User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(18)

18

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to navigate. Has many options for reporting and customizing reports and functions."

  • "The software is very user friendly. We also like that it is cloud based. The support staff of CGC is very knowledgeable, patient, and quick to respond to customer issues."

  • "We are very happy with the integration of the accounting and project management sides of the software. Integration is key for our efficiency. "

  • Cons

  • "Support is responsive, but at times it can take awhile to get answers and issues resolved. "

  • "The ever changing functionality of the software sometimes is overwhelming, but we'd have those issues with any software."

  • "It is a dated program that is clunky. It also could be the way that our accounting department has things set up. They have been known to make sure we stay in the 20th century. "

Browse eCMS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -22 of 28 results

August 2020

John from Cold Spring Construction Co

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Success Cycle

eCMS Construction ERP keeps all departments informed and up-to-date on all aspects of construction from my Estimating, Field Operations, Equipment shop, Accounting, Payroll & HR. All of our Job Costing data flows back into the Estimating Department to continue the cycle of successful project bidding.

Pros

Cloud based Construction ERP system integrates all of my operations. All modules share the same data eliminating duplicate entries. New Interactive Data Inquiry tools make it easier to access data for all users, where they can create or modify reports and export data to spreadsheets if they wish. New Dashboards allow users to setup interactive Tiles of summarized data that can refreshed and drilled down deeper into the detail. Excellent for Project Managers and Department heads!!

Cons

I would say the software has come a long way and progressively more user friendly over the past 23 years. Computer browser restrictions has limited some functionality over the years but is soon going away in the new anticipated release.

Reasons for Choosing eCMS

eCMS had a better fit to the current file structure we where using at the time. The cost code structure in both JC and AR offered more flexibility.

Reasons for Switching to eCMS

Y2K end of life cycle

September 2020

FRANK from CVC Holding Corp

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

eCMS Construction ERP Review

Pros

For me the best feature about the software is the Reporting. Every construction ERP that we reviewed did not have a powerful Biz Intelligence reporting writing tool. Most had in-house developed report writing software. If you needed a customized report you would have to request one from the vendor. With both Cognos and Web/Biz Intelligence were not dependent on the vendor to develop the report. We have written 100's of reports in-house successfully. Another great feature is the ability to use the ODBC functionality in ecms. We have created several in-house databases that read the tables inside ecms. This reduces data redundancy and provides data validation. Use of the ODBC functionality allowed us to use IBM Planning & Workspace Analytics (formerly known as TM1) for financial reporting on the web. With the ODBC connection, users can access any of the views created in TM1 with a web browser and do not need any connection to eCMS. IBM Planning & Workspace Analytics (formerly known as TM1) allows users to export, pivot the data, manipulate the data and use "sandboxes" for what-if functionality. It would not be possible without the ODBC connection.

Cons

Would like more work done on the existing programs. For example, many of the screens still need updating. Also, would like done to some existing screens. For example, the Job Cost inquiry screen is wonderful but it is basically the same screen as it was 10 years ago. Add more information to the screen

Reasons for Choosing eCMS

The reporting capability, the sales person and the ENR ranking to name a few.

Reasons for Switching to eCMS

Biz became much more complex with different companies and divisions along with different owners as well as additional reporting capabilities became necessary.

September 2019

Christina from AGI General Contracting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Review

Overall, the system has been extremely beneficial to our daily reports, accounting reports and managing construction projects. Wish it was faster though.

Pros

Easy to navigate. Has many options for reporting and customizing reports and functions.

Cons

The program is extremely slow and frustrating. EspeciallyReports are not running properly. Program is extremely slow and not efficient. Some of the reports do not work properly. Wish there was a way we could view the invoices in Invoice query rather than imaging. around 3:00

Reasons for Switching to eCMS

CMIC offers more functions, reports, analyzing options, etc.

July 2020

Becky from Sterling Industrial LLC

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Computer Gudiance CMS / eCMS user for over 20 years

Computer Guidance has worked well for us for over 20 years. They have helped us through some very difficult times including hardware failure, which never happens on the iSeries. Computer Guidance worked directly with IBM. Computer Guidance restored our data while IBM experts worked on the hardware.

Pros

Integration feature works very well for us, from uploading payroll to journal entries. Handles large payroll uploads as well as huge job cost journals for WIP entries by job. Easy to setup without the help of a programmer. Multiple ways of extracting data for analysis or writing reports. including: IDI, CONGOS and Business Objects. We are a union contractor and we cannot afford any downtime. eCMS is very reliable and is easily accessible to our remote job sites. Remote site can perform any function we need them to including time entry and printing checks. Computer Guidance has worked hard over the years to get the ever changing union reporting correct. We currently have about 100 different unions setup and without this reporting package it would be a nightmare. eCMS Time Material package is very powerful for us. It saves us a great deal of time producing the level of detail our customers require.

Cons

eCMS works well for us. Things that may not work the way we wanted we have developed work arounds.

Reasons for Choosing eCMS

We felt comfortable with their conversion ability. Viewpoint could not tell us what data they could or could not convert.

Reasons for Switching to eCMS

Y2K

October 2020

ERIC from JF BRENNAN CO INC

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

CGC delivers results with eCMS

Having used this ERP for many years now, I can say my personal experience is very positive. CGC's commitment to constant improvement, as well as it's customer's needs, has yielded a product that continues to evolve. CGC administrative staff and support personnel have always been very professional, and quick to respond when the need arises. eCMS is a stable and capable platform that can robustly meet the needs of clients in the Construction Industry.

Pros

Each module within eCMS is very seamless and intuitive to use. Menus are organized and laid out logically. 2 of the stronger aspects of the software, that I personally like, are the data import suite and a newer re-imagined Content Management module that has been instrumental in helping achieve our goal of becoming as paperless as possible.

Cons

I have been using eCMS for over a decade now. I will say that back in the day, when it was time to apply a patch, fix-pack, version update, or similar - something else always seem to "break" as a result of those types of loads. However, in the last several years, I believe Computer Guidance has put a heavy emphasis on quality assurance, they these types of incidents rarely happen anymore.

December 2020

Michael from T N Ward Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Computer Guidance Strong Performance

Pros

We are very happy with the integration of the accounting and project management sides of the software. Integration is key for our efficiency.

Cons

At times I wish it were easier to make small modifications to things instead of having to start from scratch with reporting.

Reasons for Choosing eCMS

Integration of data and price.

Reasons for Switching to eCMS

The system was being end of lifed. We also were looking for a system that integrated both accounting and project management in order to stop the duplication of data.

August 2020

Kris from Reynolds Construction

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Computer Guidance CMS / eCMS users for 10+ years

Pros

eCMS is an excellent out of the box solution that doesn't take a handful of programmers to develop and setup. There are multiple ways users can quickly grab their own data for data analysis using IDI and Cognos. We utilize CGC's hosted cloud option for eCMS. They manage all the hardware, backups, and upgrades allowing us time to operate our business and devote time to other areas. This also provides an easy way for all of our office locations to access eCMS seamlessly. If there is ever an issue, CGC's support staff are very knowledgeable and are there to quickly assist with any issues.

Cons

The Forecasting interface in Job Cost could use some improvements. It feels a little dated. Some of the built-in reports that are provided with the system need to be given an appearance upgrade.

October 2020

Derrick from Parsons Electric

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

eCMS Accounting

As we know all ERP's have positives and negatives. However, what makes eCMS standout is their customer service. Each and every time I reach out to CGC the response is almost immediate. I have never has to wait to get a problem solved or a question answered. In addition there are various user groups that provide opportunities for collaboration between users. It's like a big family.

Pros

Being from the accounting side of the business I'm going to highlight an accounting function. Payroll is the most impact-full from my viewpoint. We are a union contractor and eCMS can handle processing of multiple unions along with the weekly/monthly reporting requirements. It definitely makes our job easier.

Cons

At times the product may not be the most intuitive, but the support staff at CGC are able to walk me through the most complex problems and provide me with the best solutions.

July 2020

Rich from Traylor Bros., Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Long time eCMS customer

Overall, eCMS has been an affordable ERP for our company for many years. With the recent updates and improvements, CGC has brought a lot of needed improvements to the software and allowed us to increase productivity in many areas throughout the company. Their customer support is always great and gets us answers and help quickly. With even more new features coming soon, it will only make our investment in eCMS even more valuable.

Pros

The financial and job cost functionality in eCMS is second to none. Payroll processing and flexibility has been able to handle almost everything that we have required. New functionality added recently (IDIs, etc) has been great for users to take control of their own data.

Cons

AR invoicing options and flexibility is still minimal. It would be good to have more options to invoice on the AR side.

July 2020

Patrick from Motor City Electric Co

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Reliable and Flexible

Pros

We have been in the construction industry for almost 70 years and a customer of CGC for over 30 years. We have been using eCMS on the cloud version for almost 10 years. The reliability and flexibility of eCMS is excellent. But their best feature is their staff. They have a broad range of knowledge to help you plan and problem solve no matter what the issue is.

Cons

Sometimes the software is just TOO flexible. because it can be all things to all people that makes it difficult to determine the best way to use it. Initial set up of a new function or application can be confusing for that reason. But you can certainly tailor it to your specific needs.

June 2017

Mark from TN WARD COMPANY

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Best Value ERP integrating operations and accounting

Our company reviewed every best in class software package before deciding on eCMS by Computer Guidance Corp. Integration in one product across departments was a very important part of our decision. We went from living in 3 different software platforms in addition to all the excel spreadsheets to just one package doing the same work. Access to data across departments increased alleviating the need for review and reconciliation steps for many processes. After 4 years live on the system i would still go back and make the same decision again. There is always a new product to market that may do something a little better but from an overall value standpoint eCMS has not let us down.

Pros

Full integration between operations and change management to accounting/financial reporting. Value compared to competition that required substantial money and customization just to get going. Robust functionality across Operations, Human Resources, Payroll, Accounting right out the box. Custom Form editing logical and easy. Custom report writing through IBM Cognos is valuable and logical way to analyze data across the ERP. Support for critical items is addressed with the appropriate level of urgency. Ownership at JDM has exhibited a commitment to innovation and development as they bring in features from their other AEC vertical products. we have seen features come online in the few years that they have owned the company which addressed our desire for updates and improvements.

Cons

Customization/Support at times can have lengthy lead times when not critical to daily operations. Based on IBM iSeries so IT staff used to a Windows only environment have some training to do. (we have gone to their cloud based SAAS model to alleviate these concerns)

August 2020

Martin from H.A. Sack

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

General Contractor and Specialty Contractor

The reliability and structure provided by eCMS are critical to decision making and day to day management of our company.

Pros

The Purchase order, Accounts Payable and Workflow solutions work well for our needs. Visibility and accessibility of actual Job Cost is straight forward and easy to use for project management and accounting staff. We upgraded to eCMS4.1 in October 2018. The transition was seamless and the implementation support provided by CGC was excellent. We also switched to CGC's Hosted service which has resulted in little to no system down time and "peace of mind".

Cons

Would like to see a more user friendly job cost reporting / forecasting solution.

Reasons for Choosing eCMS

Overall ease of use, competitive pricing, reliability.

July 2020

Eric from S.T. Wooten Corporation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Computer Guidance (CGC) ERP Customer Review

We have several integrations that tie into eCMS. Having the ability to do this saves a lot of data entry and makes for quicker processing.

Pros

We use almost all of the ERP applications made available to us within eCMS, from our primary accounting functions such as payables, receivables, general ledger and payroll, to industry-specific functions like job costing and plant sales. CGC also offers electronic forms and content management to all of it's customers which integrate seamlessly. Being able to use a web-based product like eCMS makes upgrading and installations go quickly and smoothly.

Cons

I do not have anything negative to say about CGC or their products.

September 2017

Steve from Joe Bland Construction LP

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Satisfied user 10+ years. Robust functionality. Excellent data imaging. Good support.

Solid ERP system with excellent data imaging capability and customer support.

Pros

Converted to eCMS initially for data imaging ability, which is well integrated with all modules but especially AP. Its ability to handle imaging smoothly and effortlessly is still what sets it apart from the competition. Second, its ability to integrate data from other sources (ie HCSS, etc.) enable us to pull timecards in from the field and streamline PR entry. Finally, two years ago we went hosted (cloud) and it was one of the best decisions we've made.

Cons

Because eCMS is so detailed and provides so many options to collect/enter data, setting up can be a challenge.

October 2020

Michele from East Coast Construction Management

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Highly Recommend CGC for Cloud Based/Hosted solution

We are able to manage our projects and financials with ease and with a thoughtful platform. Being a hosted customer is amazing, because they offer the support of software management, updates, etc which takes a lot off my plate and I don't have to worry about scheduling that piece.

Pros

I love the cloud based/hosted solution. When we experienced a fire, we were able to access our information from anywhere will full support. We never missed a beat. Their customer support is amazing. So knowledgeable, helpful and kind.

Cons

I don't dislike anything. Amazing company.

August 2020

Carisa from Bolander

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

User Friendly, Comprehensive ERP Construction Software

I have to manage our projects through a variety of stages in order to be successful and this ERP allows me to do that with ease. As a long-time user, I've watched CGC make a lot of much needed improvement's that have helped me do my job more efficiently too.

Pros

It checks all the boxes. Custom reports, Imaging, Integration with our other software. The "Favorites" shortcut tool is the best, it's a huge time saver for me.

Cons

Support is responsive, but at times it can take awhile to get answers and issues resolved.

November 2020

Jared from Wake Stone Corporation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Computer Guidance has been a great ERP system for us for many years.

Our AP invoice routing system with CGC is saving weeks of processing time. It's been a great solution for us.

Pros

We have had this software for over 20 years. The customer support has remained strong. CGC modules we like best are Accounts Payable, Document Imaging and Workflow routing, IBM software maintenance program, General Ledger, Data Inquiry

Cons

We have gone a different route with Payroll and have an industry customized AR program.

June 2017

Jeff from Parsons Electric

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Implemented the software in 1996 and have grown with it ever since

Complete financial and job management system. Very scalable to meet our growth.

Pros

Configurable to meet many different needs. It has the best payroll module I can imagine. It is very easy to extract data for reporting. It is specially tailored for the construction business in both accounting and job cost. It runs on an IBM iseries and thus is virus proof.

Cons

Inventory module is not very robust. Software updates are complex and require the vendors support to install them.

August 2017

Darlene from WIMCO Corp

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Stable, scalable, Intuitive, fully integrated and a true cloud-based ERP system

CGC blends the latest technologies from IBM and Microsoft to ensure a stable, yet open, SQL platform which yields the industry’s highest system uptime, most scalable, most secure and most compatible solution available. CGC’s data centers and their managed hosting services are both Sarbanes Oxley compliant and have been for years with an annual audit. The Avnet data centers are not only state-of-the-art when it comes to security, system, app and software monitoring, but they offer full redundancy and a variety of hosting options for your specific needs and they are backed by IBM.

Pros

It is browser based. No need to install software on users' computers. Fully integrated accounting and project management software. Easy to navigate. Clean easy on the eye screens. Our system is a true cloud based system that is secure and scalable to grow with our business. Always on the leading edge of technology providing us as the end-users with great experiences.

October 2020

Kyle from Austin Engineering Co., Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

Using Computer Guidance

Experience has been good overall, It's a stable platform that can do may things required of a construction software package, and can do it all under one system.

Pros

Document Imaging, download payroll timesheets, reliable platform, automatic intercompany transactions.

Cons

Getting the information out of CGC can be difficult sometimes but, with the implementation of the IDIs this challenge is getting easier.

August 2020

Mohamed from Herrick Corp.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Solid ERP Solution

We have been using eCMS since it was CMS, we are fairly familiar with the system. introduction browser as interface did add and open more windows and we are happy with it.

Pros

Available options (Payroll, HR, etc..) Can add any custom module to accomplish custom task. Secure and backup system integrated.

Cons

not easy to setup. The system need a custom installation and very difficult to try to understand.

August 2017

Kathy from BRB Contractors Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Our company has been a user of the eCMS for many years and have a good working relationship with CGC

By becoming a "hosted" customer we've been able to save many dollars by not having our accounting staff maintain an in-house iSeries.

Pros

The software is very user friendly. We also like that it is cloud based. The support staff of CGC is very knowledgeable, patient, and quick to respond to customer issues.

Cons

The ever changing functionality of the software sometimes is overwhelming, but we'd have those issues with any software.

November 2020

Sharon from Brim Construction Group, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Long term satisfied customer

We are very satisfied with the software and the support we get from Computer Guidance.

Pros

The detailed reports in AP, AR, Job Costing, Payroll, and General Ledger are everything we need for our company. Having all our information backed up in the cloud environment is very valuable.

Cons

I can't find a report to show the daily hours worked by individual jobs.

February 2015

Luther from IveyMechanical Company

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

4.0

February 2015

Computer Guidance eCMS

Pros

The product is web-based and can be accessed from any machine with an internet connection through an encrypted VPN back to our servers. The product is fully integrated and maintains a great amount of detail on transactions so we can follow everything that goes on within the system as well as the fact that it runs on a very reliable backend platform.

Cons

I dislike the length of time it takes to get to a complete resolution on issues that are found in the software. This has gotten better over the years, but still needs some attention.

September 2017

Darlene from Rudolph Libbe, Inc

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Efficient, Reliable, User Friendly, Aware of Customer needs, are a few words that describe ECMS

Overall Very Satisfied

Pros

The product is constantly growing with the rapid demands in the Construction technology world. This is a moving target with todays needs ECMS does a great job keeping up to date on this.

Cons

As all software struggle with finding a mobile solution, it would be great if ECMS could find a solution to this age old problem.

September 2020

Kim from Tri-City Electrical Contractors, Inc

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

CGC eCMS

Pros

All aspects of the software are integrated. There are also many options for external software integration.

Cons

As with all software, users must be trained to use the system.

October 2020

Maricela from Alcorn Fence Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

asst. secretary / contracts admin.

It's our primary software. It provides job status .

Pros

billing module is pretty simple to use..

Cons

the help information or maybe a chat center

April 2018

Todd from Edge Builders

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

ECMS works for us

Good tool for accounting.

Pros

It works for what we do, it is difficult, however, to run a query but I have yet to see something that was easy in this regard. I mostly use it to do cost forensics for jobs that aren't going well, great tool in this regard.

Cons

It is a dated program that is clunky. It also could be the way that our accounting department has things set up. They have been known to make sure we stay in the 20th century.