All LogicMonitor Reviews

1-25 of 106 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Robert

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2016

LogicMonitor is a great choice!

When we approached our monitoring project, we evaluated a number of different solutions. We'd been using Solarwinds for several years and we simply felt that it wasn't the right product for us. That isn't to say that Solarwinds isn't a good product! We used it significantly over the years but we needed something that fit us as an overwhelmed and understaffed IT Team better. We are a small company of about 250 employees and 5 offices across the US and many remote employees around the world. When we came upon LogicMonitor, it was clear that this was a different product and company. They were incredibly helpful during our evaluation and even allowed us to extend our trial period for longer than I am comfortable specifying (more embarrassing to me that our eval took so long). There are many factors that led us to choose LogicMonitor, but some of the biggest are: - Ease of Use: "Out of the box", they recognize and monitor so much of what we use, including the smaller vendors. If they don't recognize something, it is a fairly simple process to request that they add it to their software. Needless to say, this saves us a ton of time! In addition to recognizing the devices, they automatically add a set of monitors that they feel are the most important, but also give you the ability to easily disable what you aren't interested in or add additional monitors if they don't support something you wish to monitor. - SaaS: We knew we wanted something that could provide both internal and external monitoring, AND be available for our technicians, wherever they were. The lone drawback to their model is the number of internal servers required to monitor everything we wish to. For our main office, we needed to deploy a second server to complement the first because we were monitoring so much stuff. A very small price to pay for the ease of use and administration for the platform. - Price: Unlike many other vendors, LogicMonitor doesn't charge you per monitor, they only charge for the device. For example, in other products, a 48-port switch could use up 100+ monitoring licenses to monitor all ports and all of the critical switch functions. Logicmonitor only charges you 1 license to monitor the switch and you can have (I believe) an unlimited number of monitored items within that switch. For a smaller company like ours, cost is definitely a large factor and LogicMonitor was definitely a leader in this category. There are a lot of other factors that I could go into, but I'd rather not write a novel. Suffice to say that if you are in the market for a new monitoring solution, I HIGHLY recommend that you look into LogicMonitor. I'm confident that you will come away impressed and they will immediately become one of your top choices to implement!

PROS

Many of them mentioned above.

CONS

Not many, but the response time for requesting new device/vendor recognition could improve.

vinay kumar reddy

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

One of the best Monitoring Tool

All are good the overall features are good

PROS

Overall features are good especially the grouping and alert ruling features are good

CONS

Sometimes it get slow in the portal. It should have an application rathet than web app

Reason for choosing LogicMonitor

I havent tested the other tools so cant judge

Madalyn

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2023

LogicMonitor Review

PROS

LogicMonitor is easy to use, but it can be slightly overwhelming when first implemented due to the large amount of data it pulls. After several months of use I think the most beneficial information has been the resource metric utilization. It helped us discover that some of our core systems were under provisioned, being able to pull the metric information to show more resources were needed helped resolve critical performance issues.

CONS

I think the ability for LogicMonitor to auto correct some of the simple issues that can affect systems is missing. For example, LogicMonitor can report if a Windows service is stopped but it would be a nice feature if LogicMonitor could attempt to automatically restart it. Another nice feature would be if LogicMonitor could monitor software versions and alert if the version changes. An example would be a Windows server that require a certain version of Java.

Kevin

Oil & Energy, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

It’s pretty good

Pretty good.

PROS

Easy to use and drill into issues, easy to add resources.

CONS

Making dashboards is challenging, configuring alerting rules is cumbersome.

Reasons for switching to LogicMonitor

Required commercial support and UI configuration.

Sean

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2016

When Cloud Monitoring Makes Sense

At this time I am on v.71 with Collectors at version 20. I began using LogicMonitor around 2 years ago. It was one of the best "outsourcing" decisions we have made. Now have nearly 550 nodes in our environment and a countless number of stock and custom datasources we are alerting on utilizing a range of collection types including SNMP, WMI, Groovy, and Powershell. We previously used OpManager and had considered SolarWinds (I used it in a previous enterprise and was very happy with it). In the end, there were a couple factors that lead us to LM and kept us there. First, we are a very lean shop, and the manpower cost of standing up a new monitoring platform along with maintaining yet another machine, while minimal, was going to take time and that was a consideration. Second, we had a lot of stuff we wanted to monitor on each server and a bunch of product owners we wanted to have the ability to monitor thier products, the way they measured that didn't work against us. Finally, we wanted a way to monitor both internally and externally since we ourselves are a SAAS provider. LM satisfied all three. When we first came on board, they were reasonably new, and the turnaround time on custom datasources was minimal. I guess they are a victim of their own success, my one and only criticism is that now the turnaround on datasources is measured in months not hours. Otherwise, they are hitting on all cylinders. Their java collector is lightweight and can handle a good deal of throughput, I myself have between 100-150 nodes on my larger collectors with 1-minute collection on most datapoints. They have been in a positive development cycle over the past 18 months as they rolled out a new UI for not only for their App but their support site as well. I like how they did some hand holding for us "old timers" who had grown used to the utilitarian and direct legacy UI. They let us run that if we chose to, but introduced new dashboard and service elements in the new UI only, giving us more carrot than stick to make the leap. They are continuously improving their interface, especially their dashboards, giving us the ability to embed third party graphs (in our case some New Relic APM elements) into their layout. I am hoping they will allow us to soon provide a way to embed our LM dashboards into other iframes or share out directly. As a whole, the product is barely recognizable as it was when we came on board, yet every bit as functional with certain elements such as bulk alert tuning and multi-instance management providing even more. They have released a native iPhone application, it is good for alerting, however they have a good way to go to make it more usable overall. If they do to it what they have done to the web portal, it will be amazing. As it stands, our entire department has the application loaded and peek at it throughout our off hours, acknowledging alerts that we may not have seen yet because of the way our escalation rules have been written. It gives us some advance notice to spot a trend from other departments before it lands on our laps. The escalation rules and who they go to are fully tweakable as well as how users get alerted (email, sms, phone call). We have even begun alerting automation scripts to fire off on certain alert types. They have listened to their customers and continue to act on our needs. When renewals come up, there is no debate that we will keep them. They have become an embedded resource and so long as they keep performing at this level they will remain there.

PROS

Their drive to improve the product! It's hands down the nicest evolution of a product over a short span I have seen. Their product is continually getting enhanced, new datasources are being added to the library, new features into their mobile app and new content in their training sessions. I spoke to many of their pro's in the review, but their continuous improvement cycle is truly impressive. I also want to give a special shout-out to the help-desk for helping me out of many datasource woes.

CONS

It may not be a major part of their value proposition to new customers, but datasource creation was part of the pitch for us old timers. In the beginning I loved how quickly their folks could crank out an oddball datasource for me. Now don't get me wrong, their help-desk definitely hits the mark for fixing some of my minor mistakes in datasource creation, but when I need something deep I got to wait months. In case LM is looking at this, I'm specifically awaiting a google analytic integration which I saw advertised on your site but didn't exist (to your credit, thanks for taking it down after we found that out.)

User Profile

Ian

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Fantastic Monitoring Tool

We've been a customer for over a year and have had nothing but a positive experience. We run lean and needed something that wouldn't require a lot of our time and energy to keep running. It also made sense to get something that was cloud based so that if we have our own infrastructure problems it won't necessarily knock out the monitoring that's alerting us on those issues. Chat support is good and available 24/7 and we have a dedicated customer success team contact who can assist with any escalations, questions, or concerns we have.

PROS

It's relatively easy to use while at the same time offering tons of features that you can use to optimize and proactively solve problems. There's a low barrier to entry to start gaining actionable insights into your environment and minimal tweaking is needed. The alerting customization is excellent and it's easy to make sure the correct person or team has access to the alerts they need with easy escalation to a text or phone call if a critical alert isn't acknowledged.

CONS

It monitors all sorts of metrics for different services, but sometimes it's difficult to determine what a metric is actually telling us. The mobile app is just ok. It is good for quickly acknowledging alerts, but not much else. We have different teams that only need access to certain devices, but the app shows everything. Push notifications would be nice too!

Trevor

Verified reviewer

Banking, 51-200 employees

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2016

Great Product!

I work for a company that’s split into 10 branch locations. We have only around three IT employees for our company. We decided to look for a networking monitoring program since we are growing quickly and we need a program to provide the health status of our network in a moments notice to find problems, also to help prevent them. We spent a lot of time researching into numerous products, and we decided to go with LogicMonitor. Where there was once darkness, there is now light! We currently also set up three 48 inch TV’s with chrome OS micro pc’s behind the TV’s for our datacenter. It nicely rotates through all of our monitored devices. Overall it has provided invaluable information to us, is priced competitively, very easily setup, and it does its job well. What more can you ask for in regards to a Network Monitoring solution?

PROS

• Pricing Structure. You pay per device, not per switch port, etc. like other expensive products out there • It works for a small company, but can easily scale to meet the needs for even a ginormous company. • Support has been fantastic in helping us get things going, we were up and going within a day (vital for our already busy IT staff) • We can now receive phone calls, text messages, and e-mails for ANYTHING we want monitored that goes over its defined threshold. If a server or even a SERVICE we monitor goes down at 4am, LogicMonitor let's us know!

CONS

I honestly cannot think of any. Maybe more mobile app features? They have a app, but it's pretty new. But there's not much need for it immediately. It's mostly for NOC purposes, you're not going to monitor all this stuff from a phone typically anyways. But they do have a app.

User Profile

Mike

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Single pane of glass

PROS

Easily discovers 95% of what my systems and devices are doing out of the box without any need to specifically enable services to watch and monitor for. From here I can then write custom monitors. If it can be turned into a number it can be graphed and if it can be graphed you can alert on it.

CONS

Too much javascript making it a heavy application for mobile devices to operate.

User Profile

Wayne

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Simple but extensible

We have a bunch of Logic Monitor dashboard cycling on the screens in our NOC. So we can always get a view of what's going on and what do we need to jump on and deal with ASAP. We also use a Chrome plugin to make an audible alarm if a fire starts in LM, which means we can be more responsive.

PROS

It is really simple to get started with. Load up a probe and watch it start collecting. You can tweak settings and silence specific alarms, and the dashboards can be really powerful.

CONS

While it handles syslogs, the process for generating meaningful alerts from them can be trial and error.

User Profile

Brett

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Flexible and very complete monitoring platform

PROS

It has strong fault detection capabilities and alerts are issued quickly. It offers very good customization options and its flexibility allows it to adapt to our IT infrastructure, without complications. Reports with performance metrics are very intuitive. It has versatile options to monitor devices remotely.

CONS

The only thing I think they can add is how to handle the set of alerts, which can be cumbersome at times.

Shriram

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2023

LogicMonitor - The future of monitoring

PROS

Can be accessed from anywhere, Reporting is good but can be improvised

CONS

Reporting customization is low, needs more flexibility

Reasons for switching to LogicMonitor

Ease of access and no footprint on the server, better security

Tim

Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Great combination of function and flexibility

Our goals were to deploy a product that would provide a single status view of our infrastructure, help us identify which teams to engage when issues occur, and utilize Saas options from our chosen vendor. It took some time and work, but Logicmonitor was the product we needed to meet our monitoring goals.Logicmonitor helps us identify problems quickly, and see when recovery is complete. Monitoring data history has been extremely useful to conduct post mortems, and predict where resources might be better deployed.Dashboards have allowed us to share pertinent information with non technical parts of the business, so they can see when problems exist without needing to call.Overall, a great product that helps our business function.

PROS

Provided datasources cover most equipmentCustomizationProduct SupportMature product

CONS

Reporting not as customizable as desired

Craig

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

Monitoring Made easy

I work for an MSP Logic Monitor has greatly simplified our monitoring issues, with the ability to place a collector anywhere and that doesn't require a VPN tunnel back to our office it has reduced our firewall maintenance cost greatly. The built it SNMP mib library has saved us countless hours trying import MIBs and trying to decide what to alert on. There are a few features that I would like to see implemented in a logic monitor, the ability to tie devices together so that if an ISP goes down we get one alert not 20 separate alerts for each device at that location. I would also like to see the creation of data sources be simplified, recently I attempted to create a data point that reported on a string and found it extremely difficult to have it report on more than one variable.

PROS

How easy it is to set up, the ability to deploy a collector in minutes and have an entire site monitored in a few hours.

CONS

customization is very difficult and reporting could be better.

Azhar

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Logic Monitor! a smart solution for Infrastructure monitoring.

Just excellent product for overall Infrastructure monitoring

PROS

Alerting mechanism, dashboards, detailed graphs, log analysis etc...The above are I use in my daily tasks and I just love it.

CONS

Didn't felt or came across any such things till now

Nate

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Review

PROS

All the features and potential options to do other things. Very robust monitoring options and dashboards.

CONS

Little difficult to find resources especially those from VCenter. It almost seems to import too many things and it'd be nice if it aggregated them into a single VM with oall the resources listed under it.

Reasons for switching to LogicMonitor

More functionality of LM.

Matthew

Marketing and Advertising, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

LogicMonitor helps me sleep at night

It's been a great experience, and as we switched from a homegrown Nagios implementation, a giant breath of fresh air.

PROS

I have historical data on my servers and their performance, and I my alerts are all tuned so that I will only get woken up if something is going horribly wrong. Otherwise, I sleep and have work-life balance!

CONS

I would love if interactive website checks would execute JavaScript.

Robert

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Good infrastructure tool for monitoring

PROS

How easy it was to setup and use to monitor devices

CONS

I needs more network modules for monitoring network devices

Leo

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Pretty much the best Monitoring solution

Hassle free solution

PROS

SaaS and it just works. New versions are couming on a monthly basis. You can monitor pretty much anything what has an IP address.

CONS

No dark theme, no free tier and it's probably not the cheapest solution. Though developement and mainenance require some resource so the price is understandable.

Alex

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: