All Amberscript Reviews

1-25 of 42 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Arun Sarathy

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Must have for Multiple Use-Cases

I am elated to have found Amberscript because it's all about trading in a few dollars to save our precious time, that's otherwise spent in writing subtitles, and speech scripts manually.

PROS

Amberscript has become a game-changer in my video production workflow. I usually write my video subtitles and sometimes podcast scripts after listening to my own words. It's a time consuming process and quite monotonous. But after I started using Amberscript, all I have to do is drag and drop my audio file into Amberscript, and then the script text is generated magically. It neatly captures my words spoken in English. The beauty is that it has multiple accent options just for English. So, even if you are a non-native English-speaking person, Amberscript can help. It has a neat editor within which we can edit the text easily using keyboard shortcuts, too. There is also a way to select the portion of text and it shows where in audio file waveform it's located. Its transcribing process works with AI capabilities - and that means it "learns" our words and tries to reduce the errors eventually.

CONS

With all its greatness, it still is not perfect. I have to do a final review to see if it picked all my spoken words correctly. Thanks to the text editor, I can search, edit directly in the editor. That being said, its transcription engine is in fact powerful and picks correctly almost 97% of the time. The hours limit duration is also quite less in their plans, in my opinion. However, we can purchase additional hours on a case-to-case basis.

Jos

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Amberscript is a musthave for interviewers and editors

Easy to setup and use. Good quality.

PROS

You have a spoken interview transcribed in no time. The Dutch (AI) text-to-speech function is the best I've seen. Good enough to save tons of time.

CONS

Can't think of anything now. Maybe integration with other software could be better. But uploading single files to Amberscript does the job for me. Certainly if I compare it to the time lost when I was transcribing everything myself.

Reasons for switching to Amberscript

The Dutch translation is better.

User Profile

Elysia

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Ambescript has made some great improvements

PROS

Amberscript is wonderful if you want to create blogs and other content from your videos.

CONS

Amberscript has a subtitle option. However, it is not very customizable. This is what I originally purchased Amberscript for. But I still use it.

Nélia

Military, 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Amberscript is very useful

I am transcribing some interviews, collecting data from my master's degree and amberscript is being very useful to me.. I think amberscript is very user friendly. I chose the cheapest plan because the real-dollar exchange rate is 5.00. I wish that when adjusting the text I could use bold and other word features. Thank you very much"

PROS

I liked it a lot because it helped me with the manual work of the researcher.

CONS

Maybe you can use word features in the transcribed text.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

At first glance: very good

Easy to use, easy to understand, easy to get the invoice.

PROS

I've just bought 60 minutes of audio-translation fro 15 €. My interview was ready in 10 minutes and the text was 90% in line with the actual speech. I can't think of a more precise service.

CONS

There's nothing wrong in the service. Of course I'd appreciate more accuracy in the translation.

Sarah

Judiciary, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2024

AI transcribe was unable to distinguish male and female voices

I would not use it again for the purpose of transcribing a casual conversation or interview.

PROS

It is easy to use. The file upload process is fast. The interface is user friendly. Allows Paypal checkout.

CONS

While the voices are clear, I anticipated some errors due to the music in the background (no lyrics) and one speaker's accent. I paid for the AI version thinking I could save time by using the time stamps and basic outline of the transcription to make my work faster. Unfortunately, this service could not differentiate well between the male and female speakers without long breaks between sentences. It also showed very very low accuracy for the non-native english speaker, and only moderate to low accuracy for the native speaker.

Sunny

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

good software

Great!

PROS

automatically transcription for variance video and can be used with other software, like opencast

CONS

we do not have feature which we do not like, we are new to the system

Arno

Education Management, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Free trial

very useful for school task

PROS

the combination of the video, the self reading tekst and the transcript

CONS

the price you have to pay, it is too expensive for a student

Andrea

Translation and Localization, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Amazing software

PROS

Works perfectly, identifies mostly flawlessly many accents and different intonations.

CONS

No copy paste. Having to work with internet.

Nithushaa

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Best solution to save work and time!

PROS

The automatic transcription with less time

CONS

It is too expensive for students. I would prefer some student offer packages.

Hermann

Media Production, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Amberscript - a real relieve for transcriptions

PROS

Works easy, is fast, I can always come back to old recordings on my account, an efficient help!

CONS

Sometimes I have interviews with non-British nor American partners who speak in English... On non-Germans who speak in German... And do not know it too well. What is worse, their pronounciation is not the "original" one. Then we sometimes come to a certain border because the software seems to be trained by natives of the respective languages. Would be good to teach it as well in "Conference English" or "Conference German". Guess that would also improve in the future.

Jonatan

Events Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Excelente herramienta.

Mi experiencia con Amberscript en general es muy buena.

PROS

El software es muy simple de usar e intuitivo. Cualquiera podría utilizarlo sin tener muchos conocimientos de informática.

CONS

En mi caso, el software tiene algunas fallas y no salva mi progreso en el trabajo o simplemente se recarga solo.

Arnold

Broadcast Media, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Big timesaver, but also save some time for final editing of transcriptions

Instead of spotting lists for editing, I now use my own database inside amberscript. It works perfect.

PROS

the ease of the audio player connected with the transcription is brilliant to use while sitting next to the editor. Also that you can formulate a starting timecode, which makes it sync with the original timeline in the editing software.

CONS

It's still quite some work to do the final editing, but allltogether it's a big plus.

Marie

Design, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Review

It was really fast. the transcription was correct. I have a good experience.

PROS

I love that it divides automatically in different speakers. That German is available. (it is not available in a lot of transcription software) I also like that I can choose to let it transcibe from a person. I looove. That I can let the audio play while editing.

CONS

I didn't use it so much. But I would like to have some options for comments

Reasons for switching to Amberscript

I didnt like the subscription model

Sanja

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Great program

Great program, very useful and helpful in transcribing interviews. Saves some time, yet less than I was hoping for.

PROS

It is very user friendly, great graphics, great that you can see the shortcuts at any moment. Helpful in analyzing long interviews.

CONS

Not all the words (especially jargon) are being understood and the program does not learn from mistakes it makes. That results in still tedious long work to adjust the automatically transcribed conversations. I was a little bit disappointed by the amount of work it still is to work out the interviews.

Michael

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Speed up you editing

PROS

20 Minutes interviews with 20 questions and answers is hard to integrate i an edit. For me it's easier to read and mark answers instead of scrolling through the material. The Timecode is in the word document, so the orientiation is perfect.

CONS

The possibilities of formating the word documents could be better.

Abby

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Good for interview transcriptions

Generally good - sometimes it likes to drop out on me, but in general I feel satisfied.

PROS

It works generally very well - it has cut down a lot on my transcription time, and in general, the software is good and transcribes well.

CONS

Has problems with some English accents, which is annoying. I interview people all over Europe and normally it's fine, but northern English accents are a problem that I have to spend a lot of time fixing.

Caterina

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Mi herramienta favorita para generar subtítulos en español

Mi labor como creadora de contenido se simplifica muchísimo con AmberScript. Es rápido, intuitivo y los subtítulos son precisos.

PROS

La facilidad de uso y el hecho de que generen subtítulos automáticos de bastante buena calidad en castellano.

CONS

No he encontrado ningún aspecto negativo digno de mencionar, ¡buen trabajo equipo! Únicamente seguir mejorando la precisión de los subtítulos automáticos.

Ahmed

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

simplicity

it has saved me well in moments of stress and time

PROS

the auto-transcription and the possibility to export in srt

CONS

to tell the truth for the moment nothing has disappointed me

Reason for choosing Amberscript

the simplicity

Reasons for switching to Amberscript

simplicity and good organization of the interface

Sergio

Broadcast Media, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Simple y Efectivo

El beneficio mas importante es el tiempo en la edición de notas para mi portal de noticias.

PROS

Es una herramienta muy util para mi trabajo (edición de notas periodisticas desde audios). Fácil de usar. Me permite ahorrar mucho tiempo en edición de notas gráficas,

CONS

En realidad no he tenido trabas al momento de usar esta herramienta.