Holistics

Holistics Reviews

RATING:

4.59

(71)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.59

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"The ease of use and the functionality of the product."
  • icon"I like how Holistics have helped me to automate some of the repetitive tasks. We sent out email schedules automatically for everyone on our team to stay updated."
  • icon"With Holistics, I can minimize the amount of raw SQL I have to write in a day. Because my business users are able to rapidly help themselves with the datasets and reports that we provided them."
  • icon"What you do have to keep in mind is that the queries are ran on your server so it can give some pressure on your DB."
  • icon"The UI is a bit confusing. Sometime the execution is very slow."
  • icon"The pricing scheme can get a bit tricky which can be very costly on some use case."

Have you used Holistics and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Holistics Reviews

1-25 of 71 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Amrt

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Great ease-of-use and customer centricity

We have been able to scale operational reporting and decision making because of Holistics

Pros

Easy to setup Support for MongoDB SQL based dashboarding Granular access permission

Cons

NA

Reasons for choosing Holistics

Most products offered similar functionality but Holistics stood apart because of 3 reasons 1\ Ease of setup 2\ Support for MongoDB 3\ SQL based dashboarding

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

Enjoying our experience with Holistics after 3 months

We are still actively building data models and creating reporting dashboards, and we are hopeful that Holistics will be more user friendly to non-technical users, which would be a huge plus for our organization.

Pros

We identified Holistics to replace Chartio as our data analysis and visualization platform after Chartio was discontinued as a result of acquisition. We have been using Holistics for about 3 months, and our experience is largely positive. It was easy to connect with the data sources, and there is a lot of flexibility how the analysts can configure the data via the data modeling layer as we need. When we have questions, whether it is more general about the product or a more specific feature, we have been able to get assistance from the Support team in a timely manner, which is really good for migrating to a new product.

Cons

In general we would like to see more ability to customize the reports on the visualization side. There are also some issues when loading the reports and refreshing the page often helps.

Reasons for choosing Holistics

Holistics had a generous and easy trial process, standard 14-day trial but can be extended, when we could try and explore pretty much everything in the platform. We also had a much easier time connecting our data source with Holistics.

Reasons for switching to Holistics

Chartio was acquired and the services they provided ended.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2018

Emailing Feature

We have built an app for Construction domain. So they are overall paper-based industry. the CEO who sits in HO, has no visibility of what is happening in different sites. Now with this dashboard, their 60% of work is automated and it has 100% visibility and tracking is effective. Now mistakes are reduced, project is on track. One email every mrng gives PM a large pic of his project

Pros

1. The best feature is of this software is, scheduling the automatic email, which is the number 1 request from all our customers. If one day holistics email stops, our customers will question us. 2. Email feature gives the Top management like CEO, PM's, Director the overall view of what is happening at their project. 3. Best is Dashboard Emailing - 200% benefit, Even microsoft Power BI doesnot have this feature, so you guys beat Power BI in this aspect. Kudos. 4. Cant imagine a day without your software.

Cons

1. The major drawback is Drilldown feature not available like Power BI 2. Creating Timeseries filters, dropdown takes more time in holistics. Which needs improvements. 3. Very less interactive. 4. When emailed large dashboard with wider bar graph, few bar lines in that gets shrinked and creates confusion for users. It would be much better if you could address this better.

Stephen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Holistics is the Next Big BI Tool

Holistics makes building 3rd party reports very efficient. It took me 2 hours to build the same report in Holistics that I took 16 hours to build in Tableau. Also re-using that report in Holistics takes about 5 button clicks whereas Tableau would take many more steps. The tool is very extensible and reduces repetition. I am excited to see continued growth.

Pros

Simple setup and many options to connect your data source. The UI for building reports is extremely user friendly and also allows dynamic inputs. The data model feature is amazing: makes it easy for us to manipulate fields and transform data prior to report generation. Embed options are critical for our business and Holistics provides a great solution! Reports are repeatable with little additional effort - build and reuse is very straightforward. Overall this tool provides everything you get with other BI solutions while also being smarter, more efficient, and more extensible. They did an amazing job of building a user friendly solution that allows power users to leverage their SQL skills to make the perfect reports. Creating filters and the cross-filter options Holistics provides is a MASSIVE WIN! Removes the headache of building filters that work across an entire dashboard.

Cons

Design options are very minimal, you do not have any control really over the design. Some reports provide different color options, but generally the ability to brand your reports is very limited.

Reasons for choosing Holistics

I wanted to rebuild a dashboard I made in Tableau, and did this in a few different tools. Holistics was the most user-friendly, they support technical pass throughs for SQL, we achieved the desired result in a fraction of the time it took in Tableau. Embed options with Holistics are perfect and the support team has been awesome!

Reasons for switching to Holistics

Tableau has been a horrible experience. - The reporting setup is not user friendly, and editing SQL is still required in many cases. This is impossible to maintain as you would need to manage every single join view anytime the DB schema changes and remember which reports have direct SQL adjustments... the data model in Holistics centralizes this and makes it easy to manage - The customization in Tableau is limitless, while this is great if you want full control, it actually creates a TON more work for the end users. Just getting a page to look and act the way you want it to requires a ton of time and experience in using the tool NOT USER FRIENDLY - Support tickets were not resolved.... cases drag 5-10+ weeks, these timelines are not sustainable for a business

Harris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Reliable and User Friendly

We have several products competing for engineering resources, and having a product like Holistics saves us the time from building the reports and dashboards ourselves. The fact that it has a robust scheduled delivery feature, we always start our morning with reading our product metrics delivered to us via Slack and e-mail.

Pros

Easy setup, Intuitive drag and drop UI, schedules report delivery, and most of all the world class support team

Cons

Occasional edge-case bugs, mostly visual. However, they are always addressed quickly and sufficient workarounds are suggested while they are being looked into.

Reasons for choosing Holistics

We tried the free trial and we were thoroughly impressed with their support. They went above and beyond to understand our use case and help build our first few reports and dashboards

Reasons for switching to Holistics

Tableau has too many pricing models and add-on components

Thomas

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

From Dashboard Embeds to Data Modelling

Pros

The ease of use and the time it took off our development team.

Cons

It could do with a bit more ability to customise the overall look of graphs.

Reasons for choosing Holistics

Ease of use and scalability.

Reasons for switching to Holistics

Klipfolio has it's own language to learn for data manipulation. Holistics was SQL so didn't need to spend any extra time.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Great product, easy to use, excellent pricing

I've had a good experience with Holistics, the customer support is excellent, they are constantly building up new functions (the latest being Git integration, which is super important for version control).

Pros

Easy to implement Good pricing structure and scalable to meet our needs ongoing Has some really great features for the price - semantic layer, report scheduler (Slack and email), drillthrough reporting SQL based for report developers Data exploration is simple for non technical business users (drag and drop reporting) I just think it's a really solid product and great for a modern data stack

Cons

No custom visualizations (although the standard ones available are likely to meet most requirements)

Reasons for choosing Holistics

Looker: Price differential Mode/Chartio/Metabase: Too technical for end users Tableau: Wanted something a bit more "agile" and suitable for a small team PowerBI: Not ideal for our team (we use Macs and have no MS SQL products, so not aligned with our existing infrastructure)

User Profile

Praveen

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Holistic an amazing analytics solution

Awesome team!!! They work with you and great leadership.

Pros

Simple elegant and most easiest tool. When we started this entire team onboarding was so smooth and with minimum effort we were able to pickup and become pro in this

Cons

It satisfied our requirements but like every solution even holistic has opportunity to improve and one thing I would like to see is in implementing drill down information.

Reasons for choosing Holistics

It offers almost everything at affordable cost. Main thing I don’t have to hunt for new skillset.

Andreas

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Holistics review

Pros

Ease of use, has been instrumental in my understanding of our business (worked less than 5 months in it). Without this easy to use tool that is very user friendly i would still be grasping at straws.

Cons

Sometimes slow in updating, but this is most likely related to the backoffice (ours) that it extracts data from

Stanislav

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Great fit for fast-paced teams

Overall, Holistics is great for fast-paced teams. It enables us to quickly get and deliver data to consumers without spending extensive amounts of time on development and support of this process.

Pros

Holistics is easy to adopt and use as it is web-based. No client installation, user licenses management, additional dedicated infrastructure requirements or other clutter like that.Data sources are easy to connect, and once connection is set you are ready to create data models and visualization on top of them.Data models are built using SQL which is great for us, as it is commonly used by our development team.Holistics rolls out updates regularly and their support team is responsive and quick.

Cons

Variety of supported visualization options is not super extensive (Holistics plans to add custom built visualization functionality, which should solve this though)

Reasons for choosing Holistics

It was the best option for our fast-paced team in terms of ease of use, functionality and cost. SQL for data modelling is additional bonus on top in our case.

Reasons for switching to Holistics

Support of own reporting and visualization tools took too much resources and overall process was slow as we had to handle every aspect of it ourselves.

Leon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Easy to use software bringing BI to everyone

We started working with Holistics as an alternative to powerBI and with the support of the Holistics crew we managed to get an extensive set of reports and dashboard up in no time. The option to email reports to multiple users is very handy.

Pros

It's really easy to setup and within minutes you have reports and dashboards that you can easily distribute. The support from the Holistics team is great, if you have questions or feature requests they respond quickly.

Cons

It is not as extensive as some other products but for most users this wont be an issue. What you do have to keep in mind is that the queries are ran on your server so it can give some pressure on your DB.

Reasons for choosing Holistics

Metabase was a little too limited for our use

Reasons for switching to Holistics

PowerBI was too expensive for the number of users we have.

Rodrigo

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2017

After trying *all* online B.I solutions, Holistics.io best cost-effective solution that met our reqs

With Holistics now we are able to track the important metrics to our business on the cloud at an affordable price for our startup. When we started looking for B.I solutions we thought that these services average pricing would make them available only to mid and large companies, and other cheaper services would not meet the minimum requirements that we were looking for. Holistics was the best price/quality option we found after testing at least 6 B.I services.

Pros

Holistics allowed us to connect our ERP database directly to get near-realtime vision on the most important business KPIs to see how we can keep growing our company. We've tried almost 6 online B.I solutions and Holistics was the one that allowed our startup to have a cost-effective dashboard with fully feature graphs and tools that even if we had more money to spend, we would still keep using Holistics as it has everything we need. Another specific feature that we liked is that we are able to make a share-able URL to our dashboard so we can show to our shareholders how things are going quite easily. While configuring the first dashboard months ago we noted some visual glitches at a feature. We sent an e-mail reporting the situation and they solved it pretty fast, so the support is pretty nice as well.

Cons

As we are not going to see the dashboards every day, it's important for us to keep track of each day indicators. We found interesting to use the scheduled email export feature which send us a report of the dashboard every day. The e-mail shows the indicators clearly and also attaches some spreadsheets from the reports. We think it could get even better if we could also get attached a PDF version of the dashboard with the same layout as the one we configured at Holistics site.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

A well-rounded option that's not as hard on your budget

Overall, it's been great.

Pros

Data modeling - Holistics gives you the power of other, more expensive SQL-based modeling tools at a budget-friendly price that scales as your needs grow. In addition, it provides persistence mechanisms to a variety of destinations and integrations with other common data tools such as spreadsheet software. While some of the functionality is a bit limited, it's a great way to start analyzing data across a variety of different sources! Self-service reporting - once you've built out your analysis-friendly data models, building a variety of reports and dashboard is simple, and with just a bit of training even our non-analyst users are building their own reports in minutes.

Cons

Organization - there's quite a few quirks when it comes to organizing your data models and reports. A couple examples include the inability to rename data models once they've been created and the fact that all reports *must* be associated with a dashboard and can't be shared on multiple dashboards. Data visualization options aren't the most visually appealing and offer limited ability to customize.

Reasons for choosing Holistics

More robust data modeling tools.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Awesome product

I've been a customer of Holistics for around 2 years now, since 2018. We love Holistics and find it an invaluable tool to run our business.

Pros

- Very easy to use. Unlike other tools, I got the hang of Holistics pretty fast. I'm the one in charge of creating reports for people in my company, so Holistics saved me quite a bit of time on this and I managed to spend my time doing other important stuff. - I like how Holistics have helped me to automate some of the repetitive tasks. We sent out email schedules automatically for everyone on our team to stay updated. - Good customer service - Fast support team

Cons

- Issues in data imports does not always have enough context. - Some minor bugs, not a big issue as they fixed the bugs quite fast. If they can't fix it, they would get back to us with a workaround. The people in their support know the product well.

Oscar

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Orange Sky Review

Great experience overall. Customer support is really receptive.

Pros

The biggest benefits that I've realized after using Holistics are: 1) For dashboard creation, something that would take me several hours if I write SQL queries, I was able to do in a few minutes with Holistics with just a little bit of tweaking. 2) Our data request queue was reduced from one month to almost instantaneous. Our end users who don't know how to write SQL are able to get the data they need very quickly and they're able to make more informed data decisions. 3) With Holistics, I can minimize the amount of raw SQL I have to write in a day. Because my business users are able to rapidly help themselves with the datasets and reports that we provided them. We particularly love the drill-throughs and cross-filtering functionalities.

Cons

nothing. It is great. would easily recommend it to my colleagues in the analytics industry.

Reasons for choosing Holistics

Inferior products on a $-value perspective.

Reasons for switching to Holistics

shutdown.

Albert

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Cosmetics

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY