All Alteryx Designer Reviews

1-25 of 93 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Facilities Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

We started using Alteryx in a pilot project in November 2017, which resulted in immediate success

Massive time saving on Analytical function as well as improvement in accuracy with data from disparate data sources

PROS

Ease of implementation, fantastic product support. Great assistance from Altyrex - committed resources at no cost to help implement, train etc. A lot of willingness to help us 'prove' the business case - i.e. make a success of the pilot project. Workshops ran in business helped getting a number of other business functions exposed and on board in support of the product. Willingness to negotiate on price as well as providing trial licences to other functions for a period of time to enable usage uptake. Willingness to understand business problem assisted greatly in successful deployment. Ease of deployment in 'non-analytics' environment was a big enabler. What is great is that it is process flow based and no extensive coding experience is required. Now busy with further business case projects in other parts of the business.

CONS

The cost initially seems exorbitant - especially as there are alternatives such as KNIME & Rapid Miner. Value delivered however overcame this barrier.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Alteryx Designer: Making data transformation at any size accessible

Alteryx Designer has become the heart of our organisation's ETL processes. It has made it easy for us to extract and cleanse incredibly dirty and complex data from a range of legacy software. Its powerful feature-set allows us to create some really complex processes that have become essential to the integration of our drastically different components within our infrastructure.

PROS

Probably Alteryx's best selling point is accessibility. I personally learnt how to use Alteryx quite comprehensively in a matter of days without any training resources whatsoever. The intuitive UI makes it easy to construct even incredibly complex ETL processes. Alteryx's feature-set is also extremely powerful. It is really greater than the sum of its parts. With the wide range of modules it provides as well as the ability to construct many types of macros yourself, Alteryx allows you to do things with the product that may not have even been intended by the developers. The community is well fleshed out and there are a number of macros out there (shout-out to the CReW macros) that pick up the slack where some native functionality is missing (eg. triggering workflows from other workflows). However, some of this reliance on external macros/connectors can be problematic for software updates when some can be broken.

CONS

We'd love to have our team all using Alteryx, but the heavy price-tag limits us to only justifying the purchase of a couple licenses at a time. There are a number of features that are attractive to us about Alteryx Server too, but the jump in price to that product is too high to justify. Things can get awkward when it comes to automating workflows. In order to trigger workflows on demand outside of the designer, you are required to pay even more for a Desktop Scheduling license. That license only grants you access to the engine via the command line, which can be awkward in some scenarios (eg. if the workflow accesses network shares that require domain access, a user with sufficient rights must be the one to run the engine via command line). While Alteryx can provide significant throughput of data, there does seem to be some issues when capturing large SQL datasets sometimes. I and others in the community have witnessed significant performance degradation when not using the "TOP" SQL clause in SQL statements. It's an odd issue, but it is one that slowed down our organisation's ETL processes significantly (some large workflows ran for 24 hours) in the past before identifying the "TOP" clause workaround.

Waqas

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2021

Would be great if there is a free version just to view alteryx workflows (and not alteryx server)

PROS

It does not require coding skills like python i.e, easier to get started with and do basic data analysis in matter of minutes

CONS

Once a workflow is created, it cannot be viewed or executed by anyone who does not posses a copy of alteryx software which is expensive to buy just for execution of workflows. However, there is a separate product which is called alteryx server where workflows can be executed free of cost. The biggest problem is that behaviour of workflows on designer and server is different. Many tools do not work on server and there is no way of showing intermediate results on server. As these are two different products, one can't even file a ticket of improvement on designer's customer support. In complex workflows things get even more frustrating when server is unable to do what alteryx workflow suppose to do.

Virginia

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Quick and easy way to move from data exploration and blending to analysis and insight

This software, especially the predictive analytics piece, gave me new insight into my data. I saved time during the process of merging and cleansing data that could then be put to better use exploring, analyzing, and making decisions with the data. The work that previously required collaboration between several people to complete could be done by one person in a fraction of the time, which benefited everyone.

PROS

Alteryx has the full package starting with excellent customer service and continuing with an straightforward drag-and-drop interface. An abundance of available nodes make it simple to pull in data from many different sources, merge, union, filter, sort, and even perform statistical or predictive analysis on your data, and then disseminate it to the proper stakeholders. The visual nature of the product makes it accessible, even for beginners with no programming background, so they can start building queries right away. What I love most is how it makes the part of my job that used to be the most tedious--data prep and cleansing--fast and effortless and even fun. There are also many online training videos and community group to help build your knowledge of the product and its full range of capabilities.

CONS

Alteryx may be better suited to fields other than education; however, I can still find good use cases for it in my job.

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Alteryx is all you need to advance BI

I can't really discuss use cases due to proprietary information, but let me tell you- Alteryx elevates your entire organization and is a extremely versatile product to add to an analysts toolkit.

PROS

Alteryx is an incredibly easy to use tool that creates and automates data workflows with a click and drag toolbox. Passed R, Python and JSON code through the workflow so you can get technical tasks done without a developer.

CONS

Alteryx support could be a bit better in terms of follow up with very specific and technical questions. However, the community is a great resource to get answers to high level questions!

Vikesh

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Must have tool for analysts

PROS

1. Drag and drop based UI interface 2. Ability to import data from and export data into variety of data sources 3. Re-usuability of workflows 4. Full feature trial license

CONS

1. Lack of (or limited) visualisation capability. 2.machine dependent licensed(it should had license key Linked to email ID, making it easier to port licensed from one system to another) 3. Expensive license

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Great cleaning tool.

Alteryx has overall been a very useful tool for data analysis and manipulation. It helps clean data, and make things easier to read for once you get to the visualization stage of the data analysis process.

PROS

I like being able to quickly manipulate data and create new rows and columns with ease, making the data easier to read as well as adding new factors into data sets.

CONS

I dislike how it can be at time cumbersome when one creates complex workflows that take over an hour to load just once.

User Profile

Lincoln

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Alteryx simplifies and Enhances Data Preparation

I've loved working with Alteryx. After just 4 months of using the software, I have managed to automate over 20 daily or weekly processes that used to take all my time. I now have more time to create meaningful reports that can help management make the decisions that will keep our company moving forward.

PROS

Alteryx allows you to walk through your data preparation step by step to ensure that everything is following the exact process of orders that you want.

CONS

Occasionally, Alteryx will stop processing a workflow because of a minor error. Frequently, that minor error has a handful of different solutions, forcing you to try each solution one by one. After some experience you learn what things to look for, but when just starting out, it's a nuisance.

Vishal

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

One tool for most of your data management and preparation needs

PROS

I have been using Alteryx for past few months and it has made my life so easy when it comes to handling multiple files. You can combine multiple excel files, CSVs, any other files, 100s of MBs in size, and within minutes it carries out the entire ETL process. 1. Ease of use - simple drag and drop 2. Input and outputs - multiple file formats are supported 3. Very easily handle GBs of data

CONS

1. A few visualization capabilities can be added to make it more comprehensive tool 2. You have to run the entire workflow again, even if you have made a slight change - having the functionality to run just a piece or small part of the entire workflow will save much more time

User Profile

Monel

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Automating Workflows

Helps to increase efficiency and saves money for the company.

PROS

Very useful to automate manual workflows with repetitive tasks. Python Integration helps to ease out the process. Saves a lot of cost. Integration with other servers and applications is top notch.

CONS

Costly license limits the use. Requires training for getting used to it.

Alaa

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

A tool that provides us with enough flexibility to prepare and analyze data

Alteryx has enabled us to achieve a greater understanding of the various analytics processes and even what we considered too complex in the past, which enabled us to achieve positive results that were directly reflected in our operations.

PROS

I appreciate how Alteryx helps me to get a lot of solutions especially with regards to complex data transformation, which previously required us a lot of effort to check and document it. I love the fact that there are so many tools built into Alteryx that enable us to customize fields in a faster way. The dashboard provides an overview of the data being tracked so that all team members at all levels can get a fuller understanding of all the processes and analytics, and the unique presentation of the data helps So, it makes everyone on the same path while monitoring the transmission of data at all stages.

CONS

Not many negatives, as Alteryx is generally easy to use, and team members only need to get clarifications about performing some functions. It should also be given more flexibility that enables us to convert data into PDF files easily, as well as work on improving reports and graphs so that they become More modern.

Mithun

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Most Advanced Business Data Processing Tool

Overall very much satisfied with the software and its customer support.

PROS

Alteryx has a lot of Data Connections and Toolkits already built in which helps speed up the Data Processing and ETL for IT as well as Business people. With little to no knowledge of programming language and SQL one can easily build a pipeline for data transformation. The speed and ease of development is the main pros of the software.

CONS

There has to be more AI ML features on this software. The visualization and data exploration capabilities need to be enhanced.

Omkar

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Good tool for making pipeline with multiple source

Able to build a robust pipeline for multiple features involving Data Analytics, AI-based solutions to data visualization dashboard

PROS

Easiness to make a pipeline with a variety of data sources. The data source was from a text file to a cloud database. Also it has good integration with python, which enable to writing the script to filter data very quickly and easily

CONS

The cost is on very high side. It would be good if its cost can be reduced

Lu

Accounting, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

This software is easy to learn and efficient for data wrangling

Overall experience is good. Even can build app and help with data automation.

PROS

It is easy to learn and efficient to do data preparation. Can deal with big volume of data that Excel cannot.

CONS

More machine learning and prediction tools can be developed and make them user friendly to non data science people.

Adam

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

Alteryx is a great self selfservice ETL tool for non-coders

great customer service

PROS

no coding experience necessary, seamless integration with Tableau and SQL, great workflow icons and capabilities, great automation

CONS

pricing, but they are flexible, could make a cloud product that is easier to scale out to more people

ROMARIO

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

An extraordinarily ETL tool

In conclusion, Alteryx is a great solution for all the data wrangling and joins activities. It has helped my team to create data models faster and easier. I have not used the analysis and ML capabilities that it offers, but for my use case, I find it very helpful.

PROS

Alteryx offers great capabilities for data prep, blending and processing intuitively. It's possible to connect to a wide variety of data sources. Also, It offers visual and table data to help you visualize the results and profile the data you're using. Furthermore, flows are very easy to understand what's going on and are exportable to formats such as direct SQL queries.

CONS

There's a learning curve to understand all the components that Alteryx offers. However, there's great documentation out there to learn.

User Profile

Luke

Verified reviewer

Commercial Real Estate, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

The data software that can do anything

Really powerful and robust software. I'm sure it has competitors or peers, but I'm not familiar with them. I've found a host of benefits from using Alteryx to automate repetitive, time-intensive tasks that would typically be done in Excel, as well as analysis that Excel was never built to handle

PROS

Alteryx is incredibly powerful. I used it on a daily basis for 3~ years, and I still only scratched the surface of its total functionality. Its GUI is beyond easy to use because it's so intuitive. Alteryx is a great solution for handling the tasks Excel was never built for.

CONS

Contacting customer support is hard; the software's very expensive, but you have to pay extra to talk to someone on the phone.

Chris

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Fast-working data cleanser and much more!

Install was a breeze, design interface was simple to use. Lots of drag and drop and smooth shortcuts for building fast. All the logical, normalization, and mathematical functionality you could want. Easy to change a certain piece of the workflow and quickly see your result. As a designer, you'll want at least some SQL or Access background. There is so much more to the software that I haven't even tried out, can't wait!

PROS

I use this software for manipulating csv files with <10k rows and am very pleased with the flexibility and performance. Designer opens fast, is easy to build with, processes workflows fast and lets you know where your problems are. Very logical and easy to follow for your average data junkie.

CONS

Price-per-license is high, but it's really awesome software! Designer is for more for data-minded workers, but the interface is so easy to use that a non-techie could run a workflow with minimal instruction.

Reason for choosing Alteryx Designer

Very powerful, flexible data translation software was needed.

Umang

Packaging and Containers, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY