All SmartGov Reviews

1-25 of 55 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kathleen

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Smart Gov Review

Excellent program and every city should be using it.

PROS

Smart Gov is very versatile for a municipality

CONS

It would be great if Smart Gov's made it easier to create reports. Working in city government has its challenges and data reports change daily.

Reason for choosing SmartGov

Better program for our needs, better support for our needs.

Reasons for switching to SmartGov

Not sure, the change was before my hire date

Sarah

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2022

Great Record Keeping Tool for Day to Day

SmartGov is a great program overall, and it allows us to operate day to day. I've seen improvements just in the last two years that I've been using it, and I look forward to how it will continue to develop!

PROS

SmartGov is relatively intuitive, and easily allows me and my department to upload documents for case files. We are moving to mostly digital case files, and SmartGov allows us to store our records. The program is easy to navigate for day to day tasks.

CONS

There are some cons to the software, such as when opening uploaded documents (you have to download each document, which can be a cumbersome process when you have a case with dozens of photos). A document preview would help with this immensely! I think SmartGov would be greatly improved if it offered a reminder feature in Code Enforcement (like Permitting does) so we can set it to alert us when a deadline has passed. That would make following up on older cases easier, and would help prevent cases being overlooked. I did suggest this to Customer Support, and they were responsive, which I appreciated. I do hope they will implement it in the future to help Code Enforcement departments who use this software. Finally, my only other critique is that the feature that allows you to set up reports to run (especially ones with specific parameters) could be overhauled. It does not work much of the time, so we typically have to run the basic report to see our numbers, and then transfer that information to another program to create graphs, etc. It would be amazing if there was a way that SmartGov could have reports that can compare to previous years, etc.

Kash

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2022

Improvements in assisting and growing with customer

My overall observation is many updates are not being managed by SmartGov and the City is having to go out on their own and handle updates it seems SmartGov should be doing. We need better assistance and clarity from SmartGov as well as the timing with the actual assistance not just a response, but actual assistance.

PROS

Every file is accounted for and can be updated as information is added from all departments within the City.

CONS

The return on IT assistance is very slow. I would like to have the cases set-up where I can add a due date and it notifies me in the queue, however I was told this would incur extra fees when all government programs I have used offer this as a part of the software. It is an essential part of keeping up with each case.

Vendor Response

Hi Kash! We really value your feedback and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss it more deeply with you. Would you please reach out to support@brightlysoftware.com so we can help?

Replied July 2022

Chris

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Draftsman Submitting Multiple Projects

PROS

As a Draftsman, I use SmartGov weekly to oversee various submittals for building Permits. It is extremely easy and intuitive to use. I really like the File Submittal process and the way it is organized.

CONS

I wish there could be an option to turn off notifications per each Building Permit. Once a project is approved, I am no longer involved in the project, but I get a notification every time an Inspection is requested. The only way for me to no longer receive them is by emailing a Permit tech. It would be nice to be able to Archive each permit so the alerts would stop.

Joelle

Environmental Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Online Permitting Portals

I have used Smart Gov from both sides and have really enjoyed it.

PROS

Smart Gov is by far one of the easiest and most efficient online portals that I have used. I currently submit projects across the state and use several online portals. Smart Gov is hands down the easiest one to navigate.

CONS

Not all the categories are available. I truly really like the Smart Gov program. I would like the option to cancel a permit once it has been started or started by mistake.

Miriam

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Custom home builder user experience

PROS

SmartGov is relatively easy to use and navigate. The information is displayed in an easy to read and find manner, and it has the functionality needed for the lifecycle of a permit, once it's been submitted and in review

CONS

The functionality of uploading a permit to SmartGov needs to be improved. Our jurisdiction bridged this with using Camino which is a decent product to walk a person through submitting all the documents that are needed for the submittal, but it's proven to be a cumbersome bridge to SmartGov.

Eddie

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Just honest feedback....

I love it, have for a while now. It has substantially simplified our submittal process.

PROS

Once familiar with navigation, the amount of information available on the portal is wonderful, practically eliminates the need for a phone call, saving time and money for our organization.

CONS

I would really love some little helpful hints for navigation on the portal. For first time users, I find that they struggle to properly navigate the site, as a lot of assumptions are implied as to where they need to go to submit certain items.

Leo

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Construction Management

PROS

Good for tracking and calling inspections.

CONS

Hard to find permit documents and submittals through the portal.

Beth

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Effective System

PROS

Easy of function, great organization and tracking.

CONS

Contractors need to see pictures in the details.

erica

Building Materials, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Awesome web

PROS

Everything is done and uploaded in the same spot

CONS

The inspections we can set up a date but not a time.

Woody

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Superior Customer Service

I've used several permitting software applications over the years, and each has their unique advantages and disadvantages. I would say that Dude Solutions willingness to take customer feedback to improve SmartGOV is one of the most important things to me. They have an amazing team that is always available and willing to help find a solution.

PROS

The customer portal and user interface is significantly more friendly that all other permitting software programs I've used in the past. The online portal has allowed us to shift our permit application and processing to virtually 100% online, which allowed us to keep running without a hiccup since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. The interface is easy for customers and staff to navigate and custom help text that can be configured by department or even as specific as the permit type has allowed us to direct efficiently direct users through the process and know what is missing from their application prior to submitting. For our staff customizable workflow steps and actions ensure that permits appear on their user to do list at the right time and trigger the next review or administrative step once they are complete.

CONS

The software's GIS capacity is currently one limitation that we're encountering. Being able to place parcel restrictions based on GIS layers like Zoning, Flood designations, critical area encumbrances, Historic designations, etc. would be a big improvement, although there are a couple ways Dude Solutions has helped us work around this and place notes on restricted parcels. We're also able to take a couple extra steps and pull permit data through the Adhoc Reporting and push data to our GIS servers to create online web maps.

Reasons for switching to SmartGov

Limited reporting capacity and no online portal for applications.

Renee

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

SMARTGOV PERMITING AND CODE ENFORCEMENT

I am so grateful to have it. It is so much easier to work with then the last program. And... NO MORE FILLING.. NO MORE PAPER!

PROS

The program is professional and efficient. It can be a bit of a learning curve but support is very good.

CONS

Implementation was a bit dicey. I think it would be best if a implementation expert came and worked with the department in person for 2 weeks prior getting things going and familiarizing the user with the product and what info is needed to move forward with the implementations. Than after the program is set up have someone come back and spend a week making sure all is working as it should. This would be in instead of spread sheets asking for info on what you want to have on your program without knowing how that info would be used within the program. Of course this was 2017 so I am sure things have improved since then.

Reason for choosing SmartGov

It seem to be the most comprehensive for the best price with the most support. We wanted a program that did it all. 100% online, GIS mapping, Plan Reviews, Usable throughout all departments

Reasons for switching to SmartGov

We wanted to go with online permitting. When Springbrook was sold and they were not going to support the permitting software it pushed us to make the jump.

Robert

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Review of SmartGov

This is the first permitting software for tracking I have used so my ability to compare to other software is limited. I am overall pleased with what I have learned and my particular process of use. I tend to be a source for others in our office who have questions about operating SmartGov and trouble shooting. I have also come to enjoy working on projects as administrator updating fees, creating permit types, adding to custom attributes, etc. I have also found that when I have an issue I cannot resolve the live support from the team is excellent. They are all patient, knowledgeable, and willing to teach me about the software every time I call.

PROS

The flexibility of the software to meet particular needs is a plus. Changes in permit structure and appearance can be done without placing a work order to Dude Solutions as long as the Administrator is familiar and confident with making these changes.

CONS

I do not have to work on compiling multiple user ID often but to me it seems overly complex, however, I only occasionally work on this aspect of the product and that could be a part of the problem.

Vanessa

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Roane County Government

PROS

Smart Gov has been such a helpful tool in helping shape our codes office and really expand our resources. It helps us keep track of when case files need to be checked on, holds all documents that we attach to each file in case something where to go missing we always have smart gov to fall back on. Our building permit department as really took hold of all the features this software has to offer and has ran with it and made it into something so user friend as well. We absolutely love this software has really help our office get out of the " STONE AGE ERA" and really take hold of todays technology.

CONS

As far as I'm concerned we haven't had any complaints so far! Great Job Smart Gov Team!

Alicia

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Use of SmartGov for non-profit organization

We are experiencing much more transparency with our permits than we would without SmartGov. Documents can readily, be downloaded, printed and shared amongst our group with ease - again, something that would be delayed with no SmartGov.

PROS

Our usage of SmartGov has been limited to permitting, and we've been using the service for several years now. We are an entity made up of almost 20 individuals, any of whom can use SmartGov to apply for, pay for and monitor permits. It is extremely valuable in that anyone can set up an account in order to review all activity, therefore perform additional oversight of permit activity within our group - a critical oversight above and beyond government oversight.

CONS

Since we are a non-profit, some features do not apply to us, but of the ones we utilize, many have been improved over the years we've been using this. Updates to the product seemed slow several years ago, but they seem frequent now, and currently we have no complaints.

David

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2022

smartgov review

My County has been a user of Smartgov for a coupe of years now. Despite this, a recent interaction a a conference asking for help with creating reports and helping with back end workflows resulted in my information being sent to the sales team where I go three weeks of daily sales calls. It is a sad excuse when the sales team doesn't even know who their own customers are. The system is buggy and we spend a good amount of staff time each day fixing failures of the system with our customers, which is inexcusable.

PROS

There is absolutely nothing that I like about this software.

CONS

Software is not intuitive to use. Programmers, especially the new Brightly programmers are making changes without consulting end users and creating workflow problems by adding features that create confusion.

Reason for choosing SmartGov

I am not sure why they chose smartgov, but I can assume it was solely based on cost and not actual performance and functionality.

Reasons for switching to SmartGov

These decisions were made by the previous director and appeared to be based on cost and not functionality.

Vendor Response

Hi David! We really value your feedback and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss it more deeply with you. Would you please reach out to support@brightlysoftware.com so we can help?

Replied June 2022

Hollie

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

SmartGov Review

I've enjoyed the improvements since its changed from Dude Solutions to Brightly. The new [sensitive content hidden] seems to send our updated more often and attempts to keep up with the demand needed for the system.

PROS

I enjoy the dashboard and the ability to create short-cuts to the sections I use the most.

CONS

The billing features are messy still. I know the customer service team is in the middle of trying to meet our demand but its taking a long time to complete any changes we want with the system.

Dawn

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

SmartGov Thoughts

Keeps all records at hand and once learned easy to manipulate

PROS

Will not let you end without all information. Working across the tabs are helpful. Calculations entered make work easier for many users. In our workload, the associations are used daily like this feature the best!

CONS

The program when used by many staff members should give alert when in a permit, thereby the other users not in the same permit .

Dustin

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: