User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.61

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"What I like best about KidCheck is the ease of use for the families in our church that trust us with their children."
  • icon"Very easy to use, but really only relevant to our Children’s ministry."
  • icon"I am not the main one to create the reports, but when I have to pull one on my own, it is a bit confusing."
  • icon"I remember it was confusing when I registered the first time. I was not sure where to click first and how to add another child."

All KidCheck Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Zavier

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Secure Church Registration/Check-in/Directory

Our church was in need of a serious update to our overall security and attendance tracking. We had one volunteer who had to manually enter child information as they arrived to print off a nametag. We had minimal ways to attendance track and see attendance trends or issues. When we finally switched to KidCheck, it was a bit of a hurdle getting the entire church on board, but when they saw how easy it is to self check-in and update their information so we can stay in touch, they quickly approved of the change. Our community has also lined up with the additional security measures we've taken with kidCheck and its features that allow us to indicate custody issues and adults not allowed near a child have actually saved us a time or two. Vacation Bible School is the biggest event we do all year and since switching to KidCheck, we've been able to post a pre-registration link to start building estimated attendance numbers and help with planning. Now that we have a running directory of addresses and names, we can also easily print off mailing labels and send out postcards for birthdays, special occasions​, and make visits. The initial setup issues are worth the long run with this software and the additional peace of mind of the families that will come to trust you. Not to mention background check integration with ProtectMyMinistry to make sure all volunteers are approved and cleared for working with kids. I love KidCheck.

Pros

SUPER EASY TO USE! Self check-in stations make family check-ins a breeze Administrator roles and privileges protect private information and notes about families specifically for those who need to know Event Registration made easy with pre-registration options and room assignments All important information about a child including allergies, guardian pick-ups/custody issues, birthdates, and their checked-in location clearly visible on nametags Lots of customization options for check-in stations Express check-in options available by bluetooth Custom attendance reports and mailing labels are easy to contruct and export to Excel, Word, PDF, or wherever else

Cons

Directory of families is not the easiest to access. You've got to dig around for family information sometimes. New family registration can be confusing at times. New update to the check-in software makes capturing some new-member information easy to miss.

Response from KidCheck

Thank you Zavier for your thoughts on KidCheck. We are so glad to hear we are of good service to you and Elkton Baptist. We also appreciate the comments on where we can improve, we consistently look for input to be the best we can be. Remember we are here and available with free training and support, including on Sundays, should you ever need us.

Replied November 2018

User Profile

Kristin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2019

Clunky setup, good idea overall

I feel like there is room for improvement, but the overall concept is good and I think it can be improved upon fairly easily. To my experience, it was more cumbersome than it should have been.

Pros

Having children is complicated enough and the idea of being able to see if they were picked up and safely at after-school care was an awesome idea. Once properly setup, I felt the app was functional enough for this purpose.

Cons

The setup was clunky. I professionally teach classes and write help materials for very weird software, so I am pretty good at figuring out how apps should work. Between the online steps required and the separate app, it took multiple steps from multiple people to get everything functioning right. Now, I'm a parent here, and did not use the full setup for my business, but I did get to make some observations on how that side works as well. Mainly because I got notification that my child was signed out when she most certainly was not. Turns out a parent accidentally entered the wrong mode and was able to batch check all the kids out. Based on my experience with the school, some operator error was probably involved, but I think this event speaks to how everything, on the app side and the computer side, seemed like it should be much more simple to do correctly than it was.

Response from KidCheck

Appreciate your thoughts Kristin. Making easy-to-use children's check-in software is our goal so we take very seriously your words about setup. Every organization is offered free in depth training and support, to be sure they are fully up and running properly to get the most value, and so it makes for a simple and easy process for parents using it. While it sounds like user error occurred, we'll continue to look at ways to be sure KidCheck is easy for parents and organizations to use.

Replied February 2019

Emma

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

Really Like KidCheck

Overall I feel like the church's nursery has benefited from this product. It has added a level of security to our nursery and also gives nursery workers insight into what a child might need health-wise like food and other allergies.

Pros

I really like the safety aspect it brings to the church nursery. That everyone has their own personal identification tag for each child. As a nursery worker, it helps ensure safety. It also puts a child's allergies and other issues on the tag so you know what to expect.

Cons

Sometimes the program goes down. I'm not sure why, but sometimes we don't have good connection and my church has days that it cannot use the software.

Response from KidCheck

Thanks for taking the time to comment about KidCheck Emma. We're glad to hear it has improved safety at Berean and gives insight to your staff about the children in your care. KidCheck is web-based so it does rely on your network/internet connection. If you experience challenges there it could affect KidCheck. We're always here with live reps (including Sundays) and ready to help, so reach out with any concerns, and we can provide assistance and tips on how to ensure it's always working for you.

Replied January 2020

Kaley

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Awesome way to monitor kids pick up and emergency information

I recently had an out of town work trip and what was originally planned for my daughter for pick up had to be changed. I was able to reach out to her teacher and add a person to the pick up list straight for the app on my phone while I was out of town for work.

Pros

I was able to digitally load all of my child's information for school. Such as who can pick up/drop off, any allergies, or other notes for the teacher as well as emergency contact information.

Cons

I do not like that each morning at check in I receive a text from different "number" every time. I wish it was a consist contact so I could add it to my contacts in my phone.

Response from KidCheck

Thanks Kaley for your review! So glad KidCheck is working well for you and is helping to provide the proper safety measures for your child at school. Child safety and security is our priority. We'll look into options on the text number. Thank you again.

Replied October 2020

Stephanie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2016

Some Great Features

We use KidCheck at our church and we still have not learned how to make it entirely effective. One thing we love is the Express Check-In feature that we just started using! We can't wait until it gets launched for Androids as well. It's also a very helpful resource for attendance, communicating with parents, and the very best, easiest event sign up!

Cons

It can be pretty glitchy, and it seems like something is often not working properly. It is also not terribly user-friendly. I never know where I need to go to do certain Admin tasks, and that is very frustrating when I have a foyer full of parents asking questions.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

A good solution

Kidcheck helped us to set up a safe, secure check-in for our kids' ministry. Their customer support was great!

Pros

Kidcheck could generate a lot of custom reports and get almost any information we needed, as well as keep our kids safe and secure.

Cons

Kidcheck can be a great solution, but for some churches, there are other solutions that may streamline their processes. It also can be expensive.

Response from KidCheck

Thanks for the review and calling out how many reports are available (including custom) to help provide data and trend information beyond simply attendance tracking. Keeping kids safe and secure is our goal and glad to hear it has helped your ministry.

Replied December 2018

Cameron

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

User Friendly!

Pros

This program is so user friendly and great for churches! Parents can have confidence knowing that their children is accounted for and the volunteers can know who is specifically going to be picking the children up.

Cons

It was a bit tricky to set up but then was a breeze once the initial set up was over!

Response from KidCheck

Thanks for the review Cameron. We appreciate your time and are glad to hear you are so satisfied with KidCheck. Ease-of-use is one of our main objectives with the product. Remember, we're always here and ready to help with free support and training, from set-up to whenever you might need it.

Replied April 2019

User Profile

Philip

Verified reviewer

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

This is a MUST for every church

Security for our children, peace of mind for our parents, great management tool for our staff. The benefits are incredible!

Pros

KidCheck provides a safe, simple way of checking children in and out of your children's ministry during your worship services. It provides peace of mind to parents by giving them a secure way of dropping off their children during the service. By providing a security receipt for pickup, this ensures some random person couldn't pick up your child. Your church needs this. Also, it has a mobile device application so that we could set up multiple iPads on Sunday morning running this software. This speeds up the check in process and makes it a pleasant experience for our members.

Cons

The only thing I can think of that I don't like about KidCheck is that it doesn't integrate with our current Church Management Software, but that is probably more of a strike against ACS than KidCheck.

Response from KidCheck

Thank you for your review Phil, we appreciate your comments! Glad to hear KidCheck is meeting and exceeding your expectations providing secure check-in to the children, peace-of-mind to parents and ease of use to you. Also, we'd love to integrate with your management system if it ever becomes a possibility for them.

Replied July 2018

Melisa

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2018

Kid Check

Pros

This program is easy to check children in and out of.

Cons

Its hard to find the children's information.

Response from KidCheck

Thank you for taking the time to review KidCheck Melisa. We are available to help with free training and support anytime you need it, if you would like additional help with finding child information. We have the admin console and admin console app which you may find helpful, in addition to the check-in station.

Replied January 2019

Ugochi

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2018

Fast check in but should be used for so much more.

My experience is based on user only and limited to Sundays

Pros

If you’re already running late to church with a bunch of kids, the last thing you need is to manually sign kids in - and yes, we actually visited a church in the past decade that still did that. All we do with Kidcheck is check in with our phone number and our kids names come on the screen and voila...out comes the print-out name stickers.

Cons

This is not a con for the company but the actual churches we’ve attended that used it. Not one of them used the sign out feature. Rather they manually collected stickers and matched it to the sticker on each child. I feel like the full potential of this is not being fully used in some places.

Response from KidCheck

Thanks for taking the time to share your positive thoughts on KidCheck. We are so glad to hear it makes check-in easier for you and your family! You're correct, so many safety features available in it, including options for check-out that provide additional authorized/unauthorized guardian lists and more. We'll continue to do our best to get it out there to churches and organizations caring for children and continue to give them free training and support to help them use it to its full potential.

Replied November 2018

Teresa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

KidCheck is Good!

Our experience has been positive. The program offers a lot for our ministry.

Pros

It does seem fairly easy to use. Once you get your account made, check in is quite easy and fast!

Cons

I think the reports could be a bit easier to create. I am not the main one to create the reports, but when I have to pull one on my own, it is a bit confusing. Also, I don't like that when you are searching for people and select one person, view their record and are ready to view another one, it takes you back to the home search bar again. I would like it to take you back to the person with whom you began the search. I often am looking for names of the different children under one guardian and making this change would be helpful for me.

Response from KidCheck

Thank you for your input Teresa. We've made some report improvements, including to custom reports so things should be easier/more straightforward there. I'll pass your comment about searching to our development team to look into. Thanks again for choosing KidCheck for your secure children's check-in.

Replied February 2019

Jamie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Easy to Use!

Pros

This software is easy to use. I love that I can use the app to check in my kids before I get to church and then the labels print when I walk in. I also love being able to check them in once I am inside the church. I can adjust my information and the information on the software for my children.

Cons

There is not anything I dislike about this software right now.

Response from KidCheck

Thank you Jamie for sharing your thoughts on KidCheck. We're so glad you find it easy to use and especially how helpful you find touchless Express Check-In! We are committed to making KidCheck easy to use and giving parents peace-of-mind about the security of their children. We appreciate your time and review.

Replied August 2020

tom

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Worked Great for our Church

KidCheck is a great tool that our church uses twice a week to add security and safety to our children's ministry.

Pros

What I like best about KidCheck is the ease of use for the families in our church that trust us with their children.

Cons

What I like least about KidCheck is that it is somewhat "cloud" dependent and if we have an internet outage, we are unable to use the software.

Response from KidCheck

Thanks for the review Tom. So glad to hear you are happy with KidCheck. The Admin Console mobile app is a tool you can use if your internet goes out (more info at link) https://www.kidcheck.com/blog/use-kidcheck-mobile-app-internet-goes/ We continue to make KidCheck easy to use with child safety as a priority. Thank you again.

Replied September 2020

Jason

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2017

KidCheck has provided a very helpful tool in tracking the children and families who attend.

The primary benefit our organization receives from KidCheck is providing the safety for the children and families we serve. Also, since it is a cloud-based program, the ability to use multiple check-in locations simultaneously is a huge benefit.

Pros

KidCheck not only provides a tool to keep the children safe as they attend our different programs but is also allows us to track the level of engagement and involvement of the families connected to our programs.

Cons

While KidCheck provides a good service, it is on the costly side of comparable programs. It is rather challenging to find and print reports as needed. This is definitely an area that could be improved.

Susanna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2018

Good system

Pros

Very convenient for getting proper information needed at drop off. Most of the time when being dropped off at church you have no info on new kids and parents. This gives you all the proper information and helps you safely keep track of the children

Cons

System can be a little slow and time consuming when you have multiple families waiting

Response from KidCheck

Appreciate the review Susanna. Child safety is the top priority for us at KidCheck. You may want to check out Express Check-In as well -- parents use their own smartphone to check in, reducing lines and increasing efficiency. Thank you for choosing KidCheck!

Replied November 2018

Stefani Lynn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

Great Customer Service

Great!

Pros

Very easy to use, but really only relevant to our Children’s ministry.

Cons

The whole staff of our church wasn’t able to utilize it.

Reasons for choosing KidCheck

We started with this and then switched to another product.

Response from KidCheck

Thank you for taking the time to review KidCheck Stefani. You are correct, we are not a church management system, making our children's check-in software specific to children's ministry. KidCheck does integrate with various church management systems allowing for one overall database and the ability to still use best-in class check-in with KidCheck. As check-in is our sole focus, we are able to deliver the safest, best child check-in solution out there.

Replied June 2022

Jon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Awesome!

We needed a solution to checking kids into Sunday school on a Sunday morning and for our midweek programs

Pros

This does exactly what you want when it comes to checking in kids. We only used the trial because of Cost. but had it been a bit cheaper we would have used it for sure.

Cons

Cost. We needed something a little cheaper or something that would get us more bang for our buck. however, have nothing bad to say about the product itself.

Response from KidCheck

KidCheck is different than other check-in solutions as it does more than attendance tracking and has more child safety features than some alternatives out there. Also, KidCheck integrates with Breeze so you can still use best-in-class check-in to get the additional features, knowledge and support with KidCheck, along with their church management system. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Replied October 2020

Vicky

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE