All Labguru Reviews

1-18 of 18 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Elisa

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Comprehensive and flexible ELN system. Powerful rodent features

We have put Labguru at the centre of our day to day labwork, both for lab management and to organise experiments and data. We migrated our consumables, mice list, etc using their template files and use it daily to log experiments, data and protocols.

Pros

It allows to effectively organise your stocks, whether they are cells, reagents or rodent specimens. Allocate them to locations (rooms, racks, boxes) and consume reagents in the experiment records helps keep track of what needs ordering. The experiments can be created, organised, moved and even saved as protocol templates which allows flexibility, as it does the option to link resources. To import and export list of any stocks is very easy and fast using the excel templates. As a manager, is very easy to distribute roles and access to the different users.

Cons

Sometimes the local edit plugin function to edit a document embedded in an experiment doesn't work properly and requires manual editing, which is more time consuming. Overall it requires to spend time learning how to use it, but this is because it's very comprehensive and has many functions.

Reasons for choosing Labguru

It has many relevant features like the rodents, stock and ordering organisation. It's easy to import existing data using excel templates, which made the migration seamless from our existing records. It's conceived with great flexibility yet has pre-defined fields so you don't have to create every record from scratch.

Yasmin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Customizable ELN with amazing customer support

Pros

We most liked how customizable most features in this ELN are. We can edit the existing inventories, create our own inventories, customize equipment maintenance, and protocols. This has made it easier to easily log and search for scientists' work. It has also made setting up consistent workflows easier.

Cons

Uptake has been difficult especially with lab members who are not comfortable with adapting to software that requires a lot of clicking and many different steps to setup features. We also wish there was a way to integrate our purchasing with automatic inventory updates. For now, we have to manually enter new inventory stocks.

Reasons for choosing Labguru

The LabGuru reps seemed more knowledgeable and excited by their product and the solutions their product could provide for us. The LabGuru reps seemed much more interested in helping us implement solutions for our problems. Otherwise the two systems were very similar.

Lucie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

A great all in-one data management platform for Biotech

In a nutshell, Labguru allowed us to conduct scientific activities quickly and efficiently. The entire platform is made to offer a customized experience based on the needs of the company. It’s really interesting for young startups like Equaly to start with LabGuru, since it can evolve and adapt to our changing needs along with the development of our company.

Pros

We particularly appreciate the Excel spreadsheet tool and the possibility to connect an experiment to any other element inside LabGuru with the Linked Resources option. In only one year of use, we experienced the platform evolving.

Cons

The text processing is tricky, and sometimes the program crashed while working, but this last issue seemed to be solved now.

Reasons for choosing Labguru

It seemed more exhaustive and easier to use

Jennie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Cannot live without it

Amazing experience. Tracking and usage of antibodies and when any reagents are consumed. Help us to keep track of consumables and when to order items in good time. Labguru helped us to keep track of when to clean, calibrate, service and audit (etc) equipments so we don't need to rely on the use of google calendar for example.

Pros

Labguru is very user friendly. Although there are still minor things to be tweaked, I like the appearance of the LIMS as a whole and how easy it is for our internal developers to use API and customise the LIMS to fit our needs. It is great with integration with our other sample collection system. It is very easy to import in samples and link experiment and reagent usage to each sample. All actions are tracked and there is a trail log which is super useful if needed for troubleshooting and also for the purpose of auditing and eventually accreditation of our lab. I like that we can customise to get notifications when reagents are running low and when items have expired in addition to when and what maintenance are due for each equipment. Not forgetting it is easy to set up label template and print labels to stick on our lab tubes/plates during our choice of label printer.

Cons

At the moment it seems that moving items between storage location is not very specific but this is on their list of things to do to make it better. When we have documents to upload for certain equipment, we cannot yet upload them to specific service date that is logged but only upload to the main equipment inventory page, which is ok but would be great to associate documents to corresponding maintenance event. It would be useful to get notifications at a specified time (i.e. 1 month) prior to reagent expiring and not just when the reagents have expired. Our developer had sorted out customised emails for this (again indicating how easy to customise Labguru to suit our needs) but if this setting could be implemented in Labguru it would be very useful.

Reasons for choosing Labguru

SENAITE does not have half of the functionality that Labguru has and also it is much more user friendly and organised and easier to customise to fit our needs.

Anindita

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Labguru: It wears many hats at the same time

I feel Labguru has its own set of advantages but at the same time, it has some risks associated with it. So, I believe the company should bring about some changes in its data backup policies, most importantly, to be in the competitive market.

Pros

Our laboratory has purchased several licenses for Labguru and we have been using it for several years now. 1. One of the biggest advantages of Labguru is that one gets to consolidate all data all content and written matter in one place. So that allows people to be more organized. 2. Besides, most people can then access other's content as well. This may sound bad but is not really, because say I need a protocol for an experiment from my colleague, he tells me exactly what to look for and from which experiment on his Labguru. I simply go and take a look at the protocol instead of bothering him for his notebook or his time. 3. Labguru can be used to maintain instrument usage, bookings, and service which was particularly useful for us during the COVID no contact protocol. 4. Also, maintaining Labguru records allows the authorities/Professor to keep a tab on the progress of their students/staff.

Cons

The biggest con of this software is that it does not have a backup policy. You can physically store the pdf of the Labguru virtual notebook but what do you do for the data? The moment my lab or research group decides to quit Labguru, all the data will be lost. There are generations of work in Labguru that were saved by my other colleagues, all that would be gone. The second aspect of using Labguru or any similar platform is the heavy reliance on the internet. Labguru is certainly not solely to be blamed solely. If someone has a bad internet day then he/she will not be able to work on Labguru at all.

Brian

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Labguru is a great choice for academic labs.

Pros

Easy access to all of our laboratory information and research results online.

Cons

The inventory search feature would benefit from a "search all fields" option, but it's an easy issue to work around.

Reasons for choosing Labguru

I’ve been using Labguru for over five years to manage my academic lab. We currently have 10 accounts. Labguru is very flexible and accommodates our group’s needs easily. There are a ton of feature and there’s a consistently shallow learning curve. Labguru makes it extremely easy for me to keep up on people’s progress. Having all of our group’s research at my fingertips has been a life saver for preparing manuscripts, reports, and presentations. No more leafing through paper notebooks or waiting for group members to e-mail me data. The inventory system allows us to keep track of our strains and stocks easily. Because Labguru is web-based I have easy access to all my lab’s information even when I’m home or away at a conference. The Labguru calendar was instrumental for us to coordinate and schedule lab access as part our COVID-19 research resumption plan. If you’re starting a new lab or looking to make the switch over to an electronic notebook and LIMS system, Labguru is worth the investment.

Response from BioData

Hi Brian, Thank you for taking the time to review Labguru ELN, LIMS and Informatics solution. I have forwarded your comment about the search capability to our product team. We always look for constructive comments that help us improve our service. All the best, Michal

Replied September 2020

Erez

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

The best ELN I used! easy, user-friendly, highly recommended!

As a team leader, Labguru made it easy for me to review my team experimental design and results. I could electronically sign and approve their work and communication became much easier thanks to the vast features Labguru is offering. in addition, Labguru offers an inventory feature which is very useful for sample management and orders.

Pros

Labguru is a use-friendly ELN which allows the use to effectively manage And review their data, plan their experimental work, store inventory and more. Labguru is also align with the regulatory compliance demands which makes it a very powerful tool.

Cons

Rarely there were some missing features but with the help and support of the Labguru team, I managed to overcome this and often these features were added following my request.

Reasons for choosing Labguru

As a team leader, Labguru made it easy for me to review my team experimental design and results. I could electronically sign and approve their work and communication became much easier thanks to the vast features Labguru is offering. In addition, Labguru has a strong team which provides a constant support and tight and personal guidance.

Response from BioData

Hi Erez, Thank you for taking the time and writing your review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy we can grow our product thanks to partners like yourself. Your feedbacks are always helpful and constructive.

Replied September 2020

Keren

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Powerful ELN Tool for R&D

All the protocols, results and reports are available and organized in one place. Data is accessible for review and easy to navigate. Importantly, We are able to create customized forms and documentation according to our methodology and fields suitable for our nature of work and in-line with QA/GLP requirements. We are able to create forms that allow unanimous data documentation with mandatory fields to allow traceability and better reproducibility. Admin can electronically review, comment, and approve the teams results, progress etc. Labguru also offers an inventory feature which is very useful for sample management and orders. Storage is updated and documented including customized expiry/stock alerts.

Pros

Labguru supports all R&D aspects, which makes it a great R&D tool for data arrangement & management.

Cons

Inserting data manually and understanding the different features. However, with great support we received from Labguru team support we were able to implement the module rather easily. Better tutorials of system features and how to use it are recommended.

Response from BioData

Thanks Keren for the nice review. we appreciate your comments and will do our best to improve.

Replied November 2020

Dino

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

Intuitive and complete eLN with good Project Management capacity

It's just a very good system to use to record and share experiments and the very importantly the customer service is very responsive and helpful.

Pros

- Intuitive to use - Ease of copy and paste anything - Folder type of structure - Inventory/Storage module - Project Management capabilities

Cons

- Not fine control over the rights to change Project folders - Not being able to impose the use of 2FA to users - Very frequent password change

Reasons for choosing Labguru

It offered a very good range of capabilities in a very user friendly interface. It felt more future proof than the alternatives.

Response from BioData

Thanks Dino! We appreciate you took the time to write a review. We will definitely take your comments under consideration.

Replied November 2020

User Profile

Egehan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

Keeping lab files organized

Labguru especially made a difference in terms of collaboration among lab members working on different projects.

Pros

Labguru makes collaboration among lab members easier by providing access to various ongoing projects.

Cons

Calendar feature could be improved. An add-on making integration possible with other calendar apps might come in handy.

Frederik

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Easy to use ELN with makes academic research more efficient

Pros

The ELN really helps to have a good overview of research that is conducted in an academic research lab. As professor and promoter of several PhD students and supervisor of tech staff for contract research, a good overview is crucial and Labguru offers this. Labguru makes the research also more efficient and standardized, the inventory of chemicals/biologicals is also coupled to experiments which make tracking much easier. It is for our laboratory the ideal tool to manage our research lab/ manage the inventory and supervise different research project in an efficient way.

Cons

I have no major remarks about the software, is very user friendly and self-explaining.

Response from BioData

Thank you, Frederik! We highly appreciate you took the time to write a review about Labguru. We are happy to hear that Labguru helps you manage your research and become more efficient. we will be happy to hear more about how we can give you more value and understand your concerns in this matter.

Replied May 2021

Joseph

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Aizen lab - guide for success

Pros

As a young PI, organizing a new Lab with new students make all the process much easier. The ability to know online how every project is advancing is an advantage for a PI. The easy interface allows me to better control the Lab goals. the fact that the LabGure also backup all the data stored in another advantge.

Cons

I think that the LabGure should have the ability to be linked to Graphpad Prizm and other statistical softwaers. it will make all the data analysis much more easy and user friendly.

Kellen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2021

Great LIMS, informatics and automation solution

Pros

The platform is very versatile and can be customized depending on your organization's needs. We use the barcoding, inventory management and data management features on a daily basis. We find LabGuru to be a great "all-in-one" LIMS solution.

Cons

I really don't have any complaints. Like all platforms, it does take some time to get setup--but the customer support team is very helpful and responsive.

Laureana

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2021

Electronic notebook for labs

Pros

Interface is good and easy to use. Documenting every day work on this lab notebook is optimal.

Cons

Word documents can't be add it to page. Also the copy and paste from excel and word is not easy to edit.

Paulo

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

Powerful Tool for Laboratory Management

I have been working with Labguru for 5 years.

Pros

Interconnectivity of experiments, samples, reagents, and equipment, everything can be tracked down.

Cons

The price is above average in the market.

Reasons for choosing Labguru

I had a previous experiment with LabGuru.

Terezia

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT