All Castor EDC Reviews

1-25 of 130 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Arick

11 - 50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2021

Affordable EDC with Multifunctional Capabilities

User Profile

Arick

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Affordable EDC with Multifunctional Capabilities

We use CastorEDC for clinical trial data management. It's been great working with Castor, and their customer service always responds so promptly and is always super helpful.

PROS

Easy data download process, great interface, and very affordable compared to the other EDC systems out there.

CONS

There are still some minor bugs that the developers are fixing. Downloading large sets of data can be a bit slow and also delayed.

Reasons for switching to Castor EDC

Not compliant to CFR.

Vendor Response

Hi Arick, Thank you very much for your positive review! User friendliness and customer support are our main focus points, so thank you for mentioning them. We wish you many successful studies in the future and please continue reporting bugs that you encounter :-) Best, Elena

Replied October 2019

Francesca

Medical Devices, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

The best EDC system I’ve ever used

I am very satisfied with Castor EDC

PROS

It’s very easy to create an eCRF and also to monitor studies. GCP compliance is also an important aspect

CONS

Probably the ePRO module; questionnaire scheduling can be improved

Reason for choosing Castor EDC

Because Castor has a better quality/price ratio

Vendor Response

Hi Francesca, Thank you for claiming Castor is the best EDC you've used! Please have a look at our automation engine - this can make scheduling surveys quite effortless! And of course, contact our support team if you need help - we are happy to advise you. Thanks again, Elena

Replied October 2019

Wiert

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Takes a little time to get to know it but afterward it is very easy

I use castor to enter data of a clinical trial. It works much fast than most databases and adding comments is really easy.

PROS

It is fast and the lay-out and structure of the site works well. It is also easy to add notes and commentary if necessary

CONS

It isn't super intuitive. I made a few mistakes the first time I used it. But you learn from your mistakes and afterwards its easy to use.

Vendor Response

Hi Wiert, Thank you for your review. I wish you had contacted our support team if you needed help - we would have been happy to help you out with getting started. We try to make our software as intuitive as possible, so if you have feedback please do let us know as we develop continuously. Best regards, Elena Kochova Customer Success Manager

Replied October 2019

Reza

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Castor - a modern data entry tool for research

I use Castor for two studies, one of which is a long-term multicentre study. I have designed these studies in Castor and am very happy with the product.

PROS

Castor is easy to use. In designing studies, I like how variables and answers are easily created, and that answers can be re-used for multiple variables. I also really appreciate the feature to have a variable depend on a (hidden) calculation. In using that feature, I have found that https://www.castoredc.com/tools/calculation-helper/ is a great way of testing your calculations are syntactically correct. It is also helpful that additional information can be given per variable. All these and other features make data entry clear and understandable for users, which in turn ensures that data entry mistakes are minimised or even prevented. Furthermore, it helps each study with an audit trail, so that changes are clearly documented for audit purposes. In my contact with customer support I have found that they responded swiftly and were always able to help me with any queries. Lastly, Castor keeps improving on its exisiting product, which to me is a significant sign of long-term viability. This is especially relevant when considering Castor for long-term research projects.

CONS

Getting to know Castor takes a bit of time, but it is very helpful to be aware of the structure of Castor, which allows you to fully utilise its potential.

Reason for choosing Castor EDC

Ease of use.

Bill

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Easy to use and well designed

PROS

We are a small start-up company and the task of setting up our study fell on me, a person with absolutely no experience with EDC systems. After doing a little research we selected Castor EDC because it seemed easy to use and the price was right for us. Castor EDC has been everything we've hoped it would be. It is easy to learn and set-up. Our study sites have liked it and found it very easy to use. It is feature complete doing everything we have wanted to do. One concern we had was that the company has no US-based support and we are on the West coast. As such, getting support in real-time is really not an option. I was also concerned about possible language barriers. Those initial concerns have not materialized to be realities. On the three occasions I have required support, I have received it within 24 hours, via email. Each time the answer I received was complete and they addressed my question on the first response. Overall, we are very satisfied.

CONS

I have two fairly nit picky issues: 1. Setting up user rights is a bit clunky. It is very flexible, which I love, but a bit clunky. 2. Dependencies and validations are limited to a single field and the logic is very limited. On the plus side, one can work around those limitations with hidden calculations.

Vendor Response

Hi Bill, Thank you so much for you review. We are very happy to be able to help your business with such an important element of your journey towards getting Alibrex to market. I will be in touch soon for a personal introduction. Please know, while not immediate, we do plan to redesign the validation and dependency builder. In the mean time, as you mentioned, multi-variate edit checks and dependencies can be scripted using calculation fields. Derk Arts, MD PhD CEO Castor EDC

Replied May 2019

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

Really intuitive

PROS

Really easy to use, very intuitive. In multicentre trials with lots of collaborators involved you need a software with those characteristics so that collaborators won't have problems. The online platform works really well and fast.

CONS

There are some things that need to be solved to save time, when giving access to collaborators, at least in trials with many users.

Vendor Response

Hello, Thank you for your positive review! The intuitiveness of the system is one of our top priorities, so we're happy that's your main feedback. Regarding the study access, we do offer user management as an additional service for larger studies. Please contact us if this would be of interest for your future studies. Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

Replied April 2019

User Profile

Max

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

All inclusive product that is easy to use

I used Castor EDC for a nationwide multicenter RCT

PROS

Good look. Easy to build. Includes all features that one might need for such an online CRF. Great customer service.

CONS

Exporting and reshaping data from the databaase could be made a bit easier.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Castor Spain Review

3 studies performed Last with 650 researched and 145 centers: no problems; it’s great

PROS

Easy to use, very intuitive, powerful, agile, fast and accurate online support

CONS

There are NO cons in my experience in this moment

Vendor Response

Hi there, Thank you for your 5-star review and the nice words! No cons is always good to hear :) We wish you success with your current and future big multicenter studies! Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

Replied April 2019

User Profile

Olivia

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

Best solution to manage my data

Very good experience for my PhD-project. Easy to set up and easy to use and to export!

PROS

easy to build up your project with. The structure helps you think about your statistical plan.

CONS

expensive compared to redcap, but still value for money

Vendor Response

Dear Olivia, Thank you for your review! Being the best solution for your data management is what we aim for! We also aim to keep our prices as low as possible for the provided quality, especially for academic research studies, and we trust that the value exceeds the price :) Thank you for using Castor and we hope to be in touch again for your future studies! Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

Replied April 2019

User Profile

Channarong

Verified reviewer

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

CastorEDC is smart tool

PROS

I can smart start research with CastorEDC. CastorEDC can Create a study exactly as I need.Easy to use and have quality.

CONS

In version 2019.2.5 not an option to printout annotated CRF Function (show variable in printout CRF) But you can use Study variable list in excel to map printout CRF send to statisticians

Mike

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Really Versatile and GDPR Compliant Data Storage Platform

The ability to build our own research forms and surveys, quickly and in GDPR compliant way is a massive help for us as it has drastically reduced the cost of this and also the time it takes to get the forms built. It means we can do research faster and cheaper and with compliance headaches handled. The support from Castor has been amazing. They are very quick to respond (even to stupid questions!) and gave us huge support before we signed up.

PROS

We literally have found tons of uses for Castor. The ability to build your own forms quickly and knowing the data is stored in a GDPR Compliant way is a HUGE help for us. Also the validation options in the fields are really good / ensure high level of data quality. And Also, The SPSS export function is really a great help too!

CONS

The Surveys do not work well on Mobile phones and most of our research participants would use them that way.

Vendor Response

Hi Mike, Great to hear that you have found so many uses of Castor and that you rate it with 5 stars on all aspects! Compliance and security, together with a helpful support team our some of our top priorities! There have been some small improvements in the survey mobile experience, but we are aiming for a full mobile optimization with our coming redesigns. Stay tuned! :) Best, Elena

Replied April 2019

Christophe

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Castor EDC review

PROS

The platform is really user-friendly for both the person who enter data and the data manager (in my case). We can quite easily build a study from the ground up or use some other studies as a template by importing the structure. The Monitoring tab is really helpful for the tracking of queries or warning messages.

CONS

It is hard to tell what I do like least about Castor since I never used any other EDC system. I think that some features may be expanded. For instance, we have a cross-over study that will soon beon Live. We choose not to use the built-in randomization module because it was too limited for this specific study (it works really well for other studies). Also, the randomization tab is always available, which can lead to errors because some people randomize the patient before being certain that the patient can be included in the study.

Vendor Response

Dear Cristophe, Thank you for your 5 star review! User friendliness is of course one of our main priorities! While some randomization features might be limited, we have recently introduced the possibility to use an external randomization list within Castor, so this might be helpful for some future studies! There are also workarounds for limiting the randomization to eligible records. Please reach out to our support team to discuss the options! Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Sr. Customer Success Manager

Replied February 2021

alden

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Castor EDC: growing and growing internationally

PROS

Easy to use and understand. The manual provided is very extensive and answers practically all your answers. Researchers themselves can create their own database without extensive software knowledge such as Oracle Clinical. The helpdesk is also very swift in replying to one's questions.

CONS

The study part of Castor is not yet compatible with the screens of mobile phones and tablets. Hopefully soon. The validations and dependencies could be extended to multiple fields to minimize the use of extra calculation fields.

M

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

Nice program for clinical research

PROS

Easy to use, customer friendly. Easily adjustable.

CONS

Sometimes Castor works too slow, so if i'm filling it in while seeing patients, it takes too long. Furthermore, some features do not work properly (like mark whole steps as missing, when the step is too large)

Vendor Response

Hi M, Thanks for leaving a review, good to hear you're mostly positive! :). Slow downs of the system are usually a result of having a large amount of fields on a single step. We are currently implementing a warning message in our form builder to warn against adding more than 50 fields to a single step, hopefully that should prevent this issue in the future. If you think there's another cause for the slowness, please contact support when this occurs. Thanks again! Derk Arts CEO Castor EDC

Replied December 2018

Mendy

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Castor Database

I have had a great experience with Castor and will continue to use it in the future.

PROS

For somebody who is not great with computers and databases Castor was easy to use. There are a lot of features and I would not change anything. The Castor helpdesk was very helpful and responded very quickly when I needed help.

CONS

I had some trouble with converting Castor into SPSS but with a little help this worked great as well.

Alejandro

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Makes clinical research easier!

It has made easier to carry on a prospective registry.

PROS

It helps you to have everything in order.

CONS

You can't print the information in a structured format.

Vendor Response

Hi Alejandro, Thank you for your super positive review! Making clinical research faster and smarter for all researchers is what we want to achieve! I'm not entirely sure I understand the printing structure comment. Could you contact us so we can clarify how the printing can be improved? I will then add this request to our feature requests list. We use this user feedback as input for product development, so we love hearing your thoughts on what can be improved! Thanks again, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

Replied April 2019

Michele

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY