All SmartPM Reviews

1-25 of 44 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Andy

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Improving our Scheduling Practices

PROS

SmartPM isn't just another scheduling software; it's a game-changer. Its intuitive interface makes creating and managing schedules a breeze. Whether you're a novice or a seasoned pro, SmartPM adapts to your expertise level, ensuring a seamless experience from start to finish. One of the standout features of SmartPM is its robust scheduling engine. With advanced algorithms at its core, SmartPM optimizes schedules for maximum efficiency, taking into account various constraints and dependencies. This means fewer delays, better resource utilization, and ultimately, happier stakeholders. But SmartPM doesn't stop there. Its collaborative capabilities are second to none. Team members can easily collaborate in real-time, share updates, and communicate. SmartPM keeps everyone on the same page, every step of the way. As someone who values data-driven decision-making, I appreciate SmartPM's analytics and reporting tools. With customizable dashboards and insightful reports, I can easily track progress, identify bottlenecks, and make informed decisions to keep projects on track. This has improved our overall health of the schedules on every project we currently have.

CONS

We use columns within Microsoft Projects to identify levels, towers, and buildings. Being able to see those within the software would be really helpful.

Seth

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Streamlined Project Analytics

My colleagues at Satterfield & Pontikes and I find SmartPM to be an invaluable tool, enabling us to proactively identify key drivers at earlier stages than previously achievable. Its efficacy as a risk mitigation tool has been substantiated through practical application.

PROS

What I liked most about SmartPM was its ability to streamline project management processes with intuitive features which has empowered efficient decision-making and facilitated successful project outcomes.

CONS

One drawback I encountered with SmartPM pertains to the accuracy of its SPI calculation, particularly when the planned percentage completion reaches 100%. Additionally, the frequent appearance of pop-up notifications, disrupting discussions, detracts from the platform's usability. Lastly, the Gantt chart interface could benefit from refinement to match the user-friendly experience offered by Primavera's Gantt display.

Reason for choosing SmartPM

We chose SmartPM over alternative products because of its user-friendly interface, comprehensive features, and cost-effectiveness, providing a practical solution for our needs.

Reasons for switching to SmartPM

Acumen Fuse presents significant challenges in its usability, particularly in its initial setup phase, boasting an overwhelming array of buttons, switches, tabs, and menus, averaging around 70 per screen, which complicates navigation and increases the learning curve. Additionally, its installation process imposes a notable burden and expense on users, requiring significant investment of both time and resources. Moreover, its high cost further diminishes its accessibility and value proposition for potential users.

Paul

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

Director of Planning and Scheduling

PROS

Visibility of actual progress and trending is a great benefit.

CONS

the chart view in the delay analysis is difficult to navigate

Dale

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Indispensable Analytics Software for Consultants

Excellent. The product is now an integral part of the services we provide.

PROS

The half step analysis features and the general analytics.

CONS

The current bar chart graphics could be better quality.

Reason for choosing SmartPM

Much broader set of analytics than anything on the market.

Nick

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Schedule Help

PROS

This tool helped standardize our scheduling process and provides concise information for teams to have productive conversations.

CONS

Some of the tools within SmartPM require a lot of time and attention to detail to set up and use properly.

Jim

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

A Corporate Scheduler's Review

My experience with the SmartPM application and the SmartPM support personnel has been outstanding.

PROS

The quantity and quality of the analytical data provides a deep insight into the schedule status. It is very useful to be able to export schedule quality and change data to an Excel format. The reporting functions are great and continue to be improved.

CONS

There are times when the analysis of the uploaded schedules takes longer than expected. The application runs through a web browser. Clicking the various links opens additional windows in the browser. After several minutes a user can have a dozen or so windows open. This can become confusing. Perhaps the UI could run in one window with functional back buttons.

Brendan

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Great Software for Project Controls and Schedule Analytics Tool

Great company to work with, wish we had starting using them a long time ago.

PROS

Great people/company to work with, contently reaching out to ensure our success, gather feedback to improve their product and their customer support is very responsive. This tool has greatly improved our schedule quality and help identify potential delays early on so they can be mitigated.

CONS

The project setup process requires the XER file, and you cannot upload two schedules with the same data date, however I believe they are working to resolve both issues.

John

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

SmartPM Elevates Company Schedule Performance & Health

Our SmartPM experience has been fantastic - integration, support, implementation - everything!

PROS

SmartPM has already provided us with actionable reporting on data we currently had but not effectively digesting. The benefits were almost immediate! With SmartPM our project teams are producing hire quality schedules and the reporting is meaningful in a way that we have never seen.

CONS

The amount of data being reported can be overwhelming. The real effort in a successful rollout may be in deciding what NOT to report.

Chris

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Performance Management

PROS

SmartPM allows us to visualize the vast amounts of schedule data generated. We can easily spot schedule issues much earlier that just looking at a Gantt Chart.

CONS

Some of the terminology used is confusing such as "Backdated Activities" "Should Start Should Finish"

Raul

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Great support, and consistency.

Overall. it's a great product, clear analysis, fast reporting, easy to customize.

PROS

Fast in responding specific needs. Good leaners of Construction needs

CONS

GRANT Chart. Not very dynamic, need improve on the view.

Reasons for switching to SmartPM

Better reporting, easier to follow. More support.

Brandon

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Incredible Schedule Analytics Tool

Working with the staff at Smart PM has been incredible. They have provided an amazing customer experience. They give us regular attention, are very responsive and seem genuinely interested in our questions and suggestions for improvement. Most notably Tenesha Kittrell-McGhee, [sensitive content hidden and [sensitive content hidden] have been fantastic to work with.

PROS

Smart PM is super easy to learn and very effective when trying to communicate what is going on in the schedule. It is so quick and easy to upload your schedules into the software and within minutes have all of the metrics at your fingertips. The Windows Analysis is a game changer. What used to take me weeks or months on some projects, now takes minutes or hours. I don't want to analyze any project without Smart PM anymore.

CONS

There are a few areas where Smart PM makes assumptions and changes dates in the schedule. I would say this is what I like the least about the program. I would rather the software tell me the assumptions it would like to make, but give me the option if I want it to make the changes so I can keep the data that I import pure. I do understand that Smart PM is working on a solution to this however, so this doesn't discourage me from using the program.

Reason for choosing SmartPM

Smart PM has the best user interface, customization and pre-built metrics that we want.

Denton

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

SmartPM Review

Our experience has been phenomenal. The onboarding was great, and the scheduling bootcamp training with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was second to none. The ongoing office hours for our superintendents and continued improvement of the program are fantastic.

PROS

Initially the quality checker was the most appealing aspect; ability for all our superintendents to run their schedule through the quality checker and see instantly where the problem areas are. This process used to take hours clicking through each activity trying to find the problems; now they get a report with one click.

CONS

Our superintendent peer group is having more trouble grasping the finer points of the project analytics and trends; we are working on training them to understand how compression and other factors equate to the reality they are experiencing on the project.

Reason for choosing SmartPM

We determined the scheduling software wasn't our problem, it was the quality of data being put into the schedule and a lack of visibility from other project stake-holders into the truth behind the schedule. SmartPM has solved all those issues for us.

Paul

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Smart PM Gives Schedulers a Roadmap to Improvement

Positive. Great people to work with who are striving to improve construction scheduling.

PROS

Identifies key areas to ensure schedules are calculating dates correctly, allows drill down to identify root causes and highlights areas of improvement.

CONS

Some features are in concept for the enterprise client: 1. Allowing for *.xml format 2. Executive Dashboard On time % using inactive slots. 3. Connections to "Real Time" Database's. vs Imports. 3. Enterprise Pricing.

Reason for choosing SmartPM

Felt like the development was further along.

Reasons for switching to SmartPM

Lacked the time, expertise and programming ability.

Zach

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

So Smart...

I believes the use of SmartPM has enabled us to better serve our client’s needs and remain economically competitive by allowing Project Controls & Scheduling Projects to dynamically support multiple Projects remotely (thus reducing the need for full-time on-site support). In my mind, this will only become more and more valuable over-time, as the work-from-home and hybrid work models appear to be here to stay.

PROS

SmartPM has allowed me to streamline many scheduling analyses, including quality review, critical path analysis, and feasibility assessments. The number of hours that SmartPM has saved me has allowed me to dig into more robust analyses on the schedule.

CONS

I've absolutely loved the software so far - I've been very impressed by the number of additional functions that have been added in the last two years, including the Should-Start, Should-Finish report. Going forward, I would be interested in having more customizability into the generation of graphics and reports.

Reason for choosing SmartPM

We've added SmartPM to compliment other software applications, including Primavera P6 and Acumen Fuse. W

Richard

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Great Product for Complex Construction Projects

This product helps our organization to see how complex projects are really tracking other than if the schedule is hitting its contractual completion dates. This product identifies compression that often results from tweaking logic during the updates to achieve the completion dates. It also identifies past delays whether they are caused by the owner or third party or self-inflicted.

PROS

This product complements P6 where it gives the user the ability to see how the project updates compare to each other on one screen. The graphics are very good with planned vs. actual percent complete graphs. For projects with multiple interim milestones, it is particularly helpful in tracking to each milestone throughout the course of the project.

CONS

Smart PM has so many features, that it can be overwhelming in navigating through all of its features. In Smart PM's defense, they offer great online training sessions to help new and experienced users with the navigation. However, it does require some amount of effort by the users to learn from the online training and to practice what they learn.

Joe

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

My thoughts about SmartPM

I have had a wonderful experience using the software and I am very happy with the reporting and quality of the product. The response by the support team is amazing and very quick.

PROS

This is a feature rich product that is easy to use. The predictive end date is my favorite feature.

CONS

There are a few things that are a bit hard to comprehend due to their complexity. It is an analytical software after all.

Reason for choosing SmartPM

It does everything we want and gives us the predictive end date of the project once you achieve 50% completion.

Reasons for switching to SmartPM

This product is web based, easy to use, and is far more sophisticated. FUSE was a descent product, but far to manual with regard to reporting. What would take an hour in FUSE to produce the reports we wanted, takes about 10 minutes in SmartPM.

Vendor Response

Thanks Joe! It's been great working with you!

Replied July 2022

Brandon

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Loving Smart PM

Smart PM is really helping us find and deal with the flaws in our baseline schedules and weekly updated schedules. It is saving us a lot of time by providing a cheat sheet on any issues with the schedule and points us right to the issue at hand instead of having to go dig for it.

PROS

Smart PM really helps evaluate the health and status of your construction project. It provides critical insight on the progress of the project and allows you to look ahead into potential issues that have not even come up yet.

CONS

Smart PM continues to update their software and each update makes it better than before. Nothing I would change at all.

Reason for choosing SmartPM

Once we looked into Smart PM, we realized that Microsoft Project was serviceable with our business with the Smart PM integration.

Sean

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE