setup time makes this software our choice for MSP customers. We have found it to be reliable and consistent, with many different customers all using the software in different setups. Recovery from the file/folder level all the way up to the Entire VM restoration is easy to understand and perform.

CONS

Price tag is a little hefty for some customers, but overall is usually on par with other similar software. However there are options out there from Veeam to help mitigate the cost if needed.

Bjarke

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Top shelf enterprise backup and recovery solution

PROS

The ease of use of this product suite is OUTSTANDING. By far the quickest to learn and use of any of the many different solution we have tried out over the years. This one is the keeper. Scheduling and chaining of jobs works like a charm. So little overhead in managing the backups and recovery.

CONS

If I were to point to anything it would be the lack of integration with Dell SAN systems, but I'm sure that will be sorted in a future release.

Rahul

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Excellent backup tool

I am using Veeam since from February 2021. It's actually a best software but faced many times backup issue when Server size were more than 1TB. Otherwise restoration process are good, Instance recovery process are also simple and useful for migration also.it's seriously very good software for full server type backup(Host base backup).

PROS

We can easily download the product from hie official website. Can easily add the cluster, nodes in Veeam tool,. Backup configuration policy is very simple. Restoration process is vary easy. Tool deployment process is vary much easy. Replication is very easy. Instance recovery option is very useful for the server migration.Dashboard GUI is very desirable aslo.

CONS

There are no provision about the job priority. Queued backup jobs will come in running state when once running jobs will get completed. retention points and retention days might have little hard to understand.

Turan

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Your Data Backup is Safe!

Although the configurations took a long time in the first installation, everything was clear after the installation. In a very short time, we started the instant backup process by integrating our virtual machines. Great performance in replicating data to another medium and sending backups. Thanks to the management of data from a single point, we started to use our processes, lost time and resources more effectively. Moreover, the ability to instantly monitor the errors, reports and logs allows you to have control over all processes.

PROS

Veeam Backup systems take backups of our virtual servers installed in our feature systems and protect them. There is also the ability to do this task without an agency. Its licensing is simple and the standard is very good. It has a structure that can be installed and applied for almost every platform. Its flexibility takes it one step further than other software. It collects and organizes all your systems under one roof. It can perform processes such as backup and reloading from a single point. Ideal for running task creation easily.

CONS

If you do not know the features of the program professionally, typical user error will occur and this will create negative feedback for you. You will get the maximum efficiency when installed together with the consultant.

Reasons for switching to Veeam Data Platform

Due to licensing issues, incomplete and incorrect backups, backup times, the occurrence of errors across platforms.

Sheikh Abdul

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

The best backup application: Veeam backup and restoration

A brilliant an easy to use enterprise level product.

PROS

Easy to use, user friendly UI. Support is quick and locally available too. Online help forum is very beneficial.

CONS

Veeam agent for Linux cannot send email alerts for backups. Requested this feature many times but still no update.

Reason for choosing Veeam Data Platform

Support and experience.

Reasons for switching to Veeam Data Platform

Difficult to understand UI

Jessica

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

It allows us to easily and securely back up any kind of data.

Backup is critical, and we must constantly provide backup copies of our data in a safe and easily accessible place. Veeam has provided us with all the capabilities to help us efficiently manage and organize backup operations.

PROS

Veeam provides sufficient flexibility to perform backup data operations quickly and safely. It can deal with all types of data, works with all kinds of servers efficiently, and thus contributes to making the backup process more stable and effective. Scheduling allows for scheduling backups and repeating them with high quality. It's excellent that Veeam provides everyone, even those who are inexperienced with information technology, to set up backup tasks themselves without the help of any help, as the settings can be easily prepared, the support teams provide the required assistance promptly, and Veeam also provides all the needed instructions with screenshots of all the steps Crunch to perform all functions as required.

CONS

I had difficulty dealing with the user interface at first, but with time and after understanding the method of use correctly, navigating through the dashboard became very simple.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Backup for Virtualize Envoirement

I am using Veeam software for long as it is the one of the best and user friendly backup software available in market. We can modify and customize too much with its built-in option and features. it has almost all modern features which is required by System Administrator so it suits the best. I face only issue in troubleshooting as Veeam support is not much good as i faced multiple delays and if you want to search for a random error at forum, then you have to also open a case.

PROS

Full + incremental backup with compression User Friendly Easy to configure Supports all kind of Virtual Environment. Services based backup which analyze the data and compress/backup accordingly so the data can be restored. Replication.

CONS

Veeam support is not much good as i faced multiple delays and if you want to search for a random error at forum, then you have to also open a case. Although it is not much issue to open case but why we should go for a case for minor errors. It should be easily available on forums. Also its error troubleshooting is complicated.

Shani

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Onmisbaar en flexibel

Tevreden gebruiker en beheerder. Snele servicedesk indien nodig.Mogelijkheid om naar je eigen omgeving aan te passen.

PROS

Het ideale van het programma's is dat zich constant ontwikkeld met de tijd mee en met de wensen van de klant. Er kunnen steeds nieuwe modules toegevoegd worden en mogelijkheid om onsite en cloud backup.

CONS

Soms zijn de foutmeldingen moelijk te ontcijferen en oorzaak te vinden.

Reason for choosing Veeam Data Platform

Is door de managament geregeld.

Reasons for switching to Veeam Data Platform

Nieuwe wensen en infrastructuur

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Copias sin complicaciones

PROS

La facilidad con la que se planifican las copias y poder guardarlo donde quieras y como quieras... Repositorios compartidos, en local, inmutables, s3 u otros cloud... Todo facilidades y de la misma manera para las recuperaciones

CONS

Nada destacable ahora mismo, llevo usando la herramienta des de antes de la v.8 y no hacen más que evolucionar y dar facilidades

Momen

Building Materials, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: