All Amazon QuickSight Reviews

1-25 of 41 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Donny

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Amazon Quicksight is great for visualizing data!

Overall Amazon Quicksight has been a great tool!

PROS

It has helped us display different metrics and improve our performance more than before!

CONS

Some of the GUI is not the best but it's just the process of customizing it more.

Reason for choosing Amazon QuickSight

Price

Reasons for switching to Amazon QuickSight

Price

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Quick set up, simple embedding, backed by the power of AWS

Overall, our team has been very please with what we get with Amazon QuickSight. The support team and our account reps have assisted us every step of the way. Their unique (from our previous solution) pricing structure took a bit of time to quote out, but once the math was done it was clear which solution was best. While we didn't keep as many dashboard author seats as first expected, the time and workload associated with onboarding and implementing was not something that overly taxed our engineers or analysts.

PROS

The pricing structure alone got us interested, but the ease of setup and the user experience kept our attention. On the data-prep side, linking our RDS and Aurora instances was as simple as a login prompt. Mapping and prepping data was just as simple too. The process of building out our first interactive dashboards and then embedding them for our users occurred in 1/4 of the time as our previous BI solution.

CONS

We still find a desktop SQL client the easiest route for the initial dataset queries. The editor in QuickSight is very beginner-friendly though. Someone with more time writing queries will likely only copy/paste into the editor, however.

Reason for choosing Amazon QuickSight

The pricing structure was the biggest influence on our decision. However, we did not have to sacrifice our other needs or requirements just to hit the budget.

Reasons for switching to Amazon QuickSight

Poor support, high pricing, and quality of visuals.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2022

Easily deployed, not so easily used and not fully integrated

Ultimately, I'm not enamoured with QuickSight at all. Yes, it is an easy-to-use, highly accessible, AWS-compatible BI product but it feels half-baked with the rest of AWS, and it has some curious approaches, some complexities that are unintuitive, and some other things that make it just that bit more frustrating than it needs to be.

PROS

QuickSight is simple to set up - it's a public cloud AWS service so if you're already using AWS it's already there and you merely sign in to your AWS console and navigate over. It's also easy to set up your first visuals; you create a data source, create an analysis, and away you go. It helps you make interesting and effective visuals too, giving recommendations based on the nature of the data too. So, the barrier to entry for QuickSight and to start using it is extremely low. There's nothing to it.

CONS

It's clear QuickSight is a product AWS acquired rather than natively developed because so many things are different or inconsistent with the usual AWS standards - menus, security groups, user accounts, etc. Some things you could only do via the AWS CLI. As an example, until only just recently, QuickSight had no GUI support for groups. We could make groups via the CLI, and then assign data sources and analysis to the group, but it was not available or visible in the GUI in any way. Thankfully, this feature has been added during March or April 2022. Another issue is that QuickSight sometimes doesn't work as you expect. We encountered issues with pivot tables whereby we got different results when pivoting/grouping on a specific column than when we exported the exact same data into Excel and pivoted there. We manually compared each individual row and confirmed we were looking at the exact same data. The Excel pivot was correct, while our QuickSight pivot was doing some averaging. We logged this with AWS support for help and while it was resolved the issue is that some things that ought to be simple and intuitive become a bit more complex in QuickSight. Also, QuickSight can store results for quicker access in storage it calls SPICE, and you buy SPICE quota. However, if you run out of SPICE it won't run your scheduled reports and they simply fail.

Reasons for switching to Amazon QuickSight

We switched from Tableau and Logi Info Self Service (one of the products in the Logi Analytics suite) with the goal of having a single, easy, customer self-service platform. However, our experience with QuickSight led us back to Logi Analytics and Logi Composer instead.

john

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Amazon QuickSight Review

This tools has helped me in Business Intelligence and visualization and creating stories to provide graphical details of the data.

PROS

It offers data upload from many data sources.

CONS

The entire tools completely meets all my needs

Reason for choosing Amazon QuickSight

It offers a free trial version besides meets most of my business needs

Daniele

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Great for visualizing data.

PROS

What I like the most about Quicksight is ease of use - even if you're not a BI, it's fairly simple to create dashboards and real-time updates for visualizing data. Learning curve to actively creating these is way faster than similar tools on the market. If you have more developed knowledge - no worries, integration with AWS services can keep you busy to create something a bit more comprehensive. Being part of AWS galaxy, it's quite 'plug and play' if you already use other AWS services.

CONS

Could do with some improvement on filtering (as each tab is handled separately, you can't 'filter all' on your reports to slice data on different reports). Also borrowing some more customization and pivoting option as other actors in the market do (see extreme flexibility from end-customer side that Looker has) would be a massive leg up, as current system is a bit 'rigid' as a end user - ie., very little opportunity to customize.

User Profile

Joe

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Awesome system once you've learned some basics

Overall, my experience with Amazon Quicksight has been amazing. I wasn't the person responsible for the initial integration/implementation within our software ecosystem, but I am one of the primary dashboard creators on our team and I'm definitely not a developer. As a semi-technical user I've found that the platform is very robust and has tons of features that make Business Intelligence reporting easy to do. Although I still haven't gotten the hang of ALL the advance features, I do feel like I'm slowly catching on to them and am probably in the 80th percentile of users. Now that I've had this tool, I definitely couldn't live without it.

PROS

Ease of use with the reporting mechanisms is second to none. The ability to incorporate Amazon insights (AI) is amazing. I've also noticed that they release tons of new features constantly. Dashboards look really good as well.

CONS

Pretty difficult to configure initially. If you're looking to leverage all the tools within your current system, then you'll really want to have someone certified in AWS or at least a team of devs with advanced skills. We actually reconfigured our implementation within our software after about 6 months of use and it made our lives much better.

Gabriel

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Best Embedding Option among Hyperscalers

We used quicksight to display insights from over 300 million points of data from IoT devices. Overall, it does perform really well with creating attractive dashboards. You are limited with options in terms of visualizations compared to other solutions, however, it does have some out of the box ML options. I wish there was an option to display real time data, but you can only refresh and consume data every 30 minutes which in some cases can be a little late to display info. Value for money is definitely the highest but there is plenty of room for improvement.

PROS

I liked how easy it was to embed the dashboard into an app and web. It was literally a plug and play feature with different customization options.

CONS

Customer support needs to improve significantly. When I posted a question, it took them weeks to get back and the response can easily get lost. The community based support didn't work for me and the criticality sometimes can be high, so an immediate response is needed.

Reason for choosing Amazon QuickSight

It was the cheapest option for embedded analytics compared to other main solutions by a clear mile. Pricing was also super transparent.

User Profile

Nehal

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Stunning dashboard over the cloud

I can say it is the future of visualization over the cloud and it needs to evolve compared to the other products in the market to sustain with the features in such competitive market in the business intelligence domain

PROS

1. Our organization is using Amazon QuickSight for developing visually appealing dashboard 2. It is fully based on cloud and has a SPICE engine which brings all the data into the engine for faster development 3. Machine Learning and AI is a great feature which automatically creates awesome visuals without any hassle - we are using this feature quite often for faster developments

CONS

1. Customization to the charts is very limited 2. Calculated fields is a bit tedious to be created 3. Limited SPICE engine data consumption 4. Resolution based dashboards have limited options - one is Autofit and other option has fixed resolutions

Santiago

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

QuickSight Review

The business problem we are solving with QuickSight is the integration of all our business data in one single place. With this platform we're able to analyze our data efficiently and in a more complete way.

PROS

The feature I like the most about QuickSight is its ability to source data and information from other systems we use, like Salesforce and Aircall, and we're able to integrate data from these systems together for more robust and complete data reports.

CONS

I find it sometimes difficult to find my way around the app's interface, I think it could be a bit better visually appealing, specially for users that don't interact often with databases and data apps.

User Profile

Gouri

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Amazon QuickSight for Model Monitoring dashboards

Overall experience using Amazon QuickSight is good, we are using this for our machine learning models performance monitoring dashboards post model deployment. It's easy to use.

PROS

The best thing about Amazon QuickSight is it has variety of connectors available to fetch the reporting database. quality of plots are good. Dashboard creation is easy

CONS

The feature in Amazon QuickSight which can be improved further is the interactive plots. on the large dataset, latency is high to reload.

Aditya

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Wonderful Tools for Insights

Wonderful

PROS

Best and ease of usage for both developers and end users

CONS

NA because everything looks good to me and my team

Reasons for switching to Amazon QuickSight

Ease of use

Ricardo

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2023

My experience using Amazon Quicksight

Not good. We use this to implement a product on top of that and to analyse data, however the bottom line is that it is worst than Power BI, Qlikview and Tableau, all tools that I used before.

PROS

The drag and drop functionality is easy, however it's not easier than other BI products that I used before.

CONS

The graphical resources are limited, poor integration (even with Amazon), difficulty to create intelligent reports, the data is not integrated in a fluid way (if you filter in one page, the filter is not applied to other pages), there are few guides and good learning documents to understand how the product works.

Reasons for switching to Amazon QuickSight

All our that is stored in Amazon

User Profile

Arika

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Best data visualization platform

Amazon QuickSight is a very good tool to collaborate data from multiple sources to a single place. You can easily combine multiple data points to get create reports that fulfills your need.

PROS

1. The platform processes (big) data quickly2. It can support SQL queries3. It can also read reads JSON files

CONS

It is a very good platform without any drawbacks

Reasons for switching to Amazon QuickSight

Data

Nfon

Computer Networking, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Amazon Quick sight. A highly recommended data tool

It is already a very solid data solution but needs to mature a lot if it wants to become an enterprise solution. But the new features coming out are definitely taking it up the charts. I will definitely recommend this to every body

PROS

Quicksight is an incredible platform and provides me with first-class and easy to use business intelligence. The fact that I am only charged as i use makes it more exciting and economical. Its integration into other AWS Services is one of its most appealing features.

CONS

It is lacking in pixel perfect visualisation and functionality. Still has limited options for different type of graphs/charts.

Anonymous

1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Great visualizations

I want to build Dashboards so I can help companies visualize how their campaigns are running. If there is a keyword/hashtag, they need to analyze, we can easily view it on the screen. I was able to build a dashboard easily and view real-time changes as well as the sentiment analysis. This proved to be of great use to me.

PROS

I liked the fact that the visualizations were easy to create. Typically, I used to prefer using Elasticsearch and Kibana for my visuals. This one did not require much tinkering or knowing a great deal of code to set it up. There were many choices in graphs, charts, etc especially when it came to setting up a dashboard. The trial service was not restrictive either and it allowed me to explore the many choices. I loved that it has support for other services such as Salesforce, Tableau etc to import data. The sharing feature makes it fun for everyoneto view the dashboards within an organization.

CONS

There is a lack of tutorials on how one can use it more effectively. There weren't many choices when it comes to charts, graphs. I also hated having to sign up for it separately as it's not a third party service and is part of Amazon. They should just make it easy for one to use this service without having to sign up for it again. Another issue is that there is no way for an outsider such as a client to view the visualisations as they have to be part of a team to view it. I wanted to share my dashboard with a client but it was not possible to share the link. Maybe I must have missed it but there was no simple way to do it.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

BI solutions to build business reports !

AWS solution for BI reporting !

PROS

The best cloud based BI solution provided by AWS to build analytical reports . The power of the cloud infrastructure can be utilized to build report with huge volume of data .

CONS

Since its a cloud based solution connecting to any databases located on prem is bit of a difficult job.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

One of the cheapest & superfast Analytics tool

It is amazing requires let management

PROS

1. Easy to setup and use 2. Fastest due to spice engine 3. Cheapest as compared to tableau powerbi

CONS

The first disadvantage is there are minimum number of charts some are still not available

Reason for choosing Amazon QuickSight

Cheapest

Jorge

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE