User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(49)

49

4 stars

(17)

17

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easiness to use,PLug and play,For non technical poeple this is amazing tool.Time Saver."

  • "Friendly graphic interface. The drag and drop workflows are fun to create"

  • "The ease of use is great. We can teach people how to data analyst very quickly. The functions they continue to add have been great."

  • Cons

  • "pricing, but they are flexible, could make a cloud product that is easier to scale out to more people"

  • "The tool is a bit pricy. However it is worth the spending when you need it"

  • "Alteryx support could be a bit better in terms of follow up with very specific and technical questions. However, the community is a great resource to get answers to high level questions!"

Browse Alteryx Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 67 results

July 2018

Daniel from Tsebo Facilities Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

We started using Alteryx in a pilot project in November 2017, which resulted in immediate success

Massive time saving on Analytical function as well as improvement in accuracy with data from disparate data sources

Pros

Ease of implementation, fantastic product support. Great assistance from Altyrex - committed resources at no cost to help implement, train etc. A lot of willingness to help us 'prove' the business case - i.e. make a success of the pilot project. Workshops ran in business helped getting a number of other business functions exposed and on board in support of the product. Willingness to negotiate on price as well as providing trial licences to other functions for a period of time to enable usage uptake. Willingness to understand business problem assisted greatly in successful deployment. Ease of deployment in 'non-analytics' environment was a big enabler. What is great is that it is process flow based and no extensive coding experience is required. Now busy with further business case projects in other parts of the business.

Cons

The cost initially seems exorbitant - especially as there are alternatives such as KNIME & Rapid Miner. Value delivered however overcame this barrier.

November 2019

Neil from Development Victoria

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Alteryx - Take back control of your Data.

Our experience with this product is that it has transformed our ability to analyse, consume, and report on our data in a way that make sense to the business. We have been able to develop a business-centric Datawarehouse where all our cleansed data is stored and can then be queried or reported on, without the need to employ expensive data scientists or developers. Alteryx has truly revolutionised how see and use our data and this in turn has empowered the business to making the right decisions at the right time.

Pros

Alteryx is an incredible powerful analytics tool that allows users to input source data, manipulate, clean and transpose that data, then output into a Datawarehouse or other database. Despite the complexity of this product it has a great user interface and this makes it easier to learn and you are able to get up and running in a very short amount of time.

Cons

Still lacks some basic functionality, like an in-built tool for creating SQL views or a tool that can run multiple workflows in sequence (like Crew macro).

Reasons for Choosing Alteryx

Alteryx was able to demonstrate its capabilities to us very quickly and easily and we also identified the product's scalability potential, allowing us to get started without huge up-front investment but also to know that the product range would be there to support our growth, when needed.

April 2020

ROMARIO from Coppel

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

An extraordinarily ETL tool

In conclusion, Alteryx is a great solution for all the data wrangling and joins activities. It has helped my team to create data models faster and easier. I have not used the analysis and ML capabilities that it offers, but for my use case, I find it very helpful.

Pros

Alteryx offers great capabilities for data prep, blending and processing intuitively. It's possible to connect to a wide variety of data sources. Also, It offers visual and table data to help you visualize the results and profile the data you're using. Furthermore, flows are very easy to understand what's going on and are exportable to formats such as direct SQL queries.

Cons

There's a learning curve to understand all the components that Alteryx offers. However, there's great documentation out there to learn.

March 2015

Charles from Buxton

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.5

March 2015

Quite Good

Pros

Alteryx seems to have ever-expanding capabilities.

Cons

Some of the error messages can be quite vague and help very little in troubleshooting.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Easy, Pricy but Worth it

I'm a Technology Consultant, using ALteryx for ETL projects where analyse the data is a critical job and the size of the data, wouldn't allow me to use tools like excel . Alteryx it has been a great tool for all my jobs, let in me stand out with fast and quality solution.

Pros

The most i like is the Easy drag and drop function that the application has. The design and how visual it is to keep the Information flow, makes Alteryx a great app for data analysis, formatting and design. Built in tool like time Formaters, filters and Joins facilitate the work of doing data cleansing and data prepping for any ETL job. Another great area is how flexible it is input and output formats. It lets you join CSV files with XLS or even TXT.

Cons

The least I like is the price and the latency when loading the data. Because is a strong and powerful Tool, it is a bit pricey in one hand, is not a tool for one day job, is more for enterprise and daily jobs. When loading the data, depending where is located the document, it will take longer than usual.

December 2019

Robert from RW Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best Tool for Mashing Data

I use Alteryx to combine multiple sources of data (from databases, excel workbooks, and others), clean, calculate, sort and provide an output that is easily digested. It allows me to provide analysis in a simple way, be creative in how I manipulate the data and even create automated running of the workflow. It saves me at least 8 hours a week.

Pros

Alteryx has a fantastic interface, using function blocks that you can drag and drop to create a workflow. This makes it simple to use and provides the ability to create complex workflows.

Cons

The license cost for the tool is very high, which means not everyone can use it. I find very little other cons with the program.

July 2019

TARANDEEP from Cox Automotive

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Alteryx Means Work Done

Alteryx is a tool which can increase your productivity, at the same time providing you facility to re run again, schedule and automate easily. Best Feature is plug and play feature in statistical models too...It gives alot of feature like data profiling,quality ,scheduling and automation.

Pros

Easiness to use,PLug and play,For non technical poeple this is amazing tool.Time Saver.

Cons

I heard from Admin that license is expensive

Reasons for Choosing Alteryx

easiness to understand and use.good tool for non technical people too.

October 2019

Lu from Deloitte

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

This software is easy to learn and efficient for data wrangling

Overall experience is good. Even can build app and help with data automation.

Pros

It is easy to learn and efficient to do data preparation. Can deal with big volume of data that Excel cannot.

Cons

More machine learning and prediction tools can be developed and make them user friendly to non data science people.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Simplify Data Manipulation with the Press of a Button

Pros

It has a simple to use drag and drop interface.

Cons

There is so much functionality, it is difficult to know everything.

July 2019

adel from Prime Analytics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Amazing self service analytics tool

Amazing tool for crunching big amount of data. Very easy to learn and very powerful when you take the time to dig deap. The community is also great.

Pros

Friendly graphic interface. The drag and drop workflows are fun to create

Cons

The tool is a bit pricy. However it is worth the spending when you need it

December 2017

Joe from Cradlepoint

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

A fantastic ETL, data munging, data prep, and data processing tool

Alteryx can do so much more than I use it for, so I believe the only case where Alteryx wouldn't be needed is when a department/team had a full development team to prep data pre-analysis or already has a central data store fully stood up and standardized. Alteryx works extremely well with a multitude of BI and database solutions and would be a great fit for any team trying to speed up the typical daily grind of data prep and ETL so their analytics and data team can be more agile, accurate, and automated.

Pros

Data ingestion: Alteryx is capable of connecting with a multitude of data sources from SQL databases to cloud-hosted solutions like Salesforce, Tableau, or Google Analytics. Also supports OleDB & ODBC connections. Dynamic data munging: Alteryx has a great variety of processing tools to clean and prep data including: dedupe, formulas, joins, union, sort... Performing these functions really quickly on even moderately equipped laptops or desktops. It's dynamic in that it can easily handle changes in data by allowing extra columns to flow through. Macros: have a process that you are consistently running in separate workflows? Build a MACRO, be it a batch or iterative, Alteryx can do it. I've built 40-50 macros and use at least 4+ in every workflow I design so data is handled the same way in every workflow for consistency and cutting down on copy/pastes.

Cons

I've had issues with the scheduler tool getting frozen or stuck in previous versions. For about the last 2-3 months the latest software version has been much more reliable. Previously I had to restart the Alteryx service on my machine at least once a week, which meant my workflows weren't running while the service had been stuck and data wasn't moving. Some of the connectors, like the Tableau Online connector, should become supported by Alteryx. The online community is fantastic and has created a ton of useful macros and it would be great if Alteryx would adopt, support, and enhance some of the most widely used and useful.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Go With The Flow - Automation using Alteryx Designer

As an analyst in the Finance dept of a large financial institution, my work is largely cyclical in nature. I need to produce the same output on a monthly basis and a lot of my processes require several manual steps which can take hours. With Alteryx Designer, I have been able to convert many of these processes to automated workflows which can achieve the same results in literally seconds. With the power of automation, I have more time for analyzing results instead of spending a great deal of time generating reports.

Pros

Alteryx Designer is a very intuitive way to map out a process in a step by step visual workflow which can be then executed with the click of a button. Tedious manual tasks can be automated with ease. Traditionally, programming required drawing out ones algorithm in a flowchart and then having to translate that into computer code. With Alteryx, the flowchart itself is the code. It features a vast array of icons called tools, each of which has a specific function such as importing data, filtering based on criteria, summarizing, merging information and so forth. You simply drag and drop each tool into the work area for each step in your process and then click the play button. It's like having a robot to whom you can describe your work and then have it do it for you in a fraction of the time.

Cons

Alteryx Designer is excellent for data mining/wrangling for eventual output to be used for reporting but it's internal report generation and presentation tools are not as robust as others when it comes to publishing a polished presentation. I prefer to use Designer to produce my final data result set and export to Excel where I can then take advantage of Microsoft Office formatting and presentation options.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

So many uses!

Alteryx has been great! It solved our business need plus so much more. The number of users in my company has been expanding since we first started using it.

Pros

You can do so much with Alteryx! We acquired the software for one specific project but I find myself using it for so many other things, from day to day data work to other large projects. It has great features like fuzzy matching, data normalization, and join capabilities. It is great for working with large data sets that can't be easily managed in excel or access and for allowing multiple data sources to interact with each other.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve. However, once you understand how it all works its easy. Also there are so many tools and more than one way to achieve the same thing. It can be hard to know how to approach new projects.

February 2019

Atheer from EP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Daily user

Overall, am a happy user, ALteryx saved time and effort on daily basis and opened many horizons for me to clean he data in a timely manner. If you work in a dynamic environment where quick steps in data cleaning and wranglning are required in no time then ALteryx is your first option.

Pros

Not so steep learning curve, Alteryx is built around the human common sense. The fact that you can (View/Process) the data as a branch at any stage of the processing is really useful, and the way the software designed allows you to go backward and see what happened.

Cons

The limitation of some tools and the high barrier to developing new functionality.

December 2017

Virginia from Winston-Salem State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Quick and easy way to move from data exploration and blending to analysis and insight

This software, especially the predictive analytics piece, gave me new insight into my data. I saved time during the process of merging and cleansing data that could then be put to better use exploring, analyzing, and making decisions with the data. The work that previously required collaboration between several people to complete could be done by one person in a fraction of the time, which benefited everyone.

Pros

Alteryx has the full package starting with excellent customer service and continuing with an straightforward drag-and-drop interface. An abundance of available nodes make it simple to pull in data from many different sources, merge, union, filter, sort, and even perform statistical or predictive analysis on your data, and then disseminate it to the proper stakeholders. The visual nature of the product makes it accessible, even for beginners with no programming background, so they can start building queries right away. What I love most is how it makes the part of my job that used to be the most tedious--data prep and cleansing--fast and effortless and even fun. There are also many online training videos and community group to help build your knowledge of the product and its full range of capabilities.

Cons

Alteryx may be better suited to fields other than education; however, I can still find good use cases for it in my job.

April 2019

Michael from ADP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Alteryx is all you need to advance BI

I can't really discuss use cases due to proprietary information, but let me tell you- Alteryx elevates your entire organization and is a extremely versatile product to add to an analysts toolkit.

Pros

Alteryx is an incredibly easy to use tool that creates and automates data workflows with a click and drag toolbox. Passed R, Python and JSON code through the workflow so you can get technical tasks done without a developer.

Cons

Alteryx support could be a bit better in terms of follow up with very specific and technical questions. However, the community is a great resource to get answers to high level questions!

December 2018

Vikesh from Alvarez & Marsal

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Must have tool for analysts

Pros

1. Drag and drop based UI interface 2. Ability to import data from and export data into variety of data sources 3. Re-usuability of workflows 4. Full feature trial license

Cons

1. Lack of (or limited) visualisation capability. 2.machine dependent licensed(it should had license key Linked to email ID, making it easier to port licensed from one system to another) 3. Expensive license

August 2018

Raghu from Trelleborg Sealing Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

A simple yet powerful ETL tool

Pros

Easy to use UI, just drag and drop tools and start your data modelling. Geo spatial data for spatial analysis Blending data from different sources is quite easy. Create and schedule data models and it will run automatically.

Cons

Integration with other tools are less compared to its competitor tools such as Informatica .etc. Reporting option could be improved.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Alteryx Designer

Alteryx is one of the fastest & easiest softwares to use for data processing, data modeling, and data visualization.

Pros

Ease of use & speed of use. Very user friendly and intuitive. Processes massive amounts of data very quickly, even on a desktop/laptop.

Cons

With the frequent releases, there seems to be more (minor) bugs than in the past when releases weren't so frequent.

September 2018

Yazir from Cochez

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Powerful and simple

This is a great data handling software. Half the company runs on this.

Pros

There is basically a module for doing everything Connectivity in both inputs and outputs is simply superb

Cons

Output to PDF to export reports might need better capabilities Documentation of less used features might be insufficient compared to most commonly used features

February 2019

Jaehoon from University of Utah

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

A good tool for automating complicated analytics pipelines

Alteryx is a good tool and well fits in our need of clinical data management and analytics pipeline optimization. There are rooms for improvement in terms of stability in desktop application.

Pros

Alteryx is a great tool when need of integrating multiple or complicated analytics pipelines in one place and manage them in a systematics manner. It provides a variety of data connections to common relational database product and web resources. It also provides plugins to add other product such as Tableau, etc.

Cons

The desktop application used to crash (not responding) in case of loading large sized data. It also gets very slow when moving or drag-dropping objects in the authoring environment.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Game changer.

Postive 100%

Pros

This application has no limits as it relates to everything data. With Alteryx, I have been able to automate my data cleansing / loading activites within hours and now runs within SECONDS daily. Truly remarkable product, and quite frankly scares me at times how well it works.

Cons

Price for the premium packages. However, the price points are accurate and justified based on what the application can do.

February 2018

Drew from IDM

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great analytics and overall tool

Pros

The ease of use is great. We can teach people how to data analyst very quickly. The functions they continue to add have been great.

Cons

We have issues at times with it hanging or shutting down but customer support is quick to respond and resolve issues.

December 2017

Adam from OIA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Alteryx is a great self selfservice ETL tool for non-coders

great customer service

Pros

no coding experience necessary, seamless integration with Tableau and SQL, great workflow icons and capabilities, great automation

Cons

pricing, but they are flexible, could make a cloud product that is easier to scale out to more people

December 2016

Robin from TIL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Makes data prep and predictive analysis a breeze

We used to spend a lot of time in Excel and SQL queries trying to get the data right for reporting, plus if there was anything more complex involved such as forecasting or predictive model building to do, we'd have to find an R expert which really slows the process down. Alteryx changed all that and building workflows that preps the data and spits out a clean dataset or report complete with forecasts etc. can all be done without coding and in a visual way that anyone can understand and see what's been done and where leading to the greater confidence the data is right.

Pros

Easy to use interface, extremely flexible for data analysis tasks, self-documenting, very fast on large data sets

Cons

Automating workflow is an additional cost

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

My favorite data science tool

Pros

I would argue that this is the number one product for data science. I have change my entire analytics department for the better with using alteryx.

Cons

No major complaints on this software, my team loves it!

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Pretty good data analytics software

Business problems like considation, analytics, dashboard and reporting can be made very convenient

Pros

Easy to use You can see data as it passes through each tool. Seamless integration with excel, database other sources Good reporting options

Cons

Lack of customer service Not able to read excel files with macro enables format correctly

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Great cleaning tool.

Alteryx has overall been a very useful tool for data analysis and manipulation. It helps clean data, and make things easier to read for once you get to the visualization stage of the data analysis process.

Pros

I like being able to quickly manipulate data and create new rows and columns with ease, making the data easier to read as well as adding new factors into data sets.

Cons

I dislike how it can be at time cumbersome when one creates complex workflows that take over an hour to load just once.

March 2015

Jenifer from Buxton

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2015

Alteryx is the most frequently used software at my office.

Pros

The inputs are easy to use, the tools are easily understood and well described in the help files and they easily connect with one another. Writing neat output files is made easy regardless of file type. The ability to use R within the module has made a lot of analyses much easier.

Cons

The transition to newer versions of Alteryx is much too complicated when you have to skip a few of the in-between versions, which my company often does.

September 2018

Dinesh Kumar from Lennox International Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Great tool for Process Automating

Amazing tool for process automation and integration

Pros

Easy drag and drop interface for creating workflows. Easy to debug (easy to track and monitor the workflows while it is running) Can Integrate "R" code with Alteryx Alteryx provides variety of features for text data cleaning (including fuzzy matching, regular expressions and table joins) Without much coding alteryx provides machine learning for predictive analytics (drag and drop features)

Cons

At times Alteryx is slow in responding Expensive tool Not good for data visualization Very few training videos

December 2017

Ravi from The Information Lab

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Easy to use, beautiful interface, documentation in a cinch

So much time saved Easy to share documentation without worrying about syntax, coding and verfication Trainable to a layman analyst

Pros

Drag and drop interface, the ability to manipulate my data at any point and expand my analytics through spatial and predictive.

Cons

The Server solution could be better developed to be ready to integrate with other enterprise wide features (for example, managing users, databases, schedules)

August 2018

Lincoln from doTERRA International LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Alteryx simplifies and Enhances Data Preparation

I've loved working with Alteryx. After just 4 months of using the software, I have managed to automate over 20 daily or weekly processes that used to take all my time. I now have more time to create meaningful reports that can help management make the decisions that will keep our company moving forward.

Pros

Alteryx allows you to walk through your data preparation step by step to ensure that everything is following the exact process of orders that you want.

Cons

Occasionally, Alteryx will stop processing a workflow because of a minor error. Frequently, that minor error has a handful of different solutions, forcing you to try each solution one by one. After some experience you learn what things to look for, but when just starting out, it's a nuisance.

June 2018

Vishal from Alvarez & Marsal

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

One tool for most of your data management and preparation needs

Pros

I have been using Alteryx for past few months and it has made my life so easy when it comes to handling multiple files. You can combine multiple excel files, CSVs, any other files, 100s of MBs in size, and within minutes it carries out the entire ETL process. 1. Ease of use - simple drag and drop 2. Input and outputs - multiple file formats are supported 3. Very easily handle GBs of data

Cons

1. A few visualization capabilities can be added to make it more comprehensive tool 2. You have to run the entire workflow again, even if you have made a slight change - having the functionality to run just a piece or small part of the entire workflow will save much more time

February 2019

Monel from Schlumberger

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Automating Workflows

Helps to increase efficiency and saves money for the company.

Pros

Very useful to automate manual workflows with repetitive tasks. Python Integration helps to ease out the process. Saves a lot of cost. Integration with other servers and applications is top notch.

Cons

Costly license limits the use. Requires training for getting used to it.

March 2015

Spencer from Buxton

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

5.0

March 2015

Saves me hours a week and allows me to think critically more often!

Pros

I love how diverse the product is. I can do a simple data pull to a demographic report to doing regression analysis for a complex model.

Cons

The only small complaint I have is that some of the error messages themselves are cryptic and convoluted.

December 2018

Jesse from Never Ever Ordinary- Intentional Data. Intelligent Growth.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

The future of ETL is here. No coding needed

The possibilities are endless and the future is bright

Pros

The ease of use to prep, blend, transform, wrangle, etc is awesome. The learning curve is not that challenging. This is the future of development. There are a lot of connectors inherently built in.

Cons

Some of the connectors can be finicky. Support can be a little slow to respond

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Simple and easy to use data prep, data processing and ETL tool with intuitive drag and drop visuals

Pros

- Great for data prep and processing. Very light weight ETL tool. - Ability to enhance the data by applying statistical models, available public data, etc. - UI interface is very intuitive with drag and drop components

Cons

- Hard to scale (Best use case is for individual projects) - Expensive to use, high license cost

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Alteryx

I like Alteryx as a data mulipulation tool but it's also very diffult to learn.

Pros

With Alteryx, you're creating a workflow to alter the data, rather than altering the data directly. Because you're creating the workflow, each of the steps are easily auditable and you can swap out the source files when it changes. This is a huge bonus and time saver as data will tend to change.

Cons

Alteryx has a huge learning curve. It's hard to get started without some sort of live tutorial from someone that has been using it for a long time.

July 2019

Jacqueline from Covetrus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Detail Oriented Results and Reporting

Pros

We utilize these reports in order to track down to really granular levels within our organization. It is so helpful to narrow down what you need or to see wide ranges.

Cons

It would be helpful to generate more graphics. Not impossible but a little more difficult.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Alteryx is a great software! So many uses, and really easy to learn.

Pros

I like how many different ways I can get data into Alteryx, and all the easy manipulation that you can do both with and without SQL coding experience. It is very easy to use, and easy to learn on your own. They also have great customer support, and training videos.

Cons

I would like to see the Period Table of Alteryx with more detail, or a decision tree on inputs and outputs and uses to help figure out the best tools to use.

April 2018

Lu from Conduent Business Services, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I use it daily at my job

Pros

It is easy to use by drag and drop. All different functions can be used to prepare data. Also can analyse data in simple mathmatics.

Cons

I have to run the whole workflow when I add one more tool. Sometimes the workflow takes a lot of time.

February 2018

Emeka from Boston University College of Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

This is a great data analysis and prediction software.

Pros

I love the easy interface and the various options for different data analysis and prediction techniques. The flexibility is top-notch.

Cons

You might have to pay extra for extra features. It's not a big deal but it's not entirely convenient.

March 2015

Kristi from Consumer Orbit, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2015

Fast and Easy

Pros

Between the great customer service, easy UI, online tutorials and sample files, it is a very easy product to use.

Cons

There are so many uses it is sometimes hard to know you have the best environment for the software, because different features require different needs.

September 2018

William from CRCHC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Prep like a pro

Pros

The software allows data prep options for just about any scenario imaginable. If you need to omit rows, add columns, The layout involves a flowchart and the user assigns cleanup steps based on a flowchart scheme he so desires. The user with a SQL background will have a better understanding and capabilities of the back-end processes.

Cons

Does require a bit of practice to get used to the layout and customizable features. Would recommend taking an online or in person course. There is a learning curve, especially for individuals like myself without a data background.

February 2019

Joe from CGG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Automating and Business Intelligence Platform

Very useful for automating processes and helps to save money. Also, increases the efficiency and make human error free.

Pros

Very well integrated with other applications to import data. Workflows can be easily automated without much knowledge of coding. Python integration helps to reach newer capabilities.

Cons

License is very costly which hinders the use of it by everyone

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Pretty Intuitive to use

Pros

I think once you get the hang of it and learning all the tools that are available, its not that bad to use. I think for people who have less SQL/software engineering skills who want to do ETL, this is a great product. Someone who has a strong software engineering and database background it is hard for us to let go of some of our habits.

Cons

chaining/scheduling workflows is not built in there needs to be more support for non MS SQL Server people including oracle, postgres, and redshift.

April 2018

Divya from Bain and Company

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Powerful tool - Excel but with a better data capacity

Pros

1. Works with large size data - I have used 10GB files as well! 2. Easy to clean and modify data - moreover, gives you option to save workflow so that you don't have to repeat the same steps again and again

Cons

1. Whenever I run alteryx flow, numbers become string when I open them in excel. So everytime I have to remember to add one more step to change them back to numeric which is a little cumbersome 2. A few features are difficult to understand - help topics could have been more elaborate

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Tool for automating excel workflows

It was nice, I have been automating excel user tools with it

Pros

It provides a no. of tools for data blending, data sorting, data extraction , generating reports and emailing them. Macros in it are easier to use. User Interface is easy to understand.

Cons

Nothing much I dislike, the only thing I disliked is that we have to use visual tool to view data every time, that slows the running time of the workflow.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Top tier point-and-click analytics tool

Pros

This tool's ease of use allows our non-analytical teammates to easily do basic data analysis by themselves, freeing up our analytics team for more technical questions

Cons

For those who are unfamiliar with self-serve/point-and-click analytics tools, the software can be a little overwhelming for the first few hours

December 2016

Allison from PHD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Alteryx Review

I think that Alteryx is awesome!! It has an easy layout - drag and drop. There are okay trainings through their website. I think that is where they could improve. Their customer service is AMAZING. There is an on-call chat service. They will discuss your issue with you and even do a screen-share and phone call if you need the help. I would recommend Alteryx to others who need to do data prep and predictive/advanced analytics.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 67 reviews