All Holistics Reviews

1-25 of 82 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Amin

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Fantastic starter software for teams looking for an easy to use analytics layer.

We were able to acccomplish the following; 1. It's easy to analyse our datasets. 2. We can create any variation of dashboards and implement it for our client usage in seconds.

PROS

Holistics aim to make it easy for semi-tech users to be able to make an analysis on their own without the need for technical assistance. It's really easy to set up and you can get running within minutes after connecting your databases.

CONS

As your databases get more complex and you require some processing before merging the relationships, Holistics might not be the best software. That said, they are probably not designed for this function.

Reason for choosing Holistics

Ease of use and implementation and price.

Alex

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Excellent BI tool for customers looking for a budget Looker alternative

Holistics has successfully become part of the fabric of our business, underpinning our efforts to become data driven while offering good value for money for the number of users and representing a low TCO due to low admin overhead.Coming from a Looker background, I was very familiar with its concepts of analytics-as-code, and generally we have been able to achieve everything we needed in terms of reporting. The experience can lack the polish of Looker but this is definitely fuller featured than Looker in its early days.

PROS

Good value for money, excellent scaling from small number of usersAnalytics as codeExcellent scheduled export options - email/slack/ftp/Google sheetsShare dashboards with external usersRuns native SQL on top of cloud datawarehouseDecent out of the box visualisation and dashboardingAd-hoc query building and sharingSupport for custom visualisations (via Vega-Lite, maps via geojson)Customer support is pretty responsive (within limits of timezones)Low admin overheadGithub integrationDBT integration

CONS

Custom business calcs currently pretty limited compared to Looker (they are working on this in their roadmap)Adding new widgets to busy dashboards can be time consuming due to lack of auto-scrollingGenerated SQL more difficult to follow due to obfuscated naming conventionsNo many-to-many joins or looker-like fanout management via symmetric aggregates (warnings given instead).Model relationships have to be on a single business key, sql join logic not supported (no > < range joins)No capability to separate front-end presentation BI model from underlying data modelNo dynamic variables (currently in roadmap)Company and engineers' office location means PII cannot be exposed via the tool

Reason for choosing Holistics

Much cheaper than Looker (especially for small teams)More looker-like than Metabase/Preset (analytics as code, dynamic data modelling, export options)

Ahmad Akmaluddin

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2021

UI super clunky and unresponsive

Unusable and unresponsive

PROS

When it works, it can work like a charm.

CONS

The web UI. Oh my its one of the least usable UI / Web I have yet encountered. Buttons are unresponsive. Things needed done are nested deep and imagine having to traverse unresponsive elements. I have always complain to my boss on why some reports are not being tended to, Ill simply say its unusable how are you to expect me to work

Leon

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Easy to use software bringing BI to everyone

We started working with Holistics as an alternative to powerBI and with the support of the Holistics crew we managed to get an extensive set of reports and dashboard up in no time. The option to email reports to multiple users is very handy.

PROS

It's really easy to setup and within minutes you have reports and dashboards that you can easily distribute. The support from the Holistics team is great, if you have questions or feature requests they respond quickly.

CONS

It is not as extensive as some other products but for most users this wont be an issue. What you do have to keep in mind is that the queries are ran on your server so it can give some pressure on your DB.

Reason for choosing Holistics

Metabase was a little too limited for our use

Reasons for switching to Holistics

PowerBI was too expensive for the number of users we have.

Matt

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Best BI Software on the Market

Great experience overall. Has helped our business a lot. We thought their customer support would be a problem since they are ona different time zone in Asia, but they have pleasantly surprised us with very in depth and responsive answers.

PROS

Features/functionality. We've tested about a dozen or so BI softwares until we finally ended up on Holistics. One of the major pros of Holistics is the features/functionality that some of the other companies do not support or they just have it implemented entirely different (in ways that just don't make as much sense). Also, their new data modeling functionality seems far better than the overly complicated data modeling layer at Looker (another company we considered).

CONS

Not a lot of bad things to say, otherwise we wouldn't be subscribed to them.

Reason for choosing Holistics

They offered everything the other products offered (combined), and more. And on top of that, at a lower price point.

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Well priced cloud self-serve analytics and BI tool

- Enabled stakeholder access to data via self-serve, reduced data team BAU burden and allowed us to focus on higher value task- Works well with the Modern Data Stack paradigm- Great in our requirement discovery phase, when we weren't sure what kind of regular dashboards would be needed. Allowed stakeholders/users to do the first level of requirement discovery via their own self-serve, and iterated on that afterwards.

PROS

- Reasonable pricing per-user, good for data democratisation initiatives- Self-serve tooling and data set are more flexible than most competitors, while remaining quite reliable- Very easy to set up and connect to data warehouse, with dbt and git integrations- Team regularly releases new features

CONS

- Access control are less granular than the big enterprise products- Covers the majority of basic data visualisations, but highly customised visualisations are more difficult (via custom Vega viz)

Reason for choosing Holistics

Quality of self-serve tooling, price

User Profile

Aryo

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Easy to use & powerful tools for analytics

We can build custom report easily without having to think how we translate it into visualization.

PROS

The products is easy to use. Basically it has a standard query builder, and from the result we can build the visualizatio as we like. And the interesting part, we can build one query and reuse based on filter templates

CONS

I can say the access time, sometimes its depend on the internet access but also when all user access dashboard at the same time we need to wait a bit longer to show the report

User Profile

Louis

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

A company that is run by real people

Overall Holsitics has been a big help in allowing us to sureface our data to the business.

PROS

The software simply works as advertised. The price to value ratio for us is also quite high. The speed at which they're able to resolve bugs for us has also been quite impressive.

CONS

We use Bigquery and found that there are some Bigquery specific features which would help us quite a bit which they don't support (Like the preview feature or the query validator)

Grace

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Amazing product

We used Holistics for mostly for adhoc queries to scheduled reports. Compared to competitors, the value is unbeatable.

PROS

The team behind Holistics was very responsive to our requests for features. Linking to and ingesting from various data sources was easy. Reports could be scheduled and delivered via email.

CONS

There was very little to not like about Holistics. The team was quick to respond to feature requests or bug reports.

User Profile

Xing

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

The best value for a BI analytics platform I have encountered yet

Awesome experience and great team. Once more companies learn about Holistics, they will being taking a huge chuck of the share from the big players in the market for sure.

PROS

I love the product. Reports are simple to create. The Metrics over time are a great feature and reduces need for complex date joins. I use scheduled report emails for alerting. Slack integration. The support is phenomenal-- one of the best support teams I have encountered in dealing with countless software platforms.

CONS

Potentially could get pricey for large orgs who might require over 6000 reports?

Cem

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

The optimum BI tool with absolutely the best customer support.

We are getting everything we need from holistics.

PROS

It has an embedded dashboards feature which is saving technical team from hundreds of hours of development effort to visualize data. The maximum return time I experienced from the support team is around 2 hours. And the documentation is really detailed.

CONS

It is great but can have a little bit more options for data caching policies in general. It is currently only limited to individual reports.

Chad

Investment Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Amazing analytics platform

I love how easy it was to hook up my azure database and run reports. I can also schedule email reports to be sent to whoever I want.

PROS

It is so easy to use. I initially tried using power BI and that was so frustrating so I searched and found holistics. I'm glad I did.

CONS

Nothing that I needed wasn't there. I'm sure it's not as comprehensive as Power BI but it has everything I need.

Reasons for switching to Holistics

Power BI wasn't doing what I needed it to.

Lara

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Awesome BI tool with high versatility and best customer support!

Working with big data has never been easier! With Holistics, one can track and get updated on the most important metrics for the business!

PROS

Able to build reports, do data preparation, schedule emails, etc. with so much ease! UI is extremely intuitive, features are dynamic, and data transform is beyond useful! Support team is outstandingly engaging and resourceful, always quick to provide resolutions to every question, issue, or request for a new feature.

CONS

Loading and extracting a heavy query can take longer than expected, causing inconvenience to the business users, especially during peak usage.

Tri

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2017

Good fit for startups and Great experience overall

A good segway between Tableu (user oriented product) and Mode Analytics (developer oriented product).

PROS

- UI is fairly intuitive - Dynamic filter functions - Support team is local and quick to engage and solve tailor issues - Good inventory of charts - Data Transform/Query Template is good for Query Management but requires a lot of training and time investment in the beginning

CONS

- Design still feels very clumsy at times (e.g. funnel chart compared to metabase funnel chart) - There are still bugs to be fixed - Data Transform/Query Template is good for Query Management but requires a lot of training and time investment in the beginning

Thang

Cosmetics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Holistics

PROS

- Able to connect to various sources of data - Data visualization: various types, interactive, easy to use - SQL editor & Data Modeling: very useful when connecting our data to Holistics, also easy to use - UI: clean & efficient, current version is well organized

CONS

Already contacted Support team when I had improvement ideas. Overall, I'm satisfied with the current software.

Reasons for switching to Holistics

I used Power BI in my previous company

Andreas

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Holistics review

PROS

Ease of use, has been instrumental in my understanding of our business (worked less than 5 months in it). Without this easy to use tool that is very user friendly i would still be grasping at straws.

CONS

Sometimes slow in updating, but this is most likely related to the backoffice (ours) that it extracts data from

Tien

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Everything is ok. Sometime I have trouble to use this software (about UI and Functionality )

PROS

It's easy to use. Support team always ready once we need. This software supports multiple data source, it helps a lots for data engineer

CONS

UI suddenly changes without announcement, our user is confused and complained about that to us. I don't like the way charging for filter. All filters are charged even though they are shared filter.

Sarawut

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE