User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(71)

71

4 stars

(33)

33

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use, customer friendly. Easily adjustable. "

  • "Easy to use Fantastic customer service Affordable"

  • "It is very user friendly, easy to get acquinted with "

  • Cons

  • "The study ID numbering is a bit clunky. It would also be great to have study visit alarms / out of study visit window warnings. "

  • "Sending out surveys is still a manual task, it would be great if by just entering the participants' email address, the surveys are sent automatically."

  • "some validations are not yet possible some validations need multiple calculations which takes time to build"

Browse Castor EDC Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 106 results

October 2019

Remco from CWZ

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Great online program for study

Good online service. Very helpfull for my Study

Pros

Safe program, you can use it on every computer, at home and in the office. It was fine to use the trial version.

Cons

Some little bugs, difficult Java scripts, Not possible to changes the output file

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

Safety, obligatory to use a data program, online possibility

October 2019

Sanne from BioActor

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Very nice software, with future possibilities

When designing the study in castor, you learn a lot of functionalities that might come in handy for future designing. However, in the beginning, it can be hard to figure out where to start. Therefore, I would recommend everyone to take a look at the tutorial videos provided by Castor. They really helped me to understand the software better.

Pros

The software is easy to use, and allows for multiple people to work on the same project, whilst still being able to discriminate who worked on what fields. Additionally, after some practice, it is quite simple to build up an eCRF in castor, which can be used for live data storage.

Cons

The fact that it is not able to import survey answers. We started using Castor when our study had already started. In order to store data from subjects that had already started our study, all survey answers had to be filled in manually. Also, at this moment, Castor does not warn you when you still have a report open for a subject, it still shows up as 100% complete when all regular fields are filled in. This would be nice to change.

May 2020

Maarten from Erasmus MC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Good product, best service and easy to use

Pros

The structure is intuïtive, solid and runs smoothly which is very important for multicenter research. It helped me significantly in my work as project manager of an international multicenter RCT.

Cons

There are still options for improvement, such as a reminder for participating researchers of a coming deadline for a study visit (but Castor may have added this feature since I last used it).

August 2019

CLAUDIO from SPARC Consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Castor EDC is easy to use

Pros

Easy to build the eCRF forms as well as define the study roles and join users to the study. CRF forms can be replicated from one study to another in very easy way and faster.

Cons

The data export functionality should be improved. XML and SAS datasets formats exports should be added

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Hi Claudio, Thank you for your review. We are continuously developing the product, so we would like to hear your further feedback on how to improve the data export functionality. We are at the moment considering the addition of SAS export. Best, Elena

June 2020

Alexandra from Theranova

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Affordable and Reliable EDC System

Overall experience with Castor is extremely positive. I think the customer support has been great and I really enjoy the company!

Pros

It's really easy setting up the data collection process for your study. I love how you can play around with setting up a study (test study) so you can learn and implement that best data collection process for your study. The customization is great. It's also a great tool for small companies because of the price! Castor also does not charge you until your study goes live, which takes a lot of pressure off of the set up time, which is ultimately the longest and most difficult part when getting started with an EDC system--this gives you time to review with your team.

Cons

I wish there was a "save select data export" feature, where you can customize specific data fields to export, save, and re-download them at a later time instead of manually having to customize the fields again. The tutorial/help videos for setting up the study were mostly helpful, but I didn't use many features because of the lack of clarity in how to implement or the purpose of certain data fields. I think a better explanation (or even examples) as to what a "Repeated Measures" function as opposed to a "Add Report" function, for example.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

Price

February 2020

Kees from Radboudumc

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Excellent EDC and easy to use

Pros

Easy to use, manage and build. Multiple users can easlily work in a case-by-case EDC. Setting authorizations is easy and feedback can be given by means of queries. Data export is easy and complete.

Cons

It tends to get slower over time due to pilled up logs which are logged on the background and can be cleared by the team of castor.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

Not applicable

September 2019

Gwendolyn from Amsterdam UMC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Castor, easy data management

Great experience. Especially as the support is quick and complete answering querries.

Pros

The most convenient thing about using Castor is that I do not have to send paper questionnaires and fill out all data manually. I created a survey and now my patients fill out the questions electronically. Subsequently the answers are converted to the nessecary data so I can perform my analyses. Another pro is that I can provide others access to the database but monitor their actions and changes, and also provide limited access in case of multicenter trials, to limit the risk of errors creating new cases.

Cons

I cannot see which patients have fully been included or have finished the study. Although a progress bar is included now, some questions are not obligatory and are still counted for the study progress. But there is not much to dislike.

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Hi Gwendolyn, Thanks for your positive review! We're glad you like our ePRO solution and the central user management. We recommend using the record progress for tracking the completeness of the records, which takes into account only required questions. We are planning including a record status option where you could mark your records accordingly depending on the specific study flow. Best, Elena

August 2019

Arick from Lucira Health

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Affordable EDC with Multifunctional Capabilities

We use CastorEDC for clinical trial data management. It's been great working with Castor, and their customer service always responds so promptly and is always super helpful.

Pros

Easy data download process, great interface, and very affordable compared to the other EDC systems out there.

Cons

There are still some minor bugs that the developers are fixing. Downloading large sets of data can be a bit slow and also delayed.

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Hi Arick, Thank you very much for your positive review! User friendliness and customer support are our main focus points, so thank you for mentioning them. We wish you many successful studies in the future and please continue reporting bugs that you encounter :-) Best, Elena

March 2020

Arjen from Amsterdam UMC

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Maakt onderzoek opzetten eenvoudig

Pros

Erg makkelijk in gebruik en het vooraf kunnen inplannen van vragenlijst-uitnodigingen scheelt veel tijd.

Cons

In het begin waren er wat moeilijkheden met invoeren van sommige email adressen en deze moest steeds opnieuw worden ingevoerd bij nieuwe vragenlijst. Dit is inmiddels opgelost. Het is soms wel lastig als je even wat wil aanpassen dat de hele studie naar niet-live gezet moet worden.

September 2019

Channarong from Medical Research Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

CastorEDC is smart tool

Pros

I can smart start research with CastorEDC. CastorEDC can Create a study exactly as I need.Easy to use and have quality.

Cons

In version 2019.2.5 not an option to printout annotated CRF Function (show variable in printout CRF) But you can use Study variable list in excel to map printout CRF send to statisticians

November 2019

Reza from Amsterdam UMC

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Castor - a modern data entry tool for research

I use Castor for two studies, one of which is a long-term multicentre study. I have designed these studies in Castor and am very happy with the product.

Pros

Castor is easy to use. In designing studies, I like how variables and answers are easily created, and that answers can be re-used for multiple variables. I also really appreciate the feature to have a variable depend on a (hidden) calculation. In using that feature, I have found that https://www.castoredc.com/tools/calculation-helper/ is a great way of testing your calculations are syntactically correct. It is also helpful that additional information can be given per variable. All these and other features make data entry clear and understandable for users, which in turn ensures that data entry mistakes are minimised or even prevented. Furthermore, it helps each study with an audit trail, so that changes are clearly documented for audit purposes. In my contact with customer support I have found that they responded swiftly and were always able to help me with any queries. Lastly, Castor keeps improving on its exisiting product, which to me is a significant sign of long-term viability. This is especially relevant when considering Castor for long-term research projects.

Cons

Getting to know Castor takes a bit of time, but it is very helpful to be aware of the structure of Castor, which allows you to fully utilise its potential.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

Ease of use.

October 2018

Lisa from Dyve Bioscineces

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

High-quality, compliant and affordable EDC

Very positive. It's a compliant, easy to use, intuitive system that is affordable.

Pros

After a quick initial learning curve the system is easy to build out without having someone on staff that is an IT expert. Our clinical study managers are able to build out each study with little to no help from Castor. The database is easy to use by both clinical sites and sponsors. The company continues to improve the features of the system and provide webcasts to review the changes and answer user questions. The value can't be beat. As an early-stage start up company we are happy to have found a high-quality compliant system we can afford.

Cons

The one feature we feel is lacking is the ability of an investigator to "batch approve" once they have reviewed the data. It is labor intensive to approve each study visit and each record generated. Other systems provide this ability and investigator's expect this from all systems.

Response from Castor

Replied January 2019

Dear Lisa, Thank you for the positive review and for outlining all the aspects of our system that we pride ourselves on! We indeed offer regular webinars, help from our support team, and an extensive online manual with the aim that every user creates a database on their own in no time! Bulk actions is a good point, definitely something we are working on (for records, reports, and surveys!). We are also doing a make-over of the entire navigation in Castor in order to improve the design and intuitiveness of the system and to make that learning curve even steeper! Thank you for the 5 stars! Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

August 2019

Rosaline from Albert Schweitzer ziekenhuis

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Castor EDC - user friendly, with lots of options and a great helpdesk

Before they were using Castor EDC in this hospital, not everyone was working GCP-proof. With Castor EDC, they do. Benefits are that I can re-use some of the previously created eCRFs, which saves a lot of time and promotes standardization of databases.

Pros

The software is user friendly, and it is clear that (medical) researchers were involved in the development of the software - which is very convenient. The software offers a lot of options, so users can design their own eCRF and databases. The manual offer a lot of information if you do not know you to create something you have in mind. Moreover, the helpdesk is Always very quick in responding to your questions. What I also appreciate is that Castor EDC is open for any suggestions for improvement.

Cons

I do miss some options that I appreciated a lot while working with other similar software (in other hospitals). However, a pro is that I have mentioned those to the helpdesk and either they responded that they will incorporate them in future, or put them on a whish list, or they provided me a kind of work around. Unfortunately, not all the options I appreciated in the other software will be incorporated.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

N.A.

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Dear Rosaline, Thank you for your review - we are indeed focused on compliance and data standardization, so thank you for pointing that out. We are developing Castor continuously so we hope that the features you are missing will be there soon! In the meantime, please do continue to give us feedback. Best, Elena

August 2019

Robin from Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A reliable database for all types of studies

Dont let the cons bother you too much. Its a future proof software which every researcher should seriously consider using.

Pros

+ Ease of use, it didnt take long to master it. + Castor EDC is supported by many companies as a reliable partner. + Castor keeps updating its product and services in order to keep up with developments in research law and good clinical practice. + No more paper! (Or rather.. less paper) + The ability to create case report forms of measurement instruments for future use in other studies. + Large amount of options for all types of studies.

Cons

- The way the database is set up enforces the user to decide how he/she wants her data to be exported. - The system is not really designed for a high amount of measurements per step. It leads to some lagg in inserting data and it will nog let you make entire steps missing when applicable -> meaning you have to tag every single item as missing which is not very efficient. - The use of previously used/exported CRFs is still in development. For instance, only entire steps can be exported for future use though often steps contain multiple instruments or measurements.

January 2019

Sjors from Amsterdam UMC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Castor is an indispensable tool for clinical research!

I used the platform for 5 international retrospective multi-center cohort studies and it was a great experience to see how researchers at all the participating centers interacted so easily with the software. Everyone loved it.

Pros

Castor is a GDPR compliant tool to capture and store baseline characteristics, patient surveys, and clinical outcomes. It's affordable, easy to set up and easy to use. What I love most about it is that it improves the study quality so much compared to traditional methods of data capturing. I also love all the automatic calculations (e.g. age from date of birth and procedure date) the system can perform. The ePro feature to send out surveys to patients directly is great!

Cons

The platform could be even better if it offered functionality to design/structure all variables, definitions, input value options, and calculations in Excel and upload it to Castor. This would make it so much easier to translate (parts) of existing databases to new projects. Also, I missed an option to directly export the database to STATA. Castor currently only supports CSV/Excel/SPSS. Otherwise, no cons.

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Hi Sjors, Thank you for your positive review! It's good to hear that you have used Castor for so many multicenter studies and that all users were happy with the platform. We hope you conduct many more successful studies in the future! We actually have an internal method to transform existing 'Excel' databases into Castor and we do offer such transformations. Please get in touch and we can lead you through the process! Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

May 2019

Bill from Cadex Genomics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Easy to use and well designed

Pros

We are a small start-up company and the task of setting up our study fell on me, a person with absolutely no experience with EDC systems. After doing a little research we selected Castor EDC because it seemed easy to use and the price was right for us. Castor EDC has been everything we've hoped it would be. It is easy to learn and set-up. Our study sites have liked it and found it very easy to use. It is feature complete doing everything we have wanted to do. One concern we had was that the company has no US-based support and we are on the West coast. As such, getting support in real-time is really not an option. I was also concerned about possible language barriers. Those initial concerns have not materialized to be realities. On the three occasions I have required support, I have received it within 24 hours, via email. Each time the answer I received was complete and they addressed my question on the first response. Overall, we are very satisfied.

Cons

I have two fairly nit picky issues: 1. Setting up user rights is a bit clunky. It is very flexible, which I love, but a bit clunky. 2. Dependencies and validations are limited to a single field and the logic is very limited. On the plus side, one can work around those limitations with hidden calculations.

Response from Castor

Replied May 2019

Hi Bill, Thank you so much for you review. We are very happy to be able to help your business with such an important element of your journey towards getting Alibrex to market. I will be in touch soon for a personal introduction. Please know, while not immediate, we do plan to redesign the validation and dependency builder. In the mean time, as you mentioned, multi-variate edit checks and dependencies can be scripted using calculation fields. Derk Arts, MD PhD CEO Castor EDC

October 2018

Gabby from Maastricht University

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

CASTOR for clinical studies

CASTOR incorporates everything that I wanted from an electronic data capture program, and is so easy to use that everyone can work with it.

Pros

CASTOR for me is the answer to electronic data capture. It is easy to use, you have full control, it is safe and data from several sources can be incorporated. Can be used by the investigator, monitor as well as the participant for answering the questionnaires. I also like the fact that the software keeps being developed and better features are added regulary. Communication is excellent.

Cons

The help section is sometimes a bit hard to work through. Also would like to have a printable version of the manual (esp. for instructions to people using the ready-made castor forms).

Response from Castor

Replied January 2019

Dear Gabby, Thanks for this great review! We pride ourselves on our platform's security, user-friendliness and multiple functionalities, as well as the responsiveness of our support team, so we are happy to hear that these are the highlights for you as a data manager! We have recently migrated our entire knowledge base, have you checked it out? It can be found at https://helpdesk.castoredc.com. The searchability has improved significantly since! We have also added printable pdf manuals for data entry users, study admins and monitors. We hope these will be useful for you! Thank you! Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

August 2019

Sharon from SGConsulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Best Value and Also Best Product

Pros

This software is intuitive to use. The company provides video training with all the ins and outs, even though you can work with it without the training. In the past, I had issues with obtaining a calculation for a specific formula and the customer support was so helpful, truly. Responses were almost immediate and my issue was resolved. In addition, the use of records and reports are so helpful when building the CRFs. This product includes EVERYTHING you can find in all of the competing products, including the regulatory requirements, but is so much less expensive that it is not even worth checking out the other companies. This is my go to platform for all of my clients' clinical trials.

Cons

Watching the videos... I just want to hop in. I am writing this because I have to, honestly, there is nothing I don't like about this software.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

Value and cost - it was as good or better than the competition at a fraction of the cost

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Hi Sharon, Thank you so much for this super positive review and great to have you as a loyal customer! Our goal is to offer a product that covers all features necessary for any medical device or pharma study at a competitive price - so it's good to hear that it has indeed met your company's needs. Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

August 2019

Olav from UMC Utrecht

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Positive experiences with Castor

I can only recommend Castor since using it, it's easy, comprehensive and complete and has an excellent support staff.

Pros

Castor gives an easy to use, easily understandable online tool to set up and execute your research projects. Starting up is easy: just play with it! Don't be affraid to ruin anything, just try it. It give some excellent videos for your support in starting with Castor. The helpdesk is very helpful: mails are responded to within the hour and issues are actually solved, even it takes quite some time (several days in my case).

Cons

If you want to set up calculations in Castor, you need knowledge of java. It would be a great benefit if this was made easier. With a little trial and error, you will get a long way, but it remains an issue. Despite the fact that Castor gives you quite good support on these calculations.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

The overall package / offer from Castor was the most comprehensive.

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Hi Olav, Many thanks for your 5-star review and for praising our support team! We indeed try our best to help all users get the best support possible. As far as calculations go, our calculation library contains a lot of ready-to-use templates that you can easily adapt for your own use. The advantage of javascript, although it requires some getting used to, is that it is quite powerful, so it allows you to perform complex calculations and edit checks to ensure data quality. But if I understand correctly by now you're a pro :-) Best, Elena Customer Success Manager

July 2019

Anne-Floor from Amsterdam UMC

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Castor Review

Very good! Since we use Castor our data quality has improved tremendously since our research staff (around the world) immediatly got familiar with Castor and found it much easier to use than the previous systems.

Pros

How fast we could get started as Castor is very user friendly. We could build some eCRFs ourselves, and the support provided for the parts we could not do ourselves was very fast, adequate and high quality.

Cons

Nothing so far. Some minor features that were not available were customly build for us when requested.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

We already used Castor for some smaller projects and did not come across any issues.

Response from Castor

Replied July 2019

Hi Anne-Floor, Thank you for your all-star review! It makes us extremely happy to hear that you have found Castor so easy to use and valuable for your study! - Elena

October 2018

Fleur from Erasmus MC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Clear and user friendly database with many features

Castor has a good customers service who supports you when you encounter any difficulties and provides you with helpful tips/solutions.

Pros

It is easy for a non-experienced database builder to create your own database using Castor. The database is easy to use for data-entry, monitoring and creating reports or surveys. You can add a lot of users and adjust the rights for each of the users. As an admin you have a clear overview on the progress of the study in all participating sites and you get a message every time a patient is included in the trial.

Cons

Sending out surveys is still a manual task, it would be great if by just entering the participants' email address, the surveys are sent automatically.

Response from Castor

Replied January 2019

Hi Fleur, Thanks for your 5 star review, we really appreciate it! With regards to sending surveys when you add the email address, have you looked at our automation engine? https://helpdesk.castoredc.com/article/44-automatically-send-out-surveys That should hopefully make your life even easier! All the best, Derk Arts, MD PhD CEO Castor EDC

October 2018

Mike from INFANT Centre, University College Cork

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Really Versatile and GDPR Compliant Data Storage Platform

The ability to build our own research forms and surveys, quickly and in GDPR compliant way is a massive help for us as it has drastically reduced the cost of this and also the time it takes to get the forms built. It means we can do research faster and cheaper and with compliance headaches handled. The support from Castor has been amazing. They are very quick to respond (even to stupid questions!) and gave us huge support before we signed up.

Pros

We literally have found tons of uses for Castor. The ability to build your own forms quickly and knowing the data is stored in a GDPR Compliant way is a HUGE help for us. Also the validation options in the fields are really good / ensure high level of data quality. And Also, The SPSS export function is really a great help too!

Cons

The Surveys do not work well on Mobile phones and most of our research participants would use them that way.

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Hi Mike, Great to hear that you have found so many uses of Castor and that you rate it with 5 stars on all aspects! Compliance and security, together with a helpful support team our some of our top priorities! There have been some small improvements in the survey mobile experience, but we are aiming for a full mobile optimization with our coming redesigns. Stay tuned! :) Best, Elena

October 2018

alden from Amsterdam UMC, AMC location

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Castor edc: the database to have

Castor is continuosly growing, so i always look forward to the next upgrade. My experience is very good. I have a good connection with a few employers at Castor and we help each other out.

Pros

very easy to understand and use. you have an immediate layout overview when setting up the database.

Cons

some validations are not yet possible some validations need multiple calculations which takes time to build

Response from Castor

Replied January 2019

Dear Alden, Thank you for reviewing Castor EDC and for being part of the Castor research community! We are happy to hear that you find the platform user-friendly! As you probably know, calculation fields offer a wide range of validations you can do using multiple study variables. I understand this might take a bit of extra time which is why we intend to make complex data validations even easier in the future. We also always look forward to our upgrades and to continuously delivering new features that help maximize the efficiency and impact of research done across the world! Thanks, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

August 2019

Joshua from Potrero Medical

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Review of Castor

Pros

- Ease of Programming. I don't have any programming experience, but I was able to build out the whole EDC database by myself, just watching the tutorial videos and explanations on the Castor website. - Responsive Support. Mainly interacted with Customer Support leads, but as a whole was impressed that the support team took our issues seriously and followed through to conclusion. - Low Price. Honestly, likely too low of a price for the value. Others in the field are something like 10x what you are charging, or far more. - User Interface. I like the changes made recently. Really opens up the screen.

Cons

- Loading Time. This may be down to how I organized my Study with lots of repeated measures and a long architecture. But it takes a good 30-60 seconds to load up an individual Subject, and then 10 seconds or so to switch fields sometimes, most notably when I'm trying to dig through Reports. - Single Dependencies. Likely it would overcomplicate the programming, but being able to have more than 1 Dependency for an item would be useful. Only in a small percentage of cases, so the vast majority a single Dependency was sufficient. A like-to-have, not a need-to-have.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

N/A. The choice had been made before I started the job, so I do not know what was considered.

September 2019

Francesca from CAMLIN

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

The best EDC system I’ve ever used

I am very satisfied with Castor EDC

Pros

It’s very easy to create an eCRF and also to monitor studies. GCP compliance is also an important aspect

Cons

Probably the ePRO module; questionnaire scheduling can be improved

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

Because Castor has a better quality/price ratio

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Hi Francesca, Thank you for claiming Castor is the best EDC you've used! Please have a look at our automation engine - this can make scheduling surveys quite effortless! And of course, contact our support team if you need help - we are happy to advise you. Thanks again, Elena

August 2019

Robyn from Amsterdam UMC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Beste Datamanagement System I'v worked with

Pros

I really like Castor EDC. It is easy to build and has many features. I use Castor EDC on a daily basis for my multicentre RCT. It is easy that I an keep in touch with other centres through this system. Futhermore, it is very easy to send out questionnaires. The most positive thing about Castor is that you have all your data in one place. Finally, Catsor has a very good customer service. If I have a problem, I get a respons in one hour. At the beginning we had some difficulties with our study, and Castor invited us to their main office to help us.

Cons

I hope in feature, Castor will be linked with EPIC. Furthermore, I hope will be possible to sign Informed Consents in Castor.

August 2019

alden from amsterdam umc

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Castor EDC: growing and growing internationally

Pros

Easy to use and understand. The manual provided is very extensive and answers practically all your answers. Researchers themselves can create their own database without extensive software knowledge such as Oracle Clinical. The helpdesk is also very swift in replying to one's questions.

Cons

The study part of Castor is not yet compatible with the screens of mobile phones and tablets. Hopefully soon. The validations and dependencies could be extended to multiple fields to minimize the use of extra calculation fields.

October 2018

Bee from King's College Hospital

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Great Data Capturing Software for Research

Overall we love Castor EDC. Great software, great team behind it and perfect for our research studies. :-)

Pros

The almost intuitive easy nature of the software.

Cons

The study ID numbering is a bit clunky. It would also be great to have study visit alarms / out of study visit window warnings.

Response from Castor

Replied January 2019

Dear Bee, Thank you for your review! We love that you love Castor and that you find the system (almost) intuitive :) With our coming redesign of the navigation in Castor, we hope to make it 100% intuitive! This year we will also be working towards a better overview of old vs. new CRF versions, as well as a reporting dashboard that will provide you with better insight into the study progress. Good luck further with your many research studies! Cheers, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

October 2018

M from Alzheimer Center

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Nice program for clinical research

Pros

Easy to use, customer friendly. Easily adjustable.

Cons

Sometimes Castor works too slow, so if i'm filling it in while seeing patients, it takes too long. Furthermore, some features do not work properly (like mark whole steps as missing, when the step is too large)

Response from Castor

Replied December 2018

Hi M, Thanks for leaving a review, good to hear you're mostly positive! :). Slow downs of the system are usually a result of having a large amount of fields on a single step. We are currently implementing a warning message in our form builder to warn against adding more than 50 fields to a single step, hopefully that should prevent this issue in the future. If you think there's another cause for the slowness, please contact support when this occurs. Thanks again! Derk Arts CEO Castor EDC

February 2018

Brechtje from Reinier de Graaf Hospital

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

High-quality data collection

Pros

What I like about Castor is that I can create a user-friendly database that will also create a user-friendly output, i.e. that I can already prepare the data as much as possible to make data analysis easier.

Cons

More possibilities regarding surveys would add even more value: automatic reminders to subjects to complete their survey, notifications if surveys have not been completed yet (in addition to the existing notifications that surveys have been completed).

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Hi Brechtje, Thank you for this review! We are working on automatic reminders, something that's been on the top of our list! Notifications for non-completion will be a next step afterwards. Good luck further with your research in Castor! Best, Elena

August 2019

Yavanna from LUMC

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Review Castor from monitor perspective

Pros

Castor is very intuitive and easy to use. Per variable/step/phase I can verify the data. Also making queries is very nice, it has multiple steps in closing a query what makes it very clear. What's also great is that gaining access to a database is very simple and easily arranged.

Cons

The audit trail cant be printed out, it can only be viewed online. But most of the times the audit trail is too massive anyway to print.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Really intuitive

Pros

Really easy to use, very intuitive. In multicentre trials with lots of collaborators involved you need a software with those characteristics so that collaborators won't have problems. The online platform works really well and fast.

Cons

There are some things that need to be solved to save time, when giving access to collaborators, at least in trials with many users.

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Hello, Thank you for your positive review! The intuitiveness of the system is one of our top priorities, so we're happy that's your main feedback. Regarding the study access, we do offer user management as an additional service for larger studies. Please contact us if this would be of interest for your future studies. Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

October 2018

Shardule from Diassess

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Love this system!

Pros

Easy to use Fantastic customer service Affordable

Cons

On rare occasions, bit of a lag time moving from one page to next while filling in form. Nothing major.

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Dear Shardule, It's always a pleasure to see a 5-star review! Thank you for the nice words! If you do experience lags again (definitely not the intention!), please contact our customer support, we can look together with you to see what might be causing it. As you know, we want to solve any issues you encounter! :) Thanks again, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

October 2018

Alejandro from Neurology Department - UANL

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Makes clinical research easier!

It has made easier to carry on a prospective registry.

Pros

It helps you to have everything in order.

Cons

You can't print the information in a structured format.

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Hi Alejandro, Thank you for your super positive review! Making clinical research faster and smarter for all researchers is what we want to achieve! I'm not entirely sure I understand the printing structure comment. Could you contact us so we can clarify how the printing can be improved? I will then add this request to our feature requests list. We use this user feedback as input for product development, so we love hearing your thoughts on what can be improved! Thanks again, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Castor Spain Review

3 studies performed Last with 650 researched and 145 centers: no problems; it’s great

Pros

Easy to use, very intuitive, powerful, agile, fast and accurate online support

Cons

There are NO cons in my experience in this moment

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Hi there, Thank you for your 5-star review and the nice words! No cons is always good to hear :) We wish you success with your current and future big multicenter studies! Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

October 2019

Tsz Wai from Montreal Neurological Institute

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Love the software!

Pros

Very user friendly, easy access to online help (email), audit trail available, ease of uploading documents, data editing easily without having to unlock pages constantly

Cons

Everytime I stop typing in a field and come back to it 30 s later, the GCP box pops up and ask me why am I making changes. I was just abit slow to type in the data. This is the only issue that is somewhat annoying, having to justify why even though I am not changing the data. Perhaps this box should pop up only if we make changes after we save the page?

October 2018

Michele from Magna Graecia University

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

my opinion about Castor

Nice!

Pros

- Really easy use - very fast and complete answers from support

Cons

- sometimes is not easy to fill the form by the Investigators if repeated measures (report button) are used

Response from Castor

Replied January 2019

Hi Michelle, Thank you for your nice review! The ease of use of our platform is something we aim for and our support team is always there to help with quick responses and useful tips on Castor's power features! The ease of use of the reports depends mostly on how the database is built - using many report buttons is not always convenient. For repeated measures, it is more appropriate to use the dedicated repeated measure field instead - this makes data entry for such measurements much easier! We also have a short printable pdf manual for data entry, this might be helpful for the investigators to get used to the system. Thanks again, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

October 2018

Josephine from King's

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Review

Pros

It is very intuitive to use. It's very easy to design a CRF. Customer support is always available to help with queries, if there are any. I honestly did not have any trouble at all running my study on Castor. I would recommend it to everyone and I strongly believe collaborative research is the way to go forward.

Cons

I don't have anything to criticise at all.

Response from Castor

Replied January 2019

Hi Josephine, 5 stars and nothing to criticize, that's very flattering! Thank you so much for supporting us and writing this review. Best wishes, Derk Arts, MD PhD CEO Castor EDC

August 2019

Sara from Erasmus Medical Centre

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

User friendly interface

It provides a solution for the data management requirements

Pros

It is very user friendly, easy to get acquinted with

Cons

Immediate changes also require a justification even though you are just correcting a typo

January 2020

Georgina from GSTT

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great database software!

Very positive

Pros

Very easy and user friendly to set up with a great support team. Much more affordable than previous databases we have used.

Cons

Nothing- I really can't fault it. Highly recommend

October 2018

Stefan from Amsterdam UMC, location VUmc

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Good program

Very good

Pros

It is reliable. Every day a back-up is made of my database.

Cons

Sometimes the site is running (very) slow. Especially after running some calculations.

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Hi Stefan, Thank you for your review! We aim to ensure top level security of your data and performing regular back-ups is a part of that. The app should run quite smoothly, so if you are encountering some lags, it could be the result of how the calculations are set up in your study and their amount in a single step. Our support team will be happy to advise you on how to structure your study for best system performance. Best, Elena

August 2019

Stefanie from RECAP

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

A product that makes sense, even to novice computer users

My overall experience has been phenomenal. I recommend Castor EDC to colleagues any time I can!

Pros

Being a small non-profit organization stretched for time and resources, finding a secure platform which took into account our small under-resourced status in cost and was easy for me to build and customize was invaluable. Add to that the amazing customer service and I was even happier.

Cons

There are 3 things that could be improved: 1. Allowing for more than one dependency on a question. 2. Make automations easier to set up with clearer terminology and instructions. 3. Allow for simple pulling of numbers for a specific field without exporting data (i.e. how many in field x said 'yes')

September 2019

Lucienne from Academic Medical Center Amsterdam

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Castor EDC

Pros

Castor is really easy to use and realiable software

Cons

I am really content with castor; so I do not have any negative points about this software

November 2019

Mathieu from Nordic Bioscience

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Castor EDC can be a great solution!

The system is finally a great system that I use for: - non commercial studies - small projects (research, academic or phase I)

Pros

It is easy to deploy, a quite friendly user system, allows quick study setup and is not expensive at all.

Cons

The audit trail difficult to extract and get. I had some issues when designing a page with a big table: performance issues led to problems when recording data. Keep in mind to design pages without hundreds of fields.

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

I chose Castor because it is more user-friendly than other systems like Open Clinica. It can offer many features Open Clinica proposes but it is less technic to setup a study.

January 2020

Frank from University Hospital Regensburg

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Absolutely easy to use Data management tool for clinical trials

Realized one randomized clinical Trial and two retrospective data analyses

Pros

Easy to use, no Knowledge on programming needed, not too expensive

Cons

Some Tools ae missing for my Purpose e.g. multimedial integration

Reasons for Choosing Castor EDC

tested the free Trial and was convinced

August 2019

Wouter from Amsterdam UMC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Professional software to keep track of your study results

Very stable, professional software.

Pros

Professional layout. API to fetch and submit data.

Cons

All variables need to be created manually; there is no option to do this programmatically(?)

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Hi Wouter, Thank you for your review! Good to hear that you are using our API, this is a great way to integrate Castor with other systems and easily transmit data. If you have a data dictionary (e.g. csv) that you would like to 'import' into Castor, you can contact our support team and we will help you with it - we have some internal applications that allow for this. In the future we hope to make it possible for end-users to do this themselves as well. Thanks again! -Elena Customer Success Manager

September 2019

Daniel from Advanced Investigative Medicine, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

A great EDC system

Overall it’s been a great experience. Loved this edc system.

Pros

The system is extremely user friendly. The startup time was quick when entering the webpage.

Cons

Margins cut off subject numbers, so they weren’t displayed properly. Queries could be resolved quicker if there wasn’t an option to choose between completed, resolved, etc.

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Dear Daniel, Thank you very much for the 5 stars! Great to hear that you love the system. You can drag the margin to expand the column width and you can decide which columns to include in your overview from the dropdown in the column header. To close a query directly, you could assign Query rights if you want to skip the 'resolved' stage. We hope to have you on board for many more studies! Please contact us if you need advice for the database setup. Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

August 2019

Arife from Hacettepe Üniversity Hospital

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

I prefer to use it.

I am generally satisfied, but I think it needs to be improved, and it is a very good practice to be invited to information and system training. Is it possible to transfer the data to SPSS? Thanks

Pros

It is an easy to use and understandable system.

Cons

I had trouble changing the entered data later and there was no color change after the questions were answered.

Response from Castor

Replied October 2019

Hi Arife, Thank you for your positive review. If you run into any issues again, please contact our support team so that we can solve it together. In the support menu (the little question mark in the bottom left when you log in) you can find an online video workshop as well as an extensive manual with a step-by-step description for all features - including how to perform an SPSS export (yes it is possible!). Best, Elena

October 2018

Olivia from UAntwerpen

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Best solution to manage my data

Very good experience for my PhD-project. Easy to set up and easy to use and to export!

Pros

easy to build up your project with. The structure helps you think about your statistical plan.

Cons

expensive compared to redcap, but still value for money

Response from Castor

Replied April 2019

Dear Olivia, Thank you for your review! Being the best solution for your data management is what we aim for! We also aim to keep our prices as low as possible for the provided quality, especially for academic research studies, and we trust that the value exceeds the price :) Thank you for using Castor and we hope to be in touch again for your future studies! Best regards, Elena Kochova, MD Customer Success Manager

April 2016

Dennis & Lisanne from LUMC & Radboudumc

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2016

Great interface, superb customer service

Great interface, dummy-proof, adheres to GCP-requirements without being disturbing to users. Hardly any bugs noted, but if there, they will be fixed within a few hours. Ability to make accounts for different users with different restrictions (fantastic!). Recommendations: - Options to build eCRFS could be extended somewhat, e.g. medication module - Other randomisation algorithms - Option to adjust the planned dates for surveys (future survey invites) that have already been saved.

Response from Castor

Replied April 2016

Thank you for your excellent feedback. Regarding your points: - Currently we recommend using the new "Repeated measures" feature to create your own medication module. We will try to include medication lists in Castor but that is difficult due to international differences - We have built our Biased Coin Minimization (BCM) algorithm and are currently validating it, we will update you when it is released! - This is a very valid point and was developed in the current 'sprint', it will be released in in version 4.7. Again, thanks for the feedback, this is what we need to keep on improving Castor EDC! - Derk Arts MD, PhD.c Founder Castor EDC

Displaying 1 - 50 of 106 reviews