What are Task Factory users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Task Factory software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.57

37 Reviews

5
21
4
16
3
0
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Another feature that I like is the Upsert destination which has made the insert or update destination such an easy process. The Interface for each of this connectors are super easy to understand."
  • icon"The customer support is very helpful and responsive."
  • icon"Smaller, yet very useful components like much more flexible to configure Excel source, Timer and Terminator Destination do speed up ETL development too."
  • icon"The setup steps are tedious. One miss step can be hard to debug or troubleshoot."
  • icon"Nothing so far, the learning curve is a little unless you are willing to pay for the full training set."
  • icon"Also, the REST api connector could use a little work around error handling."

Jump to:

Browse all Task Factory Reviews

  • Have you used Task Factory and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 37 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 37 reviews

User Profile

Jennyfer

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

I frequently use Task Factory in the SSIS package I create for integration between system.

I am able to solve problems in a single SSIS package vs using SSIS and Linux scripts.

Pros

Task Factory really expands the types of tasks that are available in SSIS. We have used Secure FTP Task, PGP task, and Advanced Email to accomplish complex scenarios that we had to use custom scripts to accomplish before. This is helping us reduce our footprint because we are phasing out a Linux server we have that used to encrypt and move files back and forth between secure FTP sites. We are able to replace everything this Linux server was doing with script with a single SSIS package thanks to the Task Factory tasks. I especially like the "TF Error Output Description" and have used it many times in troubleshoot failures. I don't know what I did before this feature! There are so many more features that Task Factory has that I'm excited to explore. When I have a problem I'm trying to solve in SSIS, my new attitude is "I bet Task Factory can do that!"

Cons

Sometimes I have trouble finding which feature will accomplish what I need. For example, I needed to have a unique number generated for each row in a flow but use the last number as the new starting number. After some investigation I found that I can easily accomplish that with the "Surrogate Key Transform" it just took me a while to figure out that was the task I needed.

Jason

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

As a heavy user of SSIS I have found Task Factory to be an essential add-on.

Enables me to implement a work load that would of taken much longer or required more developers.

Pros

Massively reduces development time. Reduces complexity of package design thus making packages easier to maintain. Replaces many script tasks jobs for which you would have to write substantial code. My favourite components are the Update/Upsert Tasks as they remove the need for writing a lot of SQL plumbing code.

Cons

None

Response from Pragmatic Works

Thank you for the feedback, Jason. We really appreciate it. On the item you mention on Visual Studio upgrades, please note that the Visual Studio SSIS toolbox doesn't read it's information from the GAC, it uses folders under [YourSQLServerInstallFolder]\[version]\DTS. The Task Factory installer installs into this folder if it exists, but if you upgrade the version of SSIS installed, you need to reinstall TF afterward to ensure it puts the components in the newly created SSIS folders.

Replied September 2017

Floris Jan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

With Task Factory we implemented the integration with Salesforce and other systems quick and easy.

Pros

The software is easy to use and has a lot of features. When creating SSIS flows, sometimes I am surprised to learn about a feature I didn't use before.

Cons

Sometimes the software 'thinks' a little bit too much. Changes in upstream columns trigger the automatic column matching process. Sometimes this breaks existing functionality.

Jason

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Task Factory components have simplified and accelerated my SSIS development time

Pros

the components provide easier solutions for what I used to have to build based off the out of the box SSIS components or in a Script Task. The #1 benefit of Task Factory is time savings. I started using Task Factory about 7 years ago when it was version 1.x and they are of such value that I would not work for a company as an SSIS developer if they would not purchase BIxPress and Task Factory.

Cons

I have always been frustrated by the minimalist documentation for the components. This applies to all Pragmatic Works software actually. There are either no real world examples or just one. This is unfortunate because the Task Factory components are usually pretty powerful and feature rich. The documentation is usually along the lines of telling you what each tab or check box or drop down list in the component does but rarely how that component would fit into a larger data flow or control flow to accomplish a common business need. As much as I love Pragmatic Works I would say this is the #1 room for improvement.

Michael

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

It gets the data I need from Salesforce. One of my peers is using it to do Secure FTP.

Am able to automate the loading of Salesforce Data

Pros

It works. I get the data I need using tools I am familiar with. Great Customer Service. The Secure FTP option did not work in the first version we installed. There was a patch released which fixed the problem. Once we installed the upgrade, everything worked as expected.

Cons

Not necessarily a problem with Task Factory, more a problem with SSIS. SQL Server converts certain fields to Boolean or Bit. These are not valid in Oracle. Also, using CHAR instead of VARCHAR is undesirable. We are an Oracle shop so this can be frustrating. SSIS data convert is not friendly so doing a conversion on a table with 600 columns requires too much effort. Some of the fields can be adjusted in the advanced editor but it sometimes forgets the settings if changes are made. Easiest method is to load data into a SQL Server table and then use CAST statements to convert the data for Oracle. A little bit of workaround but it can be done.

Beth

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

We are using this tool quite successfully to supplement basic SSIS functionality.

Having BI professionals who may not have much experience with traditional coding languages being able to set up and take advantage of REST APIs. Saves me from hiring developers/contractors and improves our time to market.

Pros

Love the different connectors. The REST connector is a game changer! The ability to simply and easily embed API calls within other related flows has been so beneficial.

Cons

Can't say "least" but I would love a direct connector for Google Analytics! Also, the REST api connector could use a little work around error handling.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Amazing tool!

Pros

Easy installation and integration to your project, user friendly controls, lots of features to connect to on-premise and cloud services. Free license for development. The customer support is very helpful and responsive.

Cons

While there is nothing much that's missing on this tool, I would also like to see something related to posting/downloading files from Cloud Storage services like GoogleDrive or Dropbox.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Excellent selection of tools and connectors to simplify SSIS package development

Pros

Most of the components are simple drag and drop and easy to configure in the workflow. Many offer functionality that we used to have to write custom script tasks to accomplish. The Upsert task is worth the price alone.

Cons

The help/documentation is very basic and often not very helpful. Some of the components are missing functionality that to me would seem obvious to include.

Zuzana

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Amazing set of components for any SQL & SSIS developer

faster development, more flexibility in developing, amazing user community

Pros

The variety of components, set of tools for data warehousing development. Most of the SSIS tasks come with great deal of flexibility for configuration

Cons

Nothing not to like even though the learning curve can be a little steep. I wish the training piece was included as it is hard to convince bosses to spend extra on training

John

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Best product for Salesforce to SQL tasks

Pros

Product easily integrates with Visual Studio. User friendly and smart design of Salesforce components that seamlessly transform data from SOQL to SQL or SQL to Salesforce. Extremely stable product with great options for performing data transfers and UPSERTS from/to Salesforce

Cons

Not all SOQL syntax is available, but definitely works great for users wanting the basic SOQL functionality.

User Profile

Mathew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

Awesome

Massive speed improvement over built in Microsoft SSIS components.

Pros

I've always been on the fence on third party SSIS components, due to them not being built in Microsoft products, but the Upsert Destination is amazing, and the Advanced Cache Lookup components are crazy fast. I pump at least a trillion rows a day through them.

Cons

SCD was hard to understand, and support takes a little while to get back to you, so I ended up figuring it out on my own.

Raghav

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Photography

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Really makes Task easy

Salesforce connectors, FTP component, Upsert Destination, etc

Pros

I really like the ease from which I can use the Salesforce connectors. The UI that I get and other features within the connectors makes the task very easy to pull the data from salesforce. Another feature that I like is the Upsert destination which has made the insert or update destination such an easy process. The Interface for each of this connectors are super easy to understand

Cons

I would like some more features added to the troubleshooting and detailed logs on some of the components.

Edwin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Great

We were able to process data in a way that's not possible with the general toolbox items of Microsoft itself, i.e. Nugget transforms.

Pros

Enhancements of existing or new toolkit items. Great extension on items that exist already with great and deep knowledge of SQL Server

Cons

The way account management is set up on the portal. It took me over more than a year to get other users to get assigned to our organizations account.

Jonathan

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Easy integration of dataflow and control flow components into SSIS packages to enhance capabilities

Pros

Easy integration of dataflow and control flow components into SSIS packages to enhance capabilities Specific components we like include encryption, compression, SFTP, and data connectors like Salesforce.

Cons

By using one library file, it is hard to upgrade some components without others. When bugs or changes get inserted into new versions, upgrading is all or nothing.

Ali

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

great features, easy to use

Pros

Extremely easy to use Task Factory tasks that allows connectivity to cloud services, Azure, and SharePoint Great support!

Cons

There are no Task Factory task to facilitate connectivity to Active Directory. SharePoint task does not return all fields. Often I would have to use both the TF and the SP List Adaptor to get what I want.

Gabriel

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Brings functionality of SSIS up to what it should be in the first place

Pros

Numerous components that are essential to using SSIS for data warehouse processing, in particular the Dimension Merge task and the various source/destination connectors

Cons

Fact Table delivery task is not yet flexible enough for deployment in our environment. User interface performance is occasionally sluggish.

SALMAN

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Task Factory - A simple solution to your complex SSIS needs

Pros

I like the following two features of Task Factory a lot: 1. Accessing files on SFTP server 2. Slowly Changing Dimensions

Cons

It could be my unawareness or something, but I haven't been able to use Task Factory to extract data from elastic search indexes.

Petr

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Great addition to the toolbox of SSIS developer

major time savings, adding capabilities that we did not have before and had to use script tasks etc. to get around the requirements

Pros

variety of SSIS tasks that compliment our of the box SSIS tasks, great set of tasks for data warehousing that save tens of hour each week

Cons

nothing so far, the learning curve is a little unless you are willing to pay for the full training set.

Shang

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

TF Advanced Flow Tasks and Auditing & Notification Framework works

Pros

Being able to add Auditing and Notification Framework to SSIS makes auditing easier. Several advanced tasks also add features to allow executing individual child package, process or task from various location/path.

Cons

Having a lot of SSIS packages, waiting for TF to add auditing or notification framework to the SSIS packages can take a long long time. When configuring advanced tasks, need to be careful. The setup steps are tedious. One miss step can be hard to debug or troubleshoot.

Senthil

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Best integration tool to connect to Salesforce and SSIS

Easy integration from the development standpoint and from the functional standpoint. Client is thoroughly satisfied with this product. We have not come across any issues since implementation.

Pros

Easy to install the software. Easy to integrate using visual studio and connect with salesforce application.

Cons

At this moment we have not identified any negative impacts by using the taskfactory software for our specific integration purpose.

Pedro

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Task factory has greatly improved our productivity, we no longer need to write/maintain custom code

Pros

Ease of use, even our staff who are relatively new to SSIS find it easy to use and are able to start creating packages in a short period of time.

Cons

There are a few task that don't have complete documentation, for example the 'Secure FTP site' is missing documentation for the new 'Get List of Files with Metadata' action.

Response from Pragmatic Works

Thank you for the feedback, and we are glad to hear you are finding it beneficial. We have added a work item to update the documentation that you mentioned. If you have other items like this, you can email them to support@pragmaticworks.com or submit them at pragmaticworks.uservoice.com, and we will be happy to address them.

Replied September 2017

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2017

Makes SSIS even better!

Pros

The sFTP and PGP functionality enhancements to base SSIS functionality are really easy to implement.

Cons

Needs more advanced web API functionality to allow easier access to Web API data (JSON/XML) with security such as JWT.

Anthony

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Good SSIS components that will hopefully grow over time.

Pros

Works really well within SSIS. Takes the hassles out of most standard components and increases the ease of use.

Cons

There really should be more components. It is a bit light on functionality within some of the components, such as excel.

Gabriel

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Good value !

Pros

- Allows new functionalities for SSIS (API's) - Ease of use - Improvements of existing features - Excel read and write without having to install Excel

Cons

- Sometimes, the loading of the components is slow

Xiao

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Very good

Pros

Address verification, address parser, restful source, advanced emai and msm. FTP download task. Compression task.Terminator Destination .

Cons

Hope the Error Output Description Transform script can be improved. Wish more detailed loggings or error reports.

Showing 1 - 25 of 37 reviews
Task Factory

Task Factory

4.57/5 out of 37 reviews
PriceDemo