All AutoCAD Reviews

1-25 of 3,037 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ganapathy

51 - 200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2021

AutoCAD: User review

User Profile

Mohammad

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

AutoCAD remains the uncontested drafting software for my daily civil & architectural demands.

For a while now, AutoCAD has been my go-to CAD utility thanks to its rich features & undisputed performance. The software has a neat interface for easily navigating through the variety of plotting tools & organized tabs for all drafting purposes. it's hard not to recommend this software to anyone who's looking for a flawless CAD experience.

PROS

Since college, I've been regularly using AutoCAD to design 2D schematics in various course projects & till this day, the software has never failed me in fulfilling my work. The user interface is sleek & the plethora of features & compatibility to complement the fantastic user experience. More specifically, whenever I'm working a schematic that contains multiple layers (civil, electrical, HVAC, etc.), I'm easily able to lock or freeze other layers while working on a specific layer. This has countlessly averted me unintentional alterations of layers that I weren't supposed to modify.

CONS

Since updating to version 2023.1, I've noticed an increase in CPU usage on my Athlon 200GE desktop which occasionally led to audible inconvenience from the desktop fans revving at full speed. I hope a future update could resolve this minor annoyance. A great piece of software nonetheless.

Reason for choosing AutoCAD

While FreeCAD is admirably free & open source with a modest amount of features, I wasn't quite satisfied with the seemingly messy, convoluted user interface which made resort to AutoCAD.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD

AutoCAD offers an easier UI without compromising on features or performance. Besides, the frequent, large-sized software updates meant that CPU usage was bogged down when drafting & storage was quickly filling on my C drive. This ultimately dissuaded me to continue on using the software altogether & make the switch to AutoCAD.

nayeon

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2024

appropriate software for architectural design

PROS

It was convenient because it was easy to find and use functions. Also, I like it because it expresses things that are difficult to express in practice in an easy way.

CONS

It was easy to find basic functions, but it was difficult to use more functions, but it was difficult to use and location to use more functions to use.

User Profile

Arlex

Verified reviewer

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

Autocad, it was my design school.

With autocad I learned to design with a computer, I learned to model, I learned CAD, it was my initial school.

PROS

Working in AutoCAD is much easier than working on paper. We saved a lot of time and it's much simpler than that. Doing it by hand can be tedious and we also have to consider our prolixity when it comes to doing it on a sheet. As Autodesk is launching new versions, they do not change much with respect to the previous ones so that the user does not have to update to something completely unknown. The latest versions are very similar, except that they add new small functions. The configuration to print a drawing in AutoCAD in different formats is very easy. There are many formats included and we can adjust colors, margins, layers, among many other aspects. AutoCAD has been linked to multiple platforms, with the benefit of being able to export and import files of all kinds. For example, we can bring an image or a block to the software, among other applications.

CONS

The main disadvantage is the high cost of the program, since the license costs a few dollars. Knowing how to use the software fully requires a lot of time since there are many functions that are not so well known, and even that they are of little application, since they are very specific. It requires a very powerful computer to work with the latest versions (especially in 3D). At least 2GB of RAM, 2GHz processing speed, and a space greater than 100GB on the hard drive. If we make an object in 3D, with many details, brightness settings, brightness, details of materials, for the best commercial computer we have, it usually slows down a lot. There are better software to make 3D drawings that are more sophisticated, with more functions and that do not slow down so much when working with a very heavy file.

User Profile

Vishal

Verified reviewer

Design, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Best software for 2D layouts and detailing

Till now i have total more than 4 years of experience with this Software and i have not seen any software like this in market yest. Lost of companies are using it so it becomes more easy to collaborate with other users

PROS

Its UI is very simple and easy to understand. It can be integrated with other softwares. Its working is very fast and smooth. It has lots of features and tools, which are required for 2d drafting. Also we can customize this software as per our need. We can create Auto LISP to automate repetitive and complex tasks also.

CONS

Its not good for 3d modelling. When working with 3d and blocks, I have observed that it gets slow sometimes. There is no option for cloud collaboration, so multiple users can't work on same file at same time.

Raymond

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Great to Use

I have a great experience using this AutoCad

PROS

I'd like the most are the functions, and these are very easy to learn and use

CONS

It will requires high graphic card for rendering

ARUNDHATHY

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

it is a very helpful software for drafting

had a very good experience using auto cad

PROS

it is very simple to use and have so many features and can create a whole building plan or machine drawing in a single sheet

CONS

its very expensive. otherwise its all good.

diego

Food & Beverages, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

powerfull tool.. but too much for me

PROS

easy to use tool to print and make little modification to our engineer file of autocad.. but it's too expensive, we use at5% possibilities..

CONS

too expensive, is the only cons.. for the orher things, it's perfect

ELIUD

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Eliud reviews

user friendly and very accurate. easy to annotate

PROS

user friendly and very accurate. easy to annotate

CONS

it is too mechanical. drawing line by line

Megan

Design, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2024

AUTOCAD is AUTOCAD

PROS

The modeling aspect is cool. IF you put in tons of time you can really learn how to use it well.

CONS

Can be hard to use and not really user-friendly. Things can be messed up really easily. I prefer Revit.

Daisy

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Ease of Drawing

My overall experience with AutoCAD has been positive. It's a very versatile tool for designing and drafting, with various features that cater to many industries and design needs. Although there are some challenges for beginners, once you become familiar with the software, it can greatly improve productivity and efficiency in projects.

PROS

What I like most about AutoCAD is it's many different set of tools that cater to a wide range of design and drafting needs.

CONS

What I like least about AutoCAD is its complication, especially for new users to maneuver and also its cost in updates.

User Profile

Ilich Rafael

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Automated planning

Overall, the program is quite good as it serves its purpose on creating plans or blueprints for a project

PROS

The most important aspect of the Autocad is the many features that programs have that can easily help the user in planning and creating initial structures to a project

CONS

The con is that the price of Autocad is quite pricey for its program

Subodh

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

WATCH this before installing Auto CAD

Drafting, designing and overall needs of our company is cleared with this app, also mechanics and plumbers are using this software.

PROS

everything is overall best and maybe the only problem with people nowadays is they think's they're perfect after a design or after some days. It takes time to dig down, keep practicing more, there is free trail period available for student's. verify and do it. don't wait. keep going.

CONS

This app provides all new features and functions of AutoCAD' so there is not much problem i can say but when you keep working and working into it you can find some problem but u can solve it. make your own code and it all available. And the thing needed is time and practice.

Reason for choosing AutoCAD

it is easy and provides best results and free for students. that's all you need for the perfect software.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Using Autocad at the office and site works

A software that can not be replaced especially the Pc version of it but some other softwares may be helpful for making Autocad more efficient and easier to use.

PROS

As it's to most developed software of it's kind of softwares, it contains the most important and useful tools that can be used to create or modify or even evaluate or improve the plans and the content. Especially in the windows or ios versions but unlikely in the mobile version.

CONS

Sometimes it's necessary to get more tools and libraries from the internet wich makes it more difficult whenever you are working on a different type of plans, it would be very helpful if they could include all of the other items and libraries in the main product.

Reason for choosing AutoCAD

Autocad makes it genuinely easier and professional.

Adam

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Industry Standard for Drafting and Designing

As I use AutoCAD on a near-daily basis in the engineering field, it has become a tool that is second-nature while drafting and designing. While AutoCAD is an extremely effective tool to help designers and drafters to create drawings that look great and are easy to manipulate, it can struggle to handle heavy project workload with many 3-dimensional objects in one drawing; if you are able to plan and predict what a project will entail, you can plan your drawings accordingly to make sure that there isn't too much content in a single drawing which seems to cause this issue. As a leading tool for engineers, AutoCAD remains an excellent software for drafting and designing.

PROS

AutoCAD is a great drafting tool that has some great built-in functions to assist the designer in efficiently designing and drafting engineering projects. The customization in AutoCAD allows for great consistency in drafting by having custom uniform text, styles, and general features (such as pipe networks, pressure networks, and profiles to name a few), though this customization can also be a detriment which I will mention below. The majority of the interface is designed for ease-of-use, having all of the commonly used features in the ribbon and on the taskbar, while retaining the text commands for quickly accessing features for more advanced users. AutoCAD has widespread compatibility in terms of files it is able to import and read, as well as output formats to other drafting softwares. As I use AutoCAD with the Civil 3D add-on, there are some very helpful 3-dimensional tools that make it easy to draft your intended design with ease and the functionality of having various levels of complexity such as 3-dimensional surfaces, 3-dimensional pipe networks, and all of the associated tools (roadway corridors, grading tools, and surface manipulation.) AutoCAD is an industry standard for a reason - it helps the designer to efficiently and effectively complete designs with a wide variety of tools and options.

CONS

Though AutoCAD offers some very useful tools, some of these tools are complex and there can be a steep learning curve for new users. The bulk of the issues encountered while using AutoCAD seem to happen on larger complex projects. For larger-scale projects where many different drawings and objects are referenced together, it is important for the user to understand efficient ways to link drawings and AutoCAD objects together to prevent file slow-downs and bloating of project files. The dreaded 'Fatal Error' is also not uncommon when working in larger complex projects, especially when using 3-dimensional functions in the software such as surface grading. As newer versions of the software cause older versions to become obsolete, it is crucial that you stay up-to-date with the newest version of AutoCAD if you are planning on collaborating with external parties or consultants. Ensure the machine you will be using AutoCAD on exceeds the minimum recommended software and hardware requirements, as it can be difficult to efficiently use this software on an under-powered computer.

User Profile

Sadaf

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

AutoCAD- A powerful tool for drawing and modelling

Work with AutoCAD begins at the conception stage (conceptual design, schematics, design development) through to construction (good for construction and as-built drawings) and completion. I have been using AutoCAD for the last ten years and honestly, I would not trade this software for any other. Our company uses AutoCAD for drafting two-dimensional layouts, editing, developing 3D models as well as using it to import and export to other compatible software such as Revit for BIM and IES for energy modelling respectively. It is a fundamental drafting software that has no competitor in the market, especially for the construction industry. I highly recommend this powerful tool for enhancing the quality of detailed architectural, mechanical, electrical and civil 2D drawings for better implementation on site.

PROS

There is no limit to what can be produced with AutoCAD, from architecture, product design, and landscape drawings, from the tiniest to scales to the largest. As an Architect, I feel that mastering this software has been an indispensable skill, and I will be using it for many many years to come. Once you get a hang of it, developing layouts is simple, with a customizable interface and menus. I especially love the Object Snap command that helps me prepare drawings and details that are 100% accurate. Being compatible with a majority of modelling software, exporting CAD drawings is quite straightforward too. There is a plethora of support online as well as provided by Autodesk, if things seem challenging or there is a glitch to fix. The best part is that AutoCAD offers a fully functional free version for students, which is definitely a step in the right direction; not all companies do this.

CONS

The price tag associated with AutoCAD is steep, considering designers, architects, and engineers, all use it perpetually. To function without major glitches such as screen freeze, slow processing speed the software needs system rich in memory and RAM. A few commands like Trim and Hatch function slowly if your computer is (in my case) old or short on available RAM. For new users, the entire interface can be quite overwhelming considering the number of commands available for varied functions. I don't really have major issues with the 2D drafting feature, as it is comprehensive, accurate and user-friendly, but somehow the 3D feature isn't the best. In my opinion, there is other software available which can produce exceptional, presentation worthy and realistic 3D renderings as most have their own ray tracing, something that AutoCAD lacks. Additionally, for complex projects, it can be challenging to update sections, elevations, and detail drawings even if there is a minor change in the plan/s. For this purpose especially, I prefer BIM software when working on large and challenging projects.

Mirza

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

AutoCAD is very easy to use!

First time I got introduced to AutoCAD it was in high school, second grade. Since I went to high school which is specialized for training construction workers I have used many software's for drawing and one of them was AutoCAD, which I found very easy to use. I used it for 2 years in that period of life and it was very amusing for me to find something like that to ease my handwriting , drawing and drafting work with paper, pencils, rulers and divider. I had many different school subjects and most of them required drawing and drafting, so most of my work was done by AutoCAD software using mouse and keyboard. Later on in my life I had a few encounters with AutoCAD in a company that I work for and again it was like riding a bicycle, some things and stuff are just easy to use and remember, for me it was the AutoCAD.

PROS

Accuracy and precision with really ease of use, that is exactly what AutoCAD is. With just computer mouse function and a little bit of keyboard usage the things you can draw without holding a pencil and without any need for all that drawing and drafting equipment on your table. Any kind of 2D drawings or 3D modeling drawings you can draw with AutoCAD, which helps you to visualize the objects better and that can be very helpful if you are a architect, construction engineer or a construction worker currently working on a project including building an object or infrastructure. The basic commands like Copy, Mirror, etc. can get your job done in just a few clicks! AutoCAD really saves you a lot of time. Most people would probably be interested in a price of this software and I can say that the price is pretty much good and affordable for a software of this kind, but I think the user should decide that one for it self.

CONS

Some add-ons might be hard to install, but not necessarily. File transferring sometimes can be a little difficult especially if files sizes are bigger and because of that sometimes you won't be able to load some of the received documents, so you will have to find a fix for that, but still I did not have many problems of that kind or any other. One more information that could be useful is that AutoCad's files only can be opened with its own extension which is DWG ( I don't know is that a problem for some users or not, but there it is, truth is out there).

Ahmed

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Best applications for drawing all designs and implementation plans.

It is a very enjoyable experience, as the capabilities provided by AutoCAD support imagination, allowing the user to think more about every diagram he looks at so that he can find creative solutions. For me , for more than ten years and until today I have used AutoCAD daily to complete my work by calculating quantities and percentages of completion. Therefore, I cannot find words that can describe the extent of my appreciation and thanks to those in charge of AutoCAD, because without the effort made by them, the construction workers would not have been able to complete their work so easily and also the implementation of wonderful buildings like the ones we see today all over the world.

PROS

I like how AutoCAD reliable, easy to learn and use, as I was able, during my study of civil engineering at the university, and throughout my career in the field of contracting, to achieve the greatest possible benefit from using AutoCAD, as it helped me in design and read various construction plans and also measure areas and Quantity. AutoCAD is characterized by high accuracy, which made it the first application in the world, and made it trusted by all contracting companies, consultants and architects around the world, where the design and construction processes cannot be imagined without its presence. The tools that AutoCAD provides to users increase their imagination and creativity, which makes them able to find solutions to many problems, and also develop many products in different fields.

CONS

In fact, there is nothing to say in this field, I love everything about AutoCAD, the interface of the application is distinctive, and all the tools that help the user to perform his tasks can be added to it, also the settings for printing, saving and sharing are very easy, add to this the speed of response of the support team to any problem that the user may face. In all honesty, I want to say, that AutoCAD has provided a great service to mankind and has played an important role with all the achievements made in the last decades.

Amira

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: