User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.65

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The Roller platform has revolutionised the entertainment centre industry providing Urban Xtreme with an enhanced customer experience and features that provide the company with an increase in revenue."
  • icon"VERY USER FRIENDLY, EASY TO MAKE CHANGES, AMAZING HELP CENTER ANY QUESTIONS YOU CAN THINK OF IT THERE WITH STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO."
  • icon"They set you up nicely to figure out how to create and update products and they are constantly innovating. They have a very good support team to help you with any issues you might experience."
  • icon"Single use sites should be fine but chains may find this is frustrating."
  • icon"Reporting system is basic and conflicting at times. Despite having a page for building reports, this does not work."
  • icon"As humans change is hard no matter how complex or simple it can be."

All ROLLER Reviews

1-25 of 51 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

Excellent Customer support, easy to use software

Roller makes the life simple for the customer and is constantly seeking to improve. They are receptive to feedback and will try to act on it within reason. They have improved as an operator over the time we have used them and continue to seek to offer more to the market opposed to becoming stagnant or ignoring glitches like other software providers we have previously used.

Pros

One of Roller's biggest assets is its team. If you have a problem or a training issue they are nearly always available on the phone and if they can't help straight away they will look into it. Roller is constantly developing, there are regular patches and new releases (free improvements as well as paid). Simple interface: Most of roller is self explanatory and can be picked up, they also have a help section with articles across most items to help with grey areas.

Cons

Reporting is probably Rollers biggest set back for us. While it delivers the basics running several sites reports individually can be time consuming and if you don't pay attention to the fields you are using can lead to inconsistencies. (There is however a patch in the works to integrate these down the line). You need to develop a good knowledge of rollers different reports to get the results you are looking for and make sure it shows what you expect. Sometimes multiple reports need to be run or you need to add your own formulas or breakdown to get results in the format you require. Single use sites should be fine but chains may find this is frustrating. The gift card interface isn't as well integrated as everything else although this is a minor unit of our business.

Adam

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

ROLLER is the One-Stop-Shop For Ticketing and Event Management

If you're reading this, you're on your 2nd or 3rd attempt to find a ticket management system. We tried many, many solutions over the years and nothing compares to Roller. You'll find that as you implement, features you thought you wouldn't use become easy additions. The scheduling and time-based ticketing is powerful and will meet your needs. The online checkout, which is very mobile friendly, is a great experience for guests. Yes, Roller will cost you a monthly service fee in a world where most ticket vendors make their money on CC processing fees, but it's worth it. It's a premium system that will elevate your venue. I've implemented it twice now for clients (One Theatre and One Theme Park) and it performed flawlessly.

Pros

Roller is the complete package, the total and real deal. It's easy to use, and has everything you need to run a small ticketed event (Roller Lite) all the way up to a complete Theme Park (Roller Pro).

Cons

There is currently an ability to securely store credit cards for membership, but not for regular guest tickets. It would be helpful for our business as we frequently upgrade tickets and need to collect payment often over the phone. The Android app for checkin isn't the best and we opted to use Microsoft Surface devices instead. The UI is amazing, but it cannot be viewed on mobile devices and doesn't allow you to print a booking screen without first exporting it to PDF.

Reasons for choosing ROLLER

Roller is just simply the best mid-tier theme park management system out there. No, it's not at the Disney or Universal level, but any mid-sized park, family entertainment centre, or in one of my client's cases -- a theatre that does a lot of group bookings, Roller is the clear winner on price, features, and support. Oh, I didn't mention support above. Let's talk about 3-5 min response times on average -- yes, for real -- they are nearly instant. There is just no better product out there. As you can tell, after almost 3 years using the product, I can definitely say I'm a fan.

Reasons for switching to ROLLER

Overall, the ticket software we used previously was too basic and we needed more flexibility in our ticket issuing, a better online checkout experience, and better support for Groupon and pay after services. Roller delivers all these and more with waivers and other integrations that were critical to our business.

Sean

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

November 2022

Redundant input and no customer service

None. Awful product

Pros

Nothing. The onboarding process is extremely time consuming. Payment processing is a joke. Customer service is non existant

Cons

Maybe if someone could return a phone call or email. Process payments in under 6-7 days. Not able to key in amounts into system.

Reasons for switching to ROLLER

Thought it would streamline our processes

Response from ROLLER Software

Thank you for leaving your feedback Sean. We strive incredibly hard at ROLLER to make every customer experience enjoyable and we're really sorry we've not been able to meet your expectations this time. Please drop us a message directly and we'd love to resolve this as quickly as possible.

Replied November 2022

Liam

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Great Product and Superb Support

We have been using roller for around 2 years and we love the system, the support from Roller is what sets them above for me. We have used other systems in the past and what puts me off moving is the support. You won't get it matched anywhere else. The system is easy to use on a whole which is something that can't always be said about other operating systems.

Pros

The whole product of Roller is so simple to use which is superb for us. The support is second to none and is the main reason why we stick with the product!

Cons

We have one bug bear with how bookings take deposits online. The smart phone compatibility doesn't display certain elements which cause it to be misleading which has cost us some bookings in the past. Have logged it for them to add but no change as of yet.

Reasons for switching to ROLLER

Because it was not easy to use and the support was dreadful!

Tom

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

Essential business tool

We needed a tool to facilitate commerce online and onsite, seamlessly. You wouldn’t think it’d be hard to find in 2019, but it WAS. Then we found roller. The solution isn’t perfect, but pretty bloody good. I have no idea how we would have launched and grown like we have without this software. With a few months of use under the belt, and some experience in our team with the edge cases that arise, Roller has become a tool we use over 400 times per days and simply couldn’t live without - or replace with any other. I’m most impressed with the customer success team also - they pushed me to do better at every turn, and have been extremely responsive and helpful to literally ANY question I have. I appreciate so much when people tell you they can’t do something and why, rather than misguide or fob something off. Roller can’t do EVERYTHING but the team will sure help you solve any problem you have in any way they can until they platform CAN address it. Legends.

Pros

The fact that it’s a solution to both the front-end that customers see and our back-end that we need to operate, across a number of streams of business (ticketing, food, events, etc)

Cons

Like any software, learning to use something entirely new can be tough. New terminology and ways of working, little intricacies and dependencies that are annoying at first but no issue when mastered, etc.

Reasons for choosing ROLLER

Their experience and functionality that bridges e-commerce with onsite commerce far better than the others.

Paris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

A Step Forward

Fantastic onboarding and customer service. Very quick to respond (within a few hours usually) to an enquiry. They walk you through everything in the programme and there online resources and troubleshooting cover 90% of the follow up questions we had.

Pros

Alignment of our POS and Online sales was the key driver, especially post Covid so we could manage attendance. We had a number of demonstrations and while some other products were more powerful, Roller offered the core elements and an intuitive system. They also offer a variety of solutions so you don't pay for what you don't need.

Cons

Like any new system you have to learn the different aspects of the software. It can be confusing at the beginning as there are a number of things you have to set up before you begin loading products etc. Also once you begin to use it you start to realise there may have been a simpler way of doing something and it can be quite a process to go back and change all the different areas but this is an issue you will have with any system like Roller.

Kim

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

GC Wake Park

Exceptional

Pros

Easy to use, POS user friendly and handles memberships well.

Cons

not mobile friendly, some areas of memberships could be improved.

Reasons for switching to ROLLER

Better POS, Memberships & Online bookings system

Chia

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

REVIEW FOR ROLLER

Having a system like Roller means we can staff more precisely which means we can avoid over-staffing and save on wages which is the biggest outgoing in our business. We also find the reporting system in Roller really helps us to identify our customer behaviour which means we can cater better for our customers’ needs. We also love how easy Roller it is to integrate with our website. Customers have always given us very positive feedback on how easy it is to make an online booking with us. Lastly, we love working with everyone at Roller. Our case manager, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], and his team has over-came many hurdles to answer our very specific requests for the new business and they have successfully built us all the product we demanded and we are just very grateful to be able to have support from such a talented team. It has been a long journey to get from zero to our current functioning platform. We are 100% satisfied with the guidance and support Roller has provided us. Highly recommended!

Pros

How easy Roller is to manage, operate and use. We have been with Roller in the past 4.5 years. 2 businesses later, we still believe that Roller is the most reliable online booking platform around. Their very prompt and always reliable support team is a real assurance for us when we first started. We always know our enquiry will be answered and resolved quickly. Roller’s user-friendliness platform as well as their team have also given us confident in taking on creating new products and setting up checkouts...etc on our own. We learn so much from Roller every day. One really great thing about Roller is that it is constantly evolving and upgrading itself. The monthly news video is one of my favourites. It’s very exciting to learn about all the hew features regularly. We honestly only have good things to say about Roller. It has been a breeze going onboard with Roller from Day 1 and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

Cons

N/A. Roller has always been able to answer to our requests. If not, they will always provide alternative solutions.

Reasons for choosing ROLLER

We had a choice to have a platform that was built specifically for us but there wasn’t a support system in place. We liked how Roller can be modified to suit our needs as well as it’s constantly upgrading itself. Long-term maintenance-wise. We believe we have made the right decision.

Nathan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2021

Our Experience With Roller

Overall, roller has been very pleasant to work with. J.C. over on the Australian side has been a great asset to us not only in support, but also checking on us. He does a random call once or twice a month if we haven't reached out to check on us. We have run into a few issues while trying to integrate roller into our building, however, we have since go the issues resolved and are experiencing and overall easy-to-use system.

Pros

I love the ease of using roller. They set you up nicely to figure out how to create and update products and they are constantly innovating. They have a very good support team to help you with any issues you might experience.

Cons

At times their system feels buggy and it does not always play well with Worldpay which is the card reader service we use. At first it will seem like their support is no good, however, it just takes time to find the right support team member.

Michael

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

AMAZING

I LOVE THAT IT IS WEB BASE SO I CAN USE IT AT HOME OR ANYWHERE I GO. IT ALLOW ME TO BE THERE FOR MY TEAM EVEN IF I'M NOT AT THE OFFICE.

Pros

VERY USER FRIENDLY, EASY TO MAKE CHANGES, AMAZING HELP CENTER ANY QUESTIONS YOU CAN THINK OF IT THERE WITH STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO.

Cons

NOTHING TO BE HONEST. KEEP ON DOING WHAT YOU DOING ROLLER!

Reasons for choosing ROLLER

Because roller know how to evolve and adapt with the times.

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

The Leader In Entertainment Centre POS

Pros

The Roller platform has revolutionised the entertainment centre industry providing Urban Xtreme with an enhanced customer experience and features that provide the company with an increase in revenue. The platform has been designed with ease of use in mind increasing the throughput of patrons that can be processed at the POS, as well as increasing conversions at online checkouts. The team at Roller is constantly innovating the platform to provide an ongoing flow of new and exciting features.

Cons

The roller back end can be difficult to jump strait into and start using however with the on boarding process and training documentation provided this becomes a very small hurdle to overcome

Response from ROLLER Software

Thanks for your feedback, Matthew. We appreciate it.

Replied November 2018

Melanie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Point of Sale

Pros

Love that it is a cloud based system and VERY easy to use with 24 hour support. The transition from our previous POS was easy and the set up was done in partnership so we knew how it works. The system has gone through numerous updates/upgrades which as driven through customer feedback. There are help/support articles for everything you need and a team member available to support with a phone call or support ticket.

Cons

Change .... as humans change is hard no matter how complex or simple it can be. Our team was reluctant to change as we were comfortable with our previous POS but overall we are glad we have transitioned. The system is upgrading/getting new developments which means there is small changes periodically but overall they are always for the best.

Reasons for switching to ROLLER

To pilot a new system and see if we liked it

Max

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

Understanding the Industry

I have developed a really strong relationship with many of the team members at ROLLER from various departments and areas. This has allowed for a symbiotic relationship between our business and theirs resulting in a great partnership.

Pros

ROLLER definitely do their research and take on feedback when it comes to platform developments. This is very obvious in their pipeline section where customers can not only vote on development work that is important to them but also suggest new items that if deemed appropriate will be reviewed and added to the pipeline.

Cons

I do have to manage some unique workarounds to export ticket data to provide third party resellers with the ability to embed our ticket media into their ticket format.

Reasons for switching to ROLLER

Centaman was clunky and not able to provide us with a competent e-commerce platform which was ultimately going to be very limiting moving forward in a digital world.

User Profile

Matt

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

POS Reimagined

I would highly recommend Roller POS software to any company looking for ease of acclimation, access and functionality. Access to real time data is a must if you want the ability to adjust the business based on current, up-to-the-minute trend. Customer service and technical support are world class! Their response time is more than reasonable and they will not only remedy the issue, but touch base afterwards to ensure there are no recurrences.

Pros

Roller is extremely User Friendly. When bringing in new employees, the acclimation period has drastically improved over previous POS software. Coming from businesses where there is nothing accessed internally without a VPN, remote access, via a simple URL, is also amazing. Liven up-to-the minute data updates make tracking performance and metrics seamless. Little to no connectivity issues provide a sense of confidence across the staff that was not wholly present with previous POS software.

Cons

For about 2-3 weeks, after installation of Roller software, there were multiple kinks that had to be worked out. This was not solely the fault of Roller. Payment processing company was having communications issues with the Roller software, rendering us unable to accept card payments multiple times. Roller did work diligently and constantly to remedy the issues in a rather timely fashion. Since the initial hiccups, technical issues have been almost non-existent.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2018

ROLLER Review

Pros

*User friendly. *Product configuration is easy to use and adaptable. *Customer service/communication tools are useful such as forms, Inbox and activity uses, email and call log. *POS/Doorlist is user friendly and easily adaptable from the back end.

Cons

*Reporting system is basic and conflicting at times. Despite having a page for building reports, this does not work. *New features are generally an additional charge even if customers are on a premium package. e.g Recurring passes etc. In my opinion some new features are tools that should have been available as standard anyway rather than sold as a new feature.

Alexis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra