All Whimsical Reviews

1-25 of 56 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Erin

Marketing and Advertising, 2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed October 2023

Saves time but has a learning curve!

User Profile

Evelyn

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Excellent

We do employ Whimsical on a daily basis for several customers project, and we even invite them to collab with us, so we can take a better glimpse on their demands and wishes. It says clearly how glad we are employing this great tool.

PROS

It does have a user-friendly interface. The free tier allows any user to make a lot of tasks The real time collab works as it should. There are plenty of features to organize and schematize any work load.

CONS

The drag and drop feature is a little clumsy often, and it makes it a little difficult to manage some items simultaneously.

Reason for choosing Whimsical

As said previously, Whimsical allow us to create a bridge with our customers. They do play a role important in any decision-making process, and they don't have to pay or do any difficult maneuver to sign up with their Google Account and straightaway participate in our brainstorm sessions. Additionally, the interface is pretty easier to use, making it less time consuming than other alternatives.

Reasons for switching to Whimsical

We made the change for many reasons, one of them, our customers might have easier access to our boards than using those other paid platforms. Additionally, Whimsical does provide many tools that can't be found separately in those platforms.

User Profile

Gustavo

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Excellent Choice

I can give this software 5 stars since it is super easy to employ, the tools are user-friendly, and it does offer several premium features for free users.

PROS

This is the tool that cover many of different management software products. Creating flux diagrams, managing sections of a website, creating a schedule, producing organigrams, many things can be done with ease in this tool.

CONS

I haven't found any considerable reason to dislike the software.

Reason for choosing Whimsical

Easier, chipper, and overall more capable.

Reasons for switching to Whimsical

The implementation of the tool is easier, it does not take that many resources since it is accessible directly from the web browser, and it does provide an environment to co working better.

Amey

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2021

Not Bad But Not Good Also!

I am using whimsical for one my project Insisted by client. We are using these software mostly for our roadmap discussion and to log future deployments and Ideas. Overall experience is so so not bad but not good also. There are some areas need to improve specially when we add cards into stacks. Little chaos will happened when users try to edit or add card simultaneously.

PROS

I am using this software more than six month for project roadmap planning and retrospective discussions. Pros are like it is quick and drag drop cards works great. Easy to create workflow. Option for colouring is very handy.

CONS

What i dislike about it is interface is not simple and difficult to understand at first. Collaboration is not that easy and difficult to align. Only limited sets of card can be displayed on stack user not aware of where they can find all list of cards

User Profile

Swathy

Verified reviewer

Design, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Excellent Product

Loving it!

PROS

I absolutely love whimsical - I have been using it for 2 years now for my professional and personal projects. In particular, I love their Wireframes - no other paid or free software comes anywhere close to this feature. Another thing I love about Whimsical is their support team - they are super quick to respond to any queries that you have!

CONS

Mind maps are always 1 to Many mapping - Many to 1 are not possible but again it's not a deal-breaker

Reasons for switching to Whimsical

I started with Balsamiq - it sure does what its supposed to do but Whimiscal is just better

User Profile

Bonita

Verified reviewer

Design, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Just like the name, it's fun and fantastic

Before Whimsical, I was struggling to switch between 3 different software and documents just to create, collab, and present UX deliverables. But now I can do them all in Whimsical and even invite other team members to collab on the design or to give feedback! Not to mention the tools are pretty straightforward so I'm less likely to overthink and just focus on making design ideas tangible :)

PROS

What I like the most is the Time Machine features, I hope they will release the stable version soon and maybe release a desktop app in the future.

CONS

It's troublesome if I wanted to open another board in a new tab when I'm inside a project board. I have to type in whimsical.com in my browser to brings me to the project dashboard so I can open the other board in a new tab.

Reason for choosing Whimsical

It's cheaper and gives us more freedom in the trial/free mode.

Reasons for switching to Whimsical

I found Balsamiq too complicated and can only do wireframes.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

I can't believe that making diagrams can be so easy.

It can be summed in making diagrams has never been easier and the interface is so nice, I just love how easy it has made my work on documenting processes, and user flows. Wonderful product, and you can try it for free, so what are you waiting for?

