All PrestaShop Reviews

1-25 of 310 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jorge

Information Technology and Services, 11 - 50 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed October 2023

A great tool for web design

User Profile

Elisabetta

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Maximizing E-commerce Success with PrestaShop Ecommerce Platform

PrestaShop is a popular open-source e-commerce platform that offers a range of features to help businesses manage their online stores effectively. Here are some of the key features that PrestaShop offers in website management, shopping cart, order management, inventory management, cataloging/categorization, shipping management, SEO management, and multi-channel marketing.

PROS

PrestaShop offers a range of powerful features to help businesses manage their online stores effectively. With its comprehensive website management, shopping cart, order management, inventory management, cataloging/categorization, shipping management, SEO management, and multi-channel marketing features, PrestaShop is an ideal choice for small to medium-sized e-commerce businesses looking to streamline their online operations.

CONS

PrestaShop can be complex and difficult to set up for beginners, requiring technical knowledge and experience. Some users may find it overwhelming and require additional training to use it effectively. While PrestaShop offers a range of add-ons and modules to extend its functionality, some of these add-ons can be expensive or may not be compatible with the latest version of the platform.

Navid

Retail, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Free e-commerce to start with most features

PrestaShop is the right tool if you have a plan to expand into e-commerce. The platform is widely use in some countries like France (started here) and Italy, many agencies offer on-line shops based on PrestaShop. It fits all basic needs and if you have some IT experience, than you can build your own shop totally free. If you are serious about e-commerce then sooner or later you will buy modules (plugins for PrestaShop) and later you need to find a php developer to adapt the site to your needs. Most shops find solutions with existing plugins that are sold on PrestaShop's site or many other portals.

PROS

You can install a shop with one click on Softaculous, now very common on shared hosting. The requirements for the hosting are basic, any hosting suitable for WordPress will work fine with PrestaShop, so 5 $/€ a month is more than enough. There is an active community in many languages, normally you get free help here for basic issues and bug reports. A template for the graphic is recommended, the site will look much better with a little investment. Make sure you get support from the developper. There are free modules/plugins for most payment systems and often you can get a free module from your courier. Connecting payments and couriers is quite simple because they are well documented and supported. Buy modules from the official site because you are confident about the quality of the software and support, normally I pay extra to extend support from the developer for the first year. module all needs

CONS

If you can't config your e-mail and are not interested in software, avoid trying your free e-commerce. There is little support from the headquarter, so you spend nights to understand what to do. Any site/developer can sell modules for PrestaShop, so there is no quality control.

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

From a proprietary platform we moved to PrestaShop almost 10 years ago: no regrets! You easily find plugins to expand your features with little investment. You can also find many developers ready to help, the platform is not well known as WordPress, but any php developer can help. It's the best way to start the e-commerce adventure, make sure you get professional help before starting.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Nice ecommerce solution, but lacks some punch

I liked Prestashop when I used it, but somehow I missed the extra punch I could have when developing with others platforms. I think it's a good tool, but I prefer others

PROS

It's focused on ecommerce, you can do all kind of projects from business to business to retail with ease, and has a great spanish community

CONS

Creating content is not a pleasant experience, and extending functionality to it could be complex

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

Spanish support was the key

Reasons for switching to PrestaShop

Magento -what is now adobe commerce- was breaking its backwards compatibility all the time, so I needed something more stable

Rodrigo

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

It feels like penguins in the North Pole

I've had several bad experiences with this software, but it is still a necessary tool for e-commerce businesses.

PROS

It is a complete software for an online store administration (catalogs, products, details, etc). It is perfect for small businesses if total control of your store is what you are looking for. Great tool for people who are in the e-commerce business.

CONS

It is quite difficult to understand, requires a lot of previous knowledge or of an expert to help you. It is vital to read all the documentation carefully.

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

It is cheaper.

Reasons for switching to PrestaShop

With PrestaShop, I no longer depend on third parties.

Omar

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great open-source Software

We are building PrestaShops since 2012 and are very satisfied with the solution. We can build nearly every special feature a user would like to have.

PROS

PrestaShop is a great open source software, which allows its users to set up and build a rich online-shop to earn money on the internet. It is easy to use in the backend, it is capable of building multi-shops for more than one country and more than one language very easily and it is easy to build your own sub sites in your online-shop with the help of certain page builder modules. It is highly customizable and there are thousands of modules to choose from to make it even better and cover issues like search engine optimization, integration with email marketing tools or payment solutions to name just a few.

CONS

One thing that should be improved is the speed of the shop.

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

We think that PrestaShop is the better solution for our requirements.

Vito

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Smart open source for yoru bussines

I am really happy user because of the possibilities.

PROS

Possibilities of use. We have used the Presta for our webshop with above 10K + items.

CONS

I can't find anything right now in my mind.

Reasons for switching to PrestaShop

I was still missing manuals and knowledge bases for work.

Emanuele

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Best solution to create an ecommerce if you want to build it yourself

PROS

This software is awesome for creating ecommerce. You can install the basic version and start selling in a very short time. Every operation is optimized at its best and you will spare a lot of time if you sell products with variations.

CONS

You shall pay for every little modification. There are a lot of plugins but they are not free. You cannot change the design as you may desire.

Reasons for switching to PrestaShop

Magento was much too complicated and too much time consuming

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Best E-Commerce platform for small and medium size stores

I have deployed more than 10 instances for our customers. Installation was supper is and can be done within 15 minutes. Prestashop is very good product for small and medium level stores. I'm not recommending Prestashop for larger scale stores.

PROS

+ Installation is super easy. + Open source + Good documentation and good community support. +Easy to customize + Supported by all major hosting providers. + Tons of themes/plugins developed by community

CONS

+Paid addons are very expensive. +Support service is not available from the vendor. +NOT scalable ,since not suitable for larger scale stores +Poor performance

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

Prestashop is open-source and totally free to use until you need addons.

User Profile

Zuzana

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Easy and flexible platform for your eshop

For a small e-commerce business is Prestashop a matching solution. You can run it for free or invest as much as is comfortable for you.

PROS

I use Prestashop for more than five years for my small side business eshop. It is opensource, free and easy to install and use. If you don´t have any programming skills, you can choose templates, auto backup, auto-upgrade and you will be fine, with no cost. No limits for how many customers, orders, users, no time limit, etc. Only when your business grows, you probably would want more. For example, better design, better stock management, more import/export features. And then you will need to buy addons, hire a freelancer or you can try to find out how to make those improvements by yourself. So it will be your time or your money. But I like the possibility of choice. They are many years on the market and, therefore, you can find a helpful forum, videos, blog posts, and as I am from Europe, I am very grateful for their translation packs.

CONS

Their customer service is not ideal and, if you are a beginner, you probably will struggle if any technical issue occurs. There are many freelancers and many add-ons, unfortunately, not all are reliable. In those years, I suffered through some security issues but nothing too serious.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Gets your business online, but not exactly plug&play

Overall, despite the fact that addons like premium themes, plugins and modules can be quite expensive, once one learns how to work around the small glitches, it is the best tool around to get an online ecommerce website without hiring an agency.

PROS

Prestashop allows any startup or small business create its own ecommerce platform fairly fast and in its basic form, for free. When properly configured, the basic functionalities will allow for instant deployment of an online store.

CONS

It is very easy to get excited about the potential of Prestashop, but one clashes immediately with the prices of the themes, modules and plugins needed to get some extra functionalities. Prices can be an obstacle for small startups or small businesses

Ralph

Verified reviewer

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

Reviewed January 2016

Prestashop - Don't use for lots of products

I have three stores now with Prestashop, which I have been using for over six years. I would say that the older versions worked perfectly well and I had no problems. I would have given 5 stars in all areas. (I am talking version 1.6.0.9 or thereabouts) Unwittingly "upgrading" to the latest versions, I'm now on 1.6.0.14, has rendered Prestashop almost unworkable. It only works now for me thanks to the brilliant paid add-on Store Manager. My two sites with fewer products - 20 and 1200 respectively, work fine still. My main site, which is my main source of income has 4,500 products. I cannot edit or save products (which is where Store Manager comes in). The search indexing does not work. CSV product import will not work. Database backups always time out. There are frequent errors with Payment gateways. Every recommended update usually causes new problems. All this despite the fact that I am using the default template and have made no code changes. Support is absolutely zero. My problems have been well discussed on the forums for over two years and are common. The programmers do nothing. I am not a programmer. I have spent over $2000 on programming help over the last two years just to keep my site running - and Prestashop is supposed to be "Open Source" and free. I would highly recommend Prestashop if you have few products, but I would say that if you start to go over 2000 then in my experience it simply does not work. The programmers are too busy making add ons which they make money on, than getting the basic shell to work. Transferring to another cart now would be a nightmare, largely because of the huge number of product photos, I think about 30,000 now.

PROS

Brilliant for a small number of products, say up to 2000 - 2,500. Runs like clockwork

CONS

If you have a large number of products, don't waste your time or money, Prestashop does not work, unless you can install the old version 1.6.0.9 (download links are still available)

Fabian

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

The best online shop platform I ever used

PROS

If you want a professional store setup you need to take a look at prestashop. Don't be scared by the rugged design, you can change it by buying a premium template builder, and build your store without the need for any code. The simpleness of the platform and easy updating, one click upgrade make it the best free software for most businesses. If you plan on having thousand and thousand of products you are in need of some key modules,but they are easily available and not that expensive. Is it a no brainer for any business man that in order to get the same quality from some other platform you should invest thousands of dollars in it.

CONS

You have to understand what you are doing, maybe whach a few tutorials, and setup your security properly, also keep in mind that are some tweaks for fast caching and the importance of using a CDN.

User Profile

Lars

Verified reviewer

Internet, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

In my opinion the best open source platform for online stores

PROS

Easy to configure, easy to update ( one click update ), easy to install new modules and themes and builders. One of the most versatile platforms for physical and virtual goods. I have custom made for customers shops with upwards of 1 million products, imported from dropshipping suppliers. It is very easy to manage, tons of free and premium modules and upgrades. A solid infrastructure to rely on and different profiles with permission for employs. Very Reliable for large amounts of traffic.

CONS

Not that great for backups. Modules and themes don't work from 1.5 to 1.6 to 1.7, have to reorder or to download new version ( incompatible by design of the code ). Big community but not that active. Translations needs an upgrade, being made by contributions from authors.

Wangnin

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Prestashop review

Easy use software

PROS

It is a software that is focused on e-commerce, it allows you to easily realize your projects

CONS

The problem I see with this software is that some interesting plugins are not free

User Profile

Sam

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2018

Works Well Enough, but You're Going to Need Your Wallet Out

Nothing. I hated every aspect of it. I plan to be an advocate for not using PrestaShop in the future whenever the topic arises.

PROS

PrestaShop feels to me like a good blend between Magento's robustness and WooCommerce's shortcomings. You have a lot of marketing tools and decent templates, some of them really attractive, actually. I also appreciate the ability to disable the store when needed (had a customer get overwhelmed with orders--no joke!).

CONS

The architecture is a bit wonky on the back end. If, for example, you're wanting to access the CMS, you find it under Preferences. What do you find there? Page categories and pages in those categories. That's it. I don't even know why it's called a CMS, when PrestaShop *is* the CMS. Lots of little quirks like that. If you want to switch themes, get ready to pay big money. Very few themes are under $100, and switching from one to another doesn't usually go very smoothly (definitely not something you'd want to do live). I had a client with a 2000+ product website on PrestaShop, and it was such a mess, I just moved the whole thing over to WP and have almost rebuilt the entire thing in a month. I think it would be good for smaller shops, but if you get big, things quickly get muddy.

Rendy

Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

Need coding skill to use the platform

PROS

If you are a programmer and want to make an e-commerce website not from scratch, this platform is recommended, because of the free of use and already have all system for e-commerce platform. there're plenty add on for shipping and others from add on provider

CONS

The platform is not easy to use, need some coding skill to make it work. always need to update the version to make sure the security system up to date. I've used the previous version and my website got hacked

INES

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Open source concept ecommerce for you!

The first thing is that you can customize all you want and you need from a free tool. So that means that all the benefits of the ecommerce will be for you and not to pay the tool.

PROS

Easy to do, a lot of documentation in spanish and english, is an open source, so you can change the code as you want, when you want the way you can imagine. 100% changeable in source and visual. You can create what is at your dreams for the ecommerce. It is a multilingual tool and is compatible with all the payment tools in the market. You can do a good SEOand you have a great dashboard.

CONS

The worst of this is you have an ecommerce with more than 10000 references. On those particular cases the software became a little bit slow. But... who has this kind of ecommerce? Amazon? ok, so this is not a real con, isnt it?

Moussa

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

PrestaShop e-commerce

PrestaShop is a good e-marketing tool

PROS

PrestaShop is a perfect software to create an e-shop anywhere in the world

CONS

Actually PrestaShop is perfect, no problem for me

Sergio

Consumer Goods, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY