Sitefinity

Sitefinity Reviews

RATING:

3.45

(29)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.45

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

3

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

3.5

  • icon"The interface is very user-friendly and lets us use the platform to a wide range of users across the business. Workflows make content approval possible before it goes live."
  • icon"Ability to sync content across instances. Many many many more features."
  • icon"The best thing about Sitefinity is that it works well with all of the other applications we use. It is secure between applications as well."
  • icon"The toolboxes for customized components sometimes very trick for trouble shouting. Adding new templates/layouts with drop in components are not easy."
  • icon"If you mess up the HTML by a simple copy+paste action, you have to fix it before you can continue adding content."
  • icon"The ability to manage blogs on your website is very poor."

Browse all Sitefinity Reviews

  • Have you used Sitefinity and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 29 reviews

Jerry

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Sitefinity is a strong CMS with very scaleable capabilities.

It manages our site content very well, and provides the level of analytics we need.

Pros

Sitefinity has strengths surrounding template management, document management, and page creation. The drag-and-drop capabilities are very useful, and are easy to brand with HTML and CSS. Our team uses this CMS for both of our corporate websites, and use multi-site management to switch from each site. If you are managing multiple websites, this is a great feature.

Cons

Publishing pages, and making significant changes to the website can often slow it down for a couple of minutes, or take some time to initialize. Not a big deal, but visitors during that time will be greeted with a "Initializing" message.

User Profile

Ali

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Professional cloud base CMS deploy from Azure

This is a good CMS for someone who is new to the site or companies who needs a professional site and does not know where to start and who needs professional and committed support. Because as someone who has been active in the field of IT and internet business consulting for more than 14 years, setting up a website is a separate issue, and maintaining and developing it is another issue and you should always have an IT expert and support team by your side. Sitefinity can be one of your best options.

Pros

It's so professional and easy to use Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) CMS with professional team support. No need to constantly update or maintain files and backups. All you need is them on a secure cloud under Microsoft Azure. If you are a content author or webmaster this platform simplifies your tasks for updating content, managing files, and maintaining the site, and is smart automation under the cloud.

Cons

Features are good by default, some unnecessary parts may be disabled, it is better so that unnecessary JavaScript code does not slow down the site.

Reasons for choosing Sitefinity

It's easy to learn and run via Azure Marketplace. Great responsive support.

Reasons for switching to Sitefinity

Looking for a CMS platform with good PAAS cloud features for our customers.

Herbert

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2022

"A good software to use and affordable to buy for anyone."

The built-in widgets make the tool demanding among many users and offer a wide range of content services. Thus, it is useful for blogs, websites, social media, and many more. The software collaborates with multiple numbers of platforms like the Marketo and HubSpot etc. hence, it is considered a straightforward tool with easy-to-use keys and a simple dashboard style. Many users find it non-functional but a maximum number of people find it functional in many ways. The best thing is reasonable pricing and appropriate features that make this tool more premium than freemium. Thus, it is a good software to use and affordable to buy for anyone.

Pros

The best thing about this system is that it supports many functions with a convenient user interface. So, the system comes with the best backend features and makes the site more appealing to the audience. Furthermore, the tool comes with built-in CRM and API services which are quite attractive. The software has loaded features that help you in many ways.

Cons

The most unwanted thing about this tool is that the developers don't offer recent updates. Thus, the tool is lagging and becomes clingy many times while operating. The software doesn't provide drag plus drops features offering multiple bugs while processing. The pathetic functionality with poor customer support makes this software less demanding. Moreover, the software comes with a poor documentation process and the adaptation is a bit difficult using this tool. Therefore, the creators should make it more functional and productive for adding more value.

Lisa

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2022

Powerful, Adaptable and Simple to broaden CMS!

Sitefinity permits advertisers a simple to utilize the stage to make little to medium-level changes to your site thanks to its WYSIWYG intuitive altering for website pages. Contingent upon your solace level with HTML you can likewise add code blocks that are useful to rapidly test something out.

Pros

Sitefinity's best component is its capacity balance customization and out of the crate capacities while building or moving a site. They likewise offer extraordinary help which is presented in a couple of level choices. The effortlessness with which I can perform errands in the backend. The point of interaction is moderate and smooth. I can accomplish the vast majority of the capacities with a basic intuition. The most amazing aspect of the CMS is the degree of control I can have on the availability of the backend modules.

Cons

There aren't however many pre-upheld outsider connectors as other CRMs, as WordPress for instance has a broad rundown of applications you can undoubtedly coordinate. A large portion of your apparatuses should be incorporated with the assistance of improvement assets.

Finn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2022

Sitefinity Best Supporting Enterprise Solution !

The most appealing thing about this software is the editing format, model, and images plus documents. Another premium functionality is the NET-based CMS platform which makes it possible for the user to customize specifications. Sitefinity is good for those who like to play with bulky features and can easily understand the complex dashboard UI. Additionally, it'll help in building the best website and blogging platform for content writers. The content creators will love the diverse nature of this tool.

Pros

The strong backend interface and uniform module will make its aura around the audience. Additionally, it helps efficiently to edit several pages and manage the media content promptly. This is a fully-featured packed version with boosted API and premium CRM features. You will get plenty of extra widgets and can build all types of content.

Cons

You will get to know its use with the real videos giving its demo. The developers have not imputed any sample guide here. Moreover, the usability of webpage images is prohibited here. Thus, there is very little space to work with this software.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Sitefinity, as CMSs go, doesn't really offer anything that makes it worth the cost of a license

Sitefinity is not necessarily "the worst CMS ever" but it definitely doesn't make my top 3. If this were an open-source CMS and, therefore, had more community support I think it could really go far. The jab on it being based on Microsoft languages is mostly just a personal schtick.

Pros

While I'm not really a fan of most of Sitefinity I do rather enjoy that most of the time it is pretty easy to use with straight forward drag and drop style editing.

Cons

Sitefinity is lacking a strong community with actual helpful/timely answers, their documentation on their site is very difficult to find anything unless you are a power user, some of the options/settings are nowhere near where you would expect them to be, there is a license fee for a CMS that is easily free/open-source from other names out there, and the whole thing is written on Microsoft technologies which I guess you could say is a pro to some. When I've come across a bug or issue using the editor I have no clue how to resolve it because of these cons and it results in simple tasks taking way longer than needed.

User Profile

Dave

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2018

Excellent value for the money

We switched to the Sitefinity platform in 2012 and really like this very affordable proprietary solution that is simple to maintain.

Pros

I went from being the only person inputting content onto our website to an admin that was able to show product managers how to easily input their own content. As a result, we have many more web pages than ever before.

Cons

A few weird little glitches with their "MVC" content widgets.

User Profile

Tanner

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Great, easy to use landing page platform

Pros

Easy to create and maintain templates. Editor is easy for anyone to use, even if they have no experience in HTML. Good file and folder structure for organizing landing pages into groups.

Cons

Image and media management structure could be refined - lots of manual work to organize and sort through file trees if you have lots of media that you're hosting.

John

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2018

Security problems which you pay to correct.

Pros

Better Content Management System than we used to have, but that wasn't a high bar.

Cons

Customer Service is awful. They found severe security problems recently and "the highest levels of management" decided that their customers must bear the cost of upgrading to a more secure version. The ability to manage blogs on your website is very poor. If you're using marketing software with your website like HubSpot, good luck getting the linkage to work with Sitefinity.

User Profile

Massimo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2019

Stuck in 1999

Plagued with bugs. I wish we used other software but our other apps are too tied into Sitefinity to currently change.

Pros

The best thing about Sitefinity is that it works well with all of the other applications we use. It is secure between applications as well.

Cons

Built for developers. Not easy to use for non-developer users. Also lots of bugs. Receive an "error code 0" often

Will

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Enterprise Level CMS

Sitefinity is a powerful CMS that is built for extensibility without sacrificing the ease of use content editors want and need. Great out of box starting point with an intuitive drag and drop page and template designer. There a vast assortment of built in widgets allowing non-developers the means to create blogs, news, custom dynamic content, site search, navigations, and the list goes on and on. Content authors can also easy create custom page layouts and visualize how pages will look while editing them. Sitefinity has extremely granular permissions allowing specific widgets and content within a page to be locked down to specific users/groups if needed. Like most features in Sitefinity, it isn’t a requirement to use this but it’s there if you need it and easy to configure. Custom workflows for content approvals can be optionally configured to setup approval gates to ensure the quality of content changes prior to publish. From a developer perspective, Sitefinity Is architected with extensibility in mind. Custom widgets can be easily introduced and made to blend it with the native out of box widgets. Sitefinity also offers deep hooks into almost every feature and process in the pipeline.

Pros

Easy to use and develop for. Highly extensible for developers. Many built in integrations for third party systems. Granular permissions. Ability to sync content across instances. Many many many more features.

Cons

Upgrades in the past could be difficult but with the newer releases this has become much easier.

Reasons for choosing Sitefinity

Ease of use, features, and price.

Reasons for switching to Sitefinity

Much easier to develop with and easier for users.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Full Featured Mature CMS

Sitefinity is a fairly lightweight .NET based CMS which means that you can customize it just about however you need. That is for better or worse.

Pros

Compared to other .NET based CMS we looked at: Very low learning curve, able to get up and running quickly. Updates come quickly and with features and fixes from the community. Able to handle thousands of pages.

Cons

Some features are finnicky especially during upgrades. Backend interface isn't yet consistent, but that is improving. Caching options are lacking.

Paul

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2017

Complex, confusing, old-fashioned

In the modern age of lean-yet-extensible software, Sitefinity seems to me like a relic of an age that software developers collectively decided should disappear. I was asked to develop a Sitefinity extension for a client's website, and the experience has been a consistently miserable one from start to finish. First of all, I find it hard to understand the value proposition of a closed-source, statically compiled CMS in an age of high-quality, open-source CMSes with plenty of developer support. Debugging is hard, licensing is hard(-ish), redeployment is hard. If Sitefinity offered features or a developer experience that was better than, say, WordPress (not a hard bar to hit; WordPress is pretty frustrating too), it could justify its costly licenses. Sitefinity feels overengineered; there are far too many features for the casual user, and necessary developer features are often buried behind confusing and baroque admin menus. This complexity comes at a cost; it's hard to manage and develop for a Sitefinity site. Large design firms can afford to become experts in Sitefinity, I'm sure, and create a justification for their continued involvement in a website project by continuing to manage the application's complexity for their clients. But I'd rather build a website on something simple that helps me deliver business value to my clients, and doesn't require my involvement for simple, day-to-day operations. This seems like much better use of my time and my client's budget. This overengineering also impacts performance. Application startup is painfully slow, and page loads aren't all that snappy either. I know there are many people who absolutely love Sitefinity, but I can't figure out what the fuss is all about.

Cons

Complexity, complexity, complexity.

Kevin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

An excellent CMS choice using .Net and Windows based system

It is a great CMS tool using .Net technology; Great performance, especially now having the option of PaaS in Azure; Lightweight in terms of setup and running it;

Pros

An entirely web-based authoring interface with rich features/functionalities; Drag-and-drop capabilities for managing complex layouts; Ability to provide predefined templates for pages - Master and secondary levels, etc.; Support for page templates sharing between websites;

Cons

The toolboxes for customized components sometimes very trick for trouble shouting; Adding new templates/layouts with drop in components are not easy

Reasons for switching to Sitefinity

It comes with another membership management system. It coupled tightly together.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Content and Website hosting with lots of features but very expensive

Pros

We switched to Sitefinity for our website hosting. The transition was seamless and it offers a lot of features including ecommerce and check-out purchasing. Easy to edit some web pages and a nice design template. Our website looks very modern and slick.

Cons

The price is the main issue. We ended up not using many of the features we thought we needed for Sitefinity so the price wasn't worth it for us. But overall, a very expensive solution compared to WordPress. Their page builders aren't as easy as wordpress. Their content block features make it difficult for non-web developers to build webpages.

Hyacinth

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

March 2018

While it is easy to use, the functionality of it is not very good and hard to change.

It's been a pretty easy CMS to navigate so that is definitely a benefit.

Pros

I like that it is pretty easy to use the CMS. It's pretty easy to learn. I didn't have any formal training on the platform and pretty much taught myself how to use it. So, that is definitely a plus.

Cons

I don't like that the functionality of the software is so strict. I think the customer service could definitely be better. And, I feel the quality matches the value.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2019

Drag, Drop and Build Your New Site

I'm satisfied with my experience with Sitefinity. The support team has always been very useful and responds within a reasonable amount of time.

Pros

For the most part, this software is easy to use . There are plenty of page templates to get you started and the drag and drop feature makes it easy to build the structure of your pages. You can make edits at a page level, or a template level. If several pages require the same edit, it can be easily fixed on the template level.

Cons

There are so many issues with getting logged out and pages being unintentionally locked. It's a real pain if you don't have admin permissioning and are unable to unlock pages on demand. While the locked page issue can be annoying, it does help prevent unwanted changes from being saved or pushed live.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

October 2017

I would check into other opportunities

Pros

The software allows you to set up various user levels and access. It is also easy to clone pages and edit text.

Cons

The site structure is very limiting. There is little to no support. Once the site is setup, you better like it because to change it is very difficult. It's outdated and not nearly as good as other options out there.

Naden

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE