What are BuildSmart users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using BuildSmart software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.19

31 Reviews

5
12
4
15
3
3
2
0
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Very good budget control management. Project accounting is so easily monitored, ease in monthly closing, depreciation posting & WIPcalculations."
  • icon"Works perfectly well if cost codes are booked correctly."
  • icon"Easy to use and accurate cover all aspect of constructions. Most popular in arab world."
  • icon"Always cost associated with everything even though one pay licence fees etc."
  • icon"Not up to date with what is required in the work place, not practical and very limited."
  • icon"The integration with OneDrive is a bad idea, don't add a network datapath. Rather use local drive Candy files."

Jump to:

Browse all BuildSmart Reviews

  • Have you used BuildSmart and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 31 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 31 reviews

User Profile

Younus

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Buildsmart - Review

Great experience, if they fix some bugs like and add some more features (one click voucher should open from report) to save the time.

Pros

Very good budget control management, Project accounting is so easily monitored, ease in monthly closing, depreciation posting & WIPcalculations, Nice tool for cost allocation if you have manyr departments, activity wise project procurement control etc. uploading a huge journal data through excel sheet template

Cons

Payroll module is a long hectic and not user friendly, unable to go directly to the voucher from a particular report, you have to type voucher num manually as the buildsmart does not have a feature to take you in one click, If an asset is added into fixed assets then again need to update/edit in master list.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Younus, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us, please see feedback regarding your comments: We would recommend a training session on the payroll in order to increase your ease of use. The process is very simple from the capture of hours against contracts, cost codes & activities, capture any advised payments or deductions, capture leave & sick days, calculate, check, print payslips & create the WPS file with the final process of posting to the GL being an integrated system. Updating the asset master is a control process as the asset master requires so much more detail with all the depreciation options available in the system as well as other asset information. The Voucher numbering was developed purely for India & the Gulf, it complies to the requirement of sequential numbering for filing systems and document retrieval. This was never designed to be a focus of the system & not designed to drill down to a voucher number.

Replied February 2019

Clay

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Great for Construction Costing and Financial Accounting

Great tool for the Construction industry.

Pros

The idea that construction contracts are seamlessly costed into an accounting format, for ease of reporting. Both for cost reports and financial statements.

Cons

Customer support never calls you back and some functionality can be better.

Reasons for choosing BuildSmart

Because it integrates with Candy - Also a CCS product and Candy is most likely the best in its class.

Reasons for switching to BuildSmart

Pastel cannot handle complex construction jobs, their cost centres are limited.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Clay, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using CCS BuildSmart. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our Users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team. Have a super day.

Replied July 2019

Richard

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Waste of Money and Time.

Has never worked as promised and the live stock system is a major issue. Designed by an engineer for engineers and not for accounting.

Pros

None unfortunately. Would never use again.

Cons

The GL reports are useless. Unable to export comparatives from prior years in same format as current year.

Reasons for choosing BuildSmart

We made a huge mistake.

Reasons for switching to BuildSmart

Pressure from management

Response from RIB CCS

Good morning Richard, we're really disappointed to hear of your frustrations with BuildSmart, it's certainly not the outcome we hope for our valued clients. We'd love the opportunity to talk through your challenges with the software so we can prioritise turning things around for you. Our partners at HMS Africa will be in touch with you soonest to follow-up.

Replied October 2021

Petro

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Build Smart review

As this is the 3rd program in the last 26 years of doing contract admin, I found this to be the easiest program to do accounting and costing in. Well done it is an amazing tool

Pros

It is very user friendly an can be applied in all stages on Construction Projects big or small

Cons

In Contract valuation, if you have an error on the amount entered it cannot be rectified, the program goes to a halt, you need to go out and go into the program. You cannot re-enter the amount, although it is only saving and posting the entry later on.

Reasons for choosing BuildSmart

na

Reasons for switching to BuildSmart

Because we were looking for a more effective program that was already developed and in a running and up to date condition where we could go live in training which made it easier to switch to a new program

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Petro, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

User Profile

Azar

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Solid Software for Construction Companies

Pros

The most liked feature in Build Smart is its integration with Candy the estimation software, the budget can be imported to Build Smart from Candy to manage the procurement process, then the actual cost can be exported to Candy from Build Smart for cost control reporting. It is also web based platform which make it easier to work anywhere & anytime.

Cons

Would prefer if you can link Candy & Build Smart using BOQ item codes instead of task codes to make it very precise to find each item budget and actual cost.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Azar, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Replied February 2019

Didier

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Keep on developing the BuildSmart System

Pros

Wonderful product, easy to work with and compatible with in-law regulations.

Cons

More integration and synchronization with CCS Candy and BuildSmart

Reasons for choosing BuildSmart

Expertise in construction environment

Reasons for switching to BuildSmart

The integration with CCS Candy and BuildSmart

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Didier, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

Amanda

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Payroll and Procurement

so far it has been soo good.

Pros

It's easy to use and value for money. Clear instructions Helpful Consultants

Cons

The terms they are using are quite misleading.

Reasons for choosing BuildSmart

easy and inexpensive.

Reasons for switching to BuildSmart

We wanted a software that is gonna assist us with project costing, payroll and procurement all in one software.

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Amanda, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

Bergh

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Good

As time goes on, you getting used to the system and it's capabilities

Pros

Reporting Candy integration Record keeping etc etc

Cons

Limited licenses and very expensive to add more Need more resources (people) to use 100% of it's capability

Reasons for switching to BuildSmart

Pastel not designed for what we need, Buildsmart a far better option

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Bergh, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We like to assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

sinethemba

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

new system -

the experience is good and the system is easy to use

Pros

it is user friendly to all and you can edit if you notice an error

Cons

the invoicing on the new system is not very user friendly

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Sinethemba, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We'd like to assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

santash

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Leading Accounting software

We are happy using this service and product

Pros

The capturing allocations and simplified reports.

Cons

The error reports that sometimes happen intermittently on remote staff computers.

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Santash, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Its' much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied October 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

BuildSmart for all

As mentioned above, it is a learning tool for the company and we are busy experiencing new features and report reading and excited to see what we can achieve by utilising the system on a full function basis.

Pros

What I love most about the software is the reporting system. I base it on weekly and monthly performance appraisals. I also appreciate the fact that it can direct you in terms of cost saving and very excited when new features are released. It shows that the voices of other customers are heard and CCS is constantly working to improve the use of the software.

Cons

I cannot think of anything yet as we are still new to the system and as we experience challenges, the customer support is constantly there to assist.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear BuildSmart User Thank you for sharing your experience with BuildSmart, your support is highly appreciated and we assure you of our continued support.

Replied May 2019

akhyar

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Klapmfer Middle East Buildsmart Findings

its good software having very unique required features … there is always need for betterment one must keep on updating quality features.

Pros

Reporting is very good in this software

Cons

Reporting based on Items must be there suppose we need how much steel we bought in a year I couldn't find this feature in this software. we can segregate info based on suppliers but not based on items.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Akhyar, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Please see below feedback regarding your comments: In the Orders By Selection report, you have the option of running the report for a specific resource and as you are aware, each type of steel has a resource code and this can be run from a specific resource to a specific resource so you could get the complete range of steel resources across all contracts. In addition to this, if you are not procuring from a resource code, there are multiple options to report materials procured. By Ledger Code to filter type of Material or DESCRIPTION can be used and by entering a key word, all orders using the key word, like steel, would be reported.

Replied February 2019

Lisa

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Buildsmart Review

I have been using Buildsmart for over 10 years and have always found it a very easy to use system. Also, over the years they have made many great improvements which reflects the fact that they are constantly listening to clients and trying to improve which is encouraging.

Pros

This software is very easy to use and the support is excellent.

Cons

The Procurement Module does not have a Supplier Management module that can integrate with it.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Lisa Thank you for sharing your experience with BuildSmart, it's always a pleasure to hear from our long standing Users. Your continued support is highly appreciated.

Replied May 2019

Molliere

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Best value for money

Overall payments to creditors and receivables are done on the system with good results

Pros

Budget control is effective. Project accounting is easily managed. Monthly closing and updating very functional and easy manageable

Cons

Can be more flexible in certain areas like payables.

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Molliere, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Its' much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied October 2020

Rayees Ahamed

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Easy ERP

I'm using since 2015. I'm very comfortable & it helps me in various ways to track & analyse cost data.

Pros

Simple User-friendly Report Generation Help for paperless cause

Cons

No modern look Need some more update for approval consequences Integration with other application required

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Rayees, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Replied March 2019

Mohamed

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

CCS

Complete online Software, so work on any where, Simplified process to make/edit and report. Much better than other ERP Systems

Pros

Complete online based work, So we can work on anywhere.

Cons

Approval process are awesome, and Tracking the current and past is good

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Mohamed, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Replied March 2019

Cryton

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Buildsmart Pros and Cons

Well satisfied and happy to use it

Pros

Works perfectly well if cost codes are booked correctly

Cons

If cost codes are booked wrongly, it gives un accurate information

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Cryton, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Its' much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied October 2021

Dave

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Buildsmart Selection & Implimentation

Integration of the financial system, Inventory, Manufacture, Construction and Acounts

Pros

Buildsmart is geared toward construction industries and lesser so toward manufacturing industries.

Cons

1) Manual Bank statement input 2) MRP entry & change mechanism

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Dave Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with BuildSmart. It means so much to us here at CCS. Your continued support is highly appreciated and we assure you of our continued support.

Replied May 2019

Michael

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Intergartion

Excellent

Pros

With the mostly site operative function I perform, the integration of Buildsmart with the Candy Cost and Allowable application is extremely powerful

Cons

The capturing of accruals can be be incorrect and lead to false reporting. The last summary page showing profit, is in the construction environment, an incorrect amount. This is because no adjustments, provisions, contract rate loadings, etc. are taken into account. It will only be correct at the end of the project.

Reasons for choosing BuildSmart

For the construction industry, designed by people in the construction industry, and maintained by people who understand the construction industry

Reasons for switching to BuildSmart

Different company

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Its' much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

arman

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

Excellent

Pros

easy to use and accurate cover all aspect of constructions . most popular in arab world. approved. if you use this forget others.

Cons

perfect job, easy to learn and operate. very cost effective solutions. i recommend to every contractor.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Arman, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. It is always a delight for us to read a review like yours. Please be assured of our continued support in the Middle East.

Replied June 2017

Mmathabo

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Very happy with it

The business is now producing very effective reports and financials . I am very much likely to recommend Buildsmart to other companies.

Pros

Buildsmart HR Basic. It is user friendly, documentation can easily be stored and accessed and generating a report that is professional has never been soo professional.

Cons

Nothing yet. I am, still trying to explore other features.

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Mmathabo, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied December 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Great and good experience

Great and good experience

Pros

Very good budget control circuit, project accounting is easily monitored, easy monthly closing

Cons

There are no negatives

Response from RIB CCS

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied December 2021

Stephen

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Buildsmart

Pros

Easy to use, levels of accessibility well defined, integrates with CCS (Candy)

Cons

Sometime not accessible as a mobile application

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Stephen Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with BuildSmart, we value your opinions and we are always looking for ways to improve our services and our Users' experience. Have a wonderful day.

Replied April 2019

John

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Builtsmart Review

I like Builtsmart. it integrates well with Candy and the order approval process is smooth.

Pros

Candy Integration. Order approval process. Activity codes.

Cons

The software is not compatible with all common browsers. I need a old internet explorer to do reports.

Response from RIB CCS

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We like to assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

Sibongile

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Good Communicator Programme

The Buildsmart programme has Improve my way, the company and my teams ways of doing things, and keep all the information that might be needed as a proof after some years. Which makes things easier for everyone.

Pros

Easy to use and programme easy to monitor and to manage

Cons

Easy to understand and to see when there's a mistake

Reasons for choosing BuildSmart

I think the company saw the need of Buildsmart in terms of filing and keeping important information especially.

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Sibongile, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

Showing 1 - 25 of 31 reviews
BuildSmart

BuildSmart

4.19/5 out of 31 reviews
PriceDemo