User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(63)

63

4 stars

(43)

43

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Incredible number of add-ons and features. Very good reliability."

  • "Very Intuitive Good Look and feel Very complete integrated communications platform"

  • "great integration, loving the open source and overall integration"

  • Cons

  • "I like the least is there is lack of eye candies, but it could be easily customization with custom coding and CSS style. "

  • "a bit sluggish at times, but expecting a smoother feel when moving away from the free trial"

  • "it takes a lot of time for our developers to customize some of it features. but finally we did it..."

Browse eXo Platform Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -20 of 30 results

March 2019

Tal from Verint-Systems

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Fantastic product and innovative collaborative tool

eXo Platform is a relatively new app, that can be helpful for corporation and communication on all different levels. I think, it is best suited for medium to large sized companies, as it has so many functions, most of which is not beneficial for small teams.

Pros

Without a doubt, eXo Platform provides everything you may need to put into action your innovative digital work base or customer experience solution. This app design in a way that it helps you to get real work done, without the platform being the part of the work. Because it is cloud-based, you can easily share any kind of data with your co-workers, which makes collaboration so much easier. If you are looking for a multifunctional social collaboration platform for the enterprise, I suggest you try eXo Platform, as it has an entirely new and sophisticated approach towards collaboration and communication between coworkers.

Cons

This platform is constantly developing, so every week you are faced with different types of updates, which can be annoying. Plus, the app is packed with different functions, some of with you may never use. As a result the interface looks cluttered and not particularly user-friendly. Also, the integration with other applications can be complicated and requires a lot of user experience as well, as blunt luck.

July 2019

Paolo from kb

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

My pros and cons for e

I've been working with eXo platform for over a year and a half. I've been discovering its features, its qualities and the points to be improved in order to create a custom portal with customizations. Mostly, I consider it as a very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. I enjoyed eXo very much, as I enjoyed its special and very kind team, with whom I still talk on Skype or other instant messages services. Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

Pros

A lot of features, easy to customize and improve. very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. very kind team Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

Cons

maybe all the deploying part could be improved, looking for example to other new tools that spend only few seconds in order to deploy or redeploy (modules) the whole app. multitenanting, at least for my experience

December 2014

scar

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


December 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons:

Pros

eXo is an Enterprise Social Network that will improve productivity across the board in all members of the company. It's very feature rich so if you want your organization's knowledge, private, secure and organized then you have to try it!

Cons

We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification).

September 2016

aliah from N21

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2016

not an open source platform as advertise in the search engine.

Your product is very good but no download option for open source platform as result in the google search engine.

September 2019

hani from IUST

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

social enterprise system

I've been working with eXo platform for 6 months. we use this platform as a social collaboration place for an Industrial Association. we use community edition for free with a lot ofready-to-usefeatures (like profile, forum,work spaces, wiki, document mng.) documentation is useful feature for us. its a Knowledge Management system (KMS) that provide content mng., advance search, tagging and full-txt search. it enables content sharing through our community. spaces providea virtual place for team work. this application allows you Collaborate on a topic or project with other users. you could have privateDocument Management, wiki or forum in each space. eXo has a great administration pane that let you manageusers and define group and permission. creating customized pages and site is easy for admin. as an JAVA opensource platform you could customize every thing. we did a lot of changes in profile and run some of our services on it. translating eXo was a great and new experience for me. Crowdin Platform is used for managing eXo translations, so you could submit and develop new translation by help of others. Finally the support team is great!

Pros

it's a java based opensource with great ready to use feature that could be use as a social enterprise system

Cons

it takes a lot of time for our developers to customize some of it features. but finally we did it...

Reasons for Choosing eXo Platform

java based more ready to use feature

December 2014

Junior from BM&FBOVESPA

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


December 2014

Everything you need for building a social network niche in on place

I have been worked on a personal project where I intend to create a niche of social network. I looked for frameworks available on the market that could provide a complete infrastructure to run out my business and I found it at eXo. EXO plataform provides all basic features for developing a niche of social network, such as authentication, active streams and others features you can imagine for a social network. Particulary, one of the reasons I have decided by using of eXo is because it is written in Java, basically ( JSP - you can extend to JSF, Juzu ...) and works over portlets, i.e., you can built modules and apply them over your portal. If you are looking for a framework for build a social network I strongly recomends you at least do a trial with eXo before going deep into your project.

Pros

- Documentation; - Active community, I've got answers for all questions I've done at eXo forum; - Customizable portal; - You don't need touch any line of code to launch a social network;

Cons

- Server is too slow during start up, I believe that is due to the amount the packages that it have to load; - No so flexible for extracting data from database. EXO uses JCR (Java Common Repository), i.e., you will need to use an API to extract data

Response from eXo Platform

Replied December 2014

Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Let us know on eXo Community when you project is live and make sure to connect with us if you have further questions but it looks like you are already an active forum user :)

August 2018

Ashleigh from Xerox

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Marvelous software for all sorts of Collaboration.

Pros

Exo Platform is an outstanding software that provides an excellent platform for collaborating for our projects. It consists of powerful and effective tool that helps a lot in our business. It comprises of perfect features and functionality is fantastic. This software gives best solutions for communication problems and provides good opportunity for easier and effective cooperation among the co-workers.

Cons

In the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible. In order to start video conference, it takes long time to understand the issues.

January 2015

Divyang from Scalsys Technology

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


January 2015

eXo Platform - Suites for Social Collaboration,Crowd and intranet based application

eXo platform provides features that match requirement of social collaboration,intranet and cloud base application.I am working on eXo platform (1+ year) it is easy for portal customization functionality. It is easy for admin to define users with roles,permission and group management.

Pros

eXo platform provides features like calender for defining tasks,events and meetings with reminder functionality, chat application with video confrencing, Blog engine for writing blogs and sharing information, WebDAV support for sharing of documents.

Cons

In Older version of eXo platform some time it distorts UI and UX but after releasing new eXo platform 4.1 version they are fixed and lots of new functionality added.

Response from eXo Platform

Replied January 2015

Glad we could fix your issues with the new version. Thanks!

March 2018

Alex from US Navy

Industry: Military

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great way to interconnect. Very well put together.

I am able to save time at work

Pros

Love the UI. Big number of add-ons and features. Very reliable. It was very easy to use once I got the hang of it. A little intimidating at first but doesn't take long to get used to.

March 2016

Abderrahmane from IT SoftMa

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

March 2016

eXo Platform is a very professional Social Collaboration Software.

Pros

eXo Platform has a very good UI design and also a thoughtful user experience UX. I had a lot of fun to use, it greatly facilitates the management and communication within a team, I strongly recommends. Very good reliability.

Cons

Nothing, eXo has a very good qualities to be your favorite SCS (Social Collaboration Software).

November 2014

scar from Extreme Micro S.L.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons: We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

Response from eXo

Replied December 2014

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

A digital collaboration software that builds a social niche

Pros

This platforms got everything our team needs to build a collaboration and social network niche which can be implemented throughout the enterprise including active streams, authentication, and other features. And this is done without doing a single line of code. The interface portal is very convenient for promoting these functions to all teams and employees an is highly customizable.

Cons

It would great if they started rolling out more tutorials and training programs that could have helped us to understand how easy it was to perform certain functions. The program is easy to use, but customers do appreciate a little hand-holding especially at the start.

March 2016

Oscar from Extreme Micro S.L

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Functionality

5.0

March 2016

Your open source enterprise social network

Pros

Open Source software and a good knowledge management system are mandatory nowadays. eXo is a social collaboration platform packed with a lot of features for organizations wanting to add a social dimension to their existing information system or build a social intranet.

Cons

eXo Platform creates real business value as it enables faster communication and better decision making across our whole organisation but it's difficult to engage employees without help.

March 2016

Jean from Maila Networks

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

4.5

March 2016

Replacing many with a single solution

Pros

The software allows me to replace many solutions with a single integrated nice platform. I like the openness of the vendor is one of the biggest positive point for the choice I've made.

Cons

So far the product has been perfect for my needs, and we're able to replace not only the social network platform, but file archival and search mechanisms.

August 2018

Ravi from Biocon

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

A great application to build a social network in your workplace.

Pros

Using this software, the user could easily track all the motion in the company. The Android and iPhone versions are very reliable. There are many features in this application including microblogging. There is also a provision to invite others into this space by providing only limited access. Even the support team is very interactive. They try to answer all the queries of the users.

Cons

The server takes too long to respond. Since there are a lot of features included in this application, it may be difficult for the beginners to deal. There is no tutorial to guide the users through the application. Due to this, many features remain undiscovered by the users.

November 2015

Somya

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

November 2015

very good product !

eXo allows you to create your own social intranet with the essential collaboration features: chat, forum, activity stream, share documents, wiki, calendar...the perfect software if you're looking for a user-friendly all-in-1 solution for your company.

Pros

eXo allows you to create your own social intranet with the essential collaboration features: chat, forum, activity stream, share documents, wiki, calendar...the perfect software if you're looking for a user-friendly all-in-1 solution for your company.

Cons

i don't see anything to dislike about it.

June 2018

Loreto from Retail

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Nice software!

Pros

Exo Platform helps us to properly collaborate project or task.With this, the team can have different views to contribute in making project successful.

Cons

None at this time, Exo Platform has many functionalities to use.. its really helpful to us!

January 2015

Jean from Maila Networks

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


January 2015

Much more than a social platform

We started using eXo as a substitute for facebook's and Google's Social media platforms. What we ended up with is a much more feature rich way of doing business, interact and get things done. eXo proved to be the way of making people using social media tools to work better. Now we have the best of both worlds!

Pros

Easy to use interface with natural learning. All in one platform, including file sharing.

Cons

No cons, the installation requires a bit of understanding of linux (our preferred system), but otherwise just plain easy.

Response from eXo Platform

Replied January 2015

No cons, yay! Thank you for the great review

June 2015

Yogesh from SkillNet Solutions, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: GetApp


June 2015

eXo is a private social intranet that makes it easy to connect

eXo is a private social intranet that makes it easy to connect and collaborate with your coworkers. Going beyond simple status updates, eXo provides tools that let you capture, organize and act on your team's internal knowledge.

Pros

Makes it easy to connect and collaborate with your coworkers. Going beyond simple status updates. Provides tools that let you capture, organize and act on your team's internal knowledge.

Cons

Could not found any yet.

February 2015

Digambar from Skillnet Solution Pvt Ltd

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

February 2015

easy to use eXo

Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile.

January 2015

Michal from Calices Solicitors

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2015

Fantastic platform, intranet and professional social media under one roof

Pros: This is a very easy to use platform. You can try it around in the environment called EXO Tribe - good for a test drive. Flexible deployment. Document Management Knowledge Management Cons: Haven't found yet so far.

December 2014

Varun from None

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2014

Impressive!

There's a free version of eXo which comes with all the features. Couple that with a very supportive community and you get the best deal ever! Pros: extensive free version Cons: none!

January 2015

Somnath from Skillnet

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2015

Good Job....Exo

EXo platform provides lot of features like events and meetings with reminder functionality, chatting with video confrencing, sharing information and sharing of documents

December 2014

Ambarish from SKillnet SOlutions

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2014

What a greate learning platform

A full-featured collaborative / document / social networking suite. Awesome support from their teams.

Response from eXo

Replied December 2014

Thank you for the great feedback Ambarish! :)

December 2015

ron from Carnegie Mellon University

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

December 2015

very good engine !

Many social add-on and features, you'll probably find the ones that fit your company needs. It was very easy to use and can be accessed anywhere in the world. Its price point is very competitive and customer service (at least for the free trial) was good.

Pros

Inexpensive and web based

Cons

Doesnt seem to be 21 CFR Part 11 compliant.

December 2014

Jean from Maila Networks

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

December 2014

eXo Platform

eXo is an easy to use platform, capable of replacing facebook entirely and making all your work private.

January 2015

Deepak from MaxMobility Pvt. Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


January 2015

Intresting Platform...

eXo Platform is a rich and powerful software. All my collaboration and content needs in a single tool.

January 2015

Hung from FPT

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2015

Easy and good

eXo was really easy to setup. I did a demo to my managers and they immediately sponsored my project!

May 2019

Waqas from Versa travels

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Nice expeeince with it

Pros

Exo platform is a brillaint software that is outsatnding in colloabration of projects

Cons

I don't have to much issue but it is some time not that much fkexible when you want to extract data from data base

December 2018

Anna from North San Diego Business Chamber

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Public Policy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

potential success with this product awaits!

Pros

many different functions that can be accessed, especially single sign on... security is of the sessence

Cons

open source meaning that I have to go out there and learn how to use open source software and forums