PROS

- Beautiful interface - Very easy to use: I mean how easy you can connect pieces in a diagram is almost unreal. - Collaborative and cloud based - You can create folders to keep your diagrams ordered and easy to find - Easy to share diagrams, and get feedback in the same file. - A free tier

CONS

I can't think of any, I've been using this software nonstop for the past few months. And it always amazes me how fast you can build diagrams, it has made the task of documenting so easy too. I love it.

Reasons for switching to Whimsical

It was so hard to use, diagrams looked awful. So making the switch to whimsical was a no brainer.

User Profile

Vincent Po

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

One of the best Mindmap apps

Overall, it's my favourite mind mapping tool. I don't really use it for the other type of diagramming, mostly the mind mapping feature.

PROS

Whimsical has become my favourite mind mapping app. I used to use apps like Xmind but Whimsical is much nicer and beautiful to use. I tried the mind mapping feature in Clickup but it doesn't compare at all to Whimsical. This is so much easier to use.

CONS

Overall, I'm pretty pleased with it. The only confusing thing with it is you can't "delete" mind maps.

Reasons for switching to Whimsical

I preferred something that had cloud integration so I can pickup anywhere on different devices.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Whimsical makes drawing beautiful diagrams super easy

Non technical staff needed to draw process flows, etc and found Visio too cumbersone and fiddly.. plus all the 'style' had to be applied manually and formatted manually.

PROS

Drawing diagrams is extremely easy. Lines join up automatically, curve when they need to.. gone are the days of fiddling with alignment and trying to grab little placement handles with the mouse cursor. The resulting diagrams are also extremely sexy - with that modern flat look by default. Whimsical make your diagrams look like you hired a graphic designer.

CONS

There are not enough templates to create all the diagrams types necessary, with all the details necessary

Reason for choosing Whimsical

Easier to use and better looking results with minimal effort.

Reasons for switching to Whimsical

Easier to use. Better looking results.

User Profile

Volodymyr

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

Well-oiled flowcharting tool

Whimsical doesn't really offer anything special but it does its job really well.

PROS

If you need to do the job nice and easy - Whimsical is a go-to tool. Within a couple of clicks you can make all the stuff you need - wireframe mock, proof of concept, diagrams to back-up your presentation, the list goes on. It is easy to get into and simple to use. It is also very good for collaborative projects.

CONS

Free trial version features are limited and the full version costs a penny. This may be a huge turn off for those who need this kind of a tool but doesn't have the budget for it.

User Profile

Gonzalo

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

An awesome white-boarding web app

As part of the UX team, Whimsical helped us tremendously in visually capturing our user experience needs and diagramming our apps and websites more effectively.

PROS

Whimsical is a great tool ideal for designing workflows, mindmaps, wireframes, among others. It is extremely intuitive, any new user can use it without problems and the fact that it is a collaborative tool gives it a plus.

CONS

It has some limited design features, for example, you can't use custom colors (only those provided by the app). There are other apps (such as Miro) that include almost everything that Whimsical has to offer, and more.

Vendor Response

Hi Gonzalo - Thank you for the thoughtful review and great feedback! You and your team can customize your color options with themes - here is a doc that will help you get started, and don't hesitate to email us at help@whimsical.com if you have additional questions. https://help.whimsical.com/article/615-themes-and-custom-colors

Replied May 2022

Martin

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Boards, Flow Charts, and Mind Maps and much more! EASY and BEAUTIFUL!

I'll keep it very short! After trying a few different software for flowcharting, mind mapping, and boards or what whimsical call Sticky Notes which combines the two... This has been a pleasant surprise it's beautiful, it's easy especially for a guy that's not from an engineering or project management background, and it just works really well. Best of all it combines most of the tools we need to create projects or designs in one easy and affordable tool. The icing on the cake which is how I found out about it is that this integrates well with Notion so now I can embed the tools I create into Notion and manage it all there. Please keep making it better its got so much potential

PROS

The software looks very clean and polished with easy navigation and controls everything works well. You have most of the tools for project management in 1 software. If you use Notion is very well integrated with it which is what originally sold me on it. It's so easy to use goodbye Trello (never embraced it), Lucidchart (not bad but for simple process/flowcharting this is better), and a few other Mind Map software that never did it for me.

CONS

I haven't found one but I'm still kind of new to it and I just hope they keep making it better.

Reason for choosing Whimsical

Whimsical had slightly better reviews but Miro looks good too but seemed like it had more than I need and I'm not sure it has some features from Whimsical

Reasons for switching to Whimsical

With this tool, I don't need Lucidchart, Trello, and a few other Mind Maps software I tried

User Profile

Julien

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Easiest-to-use flowchart and wireframing tool

Whimsical is a joy to use on a daily basis. It manages to be as good at flowcharts as it is at wireframing. Of course you won't go as far as you would with Figma or Moqups, but it's plenty enough to materialize ideas, in a personal or professional context. And it's pretty cheap for what it offers !

PROS

Tools to create all kinds of charts are legion. So are tools for wireframing. Some are easy to use, some do great things. Very few manage to achieve both at the same time, but Whimsical does.

CONS

Not much to criticize there. In the wireframing library, some additional components would be nice to have.

Nagela

Market Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Beautiful and Easy to Use

Completely easy and satisfying to use. I am able to embed my board into other software - which increases the usability.

PROS

Creating mind maps, charts, and the like is a visual exercise -Whimsical has designed something so beautiful that it gets the creative juices flowing. It so easy to walk my team through the things I create in whimsical without any kind of learning curve.

CONS

Would love to see a few more features to populate my diagrams with more helpful content. For example, embedded docs or websites.

Reason for choosing Whimsical

Whimsical is has less of a learning curve

User Profile

Fady

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Best mindmap app

It has a user-friendly interface, this tool is made with the mindset of quality and getting things done without overwhelming features, with its minimal interface, I could brainstorm my ideas, plan my projects and make my mind maps.

PROS

Easy to understand, easy drag and drop features, and very clean with easy navigation and control. I have used too many tools before, but nothing provides what Whimsical provides in its free plan.

CONS

There is nothing I can dislike about this tool, but maybe adding more features to the mind mapping panel will be great.

Reason for choosing Whimsical

ease of use

Mohamed

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Helps teams find the best ways to plan joint tasks

It is wonderful how, thanks to Whimsical, we were able to involve all team members in preparing comprehensive dashboards that visually illustrate the workflow charts and models that have been agreed upon, so that all members have the ability to accurately understand the duties, sequence of operations, and required procedures.

PROS

Whimsical is one of the best tools for teamwork, as it enables us to interact in real time through the many tools it provides to easily collect, synthesize, and present ideas. It's great how we can gather team input, and our customizable ready-made templates help us a lot, so we can collaborate on graphs, wireframes, and flowcharts and bring them out with great visualization. In addition, Whimsical also enables us to insert and format all the notes and add shapes, images and videos within the boards with ease.

CONS

Whimsical is free of complications, but sometimes when the canvas contains a lot of text boxes, shapes, and arrows, the system becomes slow and this may pose some difficulties in linking and coordinating the components as required.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Honestly the best

Here's an example of one of the times Whimsical saved me: we had a super urgent fix my team needed to make with our software, but everyone kept talking in circles because there were so many different scenarios we needed to account for. I quickly put together a flowchart in Whimsical and sent it out so that everyone could get on the same page. I had to keep updating the diagram, which would have been a huge pain if I were creating a file in Sketch, then exporting it and emailing out each version to everyone. But with Whimsical, I could make all the changes I wanted and anyone with the link could see the latest changes in real time. It made everything so much smoother.

PROS

I rarely get this excited about a product, but Whimsical changed my daily workflow. It is so easy to create easy, elegant diagrams and wireframes. And it's even easier to share - just send anyone a link and they'll be able to access the latest version of what you're working on.

CONS

I can only think of really minor things, like when I'm trying to comment on someone's diagram, some of the elements are not eligible to have comments added to them (like arrows and text).

User Profile

Emmanuel

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Formidable

PROS

Whimsical est un logiciel excellent et facile à utiliser. Avec lui j'ai pu facilement structurer mes idées pour une meilleure organisation et aussi la suivie de mes projets.

CONS

Le commencement avec ce logiciel ça m'a été très difficile mais avec le temps j'ai eu ma dose.

User Profile

Thang

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Intuitive drawing tool for software design

We are a team of ~ 10 members work along other teams to do software development. Obviously we need drawing tool to share and publish idea and proposal to other. Whimsical has ended our search for the drawing tool.

PROS

The best drawing tool I ever used for solution design. Everything is perfect from UI/UX to functionality. I can create flow charts and share with colleagues easily and even collaborate on them in real time.

CONS

There is nothing I don't like from Whimsical. In fact I never look back to older tool once I got the taste of the tool.

Erin

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE