All Wolfram Mathematica Reviews

1-25 of 169 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Tigran

1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2021

Great product for research and teaching

User Profile

Shalinee

Verified reviewer

201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

simplest and fastest way possible to obtain mathematical, scientific or statistical information

Best mathematical computational tool

PROS

I think it is the best solution to obtain mathematical/statistical information. The way it interpret the mathematical problem like solving calculas problem with step by step is amazing. Plotting data is very easy that made visualisation much better. Now, it is also providing to use it so that it some other system(app) can be built around this.

CONS

There are not much dislike of this, but there are two that I can think of: 1. Pricing : it is too costly if you want pro version with advance feature 2. it takes time to learn the new mathematica language.

User Profile

Anand

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Mathematica: one tool for all mathematics

I am very happy with the product. It helps me in my research on mathematical modeling.

PROS

Mathematica is very easy to use or user-friendly software. It covers a very wide range of mathematical operations that can be performed on it. Things I like the most about it are 1. The user-friendly script that can be written in very simple common language. 2. Support for algebraic symbolic calculations. 3. Faster processing.

CONS

There is only one thing that I dislike about the product is its online module. While working on an online module on Mathematica it is very restricted and does not provide many options compared to the offline module. It needs to be upgraded.

Connor

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

Frustration City

I've had to learn Mathematica in college to supplement my calc 1 and 2 experiences, yet learning Mathematica is far more difficult than calculus. Often Mathematica code won't run for entirely unexplained reasons. The program is often unintuitive and aggravating, and for a program touting its usability, this is unacceptable.

PROS

Mathematica has the potential to solve nearly all the math problems one could imagine.

CONS

However, while Mathematica has the potential to solve large problems, it rarely ever serves to solve the most basic problems. Mathematica requires the user to be specific in a way that only a programmer would appreciate, things like case and spelling tend to be an issue; therefore, Mathematica is utterly useless to anyone who isn't a programmer. This, then, begs the question: why would a programmer need to use Mathematica? They don't.

Reasons for switching to Wolfram Mathematica

I was asked to switch from pen and paper(plus a calculator) to Mathematica to supplement course work in college.

Tomas

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Helpful software for solving mathematical problems

PROS

It is very helpful program to solve hard mathematical problems with nice feature of graph rendering. Only with few skills of programming is user capable to reach results.

CONS

I my opinion annual price is high for personal use. Also using different expressions for mathematical formulas could be from beginning quite confusing. It take some time to learn this properly.

User Profile

Zeynel

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Review for Wolfram Mathematica

It is very helpful in solving simple or complex differential equations that are commonly used in engineering problems.

PROS

+ The feature of "Cloud-deploy" allows user to reach their previous algorithm from any device that is connected to internet. + It shows the process of solution, step by step. And that enable students not only to solve the problem but also to learn how to solve it. + It can handle symbolic functions + It offers range varieties of mathematical functions and operators. + You can import or export data in different formats. + Sample solutions in help menu is really helpful and informative

CONS

- It is not good at dealing with vectors and matrices. - Plots could be better - It might be expensive for private use. - Instructions as to why the error occurs, generally is not helpful enough.

User Profile

Gaurav

Verified reviewer

201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Best computation knowledge engine

I am using this for more than 2 year. I think you can solve most of the mathematics problem using this with in very less time. Now a days , it is also providing the vision api, speech api etc that are also very helpful.

PROS

The way it resolve the mathematics equation is very much self explainotary. Also, it is easy to plot the graphs in it. Linear algebra and numerical algorithm support makes it more advance. GUI is also very user friendly.

CONS

It require a long learning curve and it's interpretor is also slow. And the major disadvantage is the cost of using this tool.

User Profile

Roddys

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Wonderful tool for made your live more simple

This program helps me in my study, because when I had any doubt about a graphic, I made the graphic in Wolfram.

PROS

Wolfram is excellent if you have any doubt about maths, because not only resolve the problems if not it explain as is the process to obtain the correct answer.

CONS

it's not than simple to use, you have to have knowledge in maths, about symbols and expressions for a better experience.

User Profile

Terran

Verified reviewer

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Amazing. Does whatever you tell it to do.

I love wolfram and I think it is well worth getting to know and use in college.

PROS

I like the flexibility of wolfram. The online version is also free for most things which make quick math problems a breeze if you don't need step by step solutions.

CONS

Sometimes when I am trying to solve a complicated math problem it would be nice to see the steps to the solution. I am not a fan of paying for this.

User Profile

Aniruddha

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Very good for computational mathematics

It’s amazing when you don’t need to write code and just need to analyse some data. It helps in speeding up work and great for college studies

PROS

The ease of solving differential equations as a Blackbox and the implementation of machine learning models without very specific knowledge is great

CONS

Computation time exceeds often and the price is too high

User Profile

Rashmi

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Wolfram mathematica

PROS

Wolfram is very good as mathematical computation engine. When it comes to solves the difficult mathematical problem, it is the very much needed solution for all kind of problem. You can solve whole of Calculas of mathematics with this tool. Also, along with that it offers a lot of other thing for image processing, machine learning and more.

CONS

With great power and usability it comes with a few negatives as well. It is not easy to use this as you have to learn it's own scripting language and secondly for other purpose like using it's api, it is a bit costly.

Nuwan Chaminda

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Very helpful for theorists in their research fields

As I am doing my research in the field of Quantum electron transportation calculations, it's very easy to do all my calculations and most important thing is that it helps us a lot to analyze all my results well. As we solve the matrices which are having a higher degree, it doesn't matter since we have Mathematica. It simplifies everything, all electron transportation calculation we have. because other methods, such as the Green Function method and Scattering methods are much more complex!

PROS

It's easy to use as it provides more helpful manuals in the Wolfram site. If you can not understand some code, then you may click on 'help' and very easily you can find the meaning of the respective code. Plus, there are many more functions available to analyze, to do much harder calculations, to draw graphs, etc. It helps a lot in our Quantum Mechanics projects as once we analyzed the Icing Model using Mathematica.

CONS

To be honest, I like almost everything in Wolfram Mathematica. The appearance of the software is great, and the work is very good and there are many more advantages of Mathematica. However, to improve, I think it's better to have some way to simply some of the codes in Mathematica. Anyway, as the users, that's also not a problem. Mathematica, simply one of the most powerful software we are using.

Reason for choosing Wolfram Mathematica

As it is easy to use. And it provides everything we need in our research teams.

Siavash

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Wolfram is so great for symbolic mathematics

PROS

It has a great symbolic tool box great for solving very complex mathematical equations.

CONS

As someone who is used to regular coding languages like c. The coding in mathematica is initially hard to learn.

Ludimila Silva

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Wolfram Mathematica is a powerful calculation and programming tool for engineer

In general, it is a piece of software that helps me a lot to develop quality notebooks for the implementation of calculations required in my area. In any case, it is a fundamental software for me to have good results.

PROS

The software has incredible calculation features, as well as functions that make it extremely easy to solve extremely complex equations. In addition, it has a website where you can ask questions, get support, exchange information with other users and access tutorials that make using tools much easier. The software can be used by civil engineers, mechanical engineers, mathematicians, physicists, among others in the exact area. The more practice and development with software, the easier it is to carry out your projects.

CONS

Some functions and tools are not so easy to use and require some study applied to them. It is also possible to get results from some equations and not be sure if it is right.

Rodrigo

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

The best software for symbolic mathematics

I have solve a wide variety of problems, from simple calculations to very complicated symbolic analyses. In the faculty is normally favoured for more abstract analyses which don't necessarily involve finite precision arithmetic, but it can obviously be used for that as well.

PROS

This software is extremely well suited for symbolic mathematics. Where MATLAB excels in numerical handling, Mathematica excels in symbolic mathematics. I have used this software for stochastic analysis, namely Markov Chain analysis. It is very useful as well for topology and graph theory and not only helps by solving complex systems but makes beautiful graphs needed in topological analysis. I have also used it in optimization contexts, to draw the feasible regions of complex functions. It is simply an extremely robust and versatile piece of mathematical software.

CONS

At the beginning is not very easy to use because small errors in syntax will render a big function useless; hopefully for simple things it is well integrated with Wolfram Alpha, which can interpret more natural expression the transported to Mathematica.

Miguel

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Simply the best mathematics tool available

- The ability to manage symbolic functions - The incredible amount of built-in advanced mathematical functions and operators - The flexibility of importing, exporting and managing data in a variety of formats - The speed of the solver - The help. It contains a huge amount of examples and information

PROS

- The ability to manage symbolic functions - The incredible amount of built-in advanced mathematical functions and operators - The flexibility of importing, exporting and managing data in a variety of formats - The speed of the solver - The help. It contains a huge amount of examples and information

CONS

- The plots are pretty low-level. Could be improved. - The error messages are almost impossible to understand.

Kathryn

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Online College Instructor Uses Mathematica

I personally really like using Mathematica. I like the 3D images that help me show such objects such as 'donuts' in Calculus.

PROS

As an online college math instructor, I like to use Mathematica to check the harder upper division problems. I hate to get to the answer in class, and it is not the answer - and students are terrible at stopping instructors when they see a small mistake! I like to write out all of my notes and Mathematica is awesome for helping me make it perfect!

CONS

One difficulty is for students that have not programmed before or don't think in symbol text needed to 'program' for answers.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Mathematica Value for money

It was easy and time-saving to solve math-related problems. I had really fun while visualizing the data in 3D.

PROS

Symbolic functions can be treated and It provides numerous mathematical functions and operators. Allow users to access the related algorithms and demonstrates its process which helps students to learn how to solve the problem. It has user-friendly graphic visualization of data on 3D view which helps to understand the concept easily.

CONS

You would not understand the language needed to input the functions and calculations if you do not understand computer programming. It was impossible to correct if there was an error trying to graph functions, and it ended up starting over multiple times. It performs poorly when dealing with vectors and matrics. It is only affordable for the community or office, expensive for personal use.

Jefferson

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT